156 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Clueless on which telco? Prepaid or postpaid?, Enquiries, discussions and suggestions

leyley
post Feb 2 2010, 12:38 PM

2,096 posts

lugiamcg
post Feb 8 2010, 01:44 PM

640 posts

I switched from prepaid to postpaid(sub line) - Maxis user
Why?
1) cheaper - on prepaid, i have to top up every month RM30 but i couldn't finish it. Eventually, it will cumulate to a few hundred ringgit
2) unlimited usage provided that u're willing to pay - this comes in handy when u realize that u save the hastle of buying top ups especially when u're out of credits during 'emergencies'
3) pride - not the best reason for switching plans but it definitely sounds cooler when u say that u're using postpaid =D

Steel Up
post Mar 2 2010, 04:39 PM

156 posts

Hi! I hope this question is relevant to the thread. I'm quite a noob with telcos. biggrin.gif

Is there ANY telco out there that doesn't spam your phone with silly offers? Maxis does this all the time, and I really have no interest whatsoever with their offers of free tickets/announcement of entertainment events/lame ringtones etc. Or do ALL telcos do this kind of thing? Please enlighten me, as it is especially annoying on days when I expect important SMSes.

If there's a telco who doesn't do this kind thing, please tell me!
mrPOTATO
post Mar 15 2010, 11:04 AM

2,113 posts

QUOTE(lugiamcg @ Feb 8 2010, 01:44 PM)
I switched from prepaid to postpaid(sub line) - Maxis user
Why?
1) cheaper - on prepaid, i have to top up every month RM30 but i couldn't finish it. Eventually, it will cumulate to a few hundred ringgit
2) unlimited usage provided that u're willing to pay - this comes in handy when u realize that u save the hastle of buying top ups especially when u're out of credits during 'emergencies'
3) pride - not the best reason for switching plans but it definitely sounds cooler when u say that u're using postpaid =D
Hey, i'm on the opposite end, wanting to switch from postpaid to prepaid. Reason ? I wanna see how much i use whenever i call/sms, esp when overseas cos i don't want to get a heartattack when i come back to find out receiving a sms cost me RM2 !

Another reason is that i was thinking i could save on the fixed RM30 service charge per month. I'm a low user on sms/calls & getting charged for nothing is not my cup of tea. However reading yr post that u must top up but n0t finish it seems like wasteful too.

Now i'm confused.. really can't decide.

Which ought to save me the most $$ if i'm a low volume user ?

Prepaid / postpaid ?
If one of those is better, then which network gives the best rate ?

Sincerely,
Out-of-date user
lowyard
post Mar 15 2010, 11:39 PM

Nexus 4, 4 Nexers.
2,056 posts

In your case Mr. Potato, if you are still a student and aged below 25, go for celcom u.o.x plan. Or maybe DiGi campus plan.. but not maxis hotlink youth club.

I said so because just recently I discovered that maxis is about raise the charge of sms to other telco for their hotlink youth club users. I think its foolish even 1 sen increase because they promo'ed their product as being cheapest among others but at the end of the day, they are rising up the price back again and the rate will be same like other telcos. It's like they're cheating people. This is my opinion.
ahhann
post Mar 16 2010, 02:57 PM

Lim Peh
545 posts

I just switched to Maxis business plan RM80 + RM30 (supp line) last week Wednesday. Today i checked the unbilled amount .... shocking RM330.87 !!!!

Just a few day activation only ><" .... doing
- some phone call
- OVI MSN
- surfing net
- downloaded 2 mp4 video at size of 16MB and 7 MB

Called to their customer service ... only advise me to wait for the month end for billing statement .....

Someone please tell me this aint normal .....
nic58191
post Mar 16 2010, 03:31 PM

604 posts

QUOTE(ahhann @ Mar 16 2010, 02:57 PM)
I just switched to Maxis business plan RM80 + RM30 (supp line) last week Wednesday. Today i checked the unbilled amount .... shocking RM330.87 !!!!

Just a few day activation only ><" .... doing
- some phone call
- OVI MSN
- surfing net
- downloaded 2 mp4 video at size of 16MB and 7 MB

Called to their customer service ... only advise me to wait for the month end for billing statement .....

Someone please tell me this aint normal .....
hi, last time my gf mis-use the wifi
3,810KB=3.8mb RM 37.96
yours is total 23mb, i think it cost rm229...
dunno true or not, just wait ur bill come la
lowyard
post Mar 16 2010, 05:51 PM

Nexus 4, 4 Nexers.
2,056 posts

Ouch.. Better go for voice and data plan then...
ahhann
post Mar 16 2010, 09:49 PM

Lim Peh
545 posts

QUOTE(nic58191 @ Mar 16 2010, 03:31 PM)
hi, last time my gf mis-use the wifi
3,810KB=3.8mb RM 37.96
yours is total 23mb, i think it cost rm229...
dunno true or not, just wait ur bill come la
WTF !!!! meaning 1 kb = 1sen, 3000+ kb = RM30 +++ ???

