30 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V3, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

seantang
post Feb 26 2010, 10:55 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Feb 26 2010, 10:49 AM)
Aiya, girls thingy, usually clothes!  laugh.gif

How much usually it would be?

DHL website lah...

IIRC, there's a flat rate for each Jumbo box to each destination if you don't exceed a certain weight per box (which is pretty generous too).

seantang
post Feb 27 2010, 12:22 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(mic86 @ Feb 27 2010, 11:45 AM)
want to work at sg, does anyone have lobang for job vacancy?
i m fresh graduate from the university of queensland, bachelor degree of commerce major in finance.
appreciate the info, thanks.

Lobang? hmm.gif Saturday newspapers and websites like Jobstreet and JobsDB lah. What other 'lobang' were you expecting?

This post has been edited by seantang: Feb 27 2010, 01:36 PM
seantang
post Feb 27 2010, 01:39 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Feb 27 2010, 12:46 PM)
Wow, seems the job market is improving as I see many postings in here about securing new jobs.

Yeah, I get the same vibe as well from recent postings here.

QUOTE(Jurlique)
Can share wat job is that? and perhaps can reveal your salary as well? brows.gif

Great idea. Let's start with you rclxms.gif

What do you do, btw? And how much is your salary?
seantang
post Feb 27 2010, 03:04 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Feb 27 2010, 02:19 PM)
Me as an Engineer earning $4.3K with 3yrs exp. How bout u?  hmm.gif

Great start biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Jurlique)
How bout u?  hmm.gif

I have to decline leh. I just said it was a great idea if you post your salary. Posting my salary is not so great tongue.gif

But no harm posting my job. I'm an accountant.

seantang
post Feb 28 2010, 10:59 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Feb 28 2010, 10:04 AM)
i'm looking for IT support in SG. Anyone got idea? Mainly supporting desktop, server, wintel basis.

Look at the box or instruction/warranty leaflet that came with your desktop or server. You should be able to find the IT support phone number for your product in Singapore. The helpdesk should be just a phone call away.

This post has been edited by seantang: Feb 28 2010, 11:00 AM
seantang
post Feb 28 2010, 12:25 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ Feb 28 2010, 11:29 AM)
looking for a job mate. biggrin.gif

Ohhh... I thought you posted you were looking for IT support.

seantang
post Feb 28 2010, 02:48 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Feb 28 2010, 02:24 PM)
Generally, dollar for dollar, singapore still pays better then malaysia, i suppose it depends from industry to industry. A frens brother was relocated to singapore and he is earning more then what he was getting in malaysia, to top it all off its in sing dollar and he gets a condo to live in for the next 2 years and other misc allowances. He's working in the semi con industry.

1. He probably got a promotion as an incentive to move internationally. Even 2 step promotions are not uncommon if they need someone to fill the role.

2. The allowances and condo... it's not permanent. That's what's called a relo (relocation) package and it's pretty standard terms in MNCs if you are not given an expat package.

But you were right initially, renumeration packages are generally S$1:RM1 for the same job/responsibility level.

seantang
post Feb 28 2010, 03:26 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Feb 28 2010, 02:57 PM)
Who said it was permanent in the first place?

You implicitly did, when you brought it up in an answer to a question which asked about which country had higher pay.

Companies will pay temporary relocation when you relocate to any country, not just Singapore. I was pointing out the irrelevance of your answer to the specific question about pay.

QUOTE(crapp0)
Its just an incentive to get ppl to come over with the necessary skill set. Allowances and accommodations can be renegotiated when the times come or finding another employer who is willing to give a better offer then your existing contract.

No they won't lah. The next employer for your friend will pay him the normal local package since he's already here.

This post has been edited by seantang: Feb 28 2010, 03:27 PM
seantang
post Mar 1 2010, 12:16 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Feb 28 2010, 08:25 PM)
2 of my friends are leaving for big 4 in singapore this month.. haih~ Feels so sad when ppl leave for greener pastures.
Should be happy for them lah, since they are moving to bigger and better things.
seantang
post Mar 1 2010, 02:32 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(vkeong @ Mar 1 2010, 12:15 AM)
I am leaving Singapore soon. I am glad I am leaving.

Bye. Singapore's probably glad as well.

Added on March 1, 2010, 2:33 pm
QUOTE(bloggerblue @ Mar 1 2010, 02:04 PM)
My GM want me to stay even i already sign the offer letter from Singapore... now, they are checking whether can decline the offer letter......

haiz..

How is your GM checking? Checking against what?

You tell & give everything to your GM?

