30 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V3, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

seantang
post Mar 25 2010, 09:23 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 25 2010, 08:58 AM)
2 room HDB = whole house la  sad.gif
why u didn't get to buy HDB? i tot all PR is elligible to buy used/2nd hand HDB flats rite?
Whole flat lah, not house. House is landed property.

I don't have a family. Single PRs can't buy HDB. Only single citizens above 35 can buy HDB.

This post has been edited by seantang: Mar 25 2010, 09:31 AM
seantang
post Mar 25 2010, 11:12 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(bloggerblue @ Mar 25 2010, 10:35 AM)
then get some girl to register with you, and taadaaa... you are not single anymore  tongue.gif

Get married just because you want to buy HDB? blink.gif

seantang
post Mar 25 2010, 11:12 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Mar 25 2010, 11:07 AM)
sweat.gif  2 room ah... not those rental HDB flat hor... it is illegal for a SG to rent a rental HDB (can't buy those unit) then lease to other people for profit.

near may flower?

I wouldn't know about anything illegal tongue.gif

seantang
post Mar 25 2010, 11:44 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ Mar 25 2010, 11:40 AM)
Who needs a car in Singapore when public transportation there is so efficient and plentiful?  It's definitely not a necessity unlike in most urban places in Malaysia.

I need a car tongue.gif ... I like driving, just feel so unfulfilled when I don't get to drive.

But COE's shot up like crazy yesterday... looks like it's going to be taxi, trains and buses for the foreseeable future.

seantang
post Mar 25 2010, 01:47 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 25 2010, 12:33 PM)
lolz.... epic failed..... buy under my cousin's name can? since she is singaporean then when i get married, convert it to my name. is that legal?

but she is 9 years younger than me. that makes her only 14 years old this year... can a 14 years old buy a HDB in Singapore? tongue.gif

Here's an idea drool.gif You can marry your 14 year old cousin and buy using your own name. As a plus point, you will have something in common with many of the sultans and their kerabat.

Added on March 25, 2010, 1:50 pm
QUOTE(SPS @ Mar 25 2010, 01:44 PM)
For Malaysians working in Singapore and intending to return one day, I couldn't state it better myself.

I'm actually thinking of buying a nice car here and after 10 years, export it back to Malaysia. I've got a friend returning from Brunei who's just brought his 5 year old Lexus back to Malaysia. Apparently, each Malaysian citizen working abroad is entitled to one AP during his lifetime.

This post has been edited by seantang: Mar 25 2010, 01:50 PM
seantang
post Mar 25 2010, 02:17 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 25 2010, 01:58 PM)
dun understand the bold part.
That's alright.

QUOTE(Lester1987)
that means we can buy a nice car in Thailand at a cheap cheap price, then import it back to Malaysia?
Yes.

But note that AP is just a permit to import. It doesn't mean you're excluded from tax and duties.

This post has been edited by seantang: Mar 25 2010, 02:18 PM
seantang
post Mar 25 2010, 03:40 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 25 2010, 02:36 PM)
i dun see its cheaper to buy a car in SG anyway, a Honda City cost around $65k in Singapore where u can get it around RM90k. still its a lot cheaper in Malaysia. Why wanna get yourself into so much trouble in sending the car back where u wan get it cheaper in Malaysia.

That's why I said "nice car". Not a normal runabout like a City etc.

My beef with cars in Singapore is not the price. It's the fact that I need to scrap it after 10 years or pay for another COE. Coupled with the fact that I might not be in Singapore in 10 years.

If I get a car like a Nissan GTR for S$250K from Tan Chong, it is already cheaper than the RM700-800K from Naza.

Then I can drive it NOW and for the next 10 years in Singapore.

After 10 years, I can send it back to Malaysia if I pay some tax based on the market price of that car sold in Malaysia at that time.

