INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V8<<, The Journey Continues Here!
TSraymond5105
Jul 20 2009, 04:44 PM
@edministrator,replacing blown caps i think might be not so hard because the caps are relatively bigger than the other caps on board. One thing for sure is we need to beware while soldering,if short to others then the board will be fried. Personally i will recommend to D.I.Y. on the old board like ours as it's really hard to get a replacement board.
TSraymond5105
Jul 20 2009, 10:17 PM
@edmin,what i meant just now was our old school boards definitely worth to give a try to modify caps since there is no more warranty from the manufacturer.
TSraymond5105
Jul 21 2009, 10:02 PM
@kabu, currently i have no mobo to try. Will try up if i get anyone of them.Hehe,can test out my soldering skill too.  Worst come to worst is will burnt the board one. @MadzBlitz,this VIA mobo can't o/c high.The chipset is limiting you go to higher. The cpu shut down,could be the psu not providing enough juice.
TSraymond5105
Jul 22 2009, 09:29 AM
@-YellowSn0w-,I've a MSI ATI 9550 lying around. Do PM me if you are interested. I'm letting it go with cheap price. It's equipped with Cooler Master Coolviva on it.
@MadzBlitz,I guess your temp should be an issue. There must be some setting on your mobo which is not suitable if you clock to 3.2GHz. What about your RAM ratio towards CPU FSB ? What's the ratio are you with currently?
TSraymond5105
Jul 22 2009, 01:26 PM
Hi kabu,dun forget that the Northwood "A" and "B" version are not so good in o/c compare to Northwood. Both proc & mobo are also a factor to be considered.
@MadzBlitz, you may use CPU-Z to check on your CPU & FSB ratio. I don't think you are running on 1:1 by default. You may also adjust the ratio in bios there.
TSraymond5105
Jul 28 2009, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(edministrator @ Jul 28 2009, 10:54 AM) i will have a 80Master 700 PSU to play with soon... http://www.gatumdale.com/Hmm..People get this PSU for free.
TSraymond5105
Jul 28 2009, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Jul 28 2009, 11:51 AM) wei wei wei...... wahaha.... congrates man.  bila sampai?? and... how about your iHijau???  His i-Hijau will be on sale,.
TSraymond5105
Jul 28 2009, 01:13 PM
The extra psu is going to exchange with HDD? Good idea though. Make a review on that psu first if you are going to play with it.
TSraymond5105
Jul 30 2009, 11:30 AM
@edmin,get your new psu already? This thread seems going to be dead slowly,not much members playing with their rigs already.
TSraymond5105
Jul 30 2009, 01:04 PM
@edmin,Win7 ultimate on P4 2.0m still can feel like a fresh notebook.Awaresome.
TSraymond5105
Jul 30 2009, 02:02 PM
@edmin,i try on my rig and i can feel the proc works harder than in Win XP but i do feel fresh because of it's more advance graphics and better functionality.
@alex,your mobo died? What you have bought recently?
TSraymond5105
Jul 30 2009, 02:47 PM
I'm still with the RC version,any different noted from both?
TSraymond5105
Jul 30 2009, 04:22 PM
rtm version?Guess i will wait for another while to get a copy.Hehe.The fixed bugs do not squeeze into RC version ?
TSraymond5105
Jul 31 2009, 09:41 AM
@bai,IP35E,a good mobo too. Get your self a E8400?  Your Celeron 1.7GHz might be 128kb of L2 cache only if i'm not mistaken. @alex,what is your next plan?Maybe you can get yourself a VIA based S478 mobo?
TSraymond5105
Jul 31 2009, 03:29 PM
@bai,which proc are you with on your Abit board? @Alex,sabotage old school mobo is a good idea too.Hehe. I see your signature there WTB car radiator, for what use?
TSraymond5105
Jul 31 2009, 07:11 PM
I see many of them are moving to the dark side already.  Win 7 still performs rock in P4.
TSraymond5105
Aug 6 2009, 01:32 PM
Yo guys,this thread has been silent for many days. I managed to get myself a CM690 with nice price. But i have to wait for the case to bring up to my place.Can't wait to transform my current one to CM690.
TSraymond5105
Aug 6 2009, 02:24 PM
@Jcsy,have any new update on the old school rig?
TSraymond5105
Aug 11 2009, 10:18 PM
Get a try with GTX295 + P4 EE. You can see the performance.
TSraymond5105
Aug 12 2009, 08:56 AM
QUOTE(dlwl @ Aug 11 2009, 10:22 PM) talking about P4 EE, what's the highest clocked P4 EE around? 3.8GHz? S478's top clock is at 3.4GHz only. 3.8GHz is LGA775 if i'm not wrong. I have never seen P4 3.6GHz and 3.8GHz in here. These toys are really rare.