iPhone Data Usage Issues (Maxis, Celcom, DIGI), Usage & Bill diff - High bill charges!

Mackiddo
post Feb 13 2010, 10:04 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(thivakaran @ Feb 13 2010, 01:17 AM)
Guys ...i'm still not able to disable  EDGE for my iphone 3gs official unlocked version from maxis...My bill currently Rm 275.30 even i never use internet at all
probably you should mention what have u tried ?
Mackiddo
post Feb 16 2010, 06:38 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(cyberfly @ Feb 15 2010, 10:08 AM)
just got my iphone yesterday and rm50 credit got sucked by Edge. should read this thread earlier sad.gif
you are not the only one smile.gif . Nothing is preventing Maxis from going to Carrier 6.0 in the future ex 5.0 and it'll all happen again, auto configured VPN. Best is get a FAT data plan.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Feb 16 2010, 06:41 PM
Mackiddo
post Feb 18 2010, 12:50 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(vandetta_10 @ Feb 18 2010, 09:09 AM)
signed iphone idata plan last 5th february...n today my bill increase to rm380 which normally i do pay only between 100 n 150...call the maxis customer service n the told because i signed in the middle of my billing period...only eligible half of the data (that mean on 250mb)...demm...no one ever tell me this when i signed the contract...huh!!!
coz you never ask. how you expect them to tell you everything in the book? I believe most telcos practice this 'pro-rated' methods.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Feb 18 2010, 12:50 PM
Mackiddo
post Feb 20 2010, 09:53 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

*136*4# to disable
*136# to enable

is this workable for turning off DATA service ?

Added on February 20, 2010, 9:56 am
QUOTE(jady @ Feb 19 2010, 05:11 PM)
non jail break version. turn off 3G and data roaming is not enough. that's why i called maxis to disable my gprs and edge also. use for 2 weeks no problem. suddenly the gprs and edge activated back. I off wifi and 3G just now, launched facebook, still can get notification. check back balance, lost rm3.
maybe you should consider getting their data plan, instead of worrying about your balance.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Feb 20 2010, 09:56 AM
Mackiddo
post Feb 20 2010, 11:00 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(jady @ Feb 20 2010, 10:12 PM)
That only turn off 3G. For GPRS/edge need to disable through maxis. Their technician told me they can't disable GPRS/edge for iPhone. Other phone can be turned off but not iPhone.
I don't need data plan as I hv 24 hours wireless connection. I think the best way is to change telco n jailbreak LOL!
in that case, why not tell them to turn off the data since you are not gonna use it anyway ?

Mackiddo
post Feb 21 2010, 01:27 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(jady @ Feb 21 2010, 08:54 AM)
If you refer back to my first statement, they did turn it off for me for the first 2 weeks. After that it auto activated back, which I called back to Maxis to check. Now they are saying they can't turn of (disable) data for iphone user. (but for other phone, it's possible to do so) I asked them why 2 weeks ago they are able to do that? (ie turn it off) they said they are not sure, ask me to pay a visit to maxis center to double confirm. I talked to 2 different technician and both gave me same answer.  One of the technician told me, Iphone unlocked by Maxis and Iphone from other countries are different. So if it's from Maxis, they can never disable the data connection. I'm not sure how true is this, but I put back my simcard to my old phone, and try to connect using gprs/edge, there is no data movement at all. Once I transfer back to iphone, the gprs/edge works!  shakehead.gif
I think they are lying or just clueless. There is ALWAYS a way to block the data connection from the telco side. I remembered some have successfully done it with Maxis.

Added on February 21, 2010, 1:28 pm
QUOTE(liverpool red @ Feb 21 2010, 09:19 AM)
It is threads like this which makes it all worth while and thanks to all the gurus here for sharing. I bought my 3gs last week and i am using digi prepaid. At the begining i was puzzled why when i put in diginet on APN, immediately RM5 gets deducted from my balance. So i went back to settings and left APN blank and i got back my RM5.

