HP dv2 netbook-notebook hybrid goes up for sale

X.E.D
post Apr 8 2009, 09:55 PM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

LYN front page news says it starts at RM2400.

My Twitter has a little bit of my insight for this notebook. But those comments were written under the assumption that it was going to be ~RM3000. At 2400 it's okay.
X.E.D
post Apr 10 2009, 12:33 AM

1,955 posts

Wow, so the RM2400 model plays Left 4 Dead.
X.E.D
post Apr 10 2009, 06:41 AM

1,955 posts

QUOTE(Bad Cyborg @ Apr 10 2009, 12:57 AM)
Athlon Neo is nowhere comparable to the power output and performance of its hotter dual core cousins. And if you take heat into consideration, Turion notebooks are only as hot as Apple notebooks. Mmm, no. Actually cooler.
Dream harder. Although this subnotebook comes with an ATI chip, it falls quite  a distance short of the ATI 3200 or 3450 found on the CQ40 series. And the CPU is single core at that, at much slower speed. See benchmark above. So bottom line, no Left 4 Dead. It might be sufficient to run Doom 3 though.
I think you pretty much underestimate how lenient the Source engine is.

People get away with it playing on a Pentium 4 and Geforce FX 5200.

Previously when source was single-threaded (dual core NOT used), I played TF2 on my 780G, all high (w/o AA). So it's possible.
X.E.D
post Apr 11 2009, 06:05 PM

1,955 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Apr 11 2009, 10:35 AM)
The notebook selling like hotcake.
You sure? I like the notebook, but I'm not sure the general audience likes it.

But compared to the Atom + 9300M, the Neo seems waaaay better value for money. The Asus N10J can't even run HL2.
X.E.D
post Apr 12 2009, 12:51 PM

1,955 posts

I think it's genius but not everyone's me.

- It might look heavy but the key specs are actually dimensions (size). None of the notebooks in that region are that slim or small. Plus, if we consider this a netbook, how often do we actually need the optical disc? Very occasional IMO. It's just there for show.

It opens up a lot of experiences previously unusable for Netbooks/Cheap GMA notebooks. You can now play torrented (lol) HD video (and use the notebook as a HTPC), play some simpler 3D games properly (Sims comes to mind), use software that have hardware accelerated interfaces (Zune 3.0 software etc)...

This notebook is like the Canon 40D/Nikon D300 of cameras. They have the same image quality (approximate) as the cheaper 450D/D90 models, but are not that fast/good compared to the D3/1DMk3.

What makes them worth it? Better control interfaces (bigger keyboard), faster shot speed (faster processing), better build quality (magnesium casing) and design etc.

Don't get me wrong- I won't get the dv2 myself UNTIL it has a 780G (with sideport mem 256MB, which is about the same as 3410), 45nm dual core low volt CPU and possibly 9 cell battery. The current machine does not suit me in terms of those criteria. But it would be a great fit for the majority of college students who would rather be dead than caught using a Twinhead lol.

Now if HP had a brain (or two) they'd start selling this at RM1899 or 1999 WITHOUT Optical drive, which puts it only slightly pricier than a normal netbook.

That would be killer.
X.E.D
post Apr 22 2009, 11:56 AM

1,955 posts

QUOTE(limyusiong @ Apr 21 2009, 10:15 PM)
i saw white colour at ad in LYN...i oso interested on it...n i did check with one sales person in last pc fair, he said max support is onli 2gb ram as it is only got 1 ram slot wo...is it true?
White is coming in May. I'm waiting for the dual core version with a single 780G/880G (HD3200) instead.

The 2GB ram only is BS. The US dv2 models come with 4GB of RAM. However if you want to upgrade to 4GB, you'll have to pay quite a hefty price as single sticks are expensive here.

@don^don
720p definitely yes, 1080p shouldn't have problems in general (super high bitrate stutter?)

Youtube HD can't be streamed- a solution for this would be downloading the whole damn clip and playing it later on with Media Player Classic. Flash = fail, as usual.

I still recommend HP to introduce a DVD-less SKU though. If this gets to 2000 the 10.1 inch Eees at RM1.6, 1.7k really can't keep selling since Atom even sucks at intensive web browsing.

@wayfeel

More like 2.45kg, a 35W (not 25W) C2D CPU, and Intel Integrated 4500 for the RM3000 price. Horrid deal compared to the RM700 rebated C2D HP dv3____ @RM3000 since the Acer looks cheap IMO.

Oh, and count in an external optical mouse for the Acer since the trackpad seems to be meant for lady fingers.

You really need to feel the notebook itself to make conclusions about portability. The dv2 after being "manhandled' by me in PC Fair, with its tapered edges and relatively small footprint, is still much easier to grab and carry than say, a 13' NB that is "0.5kg" heavier.

This post has been edited by X.E.D: Apr 22 2009, 12:02 PM

0.0168sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 08:28 PM