30 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V3, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

seantang
post Jan 5 2010, 11:29 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Supreme Allied Commander @ Jan 5 2010, 11:14 PM)
Actually if u still wanna bring it back u can put the computer into laptop bag then fold the box and put it in a plastic bag and bring it across. Like that they cannot say much. lol

Malaysian enforcement agencies always have much to say, no matter the situation.

They can just ask you to wait... while they find out if they can let you pass.

I brought back USED hi-fi equipment from overseas after I completed my studies. I had a letter from the Malaysian Consulate confirming that (1) I was a returning student, (2) the hi-fi equipment was used for more than 2 years (with serial numbers, receipts etc) and (3) with a written statement from the Consul General that there should be no taxes to be levied on my belongings listed in the letter.

Even then, my stuff was detained for 2 days... while the customs at Ipoh airport "checked" with the Foreign Ministry on the Consulate's authority to issue such letters. Anyway, my dad had to ask a friend to make a phone call to the customs director in Ipoh to get my stuff released.

It's like the police's discretion to question anybody for 24 hours without having to charge them with anything. Gives them a free hand to play games.

seantang
post Jan 7 2010, 01:27 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Ash @ Jan 7 2010, 01:14 PM)
Have you guys seen any Taiwan employees in Singapore? I wonder what are the chances that they may recruit a Taiwanese despite the fact that they're at language disadvantage comparing to us Malaysian and Singaporeans.

Our accounting service center in Sg has a few Taiwanese.

Besides, what language disadvantage are you talking about? Taiwanese know English and their Mandarin is better.

seantang
post Jan 7 2010, 06:28 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 7 2010, 06:13 PM)
SGD is depreciating against Ringgit everyday. Do you guys think its better to convert the money now or keep it untill CNY only convert? What do you guys think?

Isit? It's still 2.41. Quite close to long term average.

seantang
post Jan 7 2010, 08:13 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Ash @ Jan 7 2010, 07:23 PM)
Oh well I was asking because I have a Taiwanese friend who's a Master Degree holder from UNSW sent several applications for jobs but has yet to receive any replies.

It's probably not due to her nationality. She's probably simply not a good fit for whatever jobs she applied for. It's an employers' market right now, unless you're in hospitality mgt (ie. IRs). Nobody else is hiring much.

seantang
post Jan 7 2010, 09:48 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(gt_fan @ Jan 7 2010, 09:15 PM)
Hi guys, would like to seek serious opinions here....

Am always looking for hospitality jobs in Sgp. Have been sending resumes for a year but often got no replies. I should not have worries in accommodation as having relatives there. Consider a freshie and currently working in my first job for around 9 months already.

Do you guys think it's wise step to resign from current job and straight venture into Singapore and start looking for jobs? Will it be easier to start sourcing for jobs personally in Singapore instead of just sending resumes from Malaysia?

I've notice that many jobs would require only Singaporeans and PR to apply. Are there companies willing to hire Malaysians from Hospitality background? I don't mind to start from low though tongue.gif

Thanks and appreciate any feedbacks! Cheers!

Well, you just missed the recent big hire spree by the 2 IRs (Sands and Genting). By now, they should already be midway training the new hires.

However, no harm going to their websites and see if they are still taking applications. They should be because not all the facilities are opening in one shot.
seantang
post Jan 8 2010, 03:31 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jan 8 2010, 02:49 PM)
Apparently one day.

Arcade Plaza Traders Pte Ltd
11, Collyer Quay, #02-03 The Arcade
6227 7660

I use Maybank. I think they can remit to major banks in Msia.
I'm curious. How does the money changer assure you that the remittance will take place? ie. you will receive the funds in your MY bank account? Is the transfer immediate and you can check online or something?

seantang
post Jan 8 2010, 05:19 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jan 8 2010, 03:58 PM)
The money changer would provide us with a remittance receipt, not immediate transfer but usually will be done on the day itself. Before that I was slightly skeptical, then another customer came and asked for the today's rate, she seems to be very familiar with the money changer and at the same time was remitting money as well. So I asked her how is their service and how fast can the fund be remitted. She said if smaller amount usually will be within the day, but if higher amount, it will be split into smaller denomination over a few transfer.

In this case, I am remitting the money to my own Maybank account. So hopefully can get it today.

As for remittance to other bank account (where you cant check whether or not the money has been transferred), they would keep a copy of successful remittance and if you wish to have a copy, you can collect it few days after that.

Added on January 8, 2010, 4:03 pmJust checked my bank account, successfully received the amount. It was a cash deposit... I suspect that they collect the money here, then call their Msian counterparts to bank in or online transfer or they simply have a msia account (with lotsa) fund and transfer the msia ringgit to customer.

Cost S$10 for a RM35K transfer. Cheap and safe!! dont think I want to cross over to bank in anymore since the rate is so reasonable.
Maybank2U charges S$15 a same day transfer from a SG Maybank a/c to a MY Maybank a/c. Max transfer amount is S$20K.

The difference is the exch/rate. You got 2.427 (1/0.412) from the money changer while Maybank2U's rate today is 2.384.

So if you transfer S$1000 after deducting the transfer fee, the money changer will deposit RM2,427 into your MY a/c. Maybank2U will deposit only RM2,384.

So, for every S$1000 transferred, Maybank will lose you RM43. So money changer definitely makes more economic sense. I usually transfer S$20K, and that means Maybank loses me ~RM860 each time... damn!

