Your Home Theater Setup, Let's share

klimal
post Aug 21 2011, 09:32 AM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Aug 21 2011, 08:58 AM)
wow klimal.. love the size of ur room. must be nice to have huge house like that smile.gif
It's my living room.
As you can see, I am not a neatness freak blush.gif
Thankfully, I have a most understanding HM. thumbup.gif
klimal
post Aug 21 2011, 10:42 AM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Aug 20 2011, 09:28 PM)
Yup..

Welcome to de pj club..

Its one of de roads tat is non reversible.. I would add..

D
Thank you, finally took the plunge after ruminating on it for a while.

Added on August 21, 2011, 10:52 am
QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 20 2011, 04:49 PM)
It's quite an undertaking. I remember it took me a few hours as well. But I didn't do everything one shot.

1. Earlier I had marked out the location on the plaster ceiling where the mount will go. Then I installed the base of the mount first. Maybe 40 mins.
2. Once the screen arrived, first thing is to assemble the screen. 30 mins.
3. Then another day with some help, it is to position and mount the screen on the wall. Maybe 75 mins.
4. Lastly hook up the projector to the mount arms and screw that to the base. Another 30 mins.
The pro installer initially use a pole for the pj but needed keystone +3 correction. After some discussion, and showing him the Mitsubishi PJ Calculator, we decided to do away with the pole.
He also helped to wall mount my Unifi Router and Modem, installed the custom TV bracket at the same time.
He was doing all this alone, so I guess that's why it took him so long.
Also quite meticulous and careful e.g. used a small box to collect the dust as he drilled, drilled very slowly and explained what he was doing all the time.

This post has been edited by klimal: Aug 21 2011, 10:52 AM
klimal
post Aug 21 2011, 04:51 PM

1,136 posts

30" from the floor, so don't have to keep looking up.
Iniatially,I was thinking of 36" which will clear both the speaker and subs.
I was tempted to go for a bigger screen but logic finally won over.
Sitting 10 feet away, 92" is the limit for us.
As it is, watching fast scenes was giving me vertigo last night rclxub.gif
klimal
post Aug 21 2011, 11:04 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Aug 21 2011, 08:58 PM)
need some recommendation for a good installer, can recommend yours klimal? I got a fixed screen instead, now wondering how to mount the plasma tv since the screen can't be rolled up. Any ideas?
Is there such a thing as a hydraulic lifter for the tv? Ie. when not in use then it can be lowered just like a lift.
This guy actually does work for CMY.
His name is Peter and his mobile is 0122956826.

klimal
post Aug 21 2011, 11:27 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 21 2011, 08:14 PM)
The installer does sound meticulous. Where did you find him? And how much did he charge for his services?

Also, what mount did you use for the pj? I'm surprised the length adjustment is quite limited, with the result that you have to use keystone.
He was recommended by my hi-fi dealer friend.
Does work for CMY, among others.
I'll pm you his charges, which is I believe is very reasonable.
His is a lump sum quote and did not charge me for mounting the plasma TV, Unifi router and modem. This extra work was done upon my request.
He came a day earlier to survey what needed to be done, and custom made the wall bracket and mount for the TV.

On further studying the issue, the keystone issue can be solve by a little further adjustment.
This will mean the lower edge of the screen will be 31" from the floor.
Probably can do this myself.

Added on August 21, 2011, 11:32 pm
QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 21 2011, 11:20 PM)
Same guy that I am using. Many hi-fi shops enlist his service. He does not work directly under CMY. He has his own biz selling racks and speaker stands. Nice chap. He drove Unser to your place?
Yes, he did.
The Unser seems to be a preferred mode of transport among you guys biggrin.gif
He has a huge NGV tank installed.

