Your Home Theater Setup, Let's share

mpyw
post Jan 10 2012, 10:36 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Jan 10 2012, 07:08 PM)
Bro.. Cable only cost less than rm1k.. How to more than your system? Lol

Interesting feedback on the Sony.. How much does it cost?
htkaki's cable runs towards 5 figures ler... sweat.gif

the Sony HW30...try PM htkaki to get best price.....no shop can match his price lar tongue.gif
mpyw
post Jan 12 2012, 01:44 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Jan 12 2012, 10:33 AM)
Mine was below the 10% rule. All in all it is around 6k. Mainly on kimber and wireworld cables.
wow...60k system u got there...

my cable total less than 1k, mainly from Amazon & Monoprice sweat.gif
and current in the HT room one is FREE!!! carried over from old owner one...
mpyw
post Feb 1 2012, 08:28 AM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Jan 30 2012, 06:10 PM)
U guys around this Saturday? thought of hosting a mini gathering for hifi friends and cny get together. can test test systems/cables and share our knowledge.
can itchy butt here join the FOC makan minum? blush.gif tongue.gif
a movie fan can join hifi fan ar? sweat.gif
mpyw
post Feb 2 2012, 03:55 PM

3,603 posts

Oops...my SIL is coming this Sat....I'll have to give this a miss sad.gif
mpyw
post Feb 16 2012, 01:40 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(boreclub @ Feb 15 2012, 04:33 PM)
thanks for reply bro Smith, i think i'll go for projector, but can any sifus recommend any model? screen & size?
If i wanna go for both tv n projector? means my projector screen need to be scroll up/down type? is the quality of the screen good then?
Karaoke - full set with computer - (Amp, mixer, 2 mics, speakers + 10000 songs) - RM7k
projector - Epson TW6000 (for long bulb life and bright living room mode with decent cinema performance) - RM7.5k (local set), SG will be slightly cheaper

Balance 6k

Screen - 1k (100")
AVR - 2k (enry level)
BD player - 300 (entry level)
5.1 speaker set - 3.5k
cables - 500

there you go, a lil over budget but just nice tongue.gif
mpyw
post Feb 19 2012, 09:24 AM

3,603 posts

Got a few new toys which is feast to my eyes....tongue.gif sweat.gifbrows.gif
mpyw
post Feb 19 2012, 10:22 PM

3,603 posts

Just finished watching Priest in 3D, the light output are good enough for me even in low lamp mode.

Did not notice any cross talk, not dizziness for me. Colour accuracy is very good in 3D. The 2D is very very solid with a very solid line of RGB at 2.2gamma and almost every measurement at at 6500k.
mpyw
post Feb 20 2012, 07:00 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Feb 20 2012, 11:00 AM)
I'll bring popcorn when we meet in abt 2 weeks time.  laugh.gif

So, what's the next upgrade?
Next need to upgrade my wallet sweat.gif

Doc, my wife said you are always welcome anytime and she will cook your order as well brows.gif
mpyw
post Feb 26 2012, 07:11 PM

3,603 posts

my new toy:-

the image:-

mpyw
post Feb 26 2012, 07:28 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Feb 26 2012, 07:23 PM)
@ mpyw, what screen material do you use?
it's a grey screen I think with 0.85 gain
mpyw
post Feb 27 2012, 09:54 AM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(iman_210 @ Feb 26 2012, 07:55 PM)
after going all through this and moving into my new place now reckon to go for projector setup...but my worry is how true the pic would be compared to my current FHD LCD...

whats the best combo for both FHD projector and screen with good gain under 4k peeps?
under 4k would be very tight and you won't get the best from the projector.
But the huge size getting from the projector will definately compensate for maybe little lost in piture quality.
FYI, a 100" screen is 4 times larger than a 50" TV
mpyw
post Feb 29 2012, 08:43 AM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(bayrowser @ Feb 28 2012, 10:44 PM)
Can you share your reasons for picking the Sony HW30ES. Did you consider the Epson TW8000?  I am seriously looking to purchase a PJ - apparently 'down south' prices are very good. Any jalan?
TW8000 price in M'sia is almost same as HW30ES here and I got a very good package price and proper installation services from the shop.