Now after reading this thread, i guess it makes more sense. But the Edge sign still pops up on my screen. If i leave APN blank and off 3G, there should not be any data usage right? i do access IM and some websites using wifi.

Lastly, can i still receive MMS if i leave my APN blank but still have the MMS setting filled up? Sorry, i m still newbie at this.
check your data counter, always a reliable to tell.

Added on February 21, 2010, 1:32 pm
QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Feb 21 2010, 01:21 AM)
Malaysia Singapore and HK set do not need to jailbreak UNLOCK as it is open carrier.
Just switch plan when the contract is over
the correct term is unlock. You must jailbreak if you wanna unlock but most ppl jailbreak is because they wanna customize their iPhone, not unlocking.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Feb 21 2010, 01:35 PM
Mackiddo
post Feb 23 2010, 10:25 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(jady @ Feb 22 2010, 10:40 AM)
Latest update, I was in Maxis KLCC service center yesterday. They told me, they are able to disable the gprs/edge. But once you restart iphone or remove/put back simcard, iPhone will automatic enable the gprs/edge setting in maxis. This is the reason why I can use the iphone without any gprs/edge for the first 2 weeks (maxis service center disable it for me) and then it auto activated back after i remove my simcard and put it back cos wanted to copy some contact from old phone. They said other phone won't have such problem. Only iphone will override maxis setting.
thanks for the info. at least there is an option for those who don't want the data access. I am curious, for jb set, is 're-spring' consider as restart ?

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Feb 23 2010, 10:27 AM
Mackiddo
post Mar 24 2010, 08:46 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(zeone @ Mar 24 2010, 07:17 PM)
Suggestion...when using WiFi, set 2Airplane mode. That way yr iPhone will NOT auto-use 3G, Edge or GPRS!! B safe...
and you won't be able to receive incoming call ?
Mackiddo
post Mar 25 2010, 04:52 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(iori57 @ Mar 24 2010, 11:31 PM)

What gives? Help!! the data fee is eating me up..
I'm using 3.1.3 version though so can't jailbreak.. and i don't want to pay RM58 (rip off in my opinion.. they should revise the pricing to RM20 500mb, RM40 1.5GB and RM60 unlimited..)
no one is forcing you to sign up in the 1st place.
Mackiddo
post Mar 26 2010, 06:11 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(iori57 @ Mar 26 2010, 01:30 AM)
I just called them, they give reasons such as 'oh iphone is a smart phone, we can't do anything to stop your iphone from using edge/gprs/3g

i want to tell her... so iphone is smart, means maxis people are stupid? XD

omg la maxis...
hmm might be a good idea... i tried calling maxis call center two times with two different person, both tell me that i can't get it... T-T
no, it's actually the user who is stupid coz Maxis is the one who is profiting rclxms.gif

you can ask them to block you but once you reboot/restart your phone, it will auto connect again. Smart phone rclxm9.gif

Mackiddo
post Apr 3 2010, 06:54 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(danieloo @ Apr 3 2010, 10:24 AM)
GPS use data not...?
gps does not use data. but since iphone need to download the google map every time you use the gps, so there's data involved when you use the iphone gps application.
Mackiddo
post Apr 8 2010, 05:41 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(raventah @ Apr 7 2010, 03:48 PM)
bro.. i use celcom.. i already disable all the DATA connection.. at home only use WIFI to connect the internet..
but the result every month got charge from my celcom bill.. how to overcome my  problem bro? anyone can help me? dono what to do now..
if you have disable all your data connection (3G + gprs/EDGE) then nothing should come in. Looks like you did not do it properly.

