20 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

-= ((( GUINEA PIGS CORNER Ver 5.0 ))) =-, I'm cute, Im round and i WHEEEEK! XD

TSSugarCoatedCandy
post Apr 21 2009, 05:56 PM

Digital Overlord (Website Manager) lulz!
1,434 posts

QUOTE(CKW008 @ Apr 21 2009, 05:50 PM)
har... so serious... dun scare me leh..
Thats why i said i cant be certain, but through my research i have read about URI which the symptoms are sneezing frequently. URI starts off by bacteria. Also this is possible if you are using bedding like wood bedding. But if your GP isnt sneezing frequently, then it just could be the damp weather.
TSSugarCoatedCandy
post Apr 21 2009, 09:33 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(hitz @ Apr 21 2009, 06:02 PM)
Izzit.. my sister telling me that all small pet in the house not good for pregnant ladies wor..
Coz they got some kind of virus or something.....  shocking.gif  sweat.gif
Well i have been pregnant twice tongue.gif and i have managed to live with my mother in laws ferrets.. so it actually depends on the pregnant lady itself and how healthy your pets are. Like emino said.. best you consult with a doctor.

QUOTE(chabbywabbit @ Apr 21 2009, 08:31 PM)
could it also be from sniffing their food..coz sometimes their food got dust like things...crumbs i mean, leftovers from their food. my nubby sneeze sometimes too...but like he sneeze when he sniff his food bowl lol..then i check the bowl there's like the pellet crumbs ehehhe
sneezing 'sometimes' is nothing to be alarmed.. URI is usually if sneezing occurs frequently..

This post has been edited by SugarCoatedCandy: Apr 21 2009, 09:34 PM
TSSugarCoatedCandy
post Apr 22 2009, 10:12 AM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(JackLene @ Apr 21 2009, 11:57 PM)
My GP is back fROm suRgeRy!!!!!
>_<~ BLeeding... So scaRy... white fuR T__T got bLood stain d...!
Dr. J dunno wat caused the infLamation..
She just removed the fatty tissue that was swoLLen...
Now i Just have to wait for the stitches to heaL!
Cost me moRe money for 2nd time suRgeRy.. sobS T__T~

Note to seLf...
I'M NEVER GOING TO EVER NEUTER ANY OF MY GPs EVER AGAiN!!!!!!~!
Take it easy Jacklene, what is done is done.. don't stress yourself.. I hope your GP recovers real soon nod.gif

This post has been edited by SugarCoatedCandy: Apr 22 2009, 02:29 PM
TSSugarCoatedCandy
post Apr 22 2009, 04:32 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(vv001 @ Apr 22 2009, 03:45 PM)
wanna ask, what is the best height of the cc cage fence?
The chloroplast should be at least an inch high.. The cubes should be double the height of the chloroplast:) but i got mention before the cubes are hard to find XD
TSSugarCoatedCandy
post Apr 22 2009, 08:53 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Apr 22 2009, 08:19 PM)
shocking.gif So fast Petshack no more GP? I just saw them on Saturday which is 4 days ago.

Yea true what you said about Pet Safari, the small pets there are so pitiful.
I went sunday.. heheh too bad missed to meet you on saturday hehe.. Kelvin said you were there hehe ^^
TSSugarCoatedCandy
post Apr 23 2009, 10:22 AM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(petplayground @ Apr 23 2009, 01:00 AM)
hie... i bought some delikate guinea pig food for my gp in bulk (cuz wanna get it cheaper). tell me if anyone is interested ya... can share the bulk lo. just pm me.
Delikate is actually not a good brand huhu... I now support oxbow all the way thumbup.gif Btw guys.. i would like to ask around.. who else here is still on Hagen Pellets for their babies?

QUOTE(mr.hikano @ Apr 23 2009, 01:22 AM)
can giv ur GP to me? hehehe...
almost one month im doing research regarding GP...
just still think where to buy it... icon_question.gif  cry.gif
any home breed GP??

icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
Try searching garage sales, also taking time to go around pet shops surveying for healthy ones are the best option. This way you can check yourself.

