Guyz do you enable L.L.C. for 24/7 use ?, L.L.C. => Load Line Calibration

TSmercury
post Apr 10 2009, 01:21 PM, updated 17y ago

87 posts

Guys, just curious how all our overclocking sifu playing with their LLC setting. Discussion are always welcome.

p/s: Different manufacturer may have different terms, I know Asus call them Load Line Calibration.

Cheers folks biggrin.gif

sniper69
post Apr 10 2009, 02:16 PM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

oi... apa itu la dei... unsure.gif mellow.gif shocking.gif

*** nevermind, googled and knew already..., like FOXCONN, they use VDROOP Control, same as DFI... mellow.gif

This post has been edited by sniper69: Apr 10 2009, 02:19 PM
hiroki04030
post Apr 10 2009, 02:28 PM

Retired Member
995 posts

after googling, i found they are only in Asus intel based mobo. which is pretty useless for amd user like me XD
AceCombat
post Apr 10 2009, 02:39 PM

5,434 posts

Yes,LL is only available for Asus mobo and other mobo use other name.
anyway,if u enable EIST or C1E,it's better to disable them and if u oc ur rig kaw kaw and wanan make sure not much vdrop when u load ur processor,better to enable it. smile.gif
monsh
post Apr 10 2009, 02:44 PM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

is it same as advanced clock calibration ?
gengstapo
post Apr 10 2009, 03:41 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

yes i enable mine
benching & usage 24/7 smile.gif
bryanyeo87
post Apr 10 2009, 04:36 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

i dont use it, i use a pencil on the buck pwn controller, much much more effective brows.gif
OC4/3
post Apr 10 2009, 05:05 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Apr 10 2009, 04:36 PM)
i dont use it, i use a pencil on the buck pwn controller, much much more effective brows.gif
Hmm......Small resistor wor laugh.gif
Your mobo have what,why not enable it whistling.gif
TSmercury
post Apr 10 2009, 05:08 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Apr 10 2009, 02:16 PM)
oi... apa itu la dei... unsure.gif mellow.gif shocking.gif

*** nevermind, googled and knew already..., like FOXCONN, they use VDROOP Control, same as DFI... mellow.gif
Yea, they do use different names, thx for the info about what issit being named by diff manufacturer.

QUOTE(hiroki04030 @ Apr 10 2009, 02:28 PM)
after googling, i found they are only in Asus intel based mobo. which is pretty useless for amd user like me XD
Erm, yea. Just curious, does AMD Procs have vdroops like Intel's ?

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Apr 10 2009, 02:39 PM)
Yes,LL is only available for Asus mobo and other mobo use other name.
anyway,if u enable EIST or C1E,it's better to disable them and if u oc ur rig kaw kaw and wanan make sure not much vdrop when u load ur processor,better to enable it. smile.gif
Hmm, these information maybe useful, I might just quote these info to the first post, so if people came across this settings , maybe these info will help.

QUOTE(monsh @ Apr 10 2009, 02:44 PM)
Hmm, this is mainly for compensating Vdrop in Intel's proc. Not sure if it is the same, but the name "Advanced Clock Calibration" sounds totally unrelated.

LOL, sifu uses traditional way.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks for the polls and discussions guys notworthy.gif

The reason why I started this poll is because I'm just hoping around and trying to get my recent OC to be stable, by enabling and disabling LLC, my bios Vcore settings got a diff of 0.1. Just curious folks in LYN uses this settings or not, that's why for the poll.

I used to enable LLC when using my Q6600 to minimized my Vdrop for overclocking. Recently got a new 45nm proc, and remembered that I seen somewhere regarding not to use LLC for 45nm Intel proc, as there is a possibility where the LLC tends to boost the Vcore over the safe range thus frying it, and they had a huge debate on those factor......Let me see if I can still find the link....... hmm.gif
safone
post Apr 12 2009, 01:26 AM

5 STAR only..huhu
976 posts

QUOTE(mercury @ Apr 10 2009, 05:08 PM)
Yea, they do use different names, thx for the info about what issit being named by diff manufacturer.
Hmm, these information maybe useful, I might just quote these info to the first post, so if people came across this settings , maybe these info will help.
Hmm, this is mainly for compensating Vdrop in Intel's proc. Not sure if it is the same, but the name "Advanced Clock Calibration" sounds totally unrelated.
LOL, sifu uses traditional way.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks for the polls and discussions guys  notworthy.gif

The reason why I started this poll is because I'm just hoping around and trying to get my recent OC to be stable, by enabling and disabling LLC, my bios Vcore settings got a diff of 0.1. Just curious folks in LYN uses this settings or not, that's why for the poll.

I used to enable LLC when using my Q6600 to minimized my Vdrop for overclocking. Recently got a new 45nm proc, and remembered that I seen somewhere regarding not to use LLC for 45nm Intel proc, as there is a possibility where the LLC tends to boost the Vcore over the safe range thus frying it, and they had a huge debate on those factor......Let me see if I can still find the link....... hmm.gif
YUP..i alrdy c the forum say that LLC is not prefer to use it with 45nm proc..but i still use it to OC my E8200 tongue.gif ..
metsatsu
post Apr 12 2009, 09:06 AM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

i enabled it, give me a better oc
bobiac
post Apr 19 2009, 08:11 PM

Geek / Gamers
2,051 posts

enabled it in my e4500 oced.
improving vdroop on ep45-ud3p.
last time put 1.4 get 1.325.
lohwenli
post Apr 19 2009, 10:09 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(monsh @ Apr 10 2009, 02:44 PM)
No, AAC is quite different. Its got something to do with the clock pulse adjustment.

There are risks in this, see below.

QUOTE(mercury @ Apr 10 2009, 05:08 PM)
Basically what this thread is talking about is vDroop compensation. What must be understood is that vdroop is actually a safety design in motherboard voltage regulators; when powering a power hungry processor, the vCore is delibrately allowed to drop, especially under load. The reason is that when the processor load changes, the voltage will fluctuate, and may in fact overshoot the target voltage.

When a processor shifts from low load to high load, the voltage will actually drop briefly before the voltage regulator compensates, this is why overclockers don't like vdroop-it may drop voltages to below acceptable levels.

The problem is when a processor shifts from high to low load. When the power consumption drops, the regulator is still pumping in lots of current causing voltage to spike until the regulator compensates. The higher the change in power consumption, the worse the spike. By allowing voltage to drop under load, the severity of the spike can be minimized. This voltage spike can be a greater danger to the processor than setting high voltages to compensate for vDroop, and unless you have a high speed recording oscilloscope you'll have no way of checking (voltage spike will be shorter than 0.1s, but that's enough to cause damage).

I found out all this from a processor article on Penryn, but I can't remember the site or I'd list it here. Its a lot easier to understand with the graphs in the original article.

0.0404sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:00 AM