(From LYN F&F sticky... not sure if it's updated).
1 st year.. 90%
2nd year.. 81%
3rd year .. 72.9%
4th year .. 65.61%
5th year .. 59.049%
6th year .. 30%
7th year .. 27%
8th year .. 24.3%
9th year .. 21.87%
10th year .. 19.683%

So after 10 years, I pay RM140K in tax, assuming 19.683% of RM700K. This is very conservative estimate based on the fact that it will be a 10+ year model by then and retails at probably a much lower price, if it is still sold new.

Therefore the decision point is... can I buy a 10 year old R35 GTR in Malaysia at RM140K in 2020? Judging from how the R34 GTR is still roughly RM250-300K today despite being more than 10 years old... I wouldn't think so.

So... my viewpoint is not how much in Sg vs how much in MY. My focus is how do I get to drive a 500hp GTR NOW and continue to drive it forever so that I get maximum value for money.

BTW, the GTR is just an example. Different cars have different price differentials between MY and SG. There is of course a threshold or turning point (as the car gets cheaper) when this logic will no longer hold true. Just have to run through the numbers for each car you're interested in.

This post has been edited by seantang: Mar 25 2010, 05:18 PM
seantang
post Mar 25 2010, 10:07 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Mar 25 2010, 09:25 PM)
GTR?  try www.mycarforum to find out the running cost of owning a SPORT car (very different from normal car), you may under estimated the hidden cost. If I under estimate you as a common employee then it is your call.
Thanks. I'm already aware of the running costs. I do know a little about cars from past experience. Anyway, the GTR was an example. Although I must say... given the RM1:S$1 salary parity, buying a GTR in Singapore is only about the same financial consideration as buying a common BMW 325 in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by seantang: Mar 25 2010, 10:10 PM
seantang
post Mar 25 2010, 10:28 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Mar 25 2010, 10:14 PM)
you work around AMK? I am open to change jobs that can give me the confident to buy a GTR, but I will just pick a family MPV.
I work at Orchard. Good luck with the MPV. Personally, I'm eyeing a VW Scirocco. Only 1/2 the price of a GTR. But then again, if I can keep the car twice as long or more by bringing it back to Malaysia, one GTR over 20+ years works out to be roughly same financial burden as 2 Sciroccos @ 10 years each.

This post has been edited by seantang: Mar 25 2010, 10:29 PM
seantang
post Mar 25 2010, 10:53 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Supreme Allied Commander @ Mar 25 2010, 10:45 PM)
haha i went to test drive the scirocco yesterday. Have to admit that car has amazing power for a 1.4 litre. AS of yesterday the price was at 107k , but after the COE increase its probably like 120k now . VW also said there is a long waiting list for that car something like 5-6 months for delivery.
The waiting list for the Scirocco 2.0 and Scirocco R are much shorter brows.gif

seantang
post Mar 25 2010, 11:09 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Mar 25 2010, 11:02 PM)
You work in finance/banking? or Mont E specialist Doc tongue.gif (that one dont need to think, just book your GTR today)

The first one.

seantang
post Mar 26 2010, 09:22 AM

6,624 posts

So far action has only been taken to enforce copyright infringement, and only upon a specific complaint by the copyright owner.

That means if the copyright owner doesn't complain or there is no copyright owner in Singapore, the previous examples of enforcement action will not have taken place.

Therefore, if you are downloading content with no applicable copyright (eg. recordings of free-to-air broadcasts like Top Gear) or content with legally unenforceable copyright in Singapore (eg. porn) - then technically, the previous measures would not apply.

This post has been edited by seantang: Mar 26 2010, 09:23 AM
seantang
post Mar 26 2010, 09:53 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ Mar 26 2010, 09:47 AM)
beware one day red light district or hustler might file a complain to SG Gov...then habis..all will kena.

These companies are engaging in criminal activities, as defined by Singaporean law. Do you really think the Singapore govt will help criminals enforce their trade? That's like the police helping Ah Longs to take action against their borrowers who don't pay.

However there is always the risk that the govt take their own direct & independent action against porn downloaders. The simple possession of porn is a criminal offence. However, nearly half the Singapore population and 99% of NSmen will be affected by a nationwide crackdown.