QUOTE(chamyk2311 @ Apr 23 2009, 10:06 AM)
I highly thinks that Jacklyene should use "selling" method to help her GP's to find their owner. Especially if the new owner is a 1st timer. It's not about earning profit or what, but to assure that the new owner can really take the responsibility for being the GP's owner or not. Human tense to care more of their pet if they get them by $$$, there is no doubt about it UNLESS they are experienced pet lover, that's a different story. Well, anyway... hope ur GP's Got new owner soon !!! Chubby seems to be a very good guy >.<
I agree with you chamyk smile.gif
TSSugarCoatedCandy
post Apr 23 2009, 11:12 AM

1,434 posts

Yes hehe.. PM would be the best method.. Good luck getting new owners ^^
TSSugarCoatedCandy
post Apr 23 2009, 11:31 AM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(mr.hikano @ Apr 23 2009, 11:28 AM)
from what i read...home breed is the most preferred one...huhuh... i had go most of pet shop in KL n Subang...mayb today wanna search others pet shop...
Yes home bred is the best.. coz they are housed in a much stress free environment.. But sometimes you need to see what the breeders feed, how they treat their GPs and such also.. There is a lot of petshops ni hehehe.. just take a day off to go to the many2 different kinds of petshops.. BTW dont buy from Safari tongue.gif You be the judge of how healthy the GPs are ^^ Good luck~
TSSugarCoatedCandy
post Apr 23 2009, 11:59 AM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(mr.hikano @ Apr 23 2009, 11:48 AM)
any pet shop u can recommend to me?
None that i dare to recommend at the mean time coz their live stocks change from time to time.. sometimes healthy.. sometimes the other way round, so best you go check out different shops.
TSSugarCoatedCandy
post Apr 23 2009, 03:15 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(Chinchillas @ Apr 23 2009, 12:29 PM)
You can do a research and visit some pet shop, not every pet shop is bad as what sugarcoated mention.  And Hagen been in the market for long, they pellet is not high grade tho, but your GP wont die with not using other pellet. Delikate is just another brand may not be grade food as it claim, but it is selling like hot cake outside by the distributor.
All live stock supply to the pet shop is from breeder who breed from home, shop and back yard. And mostly will have very high chances of inbreed as well. You can check with the pet shop if they welling to tell you is local or from thailand. Most properly 99% is local breed. That's you can get GP on just RM3X something onward.
I dint say all is bad.. Probably i survey more pet shops than you do.. Read properly what i quoted before.. i stated the livestocks sometimes are ok and sometimes are not.. so the best thing is to FIND OUT YOURSELF BY VISITING THE PETSTORE.

As for Hagen Pellets i was on it too until i find out MANY MANY MANY BAD FEEDBACK ON IT. They have stuff like corn glutten and corn corbs in the mixture and there was once a case where a GP DID DIE of eating excessive pellets from this brand. Delikate is even worst because of the seeds and hard corn inside which can practically choke a GP!

QUOTE(Roborovskii @ Apr 23 2009, 12:34 PM)
thx...i find hard on this kind of gp in penang....is hard....
anyway..i like peruvian more...bt i go jor abt more thn 10 pet shop in penang still didnt get it ...
It's hard to see peruvian here in selangor even.. if there was peruvians, probably only 1 or 2.

