AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V17, The secret is yet to be unleashed...

xcen
post May 25 2009, 12:25 AM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

Alamak, A got high RMA rate? Planning to buy m3a78 Pro leh... cry.gif

Problem with G is that most of them m-atx.
xcen
post May 25 2009, 12:32 AM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(cdlim87 @ May 25 2009, 12:30 AM)
i dun understand y say A got high rate of rma rate? biggrin.gif
Dunno... byfc say...

You no problem with A? Now they offer quite good ATX board with AMD 780 support.

Biostar 790GX baords very cheap leh, less than RM400, I scared not good. Anybody got anything to say about Biostar? blink.gif
xcen
post May 25 2009, 06:42 AM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ May 25 2009, 01:28 AM)
Biostar? Just don't download beta bios laugh.gif
QUOTE(cloudwan @ May 25 2009, 02:26 AM)
Biostar is ok but try not to o/c at 1.45v above 24/7..
Takut the pwm will go pop n bye2 mobo tongue.gif
Wa, Biostar really that good? The 790GX is so much cheaper than G and A.

If really that good I will hunt hunt shoot shoot for it liao flex.gif

Btw, does Asus M3a78 Pro support VT technology? Can't find in the specifications.

According to a newegg review, M4A78 does not support it.

This post has been edited by xcen: May 25 2009, 06:59 AM
xcen
post May 25 2009, 04:26 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

Owners of M4a78 motherboards, does your motherboard supprort AMD Virtualization? Because according to a review in newegg it doesn't.

What about M3A78 owners? Does your support it?
xcen
post May 25 2009, 06:18 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ May 25 2009, 04:56 PM)
Isn't AMD-V supposed to b dictate by the cpu not the mobo meh?? hmm.gif
Since it's hardware acceleration there could be a chance that motherboards play a role also. At first I thought all motherboards have this feature until I saw the review in Newegg.
xcen
post May 25 2009, 10:40 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(ConquerorX @ May 25 2009, 10:38 PM)
Hi guys!

I've recently purchased a new mobo DFI DK 790FXB and a Phenom II 720BE. Anyone has any luck in unlocking the 4th core with the DFI mobo? If so, may I know which bios and what settings did you put to stabilize the 4th core?

I'm getting ready to overlock my 720BE as soon as I'm able to stabilize the 4th core brows.gif
Do share your overclocking and core unlocking experience and results here bro! icon_rolleyes.gif
xcen
post May 25 2009, 11:04 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

It's very frustrating that motherboard websites, Asus and Gigabyte alike do not state if they support Virtualization technology in their specifications.
xcen
post May 25 2009, 11:29 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(antonio @ May 25 2009, 11:20 PM)
Biostar TA790GX got VT.... rclxm9.gif

I don't know, maybe I'm a very suspicious kind of person. That's why I don't really trust Biostar, I think I will go for Gigabyte, GA-MA780G-UD3H. It gives me a safer feel, maybe I'm stupid for thinking that way... but oh well...

Anyway, as you all may know high end board the specifications say they will support like 1200/1066/800 MHz RAM. What happens when you slot in 667 or 533 RAM? What will happen? blink.gif

xcen
post May 26 2009, 11:07 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ May 26 2009, 11:03 PM)
doh.gif i think my 9800gt and 7750BE are bottlonecking each other!

3dmark06 had 8.6k++ only with full test @ 1600x900 with smth like 4 AA and anstrophic
Bottlenecks always happen it's a matter of how much.

I'm not sure about 3DMark06, but I'm quite sure that 7750 does not bottleneck 9800gt too much.
xcen
post May 26 2009, 11:47 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ May 26 2009, 11:12 PM)
wub.gif sifu...can teach how to get higher score @ 3dmark06 drool.gif
Is that sarcasm?

Anyway, I'm not an overclocker so I've got no experience whatsoever in it. I've just seen many people with lower end CPUs like Athlon X2 6000+ having not much problem with bottlenecks even though they use 4850.
xcen
post May 29 2009, 12:52 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

Now I don't know if I want to buy 550BE or 720 BE cry.gif

I plan to use my computer for the next 5 years or so and I don't know if my 550 BE will be at the disadvantage in the future because it only has 2 cores whereas 720BE still can tahan a bit coz 3 cores is quite good.
xcen
post May 29 2009, 02:37 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ May 29 2009, 02:17 PM)
maybe now price higher.. but normally msi placed more features than others in the same price range..
haha me not influenced by the marketing or advertising.. just seeking true potential chip in the right time..

@xcen

buy 955..
Not so rich ler sweat.gif
xcen
post May 29 2009, 02:40 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ May 29 2009, 02:38 PM)
What i was trying to stress is actually in R&D, when u have hell lot of moolah u can basically employ lots more research teams n do more at the same time comparing with the company with peanuts of a budget..
With that alone Intel has an edge over AMD.. sweat.gif
Not to mention with money Intel can further the gap by 'Providing incentives for choosing our products'.

vmad.gif
xcen
post May 29 2009, 02:49 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(kuntawakaw @ May 29 2009, 02:45 PM)
but cant bribe a end user like me not to choose amd....
3 years ago I was still stupid, conned by a business man that is confirmed bribed someway or another by Intel.

He say AMD not stable go ask me get Pentium D.

Regretted ever since cry.gif

That is why my next rig this year will definitely be AMD! rclxm9.gif
xcen
post May 29 2009, 03:11 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

Intel's market share is about 30 times larger than AMD.
xcen
post May 30 2009, 05:34 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

Haiya use liquid nitrogen then world record liao lor, easy de. laugh.gif
xcen
post May 30 2009, 08:14 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(wch5274 @ May 30 2009, 08:12 PM)
i think no problem running prime 95 for hours as i already run around 40 min.. and after that playing grid for 2 hours..
my temp max 55C (during test)
Another question..

Which CPU temperature we use...
CPU core or CPU ????    (Look at pic)

... just confuse because some forumer sometime give idle temp below 35C...  hmm.gif
According to the AM3 OC guide as posted by a forumer just a moment ago, you should let it run for at least 3 hours because AM3 CPUs will stress the most at around 2 hours.
xcen
post Jun 1 2009, 06:49 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

Wow, so fast Athlon II gonna out already! What about Phenom II X2? Same date as Athlon II or?

Now I'm still thinking of getting dual core or triple core.... so I'll wait for the reviews to come in then I can finally make my decision hehe.
xcen
post Jun 1 2009, 07:35 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

I have a question... Hope it can be answered.

Let's say the motherboard specification say it supports DDR2 RAM 667/800/etc/etc

What will happen if I slot in a 533Mhz DDR2 RAM inside?

Will it even work?
If it works, will it cause problem in the future?
Or will it work without any problem?
xcen
post Jun 1 2009, 08:02 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jun 1 2009, 07:54 PM)
Memory controller is built in your processor.
Should not have a problem. smile.gif

-pWs-
Why is it then that the motherboard needs to list out the supported RAM? unsure.gif

0.0239sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:43 AM