-= ((( GUINEA PIGS CORNER Ver 5.0 ))) =-, I'm cute, Im round and i WHEEEEK! XD

takashishinohara
post Nov 7 2009, 09:53 AM

Swimming Coach, Japanese Language Teacher
524 posts

QUOTE(kaoru himura @ Nov 7 2009, 12:34 AM)
here very hard to get, almost none....if got also cost you a bomb compare to price of abby or normal gp...

I'm still hunting for a sheltie....T_T
Sheltie you mind get it in PJ area

QUOTE(sozhaiming @ Nov 7 2009, 01:54 AM)
Guys, emergency ...

I got 2 male GPs keep on humping each other just like they are having sex. The younger one always did that do the older one and it is like non stop (every 5-6 hours) for around 1 month already. I know you would say they are doing that for dominance but I'm sure they did it for sex. ==" . why ? THEY ACTUALLY EJACULATED AND THERE ARE SPERM EVERYWHERE (not everytime but you can see it clearly if there are some there) .. on the bedding and even on the back of my male GPs. If their sperms are like humans, then I guess it is still acceptable as in easily washable but GPs are like super glue, man .. hard to take off and will easily drop their fur. I can't bath them all the time. I afraid they'll get cold. The younger one even tried to eat the sperm. Yeah, the somehow the solid sperm and it stuck in its mouth just now. AHHHHHHH.

I googled everywhere and cannot find any solutions. Anyone with the same problem ? Any guidance ?

btw, anyone breeding peruvian, sheltie or coronet ?
Seperate it. shocking.gif

QUOTE(CandyQMT @ Nov 7 2009, 02:47 AM)
So how much vege I should give ??? and How much pellet I should give ??? ( I mean a healthy propotion because I give them quite a lot I think ... I scare they NGO CHAN  biggrin.gif  )

Usually I give half of the big carrot ... ( half carrot to feed 2 gp and mine is under 6 month definitely ) then a little of pellet ...about SEGENGGAM of my hand and hay I keep restock it when it's empty just like their water.

Note: Their vege bowl usually have more carrot then other green vege but from this Monday onward I already change the vege bowl to have more green instead of more carrot because I read from some where that they actually only need about 1 baby carrot size per day and not as much as I feed them previously.
Pellet should be the most, and then haf then less of vege. + Vitamin C thumbup.gif

takashishinohara
post Nov 10 2009, 09:12 AM

524 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Nov 9 2009, 10:33 PM)
The buying without knowledge is bad.. But the selling without resposible is worst... Been to sunway  pet lover centre Yesterday.. They jus got a peruvian there.. It is quite big d.. But got a lot of lice.. Then their guinea pig is in a very very sad condition.. Ringworm, lice, fungal infection, mite.. Very sad.. My gal almost cry seeing d condition.. V mention it to d shop.. they jus say is like tat de la.. Walao eh..
They will say is normal because it is natural. Sad to heard that with no responsible. Haihz....

QUOTE(username86 @ Nov 10 2009, 12:24 AM)
mine gp still takot2 wit me. how long it gonna take to knoe me.
Those people now only treat pet like doll, when like just hug and with love, if not happy just trow away like that until sick and die away...

For selling people stated they will love it, but after get earn alot of money start to treat them just like fast fast sell, and don't care anymore. Many them are like that, hate to hear those people say that but in my heart is all human fault because too greedy to take exotic as a pet too, and so make those people don't have enough time to take care of what is should called real pet.

As i know exotic should not be treat as pet and it is belong to natural, like snake, spider, scorpion is not suppose to sell. doh.gif doh.gif

takashishinohara
post Nov 11 2009, 09:30 AM

524 posts

!!How to wash off the pee stain!!

