Clueless on which telco? Prepaid or postpaid?, Enquiries, discussions and suggestions

YoungMan
post Jul 24 2024, 02:23 PM

6,785 posts

QUOTE(kilazilla @ Jul 24 2024, 09:42 AM)
I will be going to USA for about 6 months. Looking at the options, eg local US prepaid/MVNO vs esim vs roaming. It seems that US prices are not cheap per GB data and have so many confusing options. Seems like celcomdigi multipass RM98 per month is most worth it for now (2GB per day), and hopefully can support hotspot as well (for kid's ipad).

Any better options out there?
Try check out hello1010.my for roaming sim. Not sure if they have good plan for US travel sim or not.
YoungMan
post Aug 8 2024, 02:35 PM

6,785 posts

QUOTE(BEGIRL @ Aug 7 2024, 09:50 PM)
Need a Cheapest Number only need to receive SMS can last at least 3-4days

Yoodoo RM3 no longer exist what's the cheapest
Just get any prepaid sim and reload rm5. That should give you 5 days validity.
YoungMan
post Sep 19 2024, 07:58 PM

6,785 posts

QUOTE(pikafaded @ Sep 19 2024, 07:46 PM)
Thanks for the information. I am using old maxis postpaid plan now, upgrading to this family plan is slightly cheaper but I don't need fibre, plan to keep unifi sad.gif

Umobile 5G also same as Maxis DigiCelcom right? just 4G signal different
Yes, all 5g is the same currently.
You can also consider individual line instead of family plan, for example U Postpaid 38 with 120GB data. Total before tax Rm152 monthly.
YoungMan
post Oct 9 2024, 09:50 AM

6,785 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Oct 9 2024, 01:03 AM)
I need a SIM card for my car head unit. Saw TuneTalk RM200 per year plan for 10GB data per month, should be enough to cover my Youtube Music and Waze.

So its around RM17 per month, any other cheaper plans?
Umobile borneo sim Rm15 monthly. Still can be use in west Malaysia, just that the quota is less.
YoungMan
post Nov 6 2024, 05:00 PM

6,785 posts

QUOTE(stxksy @ Nov 6 2024, 02:13 PM)
Hi all, I am finding a postpaid plan below RM50. My location will mostly in Klang Valley with occasion outstation. I do not want my internet with speed cap limit. Any good suggestion? Thank you.
Hotlink postpaid 45 or Celcomdigi postpaid 40. Both come with 100gb a month. Additional loyalty quota given for Hotlink postpaid if you stay more than 6 months.
But first check which telco has good signal in your area.
YoungMan
post Nov 6 2024, 07:24 PM

6,785 posts

QUOTE(stxksy @ Nov 6 2024, 05:08 PM)
Thank you very much for your reply! I have been asking around, my area both Maxis and Celcom boleh tahan. Celcomdigi postpaid 40 SE right?
Yes Celcomdigi postpaid 40 SE. But I forgot to mention that the 5g is capped at 100mbps.
If U Mobile coverage ok, can also look into U Postpaid 38 with 120gb quota, no speed capped.
YoungMan
post Nov 22 2024, 07:32 PM

6,785 posts

QUOTE(shiniraz @ Nov 22 2024, 04:45 PM)

Can recommend the cheapest postpaid plan with more than 20GB data & good coverage?

Currently on Digi Postpaid 40 (2021) with 20GB data, that cost me only RM40.

No Umobile & YES due to poor coverage in my area.

If Digi/Celcom coverage good at your area, just change your plan to Celcomdigi Postpaid 5G 40 SE, 100GB data.
As alternative, can consider Hotlink Postpaid 45, also 100GB data. Extra loyalty bonus if you stay on for more than 6 months.
YoungMan
post Nov 23 2024, 12:26 PM

6,785 posts

Finally, Hotlink Prepaid ESIM is here.
https://www.hotlink.com.my/en/services/esim/
YoungMan
post Feb 10 2025, 08:07 PM

6,785 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ Feb 10 2025, 01:35 PM)
umobile vowifi is the best, maxis worst.

digi okay, but always disconnect halfway, especially when overseas

umobile rock solid in malaysia and overseas

maxis celcom block overseas

maxis in malaysia only works when signal below 2 bar

totally useless
Slight improvement for Maxis Vowifi, previously cannot receive SMS but now can. It only work if line below 2 bars, or just turn on airplane mode.

QUOTE(Piers @ Feb 10 2025, 04:16 PM)
I accept rm50 if within 100km my radius doesn’t have others digi center or better port to other telco and enjoy the latest technology online esim activation 🙊
TuneTalk also can buy eSIM directly from app. Since their 5g is now given to every subscribers, their plan also quite comparable to other telco prepaid.
Just not sure if the 5g speed still capped to 100mbps or not.
YoungMan
post Jun 22 2025, 09:52 AM

6,785 posts

QUOTE(kockroach2 @ Jun 21 2025, 01:26 PM)
What’s the best for 4G/5G hotspot, I will only need it for 3 months that’s why don’t want hassle apply unifi.
If you need lots of quota, get the UMobile U Home 5G sim card. Otherwise, consider prepaid like TuneTalk Epik 35 with 150gb of quota
YoungMan
post Aug 22 2025, 11:11 AM

6,785 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Aug 21 2025, 04:42 PM)
since I have 4 numbers all register to my name. i will need to drop in tune talk branch. the nearest i can see is maluri.

can i know if the reception of 4G comparable to that of UMobile or worse ?
TuneTalk uses Celcom line. And, you can try to see if it's possible to register through TuneTalk website instead of centre.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0559sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:31 PM