Headphones Westone UM3X, New universal-fit ES3X !

jkleejk
post Apr 8 2009, 10:32 AM

1,959 posts

i am sold, wanna get es3x actually but price is too steep make me think many times.
Now universal version is out, solve all my headache!
worse case UM3x+UM56= ES3x (poorman version) - it is ok SQ is about 80% of Es3x.

I wish UE will launching UE11Pro universal version, that is my ultimate goal! pray hard for that!

jkleejk
post Apr 8 2009, 10:34 AM

1,959 posts

Es3x poison is due to Head Fi larry!!! damn him!!!
so now affordable version...poison is 10X stronger!
jkleejk
post Apr 8 2009, 10:44 AM

1,959 posts

QUOTE(icyfawkes @ Apr 8 2009, 11:37 AM)
okay time for me to detox
do note that it is still a portable rig item... whistling.gif
wait for the real review in head fi icyhawkes...
later dont let me see u selling ur W3 bro! whistling.gif

Anyone anywhere UM56 can be mod to use in both Westone/IE8 iems? cool.gif

jkleejk
post Apr 8 2009, 06:24 PM

1,959 posts

wahahahahhaa...icy oledi kena tahan the poison selling W3!!! that is the spirit man!
i wonder if i can change the UM3x shell into customize shell as here selling replacement shell for rm300 nia! very good price.

Added on April 8, 2009, 6:27 pm
QUOTE(toughnut @ Apr 8 2009, 05:57 PM)
He always hyped Westone products... Check out where he live. Colorado.

I personally dont trust much of his reviews....
Yup agree, he always kuat pro Westone product..(maybe he always get freebies or free iem from them) sweat.gif

Added on April 8, 2009, 6:29 pmheadfi UM3X already has Appreciation thread but the product is not even available yet...this is way crazy hype going on ...now thread has 7pages already...
next thing u can see many ppl selling W3 ....

This post has been edited by jkleejk: Apr 8 2009, 06:29 PM
jkleejk
post Apr 8 2009, 11:23 PM

1,959 posts

For me IE8 is a keeper, ES3X is tempting but price is an issue
so UM3X is much more tempting & affordable!
only selling point UM3X is close with ES3X ..i hope Westone is right bout this...
80% discount on the SQ compare with ES3X but 50% of the price, by math UM3X is worth it...
jkleejk
post Apr 9 2009, 07:26 AM

1,959 posts

I digested,
UM3X sound signature like transparent & neutral with additional bass? hahaha

I wish it is sound similar like K701 with more bass impact then that is perfect.
sometimes too much bass sunken the high & mid thus sacrifice clarity.
Anyway IE8 is a keeper for me & UM3X is tempting as it is good to have another iems which sound signature is very diff from IE8, I can swift around for different songs or mood.
jkleejk
post Apr 9 2009, 09:36 AM

1,959 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Apr 9 2009, 10:23 AM)
Not to mention countless refitting if it doesnt fit properly and estimated 4 years shelf life tongue.gif
changing new customize shell is like rm300+ only...dont worry about after 4yrs...haha pour more poison
jkleejk
post Apr 9 2009, 09:39 AM

1,959 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ Apr 9 2009, 09:57 AM)
If i have W3, i wont bother with UM3X first. It's still untested product and worst, not even in the market yet. 50% it will be better than W3 or 50% might be worst.

For current owners of W3, hold your W3. For potential highend IEM buyer, hold your wallet.

I'm still waiting for powder writeup on W3 and UM3X differences. Btw, UM3X physical design totally the same as UM2, which meant smaller and sleeker size.
again i am eagerly waiting for IE8 vs W3 vs Es3X vs UM3X showdown. this will most interesting moment...

i kinda of confuse ES3x is combo of monitor+personal listening...or just another marketing strategies.. laugh.gif
jkleejk
post Apr 9 2009, 01:02 PM

1,959 posts

QUOTE(AngleR35 @ Apr 9 2009, 10:39 AM)
if not wrong japan or china got 5 driver Custom IEM edi , just dun know what brand for the custom only .

Added on April 9, 2009, 9:41 am

should be only IE8 vs W3 vs UM3X !

Dun bring ES3X in , quite no fair for it  tongue.gif
ES3X VS UM3X...as I want to know how far the customize shell & tuning make ES3X worth twice the bucks!