Don't use bleach as the chemicals are very bad for guinea pigs when they breathe it in, try vinegar, I use vinegar and many people do too! Vinegar is very effective. Use 50% vinegar, 50%Water, mix it and then pour or spray it , leave it for 2-5 mins. Then wipe off, if this doesn't work try to add more vinegar.
takashishinohara
post Nov 12 2009, 08:48 AM

524 posts

i forget to reply u, is RM200-350 for Teddy and others rare breed cool.gif

This post has been edited by takashishinohara: Nov 12 2009, 09:12 AM
takashishinohara
post Nov 12 2009, 12:57 PM

524 posts

Muahahahhaaaa, lol Rm350 i prefer come to kl buy
takashishinohara
post Nov 13 2009, 08:40 AM

524 posts

the longest can up to 14 years, but very rare
takashishinohara
post Nov 13 2009, 01:02 PM

524 posts

Some Information

Q: How long do guinea pigs live?
A: About 6 to 8 years and more than that isn't unusual.

Q: How many guinea pigs will I get if my guinea pigs mate?
A: You will end up with about 2 to 3 guinea pigs.

Q: Is it ok to put two guinea pigs together whose ages are different by a couple of years?
A: Yes. If for example you were to get a guinea pig that was about 2 years old and you had one that was only about 5 months old, it would be ok to put them together, providing that they are of the same gender. I actually did this with a 3-year-old and a 5-month-old and they've gotten along just fine, it just takes some time, as with most guinea pigs, even of the same age..

Q: Are flowers, leaves, and dirt okay to feed guinea pigs?
A: Flowers and leaves are poisonous to guinea pigs, but surprisingly, dirt is ok for them to eat!

Q: What foods are poisonous to guinea pigs?
A: Potatoes, raw beans, flowers, and leaves.

Q: Can I give my guinea pig a bath?
A: Yes, you can give your guinea pig a bath. But there is a certain way to do it. For the shampoo, there are many cleansers that you can buy at most pet stores. Just ask someone at a local petstore for a guinea pig/rodent shampoo and they might be able to show you one. If you prefer not to buy shampoo, what you can do is take a bucket, maybe 15-20 inches in diameter and fill it with luke-warm water, and add some soap to it. The water should be no more than 1 inch deep, so that your guinea pig doesn't get any water in its mouth or nose. Then take a clean tooth brush, or maybe just your hands and wash its underside gently. This should clean it somewhat. But always keep an eye on your guinea pig while it is in the bucket/tub. After you wash it, be sure to hold it in a towel until it is COMPLETELY dry (no hair dryers!). This is necessary because a major reason why guinea pigs get colds is from baths.

Q: Are two guinea pigs better than one?
A: Yes, two is better than one. Guinea pigs are social animals and get along well in groups. Two females would be the best. If you get two males, try to get ones that are brothers or have been in the same cage since they have been born. Males that don’t know each other are going to fight.

Q: What do I do if my guinea pig gets bitten or scratched by another guinea pig?
A: First, immediately take the bitten guinea pig out of the cage. Wash the bitten area with water, and take to a vet as soon as possible.

Q:Do I have to clip my guinea pig’s toenails and teeth?
If yes, can I do it myself?
A: Yes, it is necessary to clip a guinea pig’s toenails and teeth. If the toenails get too long, they curl under, and puncture its foot, which may cause infection. This actually happened to one of my guinea pigs. It was put on antibiotics and I always clipped its toenails after that. You also need to clip their teeth. If the teeth get too long, they will also curl under and the guinea pig will be unable to eat, and may die. You can wear down their teeth by giving them salt and mineral wheels and empty toilet paper roles. You cannot clip the teeth yourself. Take your guinea pig to a vet. You CAN clip their toenails by yourself. Hold them underneath the stomach with one hand, and clip their toenails with the other. You should give them a treat afterward so they won’t mind the clipping as much.
--NOTE: If you do give your guinea pig a salt and/or mineral wheel, there is less chance that you will need to take it to a vet to get its teeth clipped. You can usually tell when the teeth need clipping because the guinea pig will stop eating and possibly drinking.
--NOTE: There are certain types of nail clippers that you can buy for guinea pigs. But you can also use regular nail clippers or scissors.

Q: Can guinea pigs live outside?
A: Yes, but they can only live outside on certain conditions. They cannot live outside unless they live in a firm hutch that no predators like cats or birds could get into to eat the guinea pigs. It shouldn't be too cold or too hot outside, either. A good temperature range for guinea pigs would be 64° F to 72° F. The winter and the summer are probably not good times to keep your guinea pigs outside. Late spring and early fall are probably the best times. Most of the time, it is better and safer to keep your guinea pigs inside. There is less risk of disease, sickness, and likelihood of getting eaten or killed.

