is civic EK still worth it?, asking opinion...:)

TSlaut
post Apr 14 2009, 08:50 PM, updated 17y ago

450 posts

hi there
i'm thinking of buying a car that is within budget 30k-35k
whats in my mind are the civic EK
dont mind la it is big V or small V, but obviously big V cannot get at that price range
i'm thinking of starting with a small V, then later if got extra cash can la convert
moreover i'm getting married this year, so need to save somemore
so converting to big V can be considered after married la blush.gif

so what do u guys think?
any other car option to be considered on 30k-35k range?
or just proceed with i'm thinking of
i just wanna have easy maintenance and fuel efficient car, no headache for me
in our country u know la, only japanese car mostly easy maintenance, not for continental smile.gif
ah liew
post Apr 14 2009, 08:53 PM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

Yes is worth it.

PM Moon, he has an EK.
http://forum.lowyat.net/user/10052

Sifu Moon will enlighten you. bruce.gif
TSlaut
post Apr 14 2009, 09:21 PM

450 posts

i oredi pm him asking his opinion
see what he say smile.gif
huakenny
post Apr 14 2009, 09:24 PM

384 posts

its a good car
TSlaut
post Apr 14 2009, 09:30 PM

450 posts

QUOTE(huakenny @ Apr 14 2009, 09:24 PM)
its a good car
ok
any opinion more?
Travies
post Apr 14 2009, 09:30 PM

1,048 posts

still very cun... nice to drive.
huakenny
post Apr 14 2009, 09:32 PM

384 posts

but type R bodykit and engine is veli expensive to play smile.gif
mls_gamer
post Apr 14 2009, 09:36 PM

1,589 posts

ya..cos lot of ek user always ask me about mugen stuff~~~
theanswer
post Apr 14 2009, 10:16 PM

1,024 posts

no need la b engine..just maintain the d engine...mod the exterior..white or yellow paint..slurrpp~

Added on April 14, 2009, 10:16 pmnway tht car still looks nice even after so many years manufactured.

This post has been edited by theanswer: Apr 14 2009, 10:16 PM
tifosi
post Apr 14 2009, 10:22 PM

Friend is someone to share last Cookie with!
5,156 posts

Yeah, nice car to drive even after 13 years of owning it. smile.gif
Not much maintaince if you maintain it properly. FC for 'mini' vtec is about 16-18 cents with mixed driving style.

This post has been edited by tifosi: Apr 14 2009, 10:24 PM
ah liew
post Apr 14 2009, 10:25 PM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

QUOTE(theanswer @ Apr 14 2009, 10:16 PM)
no need la b engine..just maintain the d engine...mod the exterior..white or yellow paint..slurrpp~

Added on April 14, 2009, 10:16 pmnway tht car still looks nice even after so many years manufactured.
white with CF hood, banyak cun.... brows.gif

TSlaut
post Apr 14 2009, 10:47 PM

450 posts

not to mention type r
even original 99 bodypart oso expensive
maybe its due to demand
if another brand '96 car would have drop to 20k+
but this civic, still 30k+

i'm thinking of manual non vtec
is that enough
in my budget oredi
bibbyGirl
post Apr 14 2009, 11:27 PM

177 posts

no such thing as small v on EK. small v is from EF generation and no one will put it in a EK.

get a EK with d15 then turbo it. nice too.
Version 2
post Apr 14 2009, 11:39 PM

54 posts

man i love this car i'd eat myself if i were an ice-cream if i have this car
mADmAN
post Apr 14 2009, 11:54 PM

10,530 posts

30-35k wont get u a B-series EK man...even a stock standard EK might be tough.... itll be about nice to get a B-series EG though...

worth it or not.....that would be entirely up to u...

and Small V and Big V... u need to learn this...

Small V
- refers first generation B16A DOHC VTEC usually found in Civic/CRX EF and Integra DA
- 160bhp with 4.2 Final Drive clutch cable gearboxes
- year 1988-1991
- n like bibbyGirl mentioned..no one will put this into an EK.

Big V
- refers to second generation B16A DOHC VTEC found in Civic EG n above
- 170bhp with 4.4 Final Drive clutch pump gearboxes (*mostly)
- year 1992 onwards

* i say mostly coz theres a 4.4 FD clutch cable gearbox which is ONLY available in the 92 Integra DA... very rare and is usually the best upgrade for the Small Vs

everything else is referred to as the engine number...eg. 1.8=B18C...etc etc..

