Your Home Theater Setup, Let's share

geforce1999
post Aug 15 2010, 08:45 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(WildChai @ Aug 15 2010, 06:10 PM)
Awesome setup. BTW...I was thinking of placing the AV rack at the side wall. not beneath the screen. I find the lights on the equipments distracting. Just measured....my screen wall is only 13' wide. I guess it would fit a 120" screen.

Any advice?
AV rack can be placed at front or side as long as your cable are ready for that. Mine is at side but given me a choice I will place it at front as it is quite tide since my room width is about 14' wide.

Throwing a 120" screen should not be a problem but what is the distance from your sitting position to the projection screen?
geforce1999
post Aug 16 2010, 02:25 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(WildChai @ Aug 15 2010, 10:08 PM)
Hmmm...the screen wall only 13', length about 17'. it's a huge room but it's 'L' shaped. and the toilet wedged at the corner. Guess with 120" screen and sitting 13' away should be OK. but the rear speaker should have a minimum distance from the seating position?
I dunno about you but I'm doing about 145" with sitting position 17' away and I'm ok with it... so my suggestion to you is to get someone to hold the projector to project the movie while you are at your sitting position 13' away to see if you are confortable with it. If you like it go for it, else either move your sitting position further out or go for smaller projection screen.

My 2 cents.

This post has been edited by geforce1999: Aug 16 2010, 02:26 PM
geforce1999
post Aug 17 2010, 10:57 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

Just found a site that can do the projector calculation. Since most of users here are using Optoma HD65, so I use HD65 as an example. http://www.projectorcentral.com/Optoma-HD6...culator-pro.htm
geforce1999
post Sep 30 2010, 09:48 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

Is it an curved entrance? Nice...
geforce1999
post Nov 24 2010, 06:35 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(boreclub @ Nov 24 2010, 02:15 PM)
dear sifus, below is my approximated room dimension. May i know how can i setup my AV room? Means my tv/projector should located at which wall? and how far should i sit from the screen?

I'm currently at kluang, johor, may i know is there any good av shop at johor that can help setting up?

thanks for any suggestion.

You are in Kluang, Johor? Kluang got a couple AV shops but it is best that you can source it elsewhere... but no harm to checkup them out... I would suggest you place your TV or projector at the wall of 4500mm.
geforce1999
post Nov 28 2010, 11:58 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(boreclub @ Nov 24 2010, 11:02 PM)
Thanks for ur reply, is there any av shop that u can recommend to me in johor? i have no idea at all...... any suggestion form other sifus too?

bout the location, if i place my projector on the 4500mm wall, means tat i need to place my sofas near the door..... hmm.... dunno how to design my av room...

at 1st i think of putting the projector on the wall beside the door.  any pro n con between these 2 option?

thanks.
In Kluang, you can try out Hoe Huat near BCB Plaza or Okiwa near the furniture street near Kluang Mall.... Get some info from there on how to design your HT room and price of equipment so that you have some idea. Enjoy!

geforce1999
post Dec 1 2010, 09:49 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

Sorry, have no idea... Can't help much on this...

Added on December 1, 2010, 10:17 amEven if there is, you might wanna pay a hefty price for them to come just to quote...

This post has been edited by geforce1999: Dec 1 2010, 10:17 AM
geforce1999
post Dec 4 2010, 03:10 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Dec 4 2010, 07:41 AM)
someone is pissed haha
you guys should have followed all the posts in all the threads to get a glimpse of the situation. logit got that coming.

but i do have to agree, a kampung man could (and would possibly) have more land than a city boy and still live in a hut wooden house and drive around in 15yo broken saga. land is cheap. you could get an acre of land with the price of some subwoofer.

different people with different priorities in life smile.gif
Good point Paskal. This is one of the threads that I found. Enjoy! tongue.gif http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1254470

geforce1999
post Dec 8 2010, 01:57 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(mys_terious @ Dec 8 2010, 01:27 PM)
i am really speechless  shakehead.gif  ... i hope u r serious and not playing a joke on us.... if u r real then u should really go into ripleys believe it or not...

1)the way u speek should go into believe it or not
2)the way the think of subwoofers should go into believe it or not
3)if u put two monster subs in that room u should go into believe it or not

logit if all this while u r serious in the discussions then i would like to say sorry to u and i really wanna invite national geography to come and interview u.. u r a really rare species n i bet there is no one else like u in this world..
Sorry, I can't help but laughing after seeing this...
geforce1999
post Dec 9 2010, 01:52 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Dec 9 2010, 11:53 AM)
Hahaha..

Me bad.. well at least I ain't rude..

Kakaka
D
Bro D, may be you can drop by his house to provide him some free tuition lah... Else everyone suffer here tongue.gif

Added on December 9, 2010, 1:59 pm2nd thought... forget about it... Rome isn't built in one day... not to mention it is logit...

This post has been edited by geforce1999: Dec 9 2010, 01:59 PM
geforce1999
post Dec 20 2010, 09:24 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(bigbangformula @ Dec 20 2010, 03:19 PM)
You mean rich forummers?Who lives in a bungalow and have a kickass setup?
Mind briefing me?Lazy to read through  laugh.gif
You should read the thread to enjoy the fun. tongue.gif
geforce1999
post Dec 21 2010, 04:34 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 21 2010, 11:55 AM)
A classic example : I want LOUD bass. Boomy Boom Boom. I listering loud music. I dont want voice coil burn. I want 140dB listering 7 hours no burn voice coil.
I wonder what flavor tongue.gif http://www.listerine.com/products.jsp
geforce1999
post Jan 28 2011, 05:25 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(ronaldkwok @ Jan 28 2011, 11:32 AM)
I think this will also qualify as part of my HT setup.

For my 60th birthday, the wifey bought for me an exclusive permanent Gold Class seat (admit one only) for my BD viewing pleasure; how sweet of her!  rclxms.gif
See, it is even diamond studded that looks like plastic! 
This is a far cry from my previous 3rd class seat that I bought for myself, sigh. Just leave it to the ladies to do the shopping.

You are free to copy the photo (the first one or the second one, depending on your wish) to show to your wife or gf as suggetion for Valentine Day's gift.  rclxm9.gif 
Good luck.
Boss, your room so narrow one meh? blink.gif In case you need to access those items at the back, how do you bypass the chair and cross over? shocking.gif

This post has been edited by geforce1999: Jan 28 2011, 05:26 PM
geforce1999
post Feb 23 2011, 11:25 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

We are all here as we enjoy movie watching. It is much better to those still using TV speaker (no offend to anyone in particular blush.gif) rclxms.gif
geforce1999
post Feb 23 2011, 03:55 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(ronaldkwok @ Feb 23 2011, 12:46 PM)
...Ya, it is actually my library, the HT is just an afterthought but nevetheless, still enjoyable!  rclxms.gif
That's what count! rclxms.gif
geforce1999
post Mar 20 2011, 02:01 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

Love the way you treated your room. Enjoy!
geforce1999
post Mar 30 2011, 10:34 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(Bishop @ Mar 30 2011, 08:05 PM)
My new baby...  thumbup.gif

Glad you finally got them bro. rclxms.gif
geforce1999
post May 28 2011, 09:42 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ May 28 2011, 03:54 PM)
@ alamak - thanks for sharing all the above info. 42U racks are pretty common here in HK, that's why I asked....

That was what I had in mind too... 42U rack is quite easy to get, right? My server room has a couple of them. I was thinking having one too for my HT room but then later think it is too big to be put in the room...

Added on May 28, 2011, 9:45 pmBut it is nice to put everything in to one rack, AlamakLor. Is the rack connected to one power source? Able to handle all equipment without problem, just curious...

This post has been edited by geforce1999: May 28 2011, 09:45 PM
geforce1999
post Jul 13 2011, 09:09 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(atih007 @ Jul 13 2011, 04:29 PM)
now... (same system, just different look)

[attachmentid=2328586]
Nice, should invest a decent sub... it does make a big different.
geforce1999
post Jul 17 2011, 08:05 AM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

QUOTE(Bishop @ Jul 16 2011, 11:38 AM)
Apa susah...

Just do as I did, slide your cabinet to one side till your center speaker is "centered" and place the tv over it. Then position your bookshelfs.  icon_rolleyes.gif

Refer page 71, post 1404 for pics... whistling.gif
Bro, this thread only have 42 pages so far, where got page 71 tongue.gif but I did help you find your setup to reflesh our memory http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1000020/+1403 Nice wub.gif

This post has been edited by geforce1999: Jul 17 2011, 08:05 AM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0576sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:14 AM