Added on April 8, 2010, 5:42 pm
QUOTE(ndri11 @ Apr 7 2010, 02:31 PM)
guys, im using digi prepaid for my iphone here.
its been irritating me, because every time i top up my credit it become lesser so much. lets say when i top up my balance is rm10, in 5 mnts i check again suddenly my balance become rm 5.

i don't jailbreak my iphone, so maybe the application connecting to the internet automatically.

what should i do here?

even if you jailbreak, it will still connecting to the internet automatically, unless you do something about it.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Apr 8 2010, 05:42 PM
Mackiddo
post Apr 12 2010, 10:05 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(wchpeng @ Apr 12 2010, 02:47 PM)
the data leaking is from SMS. you will be connected to the data network once you touch on the 'message'.
sms will not touch the data usage.
Mackiddo
post Apr 17 2010, 12:38 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(SeanGoh @ Apr 17 2010, 11:23 AM)
I am currently a PREPAID user( maxis ) , and is having a 3gs ( warranty by maxis ) .  I find my prepaid going down very fast , as in RM 20 a day . Reason is where i click on some apps , they charge me straight away ( stocks, weather , certain games )  . Is there a way where i can shut off the 3g or for me not to go online other than using the wifi  where there is wifi area ? Does jail break helps and making me play most of the games ( tap tap revenge ) without being charged ?
shutting of 3G will not help. You need to off the EDGE/gprs as well but it can't be done without jb your phone. Even some who have jb theirs are still unable to figure out how to block the date leak. A fail safe method is to ask the telco to block it on their side.

Added on April 17, 2010, 12:39 pm
QUOTE(objectifyme @ Apr 17 2010, 12:11 PM)
This is probably a really stupid question but to check my total data used, do I combine sent and received data or?

blush.gif
YES

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Apr 17 2010, 12:39 PM
Mackiddo
post Apr 18 2010, 11:23 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(fans187 @ Apr 18 2010, 08:31 AM)
@ mackiddo, i install fake APN and i cant find any EDGE control at Cydia la..  ahakz  doh.gif

what title that option anyway?  icon_rolleyes.gif

Thx in Adv. notworthy.gif
the EDGE/gprs setting is available thru SBSetting rite ? did you install that ?

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Apr 18 2010, 11:34 AM

Mackiddo
post Apr 26 2010, 08:33 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(f1br3opt1c @ Apr 26 2010, 05:13 PM)
Has this happened to anyone? A friend of mine just got her iphone yesterday and between 3.47 to 8pm she got charged RM600+ for DIGINET usage. The DIGI OCS Chat say he cant help because its unbilled and have to wait till billed only can see what happen.

Anyone know what happened?
just pay. Digi is always right. she should have find out more before buying

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Apr 26 2010, 08:34 PM
Mackiddo
post May 8 2010, 01:01 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(jobneed @ May 7 2010, 11:50 PM)
hmmm...i just helped my father to apply iphone 3Gs 16gb...How do i comfirm that i totally are not using INTERNET or data transfer AT ALL? I scare my father simply press and use and exceed the limit then GG liao ==
Anyone can help?how to totally disable data transfer/internet?
good luck to you. it's not so easy to disable the data.
Mackiddo
post May 23 2010, 11:43 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(dytechinc @ May 23 2010, 11:23 AM)
hello guys need help here..
currently i'm subscribing iValue 1
my data usage this month from the iphone is 452MB but my bill stated 574MB.
so i've been charged RM370.
is that accurate??
i'm lot on EDGE. turn on push. rarely utube.
don't know whats wrong..
somebody help me
push is like 'always connected' . off it if possible. you cant argue with them on accuracy, so no choice ..just pay smile.gif
Mackiddo
post May 25 2010, 10:46 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(childish_gal81 @ May 25 2010, 08:02 AM)
Wah!!20000 for phone bill??is this company bill??from the bill, seems like not idigi plan.what's plan is this?u use data a lot? If my bill reach this amount,i sure scream!! How to pay??
i dun think the data usage is a lot, probably around 2GB/month ? still less than mine anyway, at 5GB/month smile.gif
Mackiddo
post Jun 1 2010, 12:18 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(fuadfadz @ May 31 2010, 10:09 PM)
how to off data on iphone 3g?
just turn off the 3G and gprs/edge rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Jun 1 2010, 12:18 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top