Small and Big V are only used to refer to the B16As

my advice...if u already have the money for the marriage... then buy the car...if not...get married first...then start saving for the car. the car isnt a NEED...its a want. marriage is more important...

why im saying this is coz im in the same boat as u....currently saving to get married next year and my plans to get back into VTEC had to be put on hold, if not...no money to get married later coz all money will go to monthly installments and modding the car sad.gif

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Apr 14 2009, 11:54 PM
TSlaut
post Apr 15 2009, 12:33 AM

450 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Apr 14 2009, 11:54 PM)
30-35k wont get u a B-series EK man...even a stock standard EK might be tough.... itll be about nice to get a B-series EG though...

worth it or not.....that would be entirely up to u...
and Small V and Big V... u need to learn this...

Small V
- refers first generation B16A DOHC VTEC usually found in Civic/CRX EF and Integra DA
- 160bhp with 4.2 Final Drive clutch cable gearboxes
- year 1988-1991
- n like bibbyGirl mentioned..no one will put this into an EK.

Big V
- refers to second generation B16A DOHC VTEC found in Civic EG n above
- 170bhp with 4.4 Final Drive clutch pump gearboxes (*mostly)
- year 1992 onwards

* i say mostly coz theres a 4.4 FD clutch cable gearbox which is ONLY available in the 92 Integra DA... very rare and is usually the best upgrade for the Small Vs

everything else is referred to as the engine number...eg. 1.8=B18C...etc etc..

Small and Big V are only used to refer to the B16As
my advice...if u already have the money for the marriage... then buy the car...if not...get married first...then start saving for the car. the car isnt a NEED...its a want. marriage is more important...

why im saying this is coz im in the same boat as u....currently saving to get married next year and my plans to get back into VTEC had to be put on hold, if not...no money to get married later coz all money will go to monthly installments and modding the car sad.gif
oh i think there is a mistake in my statement
i thought the small V would be SOHC VTEC
didnt realise there is 2 types of DOHC VTEC rite now

ok so let me correct
actually finding EK might impossible at that price
but here got a lot of EJ model
i thought of finding non vtec manual one enough for me la for now
bibbyGirl
post Apr 15 2009, 02:30 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(laut @ Apr 15 2009, 12:33 AM)
oh i think there is a mistake in my statement
i thought the small V would be SOHC VTEC
didnt realise there is 2 types of DOHC VTEC rite now

ok so let me correct
actually finding EK might impossible at that price
but here got a lot of EJ model
i thought of finding non vtec manual one enough for me la for now
get the EK3 1.5 or local 1.6 EJ vtec

those engine are easy to turbo-ed. bulletproof engine up to 250hp if u have good management
TSlaut
post Apr 15 2009, 10:55 AM

450 posts

QUOTE(bibbyGirl @ Apr 15 2009, 02:30 AM)
get the EK3 1.5 or local 1.6 EJ vtec

those engine are easy to turbo-ed. bulletproof engine up to 250hp if u have good management
VTEC cannot get at my price range la bro
but actually i'm more interested in getting 3 stage vtec
that one is a sleeper flex.gif
u can enjoy fuel efficient with 3 cylinders operating while at anytime u can prang when second vtec valve engaged brows.gif

imperialrealcs
post Apr 15 2009, 11:16 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(laut @ Apr 15 2009, 10:55 AM)
VTEC cannot get at my price range la bro
but actually i'm more interested in getting 3 stage vtec
that one is a sleeper flex.gif
u can enjoy fuel efficient with 3 cylinders operating while at anytime u can prang when second vtec valve engaged brows.gif
ya and will end up crying if one of the solenoid broke down.. just like MIVEC MD
TSlaut
post Apr 15 2009, 11:48 AM

450 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Apr 15 2009, 11:16 AM)
ya and will end up crying if one of the solenoid broke down.. just like MIVEC MD
solenoid can replace what biggrin.gif
mivec md like 3 stage vtec ah

-----------------------------------------------------------

suddenly i look this car interested la plak
somemore cheaper brows.gif
any comment icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by laut: Apr 15 2009, 03:43 PM

0.0200sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled