Your Home Theater Setup, Let's share

klimal
post Oct 13 2011, 11:34 AM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Oct 13 2011, 10:37 AM)
Wow..

Looking at ur bill.. mine doesnt sound so unreasonable ..
2 aircons running every nite too plus aircon at dining and living room when eatin and watchin movies/music listening wif 2 fridges n washer/dryer .. I hv xternal lite on too but I use a plce - energy savers which run ard 15w so its practically negligible..
Of cos d HT gear consumes electricity but not tat much la besides its only for a coupla hours at most - same wif de living room aircon too..
Most makan is de fridges n aircon in bedroom wan cos of de longer hours used.. n tat oso I ll up de thermostat n on d ceiling fan - apparently it saves a bit tat way..

D
I think you are very fortunate.
One of my aircond is an inverter model too. Al, the lights are energy saving.
I use florescent tubes and energy saver too.
But I admit I use multiple units for the hall, dining and also kitchen.
The hall has 6 tubes , dining area 8 tubes and kitchen has 3 tubes.
They are all hidden for reflected illumination, so need more whistling.gif
klimal
post Oct 13 2011, 03:28 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(cwyan @ Oct 13 2011, 03:06 PM)
Hi all,
Need some help here! Can anyone show me how to :

1. Rrun the Audyssey auto setup together with a SPL meter step by step? (especailly using the SPL meter after the Audyssey auto setup).
2. What is the difference between MultiEQ : Audyssey and MultiEQ : by pass L/R? Which one is better?
3. What is the difference between in LEF setup - LEF or LEF + main? Which one is better?

Thanks!
Wrong thread.
Please move to the dedicated Audyssey thread

This post has been edited by klimal: Oct 13 2011, 03:28 PM
klimal
post Oct 13 2011, 05:55 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Oct 13 2011, 04:24 PM)
I think my bill very peasant compared to all your elite bills that are almost 10x my bill...

notworthy.gif to all elite around.....
and shhhhhhhh......don't ask TNB to audit my meter tongue.gif sweat.gif
This is one status I would gladly do without..Elite TNB customer cry.gif
klimal
post Nov 14 2011, 05:53 PM

1,136 posts

Congratulations rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Any pictures and impressions will be most appreciated.
klimal
post Nov 14 2011, 11:34 PM

1,136 posts

Wow, it is massive !
I think you need a bigger cabinet.
What is the AVR model beside it?

This post has been edited by klimal: Nov 14 2011, 11:35 PM
klimal
post Nov 22 2011, 09:44 AM

1,136 posts

I read somewhere that bipoles and dipoles were created during the early phase of surround technology development where there were no dedicated surround tracks.
They were matrixed from the front channels and so a diffuse surround field had to be created using these bipole/dipoles.
However, with the current stage of development, the use of direct radiating speakers are preferred as the ambience, steering and soundfields are created using dedicated channles.
Correct me if I am wrong.

This post has been edited by klimal: Nov 22 2011, 09:45 AM
klimal
post Nov 22 2011, 12:31 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Nov 22 2011, 12:14 PM)
This is much debated topic just like cables and subwoofers. biggrin.gif

http://www.audioholics.com/education/surro...-surround-sound

Type of Surround Speaker

..................... I’d point out that the original development of dipole, bipole and multi-polar surrounds was to increase diffusion and envelopment in the surround field to simulate the presence of 8 or 10 surround speakers in a large cinema. As such, the Axiom QS8 (or QS4), with its top and bottom-firing woofers and angled dual tweeters comes as close to the ideal for both ambient sound field generation without giving up the specific directional cues sometimes found in movie soundtracks and multi-channel music recordings.

Anyway, best is to experiment it your own and see which is best for your room.
I agree wholely with the red highlights.
They were using Dolby Prologic back then.
Now it is dedicated 5.1 or 7.1 and the studio determines the various channel mix.
klimal
post Dec 17 2011, 09:33 AM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Dec 17 2011, 09:09 AM)
+1 Exactly. Be reminded this is Home Entertainment column and not what Building Construction forum!

P/s have the courtesy to exchange ideas. One can still show off his knowledge but insulting is intolerable here!
I do enjoy the postings here, and granted paskal is indeed knowledgeable in many area, but his posts recently carries a poisonous sting in it's tail.
Sharing is good but let's agree to disagree.
klimal
post Dec 18 2011, 09:06 PM

1,136 posts

It takes a man of great character and confidence to apologize publicly, albeit in a faceless forum, so it reflects well on your magnanimity.
With regards to the ibs, my datuk friend who is a developer has two mock ups in his house compound.
The dimensions are perfect for a HT room
Made of a steel frame and the walls are composite cement with a rockwool center.
I jokingly asked if he could sell me one the mock up later to use as a HT room.
klimal
post Jan 2 2012, 08:37 PM

1,136 posts

Yes, in the opening scene of Adele -Live at the Albert Hall, the piano definitely has more weight and slam, with the 1010 driving the Altea.
By comparison, it sounds anaemic on my Anthem PVA5's bi-amped Epos m16i.
Hard to believe it's only a 50 watts rms. Sure packs a walllop.
klimal
post Jan 3 2012, 01:33 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 3 2012, 01:04 PM)
Generally the subwoofer faces the audience. However, you need to experiment with what suits your room best.
jchong,
Did you get your center yet?
Sure would like to have a listen to your dual Ultra set up. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by klimal: Jan 3 2012, 01:35 PM
klimal
post Jan 4 2012, 09:18 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 4 2012, 08:08 PM)
Indeed. All speakers and sub from Paradigm Signature range.  thumbup.gif
Some one please organize a CNY session. Pretty please notworthy.gif
klimal
post Jan 11 2012, 10:48 AM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jan 10 2012, 10:36 PM)
htkaki's cable runs towards 5 figures ler... sweat.gif

the Sony HW30...try PM htkaki to get best price.....no shop can match his price lar  tongue.gif
Holy Sh*t, 5 figure for a cable.. rclxub.gif
klimal
post Jan 12 2012, 12:49 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Jan 12 2012, 12:11 PM)
Better not to count.. lol Just grabbed a some toys to play with from Singapore yesterday.
anti-mode too?

klimal
post Jan 30 2012, 06:22 PM

1,136 posts

free makan free minum sure come...
aisay, you are still single, which means must prepare ang pau for you
Assuming I am invited in the first place blush.gif
klimal
post Feb 19 2012, 02:00 PM

1,136 posts

mpyw, I surely do miss your wife's hospitality...hint hint whistling.gif
klimal
post Feb 29 2012, 10:16 AM

1,136 posts

Currently, may I ask which is the better in 3D pj for <15k?
Just asking for a friend who will have a dedicated HT room.
klimal
post Feb 29 2012, 10:59 AM

1,136 posts

Thanks for the quick reply.
klimal
post Apr 10 2012, 11:58 PM

1,136 posts

The 90-110 deg is on a horizontal plane realtive to the sitting position, not vertically.
klimal
post Apr 11 2012, 09:46 AM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(eugenecctan @ Apr 11 2012, 12:33 AM)
I guess that is the reason why I feel something missing from my surround sound speakers, thanks for the information. smile.gif, I will place them horizontally from left and right.

Added on April 11, 2012, 12:33 am

Noted. thanks smile.gif

Added on April 11, 2012, 12:58 amWhere can I get a Demo disc/speaker calibration disc? Any suggestion?

Anyone use this before? ->
http://www.amazon.com/Disney-WOW-World-Won...4077139&sr=8-11
I have DVE in Blu ray
Used only a couple of times.
PM if you areinterested.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0242sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:22 PM