FYI it is the Jap custom IEM has the 5drivers...but brand I also forgot laugh.gif

Added on April 9, 2009, 1:04 pm
QUOTE(xandman @ Apr 9 2009, 12:09 PM)
FIVE DRIVERS??!!!
even 3 is enuff to melt the brain!!!
imagine what 5 can do! drool.gif

but this ES3X keeps calling me!
damn!!!!
dun answer the ES3X call, go for UE11Pro...4drivers man! that is more attractive. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by jkleejk: Apr 9 2009, 01:04 PM
jkleejk
post Apr 9 2009, 01:27 PM

1,959 posts

simple hit the ES3X button then retire for the rest of the forum. then u are a happy man.
jkleejk
post Apr 9 2009, 09:24 PM

1,959 posts

if i get UM3X i am sure getting UM56 customize tips...tongue.gif

jkleejk
post Apr 16 2009, 03:35 PM

1,959 posts

wah xandman already bitten the ES3X bullet...
darn if i will spending those amount of money i am sure go for UE11Pro as the price different compare to ES3X isnt that much here..

jkleejk
post Apr 16 2009, 06:32 PM

1,959 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Apr 16 2009, 04:49 PM)
jk...
ue11 is 1.1k usd...
the es3x is only 850usd...

also ive never tried ue11...
but i love my W3...
so there goes my decision... biggrin.gif

Added on April 16, 2009, 3:49 pmi can always get the ue11 next time .... wink.gif like mr reid.
here my place ES3X is selling USD1K! damn...so UE price is more reasonable here..
I understand ur logic there y choosing ES3X.. pls provide us full review after u gotten it ok thumbup.gif
jkleejk
post May 2 2009, 07:05 PM

1,959 posts

it seem UM3X has the soundsignature what i am looking for my 2nd pair iems, cleaner/clearer, huge soundstage like IE8, more bass compare with CK100, plus can go for semi customize with UM56. but still need for more review & hype to cool down 1st.
jkleejk
post May 6 2009, 01:18 PM

1,959 posts

alamak this thread macam ES3X more ler...no Msian Boleh-man bud the UM3X yet?
jkleejk
post May 6 2009, 01:38 PM

1,959 posts

then get UM3X change to custom shell, poorman version or ES3X hahaha...
jkleejk
post May 16 2009, 07:38 AM

1,959 posts

QUOTE(AngleR35 @ May 16 2009, 02:43 AM)
haha , UM3X sound are close to SE530 , but SE530 got more feeling when listening with it , and SE530 outlook more  tongue.gif nicer
se530's mid sound too harsh for my ear. i feel very fatique & tired after listening for 10mins, then i swift back to ie8, everything turn to be so comfort & sweet. (during my audition of se53o experience side by side). In fact i auditioned before ER4B, i think it is worth the penny. good high/mid & acceptable bass dept which this iem is excel in vocal. good price too thumbup.gif

Added on May 16, 2009, 7:39 am
QUOTE(ICustomFit @ May 16 2009, 05:16 AM)
Sorry about the delayed response,  but yes, I am a Listenhear rep, and again, I'd love to answer any questions you have about our company.

We'll make any headphone molds for $79.99 and they come from Starkey labs, one of the largest hearing manufacturers in the world, so I assure you we don't sacrifice on quality.  We do all our molding for free in the Mall of America (Bloomington, MN), we keep your earmolds on file, and we even give you a 30 day trial period.  Basically, it's the best deal you'll find from any standard retail store.

I'll try to remember to keep checking back to this thread, but if you've got immediate questions, I encourage you to email me at Pete_freeberg@listenhearstore.com
Can u open a new thread, if not you will be sunken by all these replies very fast.

This post has been edited by jkleejk: May 16 2009, 07:39 AM
jkleejk
post Jun 7 2009, 09:33 PM

1,959 posts

QUOTE(bahathir @ Jun 7 2009, 02:01 PM)
I collected my UM3X in Singapore  last Friday. First impression, WoW!, the bass. Plenty of it. Mids/vocal sound bigger and a bit laid back compared to PFEs. Treble is good too, but PFEs' slightly win. Totally different sound signature. But, the best thing is, it is very easy to drive, and make DAP sound much-much more better, even the cheap DAP also sound great. Imagine, if you use it with a better DAP, such as iTouch 2G and Sony X1000s.

But, the differences between DAP sound and DAC/AMP (D10) is, the bass and treble extensions, resolution/details, separation, and headstage. Since I am not audiophile, I am not care much of it smile.gif heh he he, and still prefers D10.

Now, I really have to burn-in my mental to the new sound signature.

Ooo.. I also tried the IE8s briefly. I had plenty of bass too, but, not as controlled as UM3X's. Will do a serious listening ... and post some more here smile.gif

BTW, I had returned my PFEs for replacement, and luckily, I got the UM3X to satisfy my ears during the PFE's absent.

Thank you.
IE8 is control IMO, depend how long u burned it, u need to tweak the bass knob to min level.
Of course Dyn Driver & BA Driver are difficult categories.
anyway congrats with ur new toy. drool.gif
jkleejk
post Jun 8 2009, 12:11 AM

1,959 posts

QUOTE(chingwooi @ Jun 8 2009, 12:40 AM)
Tweak to min lvl? Then there'll be no bass at all isn't it? I tweaked mine to half.

Added on June 7, 2009, 11:44 pm

Haha, you seem to be a die-hard fan of Phonak Audeo xD Phonak price is like half the price of E3X right? Seems like it's a gd grab based on ur reviews,BTW, you're writing the reviews with PFE+amp vs E3X or PFE without amp vs E3X?
To my surprise at min bass lvl, the bass is much more pronounce & so those the mid/high. drool.gif

0.0459sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:26 PM