Supercars & Exotics 4

ericmaxman
post May 20 2009, 05:11 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(DtG4207 @ May 20 2009, 11:25 AM)
Well according to your theory, Satria Neo CPS or Satria GTi also would deserve a spot here right? High performance cars/sports cars and supercars are really quite different dude.... M-series cars are great but as mentioned, they're just mass-produced sportscars... Apart from the M1, BMW have never really attempted making a supercar but i would say that a Z8 could qualify to be here as it's rather exotic...
Alright. So the word that should be here is soul and passion. Which I think only the M1 has. After that, there are made just for profit.

So, what needs to be here is cars with more soul and more passion.
DtG4207
post May 20 2009, 05:19 PM

20 posts

The problem here, and it is a recurring issue, is that everyone's idea of what constitutes a supercar is relative. For someone who is familiar with the rarefied stratosphere of true supercars, sportcars hold no distinction. For those who are exposed to more ordinary vehicles, a sportscar would appear to be an exotic. For those who think Tokyo Drift is a far better movie than the Godfather, a tuned monster would take the cake. Perceptions don't change easily, so we're probably going to have the 'it doesn't belong here' thing keep coming up.
Spot on, unless carmakers unite with Oxford to pen a proper definition for the word supercar, ranking one will remain very subjective...

wow this is a rare 1 from u antype... normally ur shots are of parked vehicles or taken from a proper vantage point right? this seems like those 'in-car' snaps and what a nice one it is indeed....

This post has been edited by DtG4207: May 20 2009, 05:25 PM
sumtuckieeeee
post May 20 2009, 06:09 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(Roland San @ May 20 2009, 11:12 AM)
Same goes for the Cayenne, tbh.
The same few M5/M6s keep on popping up here, too.
QUOTE(DtG4207 @ May 20 2009, 03:57 PM)
they are not very common yes and they are by all means great performance cars no doubt about that but to qualify to be a supercar or exotic requires the car to cross a certain boundary... zondas, enzos, veyrons... they are all built from the ground up to be speed monsters with mind blowing dimensions that makes even the dumbest of people regarding cars go WOW. M-series cars are all based on the platforms of their existing vehicles and are basically mass produced sports cars and those who do not know much about cars are likely unable to differentiate them from the non-M counterparts... i'm not saying they're not great showcases of automotive engineering, i'm a fan of BMW myself but they're simply not supercar material...
If you say so, what about GT-R then? It is mass-produced, the price drops as well causing many people able to own it.We can also see it quite often and those who dont know cars well would think that Nissan GT-R is only a Nissan not Ferrari,etc etc...So it doesnt belong here as well?
Furthermore, this thread is about spotting supercars and exotics mainly in malaysia GT-Rs are so common in Japan, Cadillac are common in States, Lambos and Ferraris are common even in places like Dubai, so they dont belong to here as well? M5 is not that common in Malaysia. If you want common, look at those previous post, same Lambos keep popping up in the thread, so it doesnt belong to here cause it keeps popping up?
No offence, just my personal opinion

This is what I mean

QUOTE(ShinAsakura @ May 19 2009, 03:50 PM)
But the Cadillac 300C and Cadillac CTS-V are exotics in Malaysia. You can't find them anywhere else on this peninsular I guess.
*Why dont we let Antype or UE7 to clarify everything?*

This post has been edited by sumtuckieeeee: May 20 2009, 06:24 PM
DtG4207
post May 20 2009, 06:21 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(sumtuckieeeee @ May 20 2009, 06:09 PM)
If you say so, what about GT-R then? It is mass-produced, the price drops as well causing many people able to own it.We can also see it quite often. So it doesnt belong here as well?
well for me, it's just one brilliant performance car that can readily challenge any supercar out there and beat many of them but that's where it ends for me, just one great motoring creation. it doesn't have any extras or additional wow-factor materials that bring it into the supercar league as i said before when someone started a thread asking if the GTR should be considered a supercar. they don't have that extra crazy bit in the car that just blows it way away from what a car is... for example

-Bugatti Veyron has a whopping 10 radiators to cool its massive W16 engine...
-All Lambos have almost completely ditched the purpose of having windows and rear windscreens in the name of Italian flair...
-Who in the world needs 4 huge exhaust pipes sticking out the middle of his butt? Pagani thought otherwise...
-The sick vertically opening doors and roof which fits perfectly into its front boot make the Koenigsegg something special apart from its speed...
-Spotting a Ferrari or a Porsche definitely induces a bigger "WOW!" than seeing most proven Japanese sports cars and what is the reason???