But I'm still not sure if money changers can be 100% trusted with big amounts. What can we do, if the money isn't transferred? With Maybank, I just call them. With money changer... call Police? How do we protect ourselves?

This post has been edited by seantang: Jan 8 2010, 05:22 PM
seantang
post Jan 8 2010, 05:55 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Jan 8 2010, 05:45 PM)
The money changer in Singapore is very well regulated, if they try to be funny with your fund, simply report them to CASE and MAS, I can ensure you taht MAS will revoke their license like forever.

When I was there, the same lady who i spoken to said that she received a call from the money changer that the funds did not go through, so she came down to clarify the matter and remit more funds after that.

I think it is relatively safe in Singapore to remit funds. AT least the one I went to has a big outlet and had their license hung out for all to see.
I'm working around Orchard and all the money changers I see are at Lucky Plaza. Small kucing kurap "refrigerator box sized cubicle with a mamak sitting inside" type money changer blink.gif Absolutely no confidence handing thousands in cash over to them without getting anything back but a piece of paper.

The CBD money changers must look much better tongue.gif

seantang
post Jan 8 2010, 09:20 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 8 2010, 09:15 PM)
btw, should we move to V4 since the post count already exceed 2500?
Is something bad going to happen now that the post count has exceeded 2500?

seantang
post Jan 8 2010, 09:57 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 8 2010, 09:46 PM)
not so sure, but i though a thread when reach 2500 post, they will move to a new thread right? correct me if I am wrong.
Who's 'they'?

seantang
post Jan 8 2010, 11:06 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Jan 8 2010, 10:48 PM)
the admin, that's a normal practise
Then let admin do it, if they feel they must.

If I remember correctly, b00n actually posted in this thread earlier that there was no such compulsory requirement.

Normal?... Maybe (although my experience is that some joker always like to 'show initiative' and be the TS of a popular serial thread).

Necessary?... No.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jan 8 2010, 11:10 PM
seantang
post Jan 8 2010, 11:51 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jan 8 2010, 11:36 PM)
ok back to topic... i bought a 1st coach ticket on 21 feb 830pm from bangsar to novena.... the girl told me that will reach novena around 130am... any idea is there any bus available from novena to Sembawang at that time? if no, how much will it cost to take a cab from novena to sembawang??
Nope... buses usually end soon after the train service does, before 1am. Don't know if there is a nightrider bus from Novena to Sembawang.

Use this, it's a damn good tool: http://gothere.sg/

QUOTE(Lester1987)
1 more question, i heard that Singapore's ATM machine operate 24 hours, is that right? if not then i have to bring some SGD when i go back KL.
Just put S$100 in your wallet lah. Don't tell me you don't have some S$ when you go back to KL?

This post has been edited by seantang: Jan 8 2010, 11:51 PM
seantang
post Jan 10 2010, 12:07 AM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Jan 9 2010, 11:31 PM)
but the problem is u cant drive MY cars in MY with SG licence.

Have you told Hertz, Avis and Mayflower that when they rent their MY registered cars to SG licence holders?

seantang
post Jan 10 2010, 02:02 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Jan 10 2010, 01:52 PM)
Isn't it time for a new thread?

Still waiting for a good reason why a new thread's needed.

seantang
post Jan 10 2010, 04:02 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Jan 10 2010, 02:35 PM)
I thought the maximum is 2500 post.

Obviously it's not, right?

This thread already exceeded 2500.

The O&G thread is past 3500.

Why do you guys keep wanting to play admin's role?

Added on January 10, 2010, 4:04 pm
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jan 10 2010, 03:08 PM)
dun complain... do it! start new thread!

Do it, and I hope the folks who are against starting a new thread will boycott the new thread and keep this one going.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jan 10 2010, 04:04 PM
seantang
post Jan 10 2010, 10:36 PM

6,624 posts

I've done internal audit consulting (ie. setting up the internal audit dept, procedures in a client) back in KL and here in Sg, have done an internal audit rotation (a couple of months away from my usual job).

What is your gf asking again?
seantang
post Jan 10 2010, 11:23 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Jan 10 2010, 11:03 PM)
Erm, she want to know how the internal audit job here in Singapore, caused after she complete her 3 years working experience in external audit, she want to work as internal auditor in Singapore. Any idea? Thank you

How? How what?
Any idea of what?
What exactly are you asking?

seantang
post Jan 12 2010, 01:34 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(omg528 @ Jan 12 2010, 12:04 PM)
will it be difficult during interview?LOL...

Yes, Singapore interviews are usually very difficult compared to Malaysia. They all kiasu lah, you know.

Many interviewers will ask you to sing a song like in Singapore Idol. They want to see how versatile and out-going you are. So, remember to learn a nice song. My last interview, they made me dance as well blush.gif

And one last thing, the military culture is very strong in Singapore (everyone goes for national service, you see). So, remember to call all the men "Sir" and women "Madam". They also like it a lot if you salute them when you enter and leave the room.

seantang
post Jan 12 2010, 10:32 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(precursor80 @ Jan 12 2010, 02:44 PM)
LOL. For a moment I was like WTF then I saw the poster. tongue.gif
It's sarcasm, my friend.

Aiyo, why lah give away the game so early?

seantang
post Jan 12 2010, 10:33 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Jan 12 2010, 05:16 PM)
My toughest question would be, 'Do you gamble? Do you agree that the statement of no play no win?'

Like a wise man once said. You try, you've got 50:50 chance to win. You don't try, it's a sure lose.

30 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0570sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:15 PM