This post has been edited by seantang: Mar 26 2010, 09:55 AM
seantang
post Mar 26 2010, 10:11 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Mar 26 2010, 10:04 AM)
Hi Lester1987, may I know which website you use to download TVB drama?

Yeah... I like to know too. PM me please if you don't want to put it up here. Thanks.

seantang
post Mar 26 2010, 10:34 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Mar 26 2010, 10:24 AM)
haiz, so many ppl wants to watch TVB meh??? but the website is in chinese and the language is cantonese. so i will put it here. hope nobody report it and then i kena from the moderators pulak.

http://www.tvboxnow.com/forum-8-1.html

its a forum. but they will upload the torent after it have been aired in HK. so quite fast de. like the drama finish 10:30pm in HK, around 10:40 u can get the torrent liao.

Beautiful! Thanks.

seantang
post Mar 26 2010, 11:34 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Mar 26 2010, 11:24 AM)
Haha, but I download not using torrent, I use Rapidshare..  rclxms.gif

Rapidshares' a direct connection between server and client. If someone tracks your connection, they can see exactly what content you are downloading as the entire content is on the server. That's how all the mp3 downloaders were identified by Pacific Internet. They just matched the IP address of people who downloaded the files from the host server IP address.

Torrents are P2P where you are downloading from potentially thousands of other people who are simultaneously uploading and downloading discrete packets of the file(s)... and these people drop in and out. There's no host server with the actual content. There's actually no way for anyone to prove exactly what you downloaded without seizing your hard drive. And with torrent programs like utorrent, you can encrypt the data streams as well.

This post has been edited by seantang: Mar 26 2010, 11:37 AM
seantang
post Mar 26 2010, 03:11 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(darrenkho @ Mar 26 2010, 02:31 PM)
I am currently work with PwC Malaysia and is the best firm I have ever worked with.

Have you worked for the other firms in order to make that comparison?
seantang
post Mar 26 2010, 04:58 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(omg528 @ Mar 26 2010, 04:44 PM)
Well...actually i plan to use TORRENT to download movie or song..
thats why i am worry if i get caught by the government...
is it ok if use XUNLEI to download those torrent?

No idea about Xunlei. I can't read the chicken intestines on that site.

seantang
post Mar 26 2010, 05:11 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(diabetes @ Mar 26 2010, 04:38 PM)
Hmm, I'm quite surprised. You want to quit your current job in PWC Malaysia to go for a mid-tier firm in Singapore? How long have you worked with PWC Malaysia? Are you offered a senior or manager position in the Singapore firm? Bdo Singapore called me up and i will be having a phone interview with them but I think I would decline if offered a position in any Big 4 firm in Msia because I value the experience that I can get (big co. as audit clients) more than the salary that I'm getting, at least this is what I perceived. May I have your opinion on this matter?

To tell you the truth, if you're going to commercial immediately after you qualify, they don't really care what kind of clients you did during your 3 years in the Big4. All they care about is which firm and how well you took the punishment. After 3 years, if you leave as a junior... you're good. After 3 years, if you leave as a senior... you are very good. After 3 years, if you leave as an AM, you are great.

Your "experience in the Big4" will probably take up max 2 minutes out of the whole interview. From your resume, they can already see your Big4 experience and what position you were when you left/leave. Before the interview, they already firmly think they know your abilities simply by the firm's reputation and how many times the firm promoted you in 3 years. All they will probably ask you is why don't you want to stay on in the Big4.

The only exception are banks, property developers etc who see some value if you have some experience auditing the same type of companies.
seantang
post Mar 26 2010, 05:23 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ Mar 26 2010, 05:16 PM)
what you mean by anyone also downloading?...we need to support original. so it's best to buy original instead of pirating.

Exactly. We absolutely do not do anything that is illegal or breaks the laws of Singapore. Semua Ori.

30 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0509sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:30 AM