Discussion Barclays Premier League Relegation Battle, 08/09: West Brom, Boro, Newcastle
Belphegor
Apr 30 2008, 02:51 AM
4 teams. Fulham, Birmingham, Reading and Bolton. Which team will join Derby County? FYI, standing are as follow. 16 Bolton 33 17 Reading 33 18 Birmingham 32 19 Fulham 30 I would think that Fulham might be able to survive. Even they can't, at least will be the 18th spot. Birmingham and Reading might have some problem as they got some big team, likes of Tottenham and Portsmouth to face. Bolton left Chelsea. So, what say you? This post has been edited by Belphegor: Apr 30 2008, 02:53 AM
gerrardinho
Apr 30 2008, 03:36 AM
i would love if physical teams like reading and bolton to be relegated...
THTgadgets.com
Apr 30 2008, 04:06 AM
Pity the Rams, now they have the unenviable record of getting the lowest points total, ever (even worse than that Sunderland team of a few years back!)... Btw, who was the unlucky team that lost to Derby?
unknown
Apr 30 2008, 06:53 AM
QUOTE(THT United Gadgets @ Apr 30 2008, 04:06 AM) Pity the Rams, now they have the unenviable record of getting the lowest points total, ever (even worse than that Sunderland team of a few years back!)... Btw, who was the unlucky team that lost to Derby? Newcastle
THTgadgets.com
Apr 30 2008, 07:23 AM
Hahahaha, now other teams in the BPL can laugh at the Geordies for being the only unlucky loser to Darby!
wenjie
Apr 30 2008, 01:35 PM

my prediction:
Bolton Fulham
This post has been edited by wenjie: Apr 30 2008, 01:35 PM
ervinliew86
May 1 2008, 03:20 PM
the next game, Fulham vs Birmingham is decisive for both clubs. Whoever wins, will have the advantage. If Birmingham lose, they still have a chance to scrap safety in the last day. But if Fulham loses, then it's Coca Cola Championship next season.
My prediction for relegation. Fulham Reading
<Kenji>
May 2 2008, 10:08 AM
i do hope Birmingham will stay up... my predictions : Fulham + Reading ...
This post has been edited by <Kenji>: May 2 2008, 10:10 AM
alsree786
May 4 2008, 12:36 PM
With the recent scorelines, imo, birmingham and fulham will go down. Current Standings:
16 Fulham 33 -23 17 Reading 33 -29 18 Birmingham 32 -19
Last matches Derby v Reading Birmingham v Blackburn Portsmouth v Fulham
Who would seriously think that Reading will not beat Derby!?! But well, they may draw, Derby has drawn 5 games at home...but i still think Derby will lose.
All depends on whether Fulham can beat Portsmouth. Portsmouth have lost their last 3 matches, and have nothing to play for in the league. They will also have one eye on the FA cup match...I think it will be a draw though...
And i dun think Birmingham will beat Blackburn...
Meganova
May 4 2008, 12:46 PM
Somehow Fulham has been playing well, win against Man City and Birmingham. What a turning point, level on points with Reading. Reading surely get 3 points over Derby, while Portsmouth will rest players for FA Cup Final, Fulham will surely at least get a point out of that match and surely Blackburn is a hard opponent to beat. My Prediction Fulham to get a point against Portsmouth. Reading get 3 points over Derby with a tight match. Sad for Birmingham, I think they're going down for sure. A lose to Blackburn since they still need points to claim a UEFA Cup spot, or if they're lucky, they might manage to get a draw. 17 Reading 36 18 Fulham 34 19 Birmingham 32 Therefore Fulham and Birmingham is going down.
-Nos-
May 4 2008, 01:07 PM
As for me, Birmingham and Derby reserved a plc for relegation.
alien2003
May 4 2008, 02:48 PM
What Reading need to stay up: QUOTE The Royals go to Derby next Sunday knowing that they must get a positive result to have any realistic chance of moving out of the bottom three and avoiding relegation.
Approaching that final game, two out of four teams will be relegated, and the situation at the bottom of the table is:
Bolton 36pts, GD-18 Fulham 33pts, GD-23 Reading 33pts, GD-29 Birmingham 32pts, GD-19
A win would make us safe if Fulham fail to win when they face Portsmouth at Fratton Park. Birmingham's result at home to Blackburn would then be irrelevant.
A draw would see us safe if Fulham lose, as well as Birmingham losing to Blackburn.
If Fulham win, we could still stay up with a huge victory at Derby, but it would need to be along the lines of an improbable and unprecented 7-0 or 8-0. If we were to equal Fulham's goal difference that would be enough because we would have scored more goals.
We would need an even bigger turnaroud to overtake Bolton, who are away at Chelsea.
The only way we could stay up with a defeat is if Fulham are improbably hammered by six goals at Pompey, and Birmingham also lose. http://www.readingfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/...1305084,00.htmlThis post has been edited by alien2003: May 4 2008, 02:49 PM
<Kenji>
May 4 2008, 03:28 PM
but at least for Fulham their fate is in their own hands... not like Birmingham n Reading... they hv to depend on results frm other teams...
alsree786
May 4 2008, 10:07 PM
yeah i agree, fulham has really made a strong revival...kudos to them. i hope they stay up...
vutsi
May 4 2008, 10:18 PM
Birmingham n Reading will follow Derby....
Meganova
May 5 2008, 02:58 AM
Well its all down to the last day of BPL. Congrats to West Brom and Stoke City, they will be playing BPL next season.(Dont know if this is the right place to announce this.  )
alsree786
May 5 2008, 06:12 AM
Yeah congrats to them...i know a West Brom fan...must be very happy. But i am really wondering, how are the Derby players feeling rite now knowing that they are the worst team in BPL history...with 11 points...i dun see any team going lower than that...ever! Pity them...
<Kenji>
May 5 2008, 08:21 AM
Leicester went dwn as well... frm Championship... they had jz been relegated frm BPL few yrs ago... impact of the drop i guess ?
MyDevil
May 6 2008, 05:42 PM
QUOTE(vutsi @ May 4 2008, 10:18 PM) Birmingham n Reading will follow Derby....  Sunday, 11 May 2008 Barclays Premier League Birmingham v Blackburn, 15:00Chelsea v Bolton, 15:00 Derby v Reading, 15:00Everton v Newcastle, 15:00 Middlesbrough v Man City, 15:00 Portsmouth v Fulham, 15:00Sunderland v Arsenal, 15:00 Tottenham v Liverpool, 15:00 West Ham v Aston Villa, 15:00 Wigan v Man Utd, 15:00 I tip Reading to survive, Fulham and Birmingham to be relegated.
J-Piggy
May 6 2008, 06:04 PM