This post has been edited by seantang: Mar 1 2010, 02:33 PM
seantang
post Mar 1 2010, 03:44 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(bloggerblue @ Mar 1 2010, 03:34 PM)
They want to check how i can decline the offer since i already sign it..

consider as counter offer, they will give me something  brows.gif

Well, what is it you want? Stay with your current employer or go to the new company?

seantang
post Mar 1 2010, 04:19 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(bloggerblue @ Mar 1 2010, 04:14 PM)
i want to go..

but current company want me to stay... "give me position + increase $$ + bonuses"

So you want to stay lah.

seantang
post Mar 1 2010, 05:48 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(bloggerblue @ Mar 1 2010, 05:21 PM)
i want to go  tongue.gif  but i want to see how much they can pay me

Then why the "haiz" in your first post lah?

Make it sound like so victimized like that... when it's actually not a bad thing.

seantang
post Mar 3 2010, 12:02 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(kinwing @ Mar 2 2010, 11:47 PM)
So I'd like to know how is the Singapore's economy now? I believe it would be recovering more firmly in the next 6 months when Im coming to Singapore and thus it could be a good for me to look for job in Singapore?

If you're deciding between KL and SG, then it's a no-brainer, isn't it? Even in the worst economic times, SG will have more opportunities than KL for banking & finance. How many of the big international commercial and investment banks are in Singapore? What kind of activities do they do here? Compare it to KL? Isn't it obvious?

QUOTE(kinwing)
Btw, my last drawn salary was around RM3.2K. Since I have not worked for the last 2 years, Im not familiar to the job market, especially I have no idea how much is the Singapore salary payment and thus dont know how to price myself. If I have passed the CFA, I think I'd ask for a pay around S$2k to S$2.5k should be a good start? In fact, lower salary pay should not be a problem to stop me working at Singapore. At least Im looking for a chance to work at Singapore first then only consider to ask for a better pay after gaining few year experience and the CFA title (in order to gain the 'Chartered Financial Analyst' title, I need to have at least 4 year financial related working experience).

To be absolutely frank, I have not seen any CFA candidates do the program at such an early point of their career (in terms of responsibilities ie. RM3.2K, not in terms of years). Most of the CFA candidates and holders I know are the Treasury and Credit managers in my company. All of them came under pressure from their bosses to do the CFA only after they had gained significant responsibilities. All were earning S$10K or more when they started their CFA.

seantang
post Mar 3 2010, 05:59 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(kinwing @ Mar 3 2010, 04:18 PM)
LOL...I treat this as your compliment that giving me a hint that I would have the potential to earn up to S$10k or more if Im able to achieve the CFA title biggrin.gif

Not exactly lah.

I'm saying most people I know taking/taken CFA earn 10K and above.

But I'm not saying that people will pay you 10K because you've become a CFA.

People pay you for your skillset, experience and character. They won't pay you a 10K salary just because you have a CFA qualification. In fact, CFAs only form a very, very small percentage of all people who earn 10K or more.

seantang
post Mar 4 2010, 06:47 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Mar 4 2010, 05:50 PM)
PR status is permanent or we have to renew from time to time?

PR - PERMANENT Resident.

The residency is permanent. It's the Re-Entry Permit which needs to be renewed every 5 years. You need a REP to remain a PR while outside Singapore. So, as long as you don't leave Singapore, your PR is permanent even if you don't renew the REP.

QUOTE(zenwell)
When we work in SG under work permit, we don't have to contribute to CPF but PR needs to? How about tax?

PRs need to contribute CPF.

PRs also pay tax lah... aiyo... common sense lah. You think PRs don't need to pay tax meh? blink.gif
seantang
post Mar 4 2010, 11:51 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(zenwell @ Mar 4 2010, 09:03 PM)
I know PR need to pay tax. How about those holding working pass leh?

Do WP holders need to pay tax... what does your common sense tell you?

This post has been edited by seantang: Mar 4 2010, 11:51 PM
seantang
post Mar 5 2010, 07:41 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Mar 5 2010, 06:58 AM)
i having EP now and i never heard of wanting to pay any income tax.  blink.gif

So, Singapore is tax free for EP holders?

seantang
post Mar 6 2010, 07:18 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Mesosmagnet @ Mar 6 2010, 05:47 PM)
I'm about to finish college with a CompSci diploma. I will be continuing my studies in October. During the few months that I have in between graduating and starting my degree course, I was thinking of trying to land a part time job in Singapore. Just to make the best of my free time.

I've got approx. 4-5 months to work. Would it be difficult to get a part-time job in Singapore for a Malaysian? Any advice?

Good luck getting a work permit to "make the best of your free time" in the current "citizens first" environment.

seantang
post Mar 6 2010, 10:57 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(alvin227 @ Mar 6 2010, 09:45 PM)
Try UOB Kay Hian?

Or Phillips Securities etc. I think all the brokerages have internet trading.

30 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0241sec    1.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:17 PM