Eh dont simply say lol sei gundam
"Piracy talk is not allow in this forum"
Nintendo Wii Discussion Thread V3, FAQS and queries go right here!
Jun 23 2009, 11:37 AM
120 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
Eh dont simply say lol sei gundam
"Piracy talk is not allow in this forum" |
Jun 23 2009, 11:40 AM
1,450 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: KK |
Softmod to play imports lah why you so kan chiong
Jun 23 2009, 11:41 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,300 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(Sairenji @ Jun 23 2009, 01:39 AM) Say, is there any way to play original japanese wii games on US console without hard modding it? Meaning the ability to play cross region but keeping the originality of the console & buying original games at the same time. u must mod it. if not hard mod, then soft mod. both have its risk of course. i read soft mod is even riskier, coz u playing with the wii operating system. just do lot of reading to know what u getting into. |
Jun 23 2009, 11:45 AM
78 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Telok P. Garang |
Scary. Thanx guys. If that's the case then i'm gonna stick to original. No big deal but having a region free wii would be nice.
Jun 23 2009, 11:48 AM
You can always bring to trusted shops seller to do the softmod for u.
Its a 10-15mins thingy for them to settle. |
Jun 23 2009, 11:50 AM
78 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Telok P. Garang |
If it's not permanent & can be turn off, i might consider about it.
Jun 23 2009, 11:51 AM
Jun 23 2009, 11:53 AM
Turn off?
Err not too sure abt that. Cos mine is not Ori. |
Jun 23 2009, 01:00 PM
27 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Someone please answer my question
Jun 23 2009, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(crystalroselle @ Jun 23 2009, 12:56 AM) What does modded Wii means? And what's the advantage of getting an unmodded one? Why are there modded US Wii versions and modded Korea versions? Are those illegal? And what does multiregion version means? Sorry I want to buy a Wii but I'm confused by all the Wii versions What does modded Wii means? means you modify your system from the original. You can modify by putting a chip (hardmod), or by changing the wii operating software system (softmod). Why are there modded US Wii versions and modded Korea versions? Wii system is by region. for example, if u have a us wii, you can't play japanese games, and vice versa. but if you mod the system, you can. but there are risk of doing that, that is why not everybody is doing it. Are those illegal? modding is illegal in some countries, but in malaysia it is not. but i must add people who mod are really looking at doing something illegal like software piracy more often than not. please don't assume its you. i am just stating statistica wise. software piracy in malaysia is illegal. And what does multiregion version means? once u mod a wii, it should be multiregion. Sorry I want to buy a Wii but I'm confused by all the Wii versions Basically if u are in malaysia you buy the US version. there are 2 other version - Japan and European/autralian, but they are rare in malaysia, and games are not readily available in retail outlets. So get the US version. in case your question is whether to get the modded or non-modded version: depends, but assuming the golden principal that stealing is evil, and u only intend to play games for one region, and you don't intend to be a wii engineer - i will always suggest the unmodded - the way it was meant to be - virgin, pure and simple to operate. This post has been edited by ramz: Jun 23 2009, 02:06 PM |
Jun 23 2009, 06:37 PM
7,740 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Some Yih |
QUOTE(ramz @ Jun 23 2009, 11:41 AM) u must mod it. if not hard mod, then soft mod. both have its risk of course. i read soft mod is even riskier, coz u playing with the wii operating system. just do lot of reading to know what u getting into. humm, i thought hom----w and ge---os would be enough for softmod? or need cIOS too? |
Jun 23 2009, 09:51 PM
239 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: BM, Penang, Malaysia |
QUOTE(pikacu @ Jun 23 2009, 06:37 PM) Actually, to make the Wii work on multi-region ORIGINAL only games, you just need Gecko OS, there's a few methods of installing or running it(one popular way is HBC), and I won't not go into that detail.cIOS is not needed. This post has been edited by Dragonflyz: Jun 23 2009, 09:58 PM |
Jun 24 2009, 10:48 AM
7,740 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Some Yih |
QUOTE(Dragonflyz @ Jun 23 2009, 09:51 PM) Actually, to make the Wii work on multi-region ORIGINAL only games, you just need Gecko OS, there's a few methods of installing or running it(one popular way is HBC), and I won't not go into that detail. I do meant multi region on ori games lolx cIOS is not needed. thx for the clarification that cIOS is not needed. |
Jun 24 2009, 12:57 PM
239 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: BM, Penang, Malaysia |
QUOTE(pikacu @ Jun 24 2009, 10:48 AM) I know you meant ori games.Me putting pressure on that is meant to let others(not you pikacu) know that its not for pirating. If I didn't do that, I may get bombarded with PMs or posts concerning how's it done etc. |
Jun 25 2009, 06:18 AM
9,706 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Why U wana know? Status: Meditating™ |
I mod my wii not because of gaming piracy.
Because I want a region free wii which allow me to play PAL and NTSC original game. Apart from there, I can install some homebrew software which allows me to play DVD movie or AVI movie on my Wii. I also enjoy using cheats like Ocarina on my Wii. There are much more things you can do with a modded Wii with Homebrew! |
Jun 25 2009, 08:05 AM
QUOTE(chicaman @ Jun 25 2009, 06:18 AM) I mod my wii not because of gaming piracy. That's good.Because I want a region free wii which allow me to play PAL and NTSC original game. Apart from there, I can install some homebrew software which allows me to play DVD movie or AVI movie on my Wii. I also enjoy using cheats like Ocarina on my Wii. There are much more things you can do with a modded Wii with Homebrew! Most people asking questions on mod vs unmodded wii's. Your preference is really up to you, weighing between a hassle free system on one extreme and 'do more with your wii' on the other. but software piracy is a big no in my books. and i hope it is the same for all malaysians too. i want to be able to walk in to retail shop and be overwhelmed by the choice of games games which covers one whole wall. not just 15 ori games in a locked glass shelf, and then 5 binders full of the games i can't buy. i want to buy those games at 49 usd, and not rm 215. i want to be able to buy games days after it was released, and not use play-asia to buy all the time. and i want to be able to exchange games with my friends, but its unfair i can give them what they want, but not the other way. Say no to piracy! This post has been edited by ramz: Jun 25 2009, 08:24 AM |
Jun 25 2009, 10:52 AM
2,423 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Alor Star & Changlun |
This morning i m just try install few virtual console game, all of the game i try only got sound but no picture, but when i press "home" button, it will show the menu and game screen together. It is the region problem??
Jun 25 2009, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(nakata101 @ Jun 25 2009, 10:52 AM) This morning i m just try install few virtual console game, all of the game i try only got sound but no picture, but when i press "home" button, it will show the menu and game screen together. It is the region problem?? I'm not 100% sure of your problem but make sure your display is 480i capable as VC games run on that mode only |
Jun 25 2009, 11:00 AM
2,423 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Alor Star & Changlun |
Jun 25 2009, 11:03 AM
Then have you tried to set your Wii manually to 480i?
Assuming it's set on 480p currently This post has been edited by gundamalpha: Jun 25 2009, 11:03 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0307sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:15 AM |