Your One Stop iTunes Troubleshooting Centre, How-to-do guides, backup, tips & tricks!

tabs
post Jun 20 2009, 12:10 AM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

hi.. actually want to share some other solution for itunes 8.2 downgrade to 8.1.1..

The instructions posted were designed for Mac computers ( work in window as well) . Here's the Vista version:

1. Remove all iTunes-related Software
Go to your Control Panel and open Programs & Features
Remove the following:
-Apple Mobile Device Support
-Apple Software Update
-Bonjour
-iPod for Windows (it's OK if this doesn't exist)
-iTunes
-QuickTime

2. Make sure they're completely removed
Go to Computer > C: > Program Files
Delete these folders:
-Apple Software Update
-Bonjour
-iPod
-iTunes
-QuickTime
If any or all of these folders don't exist, it's a good thing.

3. Delete supporting documents
Open up Computer
Go to your Organize menu at the top and select Folder and Search Options
Click the View button
Choose the round option button to "Show Hidden Files and Folders" and then click Apply, then OK
Go to C: > Users > your username > AppData
Delete the folder called "Apple Computer"
Go to C: > Users > your username > Local > AppData
Delete the folders called "Apple" and "Apple Computer"

4. Prepare your library data files
Go to your Music folder and open up the iTunes folder inside it
Move the following files to your desktop:
-iTunes Library.itl
-iTunes Music Library.xml
-iTunes Library Extras.itdb
-iTunes Library Genius.itdb

5. Restart your computer

6. Download & install iTunes 8.1.1
http://download.oldapps.com/iTunes/iTunesSetup811.exe
-Click the "Download" button

7. Open up iTunes. It will walk you through the setup/configuration process. Make sure that you UNcheck the options to add media (MP3, WMA, AAC) files. Your library should be empty. Click your File menu and choose Import. Select the file "iTunes Music Library.xml" ( if cannot also nvm just create a new playlist) that was placed on your desktop in Step 4. This should put your library and playlists back together for you.

then it should be work perfectly with 8.1.1 itunes

This post has been edited by tabs: Jun 20 2009, 12:12 AM

0.0343sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:06 AM