-= ((( GUINEA PIGS CORNER Ver 5.0 ))) =-, I'm cute, Im round and i WHEEEEK! XD

JackLene
post Jun 3 2009, 10:30 PM

veRy pRetty GP u have theRe... ^^~

LOLs... I went to Dr. Jenny today ...
She found out that MiLky is now a SHE... & not a he...
Just Like FLuffy... sweat.gif
But she daRe not guaRantee coz she said quite scaRed aLso coz it's haRd to diffeRentiate...
but I just didn't have the heaRt to confront heR ...>_<~

Oh weLL anyways.. sugaRcoated... I'm soRRy about what i said eaRLier...
u R fRee to recommend any vet u think is fit to tReat GP...
I was just having a tough time...

This post has been edited by JackLene: Jun 3 2009, 10:32 PM
JackLene
post Jun 4 2009, 04:45 PM

Hmmm what's the eaRLiest age sows can conceive?
Because hitz and I have mistakenLy mixed ouR sows with boaRs...
Both of them are 2.5 months old...
i'm woRRied...
i did ask Dr. J if they couLd be pRegnant.. she said shouLdn't be kua...coz 2 young..
But i just need to doubLe check... because I read onLine that they matuRe @ 3 weeks oLd...

This post has been edited by JackLene: Jun 4 2009, 04:46 PM
JackLene
post Jun 5 2009, 10:42 AM

OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!! ok ok ....
SepaRate miLky fRom heR dad ASAP!!
Hope i'm not 2 Late..... >_<~

hitz aR... keep an eye on FLuffy Orh...
4 weeks oLd can get pRegnant woR O_o!

thanks SugaR & Jas....

JackLene
post Jun 5 2009, 01:46 PM

QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ Jun 5 2009, 11:53 AM)
That is sad sad.gif did the mom survive?
Separation is the best way smile.gif Though i have came across some reading where a lot of research shows that once a GP finds it soulmate.. It will stick to the mate as long as they live. So it could be possible that they wont hump on their kids @@~ it just might be lol.. But to be safe....... separate! XD After 4 weeks it should be safe to separate them. As long u see that the pups are no long suckling on their moms milk smile.gif
LOLs... Ya... i'm veRy woRRied about inBreeding 1 that's y i sepaRated MiLky fRom the mom at 1month old+
& put with the dad.... but HE tuRned into a SHE 1 month LateR... so....have to sepaRate again... rclxub.gif

and YA O_o I think i heaRd that before 2... something to do with SouLmates...
Maybe i shouLd try take the Mom and Dad out to bond with each otheR & see wat happens... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by JackLene: Jun 5 2009, 01:47 PM
JackLene
post Jun 11 2009, 10:29 AM

It is normal.... nod.gif

ThieR immune system is weakeR duRing pRegnancy...
So they tend to be moRe vuneRabLe to mites & otheR skin conditions...

JackLene
post Jun 11 2009, 10:39 AM

U're weLcome..
Oh and yea... foRgot to add in....
It is aLso because the stomach is stRetching....
LOLs...

Coz it happened to my GP.. laugh.gif

JackLene
post Jun 21 2009, 10:02 PM

QUOTE(jason86 @ Jun 20 2009, 11:01 PM)
check out tis....Grooming - guinea pig
LOLs My rexie Looks so cLean & neat now.... nod.gif
thanks to Jason... laugh.gif
JackLene
post Jul 3 2009, 11:09 AM

QUOTE(hitz @ Jul 2 2009, 01:08 PM)
Blackie i think around 9 month old liao...  hmm.gif
Fluffy should be 5 month old...  tongue.gif
Right Jacklyn?  tongue.gif
Haha hitz how do u know i'm reading?
Oh yea i forgot.. u told me to check out Fluffy's latest photo...

erm...her DOB is 15thMarch2009 ....
only 3.5 months Old...

BTW Kien... giving uR GP a box/home is really up to u...
Some prefer not to give so that their GP dont have a habit of hiding...
But u have to understand it is theiR nature to hide & they Love to hide...
They feel more comfortable/happier if they have a home but if they dont...
they'll probably get used to it eventuaLLy just Like Juztiny's GP

My GP's are 2 to 3 years old.. they aren't afraid of me.. but they stiLL Like to run and hide unless there's food...
To Love GPs u have to appreciate the nature of their behaviour ^^~

BTW sugar coated what kinda anti bacterial shampoo u use on ur GP's...
I'm rather concerned about mites & lice as well...
Dunno how else to prevent/control infestation apart from jabs & advantage...

Oh chabbywabbit... what's the recommended dosage for advantage per guinea pig?

This post has been edited by JackLene: Jul 3 2009, 11:18 AM
JackLene
post Jul 6 2009, 09:51 PM

i dunno how to help u kaoru...
I'm having the same problem with practically all my guinea pigs...
Male fight with males..
and my female started to fight after pregnancy...T__T
JackLene
post Jul 7 2009, 11:03 AM

well... mine always end up in a blood bathe =X
they fight til bleed 1 sleep.gif~
I might need to give up more guinea pigs than i intended to coz I didn't realize the femaLe GP can aLso become so aggressive after being separated...
it's so frustrating to have 5 guinea pigs and 5 separate cages for each 1...
I TOTALLY understand how u feel kaoru..
I hope u have better luck than me.. ^^~
Good luck...

