Tips on how to gain weight needed!, Read before commenting, tq.

andychee81
post Apr 14 2009, 08:11 PM

Meoowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww
6,118 posts

sleep does affects your growing rate, during your sleep, your muscles repair itself after your workout.
jamis
post Apr 14 2009, 08:56 PM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

QUOTE(lonelydevil @ Apr 14 2009, 05:43 PM)
Thanks for all the constructive comments and opinions.

As for the worthless and nonsensical replies, i.e. in a relationship or not, sheer mockery, thanks alot as well. I'm sure you are someone who succeeds in life or probably too successful until you have the excess time to troll the forums.

Cheers.

Added on April 14, 2009, 5:44 pm

I've read both topics and it's hard to adapt instantly to both guides above. All I'm asking for is a basic guide on what to eat n where to start...

Note that I'm not intending to have a bodybuilder's body as some of you here have. My primary goal is to achieve a higher weight compared to what I have now.

If you think this is a super noob question then I'm sorry.

Added on April 14, 2009, 5:49 pm
I know you have a great body with 90kg weight(yes i've read your training journal) but please, understand what I say before you throw criticism.

My problem here is, I eat the same as a friend who weighs 65 kg but I'm only 52kg.

To make it simpler,

A & B eats the same amount of food. Occasionally/sometimes A eats more than B.
A weighs 52kg
B weighs 65kg

From the very start, I did not state that I eat more than fat people. period. I was merely seeking a reason on why am I not growing eventhough I'm on the same diet as heavier people. (yuanwu has cleared my doubt below, thank you)

Besides, I was comparing myself with a friend of mine, I'm pretty sure that im not just 'thinking that i eat more' because its a fact. i dont get why do u have to mock me?

Anyway, thanks for ur enlightening comment...

On a sidenote, I've been doin push-ups, squats since the past week. I also lift dumbells everyday for the past week. I hope that it's a good start. Kindly advice.
Sorry dude, i m apoligize for any bad assumption that i had made earlier. The reason tat i m in such a vain is tat this kind of question has emerged quite often and the solution owas stated on the sticky which posted by darklight79 on the topic " reason why u r not growing" i think iamyuanwu did gave u tat link.

However, for ur cases u may try to read through all the sticky and u may start ur question in the strength and bodybuilding sub forum and there is a bodybuilding v5 thread for all the infor that u may need to gain weight.

By the way, if u wants to gain weight, most importantly is ur daily calories intake. It can be calculated but somehow this things goes by result. Since every individual has their own metabolism rate, some are high and some are low, for me my metabolism is kind of slow and therefore i put on fat quite easily and hard to burn it off. so do a simple calculation like weight in lbs x mulitplier = daily cals intake needed; the multiplier can be 14-20 depends on ur metabolism rate. and if u want to bulk up, add in another 200-500cals for ur daily cals intake. And make sure ur micro nutrient is going well too. U can read all the elements that u need to bulk up in all the stickies that we have there, those are the golden rules to make sure that u will gain weight and supplemtn is not really neccessary if u have time to cook and stuff like tat.

Anyway i m 90kg yes, but i m not big, my tummy is.

TSlonelydevil
post Apr 14 2009, 10:03 PM

Thanks bro and no worries.

Heading over to the sub-section now!
Beachkid
post Apr 15 2009, 03:04 PM

258 posts

QUOTE(lonelydevil @ Apr 14 2009, 02:10 AM)
In short, to gain weight, which is more important? carbohydrates or protein?

Of course, to gain weight in a nice way, not becoming fat.
low glycemic carbs and protein.

Here is the list of low glycemic carbs that are good for gaining weight and have lots of healthy benefits as well.

http://www.the-gi-diet.org/lowgifoods/

For hardgainers with high metabolism. I suggest something like this: This is my daily log.