Q: What is a good temperature for guinea pigs?
A: A good temperature for guinea pigs is 64° F to 72° F. A little cooler and a little warmer won't kill them, though! They just prefer and are more comfortable at that temperature range.

Q: Is it ok if my guinea pig eats its feces (poops)?
A: Yes, it is just fine! Even though it is really disgusting to us, guinea pigs will eat its own feces for the leftover nutrients still in them. Eating them is actually good for guinea pigs!

Q: Is it ok for guinea pigs to use those rolling balls that hamsters use?
A: The rolling balls that they make for hamsters to run around in CANNOT be used for guinea pigs. The pet stores have special guinea pig rolling balls, but in fact, these things can actually fracture guinea pigs' backs and damage their feet.

DID YOU KNOW...

* Guinea pigs are diurnal; they are awake during the day and sleep at night!
* A guinea pig can get up to 2 pounds in weight and 11-14 inches in length.
* Baby guinea pigs (pups) are born with their fur and eyes open!
* A guinea pig is most comfortable at 64 to 72 degrees Fahrenheit (F).
* Abyssinians are NOT larger than short haired guinea pigs. They just appear bigger because of their fur.
* Guinea pigs LOVE to be groomed with toothbrushes.
* It says in The Guiness Book of World Records that the oldest guinea pig known was 14 years old, 10.5 months and was named Snowball, from Nottinghamshire in England. Snowball died at a whopping age of 14 years and 10 months! Snowball died in February 1979.

Here are the picture -- wub.gif wub.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by takashishinohara: Nov 13 2009, 01:03 PM
takashishinohara
post Nov 21 2009, 11:20 AM

524 posts

QUOTE(wersofcked @ Nov 21 2009, 12:11 PM)
She died in front of me when i was syringe feeding her........... :'(
Sad to hear that, Amitabha, may your gp rest in peace
takashishinohara
post Nov 22 2009, 11:44 AM

524 posts

QUOTE(limie @ Nov 22 2009, 12:56 AM)
I need to let go 2GP(both female, get along with each other about 1yr) + cage...

anyone interested pls PM me.

For those who has PM me, im so sorry... i need to know your exp...
Please post your adopt pet in this post --> http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=117&t=443156

QUOTE(rawjuck @ Nov 22 2009, 03:03 AM)
i also use that mites killer, but in my place, it cost me rm10 per tube. but carefull because it is a poison. don't let ur gp lick it. put it on back of gp's neck so they can't lick it.
need to be more careful then thumbup.gif
takashishinohara
post Nov 22 2009, 12:44 PM

524 posts

so far mine one is fine.
takashishinohara
post Dec 3 2009, 11:00 AM

524 posts

hi everyone, long time no see, hope u all healthy and so on to your gp's. Taking Japanese exam this sunday, wish me luck ^^ Minna genki shinasai ne!! baibai
takashishinohara
post Dec 3 2009, 02:02 PM

524 posts

thanks alot chrisw wub.gif biggrin.gif
takashishinohara
post Dec 4 2009, 08:10 AM

524 posts

QUOTE(ylsy @ Dec 4 2009, 01:28 AM)
wt kind of bedding do u mean by "good bedding" ??
blink.gif  smile.gif

Added on December 4, 2009, 12:29 am
erm...where to get ???  drool.gif  drool.gif
Good bedding mean like those won't get many dust, and easy dirty, lasting for absorbsotion. drool.gif
takashishinohara
post Dec 4 2009, 05:51 PM

524 posts

The cheaper i ask is around RM35-45, before buy make sure they are less mite and no injured or any illness.

Added on December 4, 2009, 5:51 pmforget to tell is abby & also american

This post has been edited by takashishinohara: Dec 4 2009, 05:51 PM
takashishinohara
post Dec 7 2009, 08:44 AM

524 posts

lol, i take exam liao, quite hard but i hope can pass
takashishinohara
post Dec 10 2009, 08:11 PM

524 posts

Currently my piggy i think let it go soon, by the way i can't take care much of it, if anyone interest can PM me.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0555sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:11 AM