Oh crap ..... oh oh crap .....
TSfruitie
post Mar 16 2010, 10:13 PM

Rise and Shine
72,771 posts

QUOTE(ahhann @ Mar 16 2010, 09:49 PM)

It's the standard rate, DiGi also uses the same rate. smile.gif
AskarPerang
post Mar 16 2010, 11:33 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

But I think to a maximum of RM250 only per month.
Any further usage will not add to the amount.

It's their last time policy but I'm not sure about that now.
Better ask first.
lowyard
post Mar 17 2010, 03:09 AM

Nexus 4, 4 Nexers.
2,056 posts

I wonder why they cap it at RM250.. Why not RM50? or maybe RM100? Coz they are praying for mistakes made by us to happen which = to more money.
chiahau
post Mar 17 2010, 05:33 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(ahhann @ Mar 16 2010, 10:49 PM)

Dun worry..
My gurl "accidently" used up rm 70+ for data charges..
She claimed it was emergency..
Well, bills above 400 ish normal between my line and hers..
shakehead.gif

Do not use too much data usage on phone except emergency..
Erm, Digi max is Rm 5 per day for internet connectivity IIRC~
TSfruitie
post Mar 17 2010, 08:09 AM

Rise and Shine
72,771 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Mar 17 2010, 05:33 AM)
Dun worry..
My gurl "accidently" used up rm 70+ for data charges..
She claimed it was emergency..
Well, bills above 400 ish normal between my line and hers..
shakehead.gif

Do not use too much data usage on phone except emergency..
Erm, Digi max is Rm 5 per day for internet connectivity IIRC~
You have to activate Internet unlimited else it is PAYU = Pay As You Use which is 10kb = 10 sen.
ViRaViRa
post Mar 22 2010, 11:55 PM

Think GOOD. Live WELL. Be HAPPY.
4,625 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 17 2010, 08:09 AM)
You have to activate Internet unlimited else it is PAYU = Pay As You Use which is 10kb = 10 sen.
For daily unlimited (prepaid) of rm5, you do not need to do activation. It will be auto change to next tier once you have reached a daily cap of rm5.
objectifyme
post Apr 6 2010, 09:58 AM

804 posts

Guys, I'm looking for another telco service (other than Maxis) to use with my spare phone when conducting business transactions. Any provider to recommend? I'm not too familiar with the telco providers nowadays. Been using Maxis postpaid for way too long. tongue.gif
chiahau
post Apr 6 2010, 10:46 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(objectifyme @ Apr 6 2010, 10:58 AM)
Guys, I'm looking for another telco service (other than Maxis) to use with my spare phone when conducting business transactions. Any provider to recommend? I'm not too familiar with the telco providers nowadays. Been using Maxis postpaid for way too long. tongue.gif
Then go digi~
Its quite worth for postpaid..
But i think digi is best at msg-ing only..
Some area like mine, poor digi signal..
Surely you don't want some important client gets the voicemail right?
objectifyme
post Apr 6 2010, 01:56 PM

804 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Apr 6 2010, 10:46 AM)
Then go digi~
Its quite worth for postpaid..
But i think digi is best at msg-ing only..
Some area like mine, poor digi signal..
Surely you don't want some important client gets the voicemail right?
Aight. I'll check Digi out. Thanks for the suggestion. smile.gif
Nitrous
post Apr 14 2010, 02:16 PM

212 posts

Hi guys
Digi recently announced a new DG Smart Plan for Smartphones, and I m rather interested in it
DIGI Smart Plan
I don't normally use to call or SMS (i have another number for it), and only need mobile data plan.

At the moment, I m using HTC HD2, and i sometimes use the internet connection on my phone (as opposed to looking for free wifi). Question is, can i connect my HD2 to my notebook and surf internet from the notebook instead (if I do bring my notebook along)? I would like to be able to do internet on both devices, but apparently we could not do tethering to our PC for our mobile internet?

Thanks for the advise!
Nit
Charizard
post Apr 18 2010, 10:51 PM

373 posts

I am switching to digi business plan soon. But then I send a lot of sms, 10 sen is rather exp. Any way to reduce the sms rate? Cause like pre paid they got like reach 50 sen then free sms to all digi right? Or i see some can sms via internet..

156 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0184sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:50 AM