7:00 am Breakfast Item
Portions Preparation Suggestions:
2 cups Cottage cheese, light/low fat
3 cups Bran cereal, all varieties
2 cups Strawberries
1 2/3 tsp Olive, Flax, Hemp or Salmon Oils

9:00 am Snack Item
Portions Item Portions
4 oz Cheese, low or non fat
2 cups Grapes
18 Peanuts

11:00 am Mid Meal Item
Portions Item Portions
8 oz Chicken breast, skinless
3 slice Whole grain bread
1/3 tsp Olive, Flax, Hemp or Salmon Oils
4 tsp Mayonnaise
2/3 cup Applesauce

2:00 pm Snack Item
Portions Item Portions
21 grams Protein powder
1 1/2 cups Yogurt, plain, low fat
1 cup Peaches, canned
1/3 cup Oatmeal

5:00 pm Dinner Item
Portions Item Portions
10 2/3 oz Whitefish
3 cups Carrots
2 cups Celery
2 Lemons
1 2/3 tsp Olive, Flax, Hemp or Salmon Oils
1/2 cup Pasta

8:00 pm Snack Item
Portions Item Portions
2 cups Milk, low fat (1%)
14 grams Protein powder
1 tsp Olive, Flax, Hemp or Salmon Oils
1 cup Strawberries
1/3 cup Oatmeal

IF YOU STAY UP LATER THAN 12-grab another protein shake.Although you seriously should get 8 to 9 hours sleep. Doctors have found that the best recovery hours within the body actually are from 8 pm-zzz. Of course being a college student that is pretty hard to maintain with social life and college work. So just grab a shake,no harm.

mthiessenrox
post Feb 10 2011, 02:09 PM

13 posts

Yes consuming protein shakes are extremely helpful to gain weight, as mentioned by the sites below.

http://www.buzzle.com/articles/protein-sha...ain-weight.html

http://www.bodybuilding.com/store/gainers.htm

If you guys are interested to gain weight/build muscles with the help of top quality protein shake products just leave me a PM and I can give you details. smile.gif
hallammak
post Feb 10 2011, 02:43 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(lonelydevil @ Apr 13 2009, 11:56 PM)
Hello to all,

I'm a 19 year old male and I have trouble gaining weight. My current weight is approximately 52kg and I stand at 178cm.

I eat normally(sometimes even more than what my heavier friends do) but somehow, my weight has been stationary for the past couple of years.
Breakfast :
Glass of milk + nestum
Couple of eggs including the yolk.
A bowl of pork noodle(varies) or other regular coffee shop delicacies.

Lunch :
Rice + meat + vegies + egg.(again, varies) OR fast food like McD.

Teatime :
Chicken ham sandwich. and fruit juice, mainly apple juice home-made.

Dinner :
Rice + meat + vegies + soup.
Fruits afterwards.

Supper :
Burger or instant noodles or mamak or yoghurt bars + milk&nestum
Besides that, I'm currently doing push-ups + squats + dumbbell lifting everyday unless my muscles are sore. (Is it possible to continue the exercises when your muscles are sore?)

Any suggestions or tips are welcomed.

Thanks in advance.
hi...
i have really similar problem with u before...
before this my weight is 50kg n my height is 173cm...
then i follow my friends to the gym and eat 6 times a day...
now my weigt are 56kg after 3 month also my body looking good...

jackyhong
post Feb 10 2011, 04:16 PM

Validating
17 posts

QUOTE(lonelydevil @ Apr 14 2009, 12:33 AM)
Hi, thanks for your response.

I've been reading articles and such recommending me to consume XXX amount of calories but my question is, how do you know how much of calories are you consuming from a certain food?
hi lonely devil,
after looking at how you eat, you should be overweight by now...
it make sense if you are eating that amount of calories, and your thin body just can burn around 1300 cal, the balance cal should be keep and store in your body as fat.
if by now you go and do medical check up on your visceral fat and body fat, you are having extra internal fat that can lead you to serious diseases and illnesses even you are thin.
THE problem in your body is your absorption system, which is your intestine.
you eat alot, but not well absorb.
you are young, if you have time and money to risk your health, you can keep eating...
lots of thing in your life need to change, if you want to improve your health.
anyway, let me know if you want more details on how to improve your absorption system first.
good luck smile.gif

alber7
post Sep 10 2011, 11:30 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(vinderr @ Sep 9 2011, 01:19 PM)
makan kfc dinner plate hari hari, sama itu cheezy wedges.  rclxms.gif
shakehead.gif
tkarwai
post Sep 13 2011, 10:00 PM

116 posts

have at least 2 half-boiled eggs daily after exercise, will work
H4XF4XTOR
post Sep 13 2011, 10:25 PM

【ツ】PANDAMON 【ツ】
3,081 posts

seriously ..dude
violette
post Sep 13 2011, 10:31 PM

193 posts

later will post thread about how to loose weight pulak. fast food not good for health yo

0.0186sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:55 PM