These are only a few examples which set the GTR apart from the really really big boys... It can match many of them on the track, yes.. It's just that extra bit of craziness that make those cars really super that the GTR doesn't but then again, it might not have been the sports car it is today should Nissan try to make it abit bonkers... Great car nonetheless...
sumtuckieeeee
post May 20 2009, 06:31 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(DtG4207 @ May 20 2009, 06:21 PM)
well for me, it's just one brilliant performance car that can readily challenge any supercar out there and beat many of them but that's where it ends for me, just one great motoring creation. it doesn't have any extras or additional wow-factor materials that bring it into the supercar league as i said before when someone started a thread asking if the GTR should be considered a supercar. they don't have that extra crazy bit in the car that just blows it way away from what a car is... for example

-Bugatti Veyron has a whopping 10 radiators to cool its massive W16 engine...
-All Lambos have almost completely ditched the purpose of having windows and rear windscreens in the name of Italian flair...
-Who in the world needs 4 huge exhaust pipes sticking out the middle of his butt? Pagani thought otherwise...
-The sick vertically opening doors and roof which fits perfectly into its front boot make the Koenigsegg something special apart from its speed...
-Spotting a Ferrari or a Porsche definitely induces a bigger "WOW!" than seeing most proven Japanese sports cars and what is the reason???

These are only a few examples which set the GTR apart from the really really big boys... It can match many of them on the track, yes.. It's just that extra bit of craziness that make those cars really super that the GTR doesn't but then again, it might not have been the sports car it is today should Nissan try to make it abit bonkers... Great car nonetheless...
Okay, if its that how you define supercar,then what about Exotics? Those cars are considered Exotic in malaysia, which is why it is posted here. Like I said in my previous post, Ferraris and Lambos can be seen easily in other countries, so it doesnt belong to here as well for being common? No right? This thread is mainly for what supercars and exotics you can find in Malaysia.
TSanType
post May 20 2009, 06:55 PM

Porcupine Tree
701 posts

It's very annoying to see 10 pages of discussions about what belongs/doesn't belong here and no pictures.

Just as long as people don't post ridiculous stuff like rally Toyotas and BMW Z4, there are no strict rules. Just use your common sense and post pictures... Porsches, Ferraris, Lambos, high performance continental cars (M5, AMG series), etc are OK! As long as it's really rare in Malaysia, it's OK to post.

And please stop those endless debates... There are no strict boundaries.
Jaon
post May 20 2009, 07:00 PM

QUOTE(sumtuckieeeee @ May 20 2009, 06:31 PM)
Okay, if its that how you define supercar,then what about Exotics? Those cars are considered Exotic in malaysia, which is why it is posted here. Like I said in my previous post, Ferraris and Lambos can be seen easily in other countries, so it doesnt belong to here as well for being common? No right? This thread is mainly for what supercars and exotics you can find in Malaysia.
yes,if u talk about exotics in malaysia,yes..M5 and M6 are rare in msia and they does belong to this thread..
Everyone has their own point of view,for others maybe nissan GT-R does not belong to here,but for me GT-R does.
Why not we stop the topic on discussing wather M series to here??And talk about more on cars..I am quite sure everyone at here has some basic knowledges on cars..cheers rclxm9.gif
Vengeance_Mad
post May 20 2009, 07:12 PM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

QUOTE(ALIAS.JG @ May 19 2009, 07:44 AM)
Someone mentioned Mansory?

QUOTE(samwjy @ May 20 2009, 12:28 AM)
Taken by camera phone, sorry for bad picture quality.

I was looking for car park inside time square B1 parking then saw this beauty. First time seeing an Aston Martin, it looks bigger and fatter(I thought it was thin=P) than that in the photo. Wow !