This post has been edited by klimal: Aug 21 2011, 11:32 PM
klimal
post Aug 22 2011, 10:52 AM

1,136 posts

My sitting position is actually 10' from the 80" wide screen ( eyeball to screen).
According to your formula, I should be sitting as close as 8' from the screen rclxub.gif
My HM now sits behind the main sofa whenever we use the screen.
If I increase the screen size any further, I think she will go upstairs to watch her HK serials. sweat.gif
Last night, relatives came and also commented "too close" doh.gif

This post has been edited by klimal: Aug 22 2011, 10:56 AM
klimal
post Aug 22 2011, 03:46 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(Bishop @ Aug 22 2011, 01:29 PM)
Nice pics.  thumbup.gif

What screen did you use? any issue with the screen crumpling? Thinking of doing the same when I move...
Unic High Contrast Grey Manual 92".
So far no scalloping noticed, but it is still new.
Keeping fingers crossed.
klimal
post Aug 22 2011, 04:54 PM

1,136 posts

That gives me an excuse to go motorised then whistling.gif
klimal
post Aug 24 2011, 12:44 PM

1,136 posts

The V cleavage is from the repeated pulling down on the screen via the handle.
Can it be avoided if we pull down on either side of the handle?
klimal
post Aug 24 2011, 04:03 PM

1,136 posts

Actually when in 2.35 aspect ratio, it is ok.
When watching the whole 16.9 ( Avatar, Oceans, Planet Earth, etc), it is 'huge'
klimal
post Aug 26 2011, 05:50 PM

1,136 posts

Last few nights, didn't hear her complain ady whistling.gif
Now awaiting the curtains. Managed to get some nice blackout curtains in a deep maroon color.
Inclu of rails and sewing ~ RM1.5K sweat.gif
There is still too much ambient light from the staircase and wet kitchen.
Delivery only after 17th Sept due to the raya backlog.
After curtains, calibration will be done. thumbup.gif
klimal
post Sep 1 2011, 01:06 PM

1,136 posts

Very impressive.
Neat and cozy.
The walls look like they have sound proof panels.
Care to share what they are?
klimal
post Sep 5 2011, 06:25 PM

1,136 posts

Where can I find a 2.35 aspect screen here in KL/PJ?
Apparently, one can configure the HC4000 for this screen, and at a press of aspect button, get 16:9 HDTV ratio too ( Black bars at the sides ) on the same screen.

I am looking for a 106" wide x 45" high screen 2.35 aspect ratio.
klimal
post Sep 13 2011, 02:33 PM

1,136 posts

to be honest, while watching the movie, I am so deeply engrossed, I don't even notice them.
Even all the blue, white and yellow lights from the unifi router, Denon avr,power amp, astro, decoder, 4 bay Hotway and Dune Base all seems to disappear when the show begins.
Talk about being engrossed nod.gif
klimal
post Sep 14 2011, 02:15 PM

1,136 posts

One of the 'sifu' from this forum here is coming over tonight notworthy.gif .
I hope to have his honest opinions to help improve further, my humble system.
In any case, I pray he won't be terribly disappointed too sweat.gif
klimal
post Sep 14 2011, 08:52 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Sep 14 2011, 06:46 PM)
Should be very good by now wink.gif Thanks for the installer recommendation for setting up my projector screen. Hope to enjoy watching it next week when it's done!
pics !!
So your plasma TV is on hydraulics that go down and out of view.
How big is your screen and what pj are you using? The JVC250 I bet. thumbup.gif
klimal
post Sep 28 2011, 10:31 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Sep 28 2011, 08:01 PM)
Looks like ur a highly wanted man! can I prebook u when u r in KL? My new setup is ready.
Yeah, me too.
I need to calibrate my pj too,
have to be at night tho' as the curtains have been delayed yet again.

DannyOP, congrats on your new set up.
When can we come and kaypoh?

This post has been edited by klimal: Sep 28 2011, 10:43 PM
klimal
post Oct 5 2011, 08:27 AM

1,136 posts

Really a very nice HT room.

Thanks for sharing.

klimal
post Oct 11 2011, 05:32 PM

1,136 posts

Ferco Seating System (M) Sdn Bhd

klimal
post Oct 13 2011, 06:42 AM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(BOTBOTCHAI @ Oct 13 2011, 02:31 AM)
My house bill rm400 - 500  sad.gif .because my little botbotcai will never sleep without air cond . sweat.gif
My bill is never less than 400 too cry.gif .
At least 2 aircond running every night and the kids leave the lights on even when they are not in the room vmad.gif
I used to have at least 3 lights on externally, but with the rate increase, I have switched them off.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0265sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:40 AM