iPhone Data Usage Issues (Maxis, Celcom, DIGI), Usage & Bill diff - High bill charges!
tinkerbel
Oct 6 2009, 08:41 PM
Fanaddict!
@ctzalifah, I used a non-JB set. Initially, I just put in some crap stuff in the APN. When Maxis was officially announced as the official provider here in Malaysia, I ter-updated my network settings and my APN settings "disappeared"; I then created a fake profile. It worked for me and a couple of my friends; have no idea why it's not working for U though *shrugs* @tnsai, You could always check with Maxis if they'll allow you to upgrade but from iValue 1 to iData they might not entertain U. If it's iValue 1 to iValue 3 maybe got chance  Anyhow, no harm checking with Maxis. Also, don't forget to ask for waiver of whatever fees needed to be paid. @developer, I've been told by those using jailbroken phones that their usage counter ain't too accurate. It apparently is quite accurate on the non jailbroken phones.
tinkerbel
Oct 6 2009, 10:23 PM
Fanaddict!
@12321, That's what I'd been told. I've also been checking on mine and it seems quite accurate. Plus, it's sista + and not bro!
tinkerbel
Oct 6 2009, 11:06 PM
Fanaddict!
@tnsai, You could check though I'd never gotten information from there. I'd always waited till my bill came and more or less rely on the Usage counter on the iPhone
tinkerbel
Oct 7 2009, 10:37 AM
Fanaddict!
@ashwin988, How much have you exceeded your usage by and just how do u know?
@kelvingoh9, Nup.. nothing of that sort from any of our local telcos.
tinkerbel
Oct 7 2009, 09:43 PM
Fanaddict!
@ah1, Manual itemised data billing? Are u sure it even exists?
@d3vilzzzz, I haven't had issues with Maxis over charging me on data services. Perhaps I'd just been lucky?
tinkerbel
Oct 9 2009, 10:23 AM
Fanaddict!
@jingyong, RM346 is like 692MB extra over and above the 500MB you have. I certainly don't think it's possible to go overboard by so much especially if it's only because you ter-opened an application connecting u to the Internet. Best if you go speak with Maxis on your issue. @naughtyspirit, Have u oredi disabled APN and all? If so and if you open Safari and any other applications that need to utilise the web, it'll tell U that u do not have connection and the page just won't load
tinkerbel
Oct 9 2009, 11:18 AM
Fanaddict!
@naughtyspirit, You should be fine then. Go to Stocks or Weather to give it a try - it shouldn't work either cause it'll need you to connect to the internet. The E icon will be there, it just means there's Edge coverage in the area you're in. Also, you shouldn't be charged for wifi and u should have no problems getting onto the Internet if you're connected to Wifi
tinkerbel
Oct 10 2009, 11:38 AM
Fanaddict!
@ah1, Weird because when I checked, they tell me they can't give me a breakdown each month. Ah well, perhaps rules have changed *shrugs* but it's a good thing I haven't found much discrepancies with my data charges
tinkerbel
Oct 10 2009, 01:47 PM
Fanaddict!
@pengejar, If you're going to be using your iPhone for Internet Tethering and going to do v heavy surfing, 1GB might not be suffice. However, U should manually monitor your own usage and not go overboard  As what teikwing has mentioned, U will need to manually set the Usage counter on ur i3GS - Maxis only sets their own counter at the end of your bill cycle.
tinkerbel
Oct 10 2009, 08:50 PM
Fanaddict!
@pengejar, The Usage stats U see on your iPhone is from the day you started using the phone (unless you have reset it before). You will need to manually reset that counter at the end of your Maxis bill cycle.
tinkerbel
Oct 14 2009, 07:18 PM
Fanaddict!
@blstz, If you're not doing heavy download u shouldn't have to worry. I'm on the 500mb p/month plan and thus far haven't had any issues with my data usage + bill. Am waiting for this months' bill to double confirm but should be fine.
My last bill apparently states 23MB of usage! *gulps* But that's not accurate since I swapped plans then so this months' statement should be more accurate, even then I don't expect it to hit 100MB since my i3GS Usage only shows:
Sent: 30.8MB Received: 105MB
And that's since I started using the i3GS.
tinkerbel
Oct 15 2009, 02:15 AM
Fanaddict!
@lotus_man. SMS does not constitute as data service under "Usage"; receiving MMS on the other hand will form part of it.
tinkerbel
Oct 15 2009, 10:20 AM
Fanaddict!
@blstz, Yes the 500MB includes data sent + received. If you're just using the phones for those then U should have no issues/worries. I've my emails pushed to the phone, sometimes IM [but I haven't used IM on my iPhone for a while now] and occasionally surf, twitter, etc. off my iPhone and I still have no problems with going overboard. Maybe cause I'm usually in a wifi-area *shrugs* As for MMS, U will still pay that flat rate charge (whatever the rate is) but U don't get charged when you receive since that is calculated as part of your data package so yes it does get deducted. There are different cycles for different users. To know when your billing cycle is, contact Maxis on 123
tinkerbel
Oct 15 2009, 12:54 PM
Fanaddict!
@tnsai, Maxis ads MMS are RM0.00 so it shouldn't take up any of your bandwidth or usage
tinkerbel
Oct 15 2009, 01:11 PM
Fanaddict!
@tnsai, It will definitely show in your "Usage" counter because you're receiving data; just that it won't be chargeable. Am sure Maxis has a different system  As mentioned previously, this Usage counter is really just an indication.
tinkerbel
Oct 15 2009, 05:57 PM
Fanaddict!
@lotus_man, Hmm... there must be an app running in the background - what apps are u running? Also, maybe you accidentally opened an app that logged u onto the data services - but takkan U do that everyday without noticing it??
Best is to check what apps you have running. Er.. what app to use ah? Hmm....I think there was one called Free Memory; I don't have it installed so don't quite remember, sorry!
tinkerbel
Oct 15 2009, 06:14 PM
Fanaddict!
@lotus_man, U need a 3rd party application. As to whether you're getting charged, we don't know until your Maxis bill comes.
tinkerbel
Oct 15 2009, 08:25 PM
Fanaddict!
@wayne78, What on earth do U do with ur iPhone that U utilise 4GB of data usage p/day? U sure are hard core but if one uses it wisely, I think even 500MB is sufficient lah  U use it to download stuff kah?
tinkerbel
Oct 16 2009, 10:19 AM
Fanaddict!
@Hawarizmi, If 3G is not detected meaning that area don't have 3G available
tinkerbel
Oct 17 2009, 05:30 PM
Fanaddict!
@ctzalifah, For such "hardcore" downloading, one shouldn't be using his iPhone or data connectivity to do the job; use a proper line. @tnsai, That's good - mine is pretty consistent too. Bill just came, last month I used slightly below 100MB; looks like I didn't make the wrong decision in swapping from iData 3 to iData 2 plan  @Hawarizmi, Yes it's odd but perhaps U could check 3G coverage locations with Maxis.