Your Home Theater Setup, Let's share

ronaldjoe
post Mar 8 2011, 12:22 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Mar 7 2011, 10:18 PM)
In Malaysia, YES. But, you have other 'avenue' to get it at cheaper price. Once you walk the high-end path, it could probably be a path with no return. You already knew this  laugh.gif

Luckily in my case, my wallet is the ABS and EBD brake blush.gif
The other 'avenue' is sometime very taxing and distracting as most of the aspects (from ordering, payment channel and logistics & customs etc) have to be handled with care personally.

I would say it's wise to pay more to local dealer and just sit back, relax and enjoy smile.gif
Doing it once in a while is fun. laugh.gif
ronaldjoe
post Mar 8 2011, 09:24 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Mar 8 2011, 09:17 AM)
Shall we pay Audio Perfectionist a visit when you are free?  smile.gif Clarity MP opened its first branch in Malaysia at Jaya One. So, can check out Mark Levinson as well.
I better cabutz... laugh.gif Too much poisons
ronaldjoe
post Mar 20 2011, 03:20 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Mar 18 2011, 01:25 PM)
Here's some shot of my new HT room....with cheap point & shoot camera... blush.gif

Equipments list:

AVR : Onkyo TX-NR808
Power Amp : Emotiva XPA-3
BD Player : Dune BD Prime 1.0
Speakers : Axiom M60v2, VP150v2, Mordount Short Avant 900 Series Surround speakers
Sub woofer : SVS PC12 Plus
Projector : Sharp ZXV9000E 720p digital projector
HDD NAS: IcyDock, Probox, Buffalo External, Twin Dockers
cool.gif
Perfect under ground bunker for 'World War III' thumbup.gif
ronaldjoe
post May 28 2011, 03:27 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ May 28 2011, 02:18 AM)
RM10k for a TT setup is average tbh biggrin.gif

Anyway, went out early in the morning to bring these home:
One is not enough, so I bought two. rclxms.gif (one is for my cousin)

Spent the rest of the day to add on some parts to my rack and many more hours in cable management + building those interconnects:

Took with a pretty old PnS. Wife took my camera out....

Impressive wub.gif Alamakor...
I cant help myself droolingggg drool.gif drool.gif

ronaldjoe
post May 29 2011, 10:38 PM

3,569 posts

Jchong's room is pretty good as well. nod.gif
ronaldjoe
post May 30 2011, 09:39 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ May 30 2011, 01:29 AM)
no doubt taukeh jchong and yours as well are the next 2 castles  biggrin.gif  sub 2 on the way ah?
Danny, I wish I would have the moolah for the sub2.
Wifey already complained on the S6 curvy shape. Luckily I didn't get the cherry version. She told me it's like coffin... sweat.gif

I am having setup problem and need time to run it the fronts. The fronts do not sound quite right to me now.
A power amp is needed and futher fine tuning is required.

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: May 30 2011, 09:42 AM
ronaldjoe
post Jul 16 2011, 01:30 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(tim_1335 @ Jul 14 2011, 04:25 PM)
Hello guys...here's my entry level noob HT in the living room. Still don't have proper speaker stands yet. doh.gif

Fronts - Paradigm Reference Studio 10 v5
Center - Paradigm Reference Studio CC-490
Subwoofer - Rythmik Audio F12
Surrounds - Wharfedale WH2 Bipoles
AV Receiver - Yamaha RX V-1800
HD player - WDTV Live
Very nice setup rclxms.gif
You may consider auralex Mopad for the fronts.
ronaldjoe
post Aug 30 2011, 06:16 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(ShenToN @ Aug 30 2011, 05:24 PM)
Halfway building my small little man cave! more pictures will be up soon smile.gif
WTF!?? What's the binoculars for? Stalking your naked neighbours? LOLz tongue.gif
Nice setup. Looking forward for a completed setup.
ronaldjoe
post Sep 15 2011, 07:02 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Sep 14 2011, 10:47 PM)
Screen is just 92in fixed screen. Projector is related to JVC, same brand as your power amp smile.gif
It's an Anthem. biggrin.gif
ronaldjoe
post Nov 15 2011, 06:13 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Nov 15 2011, 05:41 PM)
5 channel.

Anyway, when you are looking at amps don't just look at the wattage. There are many factors which impact the amp performance, including current delivery, capacitance, transformer size, etc.
nod.gif
It's a damn good amp. I like the SQ from the setup very much. wub.gif
Running full XLR connections would give extra 3 dB yield, save half on amp power!
The extra clarity is priceless.
ronaldjoe
post Nov 15 2011, 06:17 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Nov 15 2011, 06:15 PM)
Wah, poison me to get a pre-pro izzit? biggrin.gif
Yeah, boss. There is extra headroom from the amp. thumbup.gif
Can crank even louder. laugh.gif
ronaldjoe
post Nov 22 2011, 01:25 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Nov 22 2011, 09:24 AM)
Did they state the reason why monopole or direct radiating spkr is better?  hmm.gif

Here are the differences :

Direct Radiating Speakers
A direct radiating speaker outputs sound directly into the room towards the listeners. Surround sound effects in movies, music and games are most noticeable with direct speakers. In general, most people prefer direct speakers if they listen mostly to multichannel music. Direct speakers are placed at the sides or rear of the listening room behind the listeners.