QUOTE(hitz @ Apr 23 2009, 02:29 PM)
Pet Lover at Sunway Piramid also got GP.. RM30 each..
Look healthy.. but 1 or 2 got eye injury... sad.gif
So better look carefully before you bought it..
Once there is an eye injury somewhere in the stock or a very sick GP, i rather not take the rest even though the rest look healthy.
TSSugarCoatedCandy
post Apr 23 2009, 08:24 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(CKW008 @ Apr 23 2009, 07:57 PM)
Ivermectin also can be taken orally oso.. my GPs once got mite prb and taken Iver orally to cure it.. i juz dunwan my gps to have a jab as my 1st gp died becoz of it..

for skin those flakes prb.. my gps are cured by using anti-fungus shampoo.. actually for dog.. but the vet recommend me to use as she use on her rabbit and still ok.. juz nid to dilute the shampoo.. so tat not so concentrated as GPs skin are not as thick as doggies..
omg.. i am feeding mine Hagen since they were bought..!! pls show some links c c... about the long term consumption.. really got bad effect?/
Yup im actually compiling the links now nod.gif wait for it yeah... BTW nice home for your piggies! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by SugarCoatedCandy: Apr 23 2009, 08:27 PM
TSSugarCoatedCandy
post Apr 24 2009, 10:29 AM

1,434 posts

I'm still compiling the proper links showing that Hagen pellets is not so good. But i still can't find the link where there was a story where a GP died of eating excessive hagen pellets cry.gif Those who are still on Hagen, don't fret.. you can slowly change.. Refer to my first post and read what kind of Quality pellets you should find. Not trying to promote or what sort, but Oxbow has gotten a lot of good feedbacks. It might be expensive, but at least we know what we feeding them is safe.. Take time to read the ingredients of the pellets when buying.

I made a mistake by judging that Hagen was a really good GP pellet the last time sad.gif coz i dint bother reading all of the ingredients. I just jumped to conclusion that it was a good brand since a lot of people are on it. But after a while, after reading many forums in the overseas... i see that MANY strongly Recommend NOT feeding Hagen.. and that is where my research began ><

anyways will try to post the links up asap.. im currently really tied up with deadlines XD
TSSugarCoatedCandy
post Apr 24 2009, 11:24 AM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(JackLene @ Apr 24 2009, 11:18 AM)
I bought just bought Oxbow few days ago because the Lady @ PetShack said it's highLy recommended... Without Looking at the price... i Just grabbed it....FREAKING expensive man!!!! O_o
*BUrnt a hoLe in my pocket*

WeLL.. those who R feeding Hagen... Like sugaRcoated said.. don't fret...
My GP has been eating Hagen for 3 years aLready..
It's the most affordabLe pellet & is betteR than the mixed pellets...

Just feed moRe hay... hay is heaLthieR than peLLets ^^~
AHAHHAHAH yeah a bit expensive rite sweat.gif but im now 100% on oxbow.. i just realized i making a bigger hole in my pocket too XD coz my girls have gone crazy over it.. First few feedings i mixed with hagen.. swt leave aside the hagen edi! No touch =.= usually GPs take a longer time to change food.. seems like they dont even care about hagen anymore rclxms.gif
TSSugarCoatedCandy
post Apr 24 2009, 03:57 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(scorpgal @ Apr 24 2009, 02:23 PM)
NOW I'VE BEEN MIXING WITH PREVIOUS I BOUGHT BEFORE I BOUGHT THE HAGEN,THE PREVIOUS BRAND IS THE JAPAN MIXER PALLET.
Japan pellet? What brand is that? ^^

QUOTE(hitz @ Apr 24 2009, 02:26 PM)
So the GP older than 6 month old just need to feed them with timothy hay? No need alfafa right?

Just went to survey at Pet Wonderland just now. Saw 4 short hair GP... all seem healthy.. rclxms.gif
The was Peruvian GP also but imported from Holland wor.. Price RM198 wor..  blink.gif
All also look healthy thou.. age 3-4month..
Yes after 6 months they can depend fully on Timothy only.. don't need to mix.. alfalfa is meant for growing GPs~

This post has been edited by SugarCoatedCandy: Apr 24 2009, 03:58 PM
TSSugarCoatedCandy
post Apr 26 2009, 10:42 PM