Unless you can get the TW8000 from S'pore (list at SGD4,299 x 2.45 = RM10,532 + 10% tax = RM11,585 + shipping) at a much lower price, the TW8000 listed in M'sia at RM12,800 but can get at RM11,280 from the shop here with local warranty, so no point getting from S'pore also. sweat.gif I think they come with 1 pair of 3D active shutter glasses only and you need to comfirm with the shop if the price include installation or not.

Even if u want to import from USA, the 5010 going for USD2999 (RM9,446 + shipping (RM400) + 10% tax) = RM10,831, modest saving there, might as well get from local.

And I like SXRD film like picture thumbup.gif and since I have a bat cave, the lower brightness is not a problem to me, if you want to put it at living room, you should consider the Epson.
mpyw
post Feb 29 2012, 10:37 AM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Feb 29 2012, 10:16 AM)
Currently, may I ask which is the better in 3D pj for <15k?
Just asking for a friend who will have a dedicated HT room.
for 3D, according to AVS forum,

Best one for all (2D, 3D, Gaming) - Sony HW30ES (RM12k-13k)

Best 3D (brighest and min ghosting) and very good 2D but have lag in gaming - Epson TW8000 (5010 in US) (RM11.5k)

Runner up - Panasonic AE7000 with CIH and DI in 3D (Piture quality comparable to Epson TW8000)(RM14k-15k)

Best 2D and average 3D - JVC RS45 (RM15k-16k)

Best entry level 3D model - Epson TW6000 (3010 in US) and Optoma HD33 (if you are not sensitive to RBE), both also do not have lens shift. (Both around RM7k in M'sia)

This post has been edited by mpyw: Mar 1 2012, 10:55 AM
mpyw
post Mar 5 2012, 08:56 AM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(pokchik @ Mar 4 2012, 10:10 PM)
hi guys, i've been checking online if there are any issues with HDMI i/o hot swapping
(plug-in/plug-out HDMI cables from its ports during on-mode/or even in standby mode)

hv u guys face any issues like HDMI i/o ports not functioning due to hot swap?
my AVR (4 HDMI in/1 out) is having issues with HDMI only, but i'm not quite sure if it's
really due to hot swapping.  doh.gif
not recommend to do hotswap with HDMI. Just gio buy a switch or spliter lar.
mpyw
post Mar 22 2012, 02:39 PM

3,603 posts

wow, i can only drool....
mpyw
post Mar 28 2012, 08:15 PM

3,603 posts

LPCM from PS3 sucks big time!

it's so dull and flat....no dynamics at all.
mpyw
post Mar 29 2012, 10:37 AM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Mar 29 2012, 09:51 AM)
You might want to consider of upgrade of your player then
I thought BD45 is newer model than the BD60?

nagayem,

for RM1k, many choices out there, it's like mid-range already.
mpyw
post Apr 2 2012, 04:28 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(rain" @ Apr 1 2012, 10:10 AM)
I have budget or Rm 1.8k. What system, brand n models shall I go for? Pls help recommend
RM1.8k....can buy a left side bookshelve speaker from htkaki blush.gif tongue.gif

Juz kidding sweat.gif tongue.gif

for that budget, juz get any HTiB....sound not much different among them.
mpyw
post May 18 2012, 09:26 PM

3,603 posts

my new 3D glasses is here!
the Puss In Boots 3D bluray won from hometheater shack forum tongue.gif thumbup.gif
mpyw
post May 20 2012, 09:30 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(Will.i.am.Smith @ May 20 2012, 07:49 PM)
Wow..the 3D glasses work on any projector/tv??
Yup, works with all 3D TV and projector, and best of all it uses RF, no no need line of sight and will never loss sync.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0412sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:12 AM