Nice beauties.
But I wonder why the owner park his AM underground, and looks like its at a deserted spot.
Should choose to park at a more open and public places.
ALIAS.JG
post May 20 2009, 07:31 PM

1,940 posts

QUOTE(Vengeance_Mad @ May 20 2009, 07:12 PM)
Nice beauties.
But I wonder why the owner park his AM underground, and looks like its at a deserted spot.
Should choose to park at a more open and public places.
Sounded good too. The moment I saw it slow down for the speed humps, I stopped the car on the road and whipped out my phone to snap this. After that hump, the owner floored it while showing a thumbs up at me. I enjoiced that day. laugh.gif
samwjy
post May 20 2009, 07:31 PM

285 posts

Maybe the owner prefers to keep it in low profile. =)

But the car is "gated" too. XD
FlamingIT
post May 20 2009, 07:39 PM

177 posts

i think that is parked by jockey...

maybe that gate is reserved place for jockey?

lolx
hcktr
post May 20 2009, 09:21 PM

17 posts

more pictures, less talking lol...
shanthan60
post May 20 2009, 10:14 PM

i think you guys are some times act so dumb and childish,arguing about whats that and whats this and why guys alw3ays rely on anType and UE7 to solve problems??..use your head..like i always say,Google things you don't know instead of asking the answers here which is already in Google,example like whats a exotic and rare car or super car.... am here to see pictures and to find out what cool cars Malaysia as and to share any information of cars here to you guys..

Since every 1 posting Am..am posting my friends DB9 which always parked at Asia cafe which is near Taylors collage.

This post has been edited by shanthan60: May 20 2009, 10:21 PM
Criptonox89
post May 20 2009, 10:44 PM

2,792 posts

QUOTE(shanthan60 @ May 20 2009, 10:14 PM)
i think you guys are some times act so dumb and childish,arguing about whats that and whats this and why guys alw3ays rely on anType and UE7 to solve problems??..use your head..like i always say,Google things you don't know instead of asking the answers here which is already in Google,example like whats a exotic and rare car or super car.... am here to see pictures and to find out what cool cars Malaysia as and to share any information of cars here to you guys..

Since every 1 posting Am..am posting my friends DB9 which always parked at Asia cafe which is near Taylors collage.
BGM5, saw it almost everyday near Asia cafe, other than there, there's this BMW 6 series RR333 and a latest BMW 7 series 740, PXX 3..guess u've seen it before..

EDIT:RH 333

This post has been edited by Criptonox89: May 21 2009, 09:00 PM
SUSdantck
post May 20 2009, 11:03 PM

1,004 posts

from penang highway to mainland.

xDjWanNabex
post May 20 2009, 11:39 PM

932 posts

Shantan u know the owner of the db9 too? Heard his selling it off

This post has been edited by xDjWanNabex: May 20 2009, 11:44 PM
Joshiet
post May 21 2009, 05:30 AM

383 posts

That BBB 1 ferarri . I've talked to him before at a traffic light near kampung pandan. Very nice guy. biggrin.gif
SUSenjoice
post May 21 2009, 05:57 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ May 20 2009, 08:20 AM)
FTI, M5 does not equal to 5 series.

The M5, along with the other M3, M6 should be here, as the are performance oriented.
o did i say they are equal????? nope. check your eyes brooo

QUOTE(Roland San @ May 20 2009, 11:12 AM)
Same goes for the Cayenne, tbh.
The same few M5/M6s keep on popping up here, too.
broooo i already mark the other person who reply bout my post. Dont need to paraphrase. Did i keep repeating post same cayanne pic? no so dont need to type out the same outcome twice. doh.gif

Added on May 21, 2009, 6:23 am
QUOTE(DtG4207 @ May 20 2009, 05:19 PM)

wow this is a rare 1 from u antype... normally ur shots are of parked vehicles or taken from a proper vantage point right? this seems like those 'in-car' snaps and what a nice one it is indeed....
Check the rarity of this, singapore plate number?? how rare is it? seen a superleggera get fueled up? and leaving?

took these pics bout 2 years ago, Lamborghini Gallardo Superleggera hanging it for so long. Took it at Petronas near Sepang from LCCT to my way home in my SLK LP 850-4 gtr R Superleggera 1-77 Kancil flex.gif They are going to sepang circuit i think, waiting in my car and took the last picture before they left I follow them until the make a turn to sepang by the traffic light.

This post has been edited by enjoice: May 21 2009, 06:23 AM
hihihehe
post May 21 2009, 11:54 AM

13,784 posts

all ppl looking on it biggrin.gif
shanthan60
post May 21 2009, 12:04 PM

QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ May 20 2009, 11:39 PM)
Shantan u know the owner of the db9 too? Heard his selling it off
Yes his my friend in taylors collage is always there after classes,mostly he comes in DB9 or red mini Copper S or ornage ranger rover supercharged which is huge..They goign sell the DB9 and uy new AUDIR8V10

125 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0287sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:00 AM