Working Life in Singapore V3, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

Lester1987
post Apr 8 2010, 11:43 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(J(o)y @ Apr 8 2010, 11:15 AM)
Out of curiosity, why they reject wen ppl have AIDS? isn't it outright discrimination?
Who actually rejects? the govt or employer?

How bout cnacer, hepatitis, diabetic?
its the govt that is rejecting the person. because when u want to work here, especially those that are qualified to apply PR, the govt wants u all to stay here and become 1 of them. If you are tested HIV positive, how the you suppose to have sex with their citizen and improve their population? lets say u still have sex, that will transmit the decease to their citizen which is something not good.
Lester1987
post Apr 8 2010, 04:23 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Apr 8 2010, 04:12 PM)
True, but you'll do that as well given the chance. In the landlord neverending quest to scrooge on utility bills. Some would stipulate stupid conditions like lights on only after 7pm and light out after 12pm. You can only use the washing machine once or twice a week and all that crap.
this is ridiculous. luckily my house owner is not like that. sometimes i forgot to turn off my lights when i sleep and they didn't kacau me as well. but i think they don't care much about it as i always see my house owner's husband sleeping in the living room with the TV on until morning. most probably he doze off when watching a particular movie. but that happens like 3-4 times a week.
Lester1987
post Apr 8 2010, 04:27 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(SPS @ Apr 8 2010, 04:18 PM)
Based on what you posted as per below:

Plus a foreigner hooking up with a singaporean isnt easy
i dun think that is true. because i heard that SG girls dun like SG men that much coz they are very "大男人“ sry for those who can see chinese but if someone know what is the correct word for it, help me translate. same goes to SG men. they dun like SG girls as they think that SG girls as not as good as foreign lady as SG girls most of them dun like to stay in the kitchen. not so sure how true about the SG men part but i know a lot of SG men married Malaysian lady as their wife. that is what my uncle tells me and he is a Singaporean that marry a Malaysian.
Lester1987
post Apr 14 2010, 09:39 PM

2,017 posts

when get the JD for my current job, the job agency told me its 1 year bond. but they didn't state anything there as penalty though. they just written at the JD we must at least commit 1 year to the position offered. But when i sign my offer letter with the company. it didn't state anything about the bond and only states that it needs 1 month notice. that's all. so not sure if the bond is valid or not. anyway, the company is a good place to work. so i didn't have any plan to resign though.
Lester1987
post Apr 15 2010, 08:17 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(bloggerblue @ Apr 15 2010, 07:24 AM)
Work the way up to management  brows.gif

Btw, in my contract didn't stated down the bond as well,as per normal, 1 month notice but i do have another separate letter from the company that i been bonded for 1 year  hmm.gif

i have no plan to resign too, planning to utilize all the benefit here.. such as Study Grant!  drool.gif
hehe, that's what i want to do as well. does that means that u signed 2 offer letter?? i only sign the offer letter by our current company wor.
Lester1987
post Apr 15 2010, 01:43 PM

2,017 posts

agree, but not sure if S$ can get back to the point where $1 = RM2.43.
Lester1987
post Apr 17 2010, 04:47 PM

2,017 posts

arghh~~ too bad i can't buy a HDB now bcoz of the stupid age restriction. hope i can con some girl to get married with me ASAP b4 the HDB price skyrocket after a few years
Lester1987
post Apr 19 2010, 09:42 AM

2,017 posts

nowadays i prefer to take plane since plane is almost the same price and much faster compare to bus. and most importantly, my house is in the southern side, means that its near from KLIA
Lester1987
post Apr 19 2010, 01:45 PM

2,017 posts

i really dun recall any express bus to KL still use the causeway. do share with me if u know some still use the causeway as i stay in Sembawang, getting down in Causeway is much better than going into the town.
Lester1987
post Apr 19 2010, 04:14 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Apr 19 2010, 04:07 PM)
have to wait till malaysia finish building  the proper road between CIQ and woodland checkpoint before any express bus using the causeway.

I used to walk from old woodland check point to JB then take 170 bus to larkin paying RM.
huh? means u walk through the whole causeway bridge??? Dam dangerous wei~~ where is the old woodlands check point? I tot Singapore never change their building rite?
Lester1987
post Apr 20 2010, 12:35 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(hawaiispirulina @ Apr 20 2010, 12:21 PM)
Hi

Anyone has Singpass here?
I need to purchase a Singapore Company information from psi.gov.my
(SGD$5 ).. Hope you can help thx
i think i have. Singpass is the online thing we use if we wan to update our address for workpass and our information on the work pass rite? if yes, then i have.
Lester1987
post Apr 21 2010, 06:00 PM

2,017 posts

welcome to the family ^^, looks like singapore is still hiring malaysian even after the gov increase the foreign worker levy
Lester1987
post Apr 21 2010, 08:08 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Apr 21 2010, 06:29 PM)
Hey I thought the foreign worker levy is only applicable on those on work permit?
its applicable to all work pass. S pass, EP, WP all also increase 110%
Lester1987
post Apr 21 2010, 10:01 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ Apr 21 2010, 09:31 PM)
this is apply to employer not employee right?
ya, they impose higher levy on foreign worker to encourage employer to hire Singaporean or Singapore PR. won't affect the employee.
Lester1987
post Apr 22 2010, 06:10 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Apr 21 2010, 11:44 PM)
Hi all, let say if we earn $2.5k via EP, how much will be take home pay after all deductions, and what are the deductions?

Also may I how much is the average expense for:
- food
- transportation
- internet connection

I not sure if I missed any other essentials items.

Thanks in advance.
i am giving this as what i am spending now. if u earn 2.5k, u take all 2.5k home.

food $300. $10 a day if u dun go for luxury dining and fast food very often.
transportation $60, depends on how far is ur office to ur house. won't exceed $100.
internet connection. free, provided by house owner.
cellphone bill, $80. this can be remove if u use prepaid, but u will sure be tempted to sign plan as they got free phone.

hope that can help.
Lester1987
post Apr 22 2010, 09:20 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(-SaSa- @ Apr 22 2010, 08:56 AM)
How about rental? How much on average do u pay every month? smile.gif
my rental is $400. common room saying alone. mayb next month nego with owner to pay her $450 to have aircond.
Lester1987
post Apr 22 2010, 09:59 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ Apr 22 2010, 09:49 AM)
huh?..u mean the aircond is in ur room but u not using?
yup, the owner took the remote away. so have to nego nego abit lo
Lester1987
post Apr 22 2010, 12:09 PM

2,017 posts

those that have plan to go back KL during CNY next year, can book tigerairway now, $62 2 way.
Lester1987
post Apr 22 2010, 12:28 PM

2,017 posts

that 1 later only decide lo..... just inform ur manager up now that u will be going back for CNY next year. i believe u give him 10 months notice, dun tell me he dun approve it for u.
Lester1987
post Apr 22 2010, 02:03 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Apr 22 2010, 02:01 PM)
By the time you ''know'', all flights will be full or very expensive. It's only 62 bucks. If you really cannot make the flight, you only lose 62 bucks. On the other hand, if your work environment is reasonable, booking now means one less thing you need to worry about next year.

If Firefly can book now, I'll definitely book. I can always bring my comapny laptop and work from home if necessary.
yup, that is correct, the reason i post it here is just to share with our fellow Malaysian working in Singapore about this promotion. Its 0 airfare and the $62 is for 2 way flight. Tax and admin fees included. why not book it now? I believe if u take bus also can't get this cheap especially during festive season.

14 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 >Top

0.3470sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:13 PM