1,434 posts

Keep repeating pressing flour on it.. Like put the flour in a bowl, then press the bleeding nail there. If still bleeding then you will have to bring to dr jenny.. It is possible for infection..
TSSugarCoatedCandy
post Apr 27 2009, 11:27 AM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(chamyk2311 @ Apr 27 2009, 11:08 AM)
Any sifus here can teach me how to determine whether my GP is pregnant or not? One of my GP body seems like getting bigger but i dunno she is pregnant or not because she eat alot everytime. I dunno whether she is getting pregnant or is her stomach getting big because full. Got any pregnant test to know it?
Hie Chamyk, there are no pregnant tests for GPs ><; But here is a method you can try.. pick mommy up then feel her left and right side and see if got lumps. Or the bottom there. If your GP is the kind can know how to keep still on your lap.. put your hand at her belly and see if anything is moving in there. Also the back part is not proportional to the front part of her body. She looks obese at her back laugh.gif These are based on my reading last time. But i think its best to ask Juztiny. He has breed a few of his litter.. Or maybe Jacklene too you can ask them.. I haven't experience such events coz mine are both girls laugh.gif How old is mommy chamyk?

This post has been edited by SugarCoatedCandy: Apr 27 2009, 11:29 AM
TSSugarCoatedCandy
post Apr 27 2009, 11:03 PM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(Chubbyagel @ Apr 27 2009, 10:44 PM)
What to do if they piggies always fighting ar? When separate them they will scream for each other....when put together you will hear one of them scream like got killed....but just once a while la...Bugsy very aggressive always bully bubble....poor bubble....
I find it weird that they are fighting.. they got along fine before this rite? If you can do a divider within the cage then that's the best option.. they still keep contact with each other and can touch within the divider and no one gets hurt, BUT only do this if they are fighting til things get too rowdy. But it will cut space for them to run around or alternatively get a bigger cage so that one can get away from another.. If they are just fighting like not so bad, then i suggest leaving them as it is for the meanwhile but you will need to supervise. Or separate them everyday and put them together at nite and see if they still fight.. do this until it stops tongue.gif

It is a common misconception that two male guinea pigs will fight. Compatibility between two guinea pigs is determined by the personalities of the individuals rather than their gender... Some piggies will fight with any pig, but the vast majority delight in having a companion. Usually males fight if there is a sow in the clan.. other than that.. they are all good thumbup.gif
TSSugarCoatedCandy
post Apr 28 2009, 09:59 AM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(vv001 @ Apr 28 2009, 09:02 AM)
wont they got bumble feet because the hole is too big?
under you put newspaper? how long do you change them?
^^
bumblefeet caused by wired cage bottoms and especially those cages that bask in the sun. I use the same mats for my piggies. Its very soft on their feet.
TSSugarCoatedCandy
post Apr 28 2009, 10:53 AM

1,434 posts

Xiawa's way is a good way nod.gif i know a few people doing the same thing too.. Another option.. which is less expensive, use the hay as bedding underneath the bathroom mats XD coz yea.. breeder celect is super expensive ahhaha and the cage is like soooo big =.=;
TSSugarCoatedCandy
post Apr 28 2009, 11:14 AM

1,434 posts

QUOTE(vv001 @ Apr 28 2009, 11:08 AM)
so bathroom mats can be used la, thanks a lot.

so from top,

bathroom mat
newspaper at bottom?

do we need to special treat the newspaper to avoid fungus?
may i know what is breeder celect?
breeder celect is recycled paper cat litter.. You can find info about BC here. BC does not contains chemicals that can harm GPs and very highly absorbant. What do u mean by newspaper to avoid fungus.. Fungus and parasites only come in tact with their cage bedding/flooring because of no proper care tongue.gif so this means, cleaning your piggies cage should not be taken lightly. Since i use fleece as bedding, i clean my cage every 4-5 days.. its a lot of work laugh.gif coz GPs are messy eaters doh.gif

This post has been edited by SugarCoatedCandy: Apr 28 2009, 11:17 AM

20 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0250sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:12 PM