Bipole Speakers

Bipole surround speakers have two or more speakers that output sound from both sides of the cabinet. If used as side surround speakers, the sound is output both towards the front and rear of the room. If used as rear surround speakers, they output sound in both directions along the rear wall. The dual speakers used in a bipole speaker are ‘in phase’, meaning that both speakers output sound simultaneously. Bipole speakers create a diffuse surround effect so the location of the speaker cannot be pinpointed. In general, bipole speakers are a good choice for movies and music and are usually placed on the side walls.

Dipole Speakers

Like a bipole speaker, a dipole speaker outputs sound from both sides of the cabinet. The difference is dipole speakers are ‘out of phase’, which means that one speaker is outputting sound while the other is not, and vice-versa. The purpose is to create a very diffuse and enveloping surround sound effect. Dipole surround speakers are usually preferred by movie enthusiasts and are also placed on the side walls.

For my room, I prefer bipole. This is not to say that I shunt dipole as a good dipole is not cheap for peasant like me. Try ask ronaldjoe about the price for Paradigm ADP3  sweat.gif  I have experimented with different position for my bipole in order to get the best enveloping sound from it. The rear wall plays its part too.
Boss, ADP3 is ard 14K (Malaysia boleh price). I love the sound from ADP, surprisingly the sound stage has opened up and widen much. nod.gif

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Nov 22 2011, 01:29 PM
ronaldjoe
post Nov 22 2011, 01:30 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Nov 22 2011, 12:27 PM)
Talking about Subwoofer and cables, my friend's friend just told him that by swapping to a higher grade powercords (costing few grands), this has instantly elevated his Velo sub performance by 30% !!!!!

Wow, like that all higher grade sub can 'tah pau' already. All you need is a top grade cables! The chap's sub locality in the room is unchanged. Hearing is believing. However, to each its own.
Thanks Htkaki for the Bi or Dipole info, now only I know its detailed function albeit heard them before  blush.gif
Shunyata Anaconda CX ar? so expensive... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Nov 22 2011, 01:30 PM
ronaldjoe
post Nov 22 2011, 06:30 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Nov 22 2011, 05:44 PM)
Power cable does make a diiference whether it's good or bad.

Yes, there are different power cables for different purpose just like the Voodoo that I tested out. I have also tested NBS as well as many other power cords. The power cable being used has to commensurate with the equipments. That could be the reason why my RM1.8K cable sounded almost similar to the RM6.5K cable.
+1. I have to agree there isn't much benefits gain for power cable.
For HT setup, difference on power cord is barely minimal.
ronaldjoe
post Nov 23 2011, 08:42 PM

3,569 posts

Blue tack it on the stand. nod.gif

For the record, I m listening to Hacken Lee concert at -0dB today. There is no sign of fatigue. I feel like cranking up more.
ronaldjoe
post Nov 23 2011, 09:26 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Nov 23 2011, 09:09 PM)
Reference level  thumbup.gif  Of course lah, such a high-end HT system  laugh.gif

Talking about volume, I found out that it ain't quite what I thought it to be. What I mean is that the volume level as a benchmark. I had auditioned cust's system at -5dB (same avr as mine) but it seemed to be about equivalent to -10dB of my system.  hmm.gif It might be due to room acoustic.

I seldom breach the -10dB mark except when I watched U2 360deg Rose Bowl, Bon Jovi, Sting Live in Berlin and Andrea Bocelli Live in Tuscany. It is around -5dB to -8dB since it is really loud.
+1 boss. I have to agree, it's much louder at your pad.
ronaldjoe
post Dec 17 2011, 08:09 AM

3,569 posts

Spam pics on the newly arrived Kimber 8TC 17ft pair. I prefer postmaster spade at amp ends, sadly it's out of stock. I had to settle down with SBAN at both ends. I like the sound of Kimber. thumbup.gif

ronaldjoe
post Dec 17 2011, 08:19 PM

3,569 posts

8TC: I get more black background, wider sound stage (more separation) and a laid back warmer sound compared to my previous Taralabs RSC Gen II.
ronaldjoe
post Dec 19 2011, 10:30 PM

3,569 posts

Spamming pics of 8TC of another 8ft pair with postmaster spades and SBAN bananas (this was gotten earlier).

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Dec 19 2011, 10:31 PM
ronaldjoe
post Dec 19 2011, 10:33 PM

3,569 posts

Aiya, Boss. No holland la. Hahaha.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top