This post has been edited by JackLene: Jul 7 2009, 01:31 PM
JackLene
post Jul 7 2009, 07:24 PM

LOLS thanks alot for the advise...
But have been trying that ever since they started fighting..
I stopped trying coz they keep getting badly injured...
Perhaps koaru can try ^^~
Takes lots of patience...
I would sit with them for hours and hours to watch them ..
on the grass..
in my room...
until 1 of them gets bitten...then I'll remove them...
& try again in a few days time...
perhaps need more patience... T_T
JackLene
post Jul 8 2009, 12:35 PM

from what i read online & tried La...
I wasn't successfuL but u can try it..

1) Introduce them on neutRal ground (someplace they R not famiLiar with to prevent them from fighting for territory)
2) U can try bathing them so that they smell the same
3) If still doesnt work... put their cages side by side so that they can get used to each other
4) It seems should be good to have some kinda distraction while introducing them (i.e food/grass)

All the best!!!~
JackLene
post Jul 11 2009, 11:00 AM

as long as they don't fight til they bLeed ... try not to separate them...

Once u separate them.. it would be hard to put them back together again...

They could be fighting for territory & cage space....

Try giving them 2 separate houses (shoe boxes will do)..

I hope it works... ^^~

p/s: Not easy to find peruvian & sheltie around... Depends on ur Luck...

This post has been edited by JackLene: Jul 11 2009, 11:04 AM
JackLene
post Jul 12 2009, 12:40 AM

don't give up so fast yet...
If none of them got injured.. it's harmless fighting....

Separating them may cause depression ... which is worse...
Guinea pigs who are used to company will not be able to survive alone..

How do they fight? Any fur gets bitten off ? Any bite marks? Any bLeeding?
If it's just normal pecking and chasing each other around.. It's no big deal..
It is only serious if any u notice any of the above signs.

I used to have 2 female GPs that peck at each other and fight when sharing a box together...
Then I gave them 2 boxes to Hide in and They fought lesser...

But once u separate them... the other one will cry out loud...

This post has been edited by JackLene: Jul 12 2009, 12:43 AM
JackLene
post Jul 12 2009, 11:08 PM

Just handle them more often then they will get used to u eventually....

And diff GPs have diff characteristics....
Like i mentioned before... my 2 years + female GP isn't afraid of me but just doesn't like me touching her or holding her... so she will still try to run away when i try to catch her...
Some GP's are just like that... I don't think she doesn't like me but she just doesn't like being touched... I'm ok with that though..

And yea.. getting them separate houses should help...
U don't have to buy a new one... just try using boxes & see wat happens..

JackLene
post Jul 13 2009, 09:06 PM

well.... sad to say... if bite til bleed/injured..that's quite bad...
Usually that's when I will start to separate them already...
I was just hoping that u don't share the same fate as me...
As I mentioned before sleep.gif I have like 5 guinea pigs & 4 separate cages ...

Question is... how old are ur guinea pigs? Female or male? & Weren't they together before u got them?

p/s: Don't get mad at uR GP... it didn't intend to bite u... Actually when they are fighting... u shouldn't use uR hand to stop them...
I tried that before while they were biting each other and I used my hand to blocked them & got bitten as well...
GP's hardly ever bite human beings... If bitten can buy lottery d ^^~

This post has been edited by JackLene: Jul 13 2009, 09:07 PM
JackLene
post Jul 13 2009, 10:48 PM

If they have been living together then shld be okay....
Males do tend to fight more often but I guess.. Chubby's right..
They are fighitng for space...
giving them 2 separate houses didn't help?
Usually it will help because it give them each both a separate house to hide in...

p/s: the GPs sold in shops are underage... Too young to be separated from their mother's
JackLene
post Jul 19 2009, 07:23 PM

O_o !!
Sorry for the late reply....

There are 2 vets around the same area....

Dr. Yeoh @ Tmn Megah
Dr. Jenny , Hands N Paws @ Aman Suria

Should have checked on the guinea pig's health condition before u bought it >_<~

JackLene
post Jul 21 2009, 10:23 AM

YEOH VET CLINIC & SURGERY
#126, Jalan SS24/2,
Taman Megah, PJ.
03-7804 8684

erm... I guess guinea pigs can go for a while without hay.
BUT Not for long term though.... hmm.gif

& yea.. guinea pigs do fall into depression rather easily after losing a partner/friend.
Just keep a close eye on him for a while...
I guess spending more time with him will help... nod.gif

This post has been edited by JackLene: Jul 21 2009, 10:24 AM
JackLene
post Jul 21 2009, 01:31 PM

It's perfectly normal... GP's are very easily frightened by loud sound/noises especially during the first few weeks @ a new home...

Eventually it will get better... although they will still be afraid of loud noises but will be alot less jumpy than now...

Don't worry ^^~

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0540sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:09 PM