Headphones Westone UM3X, New universal-fit ES3X !

bahathir
post Apr 8 2009, 02:37 PM

1,200 posts

BTW, UN3X is for pro and musicians, and most of them listening to FLAT and NEUTRAL sound smile.gif which is alos sounds like PFEs too smile.gif.... Ok, nice, might be my next IEMs..... but still have to wait for Heapdhoneaddicts/Larry reviews/recommendations first.
bahathir
post Apr 8 2009, 03:28 PM

1,200 posts

Definitely smile.gif
bahathir
post Apr 8 2009, 10:44 PM

1,200 posts

I think custom IEMs, ES3X would be nicer than universal IEMs. We still don't know how it's sound's like. Maybe better or maybe worse than W3s, who knows. I thnik the price is quite tempting, cheaper than W3s and IE8s. We will see next month smile.gif

Err.. how much it cost at jaben ? smile.gif
bahathir
post Apr 8 2009, 11:25 PM

1,200 posts

Yes, I know it is 379 USD, but, Jaben is a Westone distributor in singapore. Do they 'makap' much? smile.gif
bahathir
post Apr 9 2009, 12:59 AM

1,200 posts

So, as I mentioned earlier, sound more towards ER-4 or PFEs ... Yesss!!! smile.gif

Err.. wait ...

This is my question
Ok, UM3X is for professional audio. Then the sound should be flat, no or less colorization, analytic, crisp and crystal clear ? So, is it more toward ER-4 sound + bass?

And here is the answer from westone.
Not totally true. That is more studio monitoring, from my experience. Artists on stage want a full, dynamic sound. Not analytical.

http://www.head-fi.org/forums/5591576-post140.html

Pass ... Back to my PFEs smile.gif

Thank you.

This post has been edited by bahathir: Apr 9 2009, 01:18 AM
bahathir
post Apr 9 2009, 04:00 PM

1,200 posts

That why, relax and do not rushing... Patience is a good cure for brain poisoning. and also , can helps you avoid the unseen problem. smile.gif

Agree, why do we have to spent thousands of RM, just to fulfill our desire? A RM 50 ticket to a good concert is more meaningful from RM 5000 audio cables. Think wisely....

This post has been edited by bahathir: Apr 9 2009, 04:01 PM
bahathir
post Apr 23 2009, 02:31 PM

1,200 posts

Source was directly from iPod Nano ... mmmmm ...Base on my experience with PFEs and NE-7Ms, the bass and treble were not quite extended, but do resolve mids quite nicely. I hope another eviews with higher end audio source.
bahathir
post May 2 2009, 08:56 AM

1,200 posts

That is the problem with head-fier's audiophiles Their words are sooo convincing... From their description, UM3X = PFE + bass quantity is mostly correct. smile.gif The optimal sound level also similar to PFEs, 90% of Nano.

Aaaaaarg .. another IEM purchase... aaaaarg my bank account... Be strong, be strong...

This post has been edited by bahathir: May 2 2009, 08:57 AM
bahathir
post May 4 2009, 08:50 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(toughnut @ May 2 2009, 10:56 AM)
UM3X similar to UM2, made in US. Colorado to be more specific.

And no, PFE nowhere near UM3X or in fact any high end IEM. It's purely hype by few jokers in head-fi. U know who they are...
Hype? Did you ever listened to well amped PFEs before? I hope you can make the comment after listening to it first. smile.gif
To my ears, it is very nice, very real sound.

Ok, I also want to 'ikut' to sg... When and what time to meet?
bahathir
post May 4 2009, 10:56 PM

1,200 posts

Congratulations.... Just tumpang happy... smile.gif
bahathir
post May 5 2009, 09:23 AM

1,200 posts

Ooo... BA driver also need that long burn in ? Interesting..
bahathir
post May 6 2009, 12:28 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ May 6 2009, 09:00 AM)
Check the ES3X thread. biggrin.gif
i dun wanna kacau UM3X thread maa... biggrin.gif
Yer la... You got your ES3X already, so 'Tak Pandang' UM3X already ... smile.gif he hhe he h
bahathir
post May 6 2009, 01:22 PM

1,200 posts

I want to buy it, but no reply from JABEN yet. Already 3 weeks waiting for their reply.
bahathir
post May 6 2009, 03:21 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(AngleR35 @ May 6 2009, 01:24 PM)
Jaben still no get stock yet bah , if u wanna get , u can try go STEREO , they got the stock for UM3X edi .
I also sent and email to stereo last week, but still no reply..

If the IEMs can produce the SAME sound, as natural as without wearing it, I WILL buy that one... Why? It is sound so NATURAL, which is an ULTIMATE goal for any Audiophile. Agree? ... err. .but, I am not an Audiophile.... mmmm .. smile.gif

bahathir
post May 6 2009, 03:34 PM

1,200 posts

Not yet la ... no one replied my request yet smile.gif
bahathir
post May 7 2009, 10:54 AM

1,200 posts

Any particular songs/soundtracks which you feel the sub (deep and low) bass ? I used to llistened to DJ Tiesto's trance, "Close to You". For jazz, in Diana Krall's album, the bass (instrumemts) were superb, I love it smile.gif
BTW, many years ago, I had a contrabass marimba percusion CD to test my speaker systems. Sad, I did not have the CD anymore to test with my PFEs + D10.

This post has been edited by bahathir: May 7 2009, 10:58 AM
bahathir
post May 7 2009, 11:08 AM

1,200 posts

Wah!, you seem so excited smile.gif... But, For sure, it will not like your Atrios smile.gif
bahathir
post May 7 2009, 12:30 PM

1,200 posts

No.. Paca is getting to listen to my PFEs next week smile.gif he heh heh ..

Basshead... ha ha hah ha .. Nope. I like clear bass, clarity mids and sparkling treble sound. Clear bass = (very) Deep, accurate bass. Example: Moving or resonating air after drum/percussion being hit.

Also I do not use any EQing to boost any section of the sound spectrum. I don't like too much mid-bass, make me dizzy/pening. Example: Sound from ICE (In car entertaiment) boom box... or modded tailpipe/muffler To me... it is just a noise smile.gif

This post has been edited by bahathir: May 7 2009, 12:36 PM
bahathir
post May 7 2009, 03:18 PM

1,200 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ May 7 2009, 01:58 PM)
owh ok...
poison him till he cant be cured!
muahahahahha....
Yes, I will poison (IEMs) him, and at the same time, I'll give some medicine (dac/amp) too smile.gif. I will make sure he will not suffers too much smile.gif

some ICE do sound nice...
i think u r refering to those ah beng type 15" woofer sound....yes?
i feel u man...thats pure destruction of music...and ur eardrums too!
I cannot imagine how they able to drive and enjoy that kind of sound. Too extreme, sometime the 'boom boom' sound can penetrate into my car, which I think have a quite good seal and isolation, smile.gif .. . I am pretty sure they already lost some % of hearing already smile.gif.

This post has been edited by bahathir: May 7 2009, 03:20 PM
bahathir
post May 7 2009, 05:43 PM

1,200 posts

Audition what ? smile.gif Ooo.. my PFEs ? I planned it next week
Date: 2009-05-14 (Thursday),
Location : Nasi Kandar Sedap, Jalan Ara, SD7, Bandar Seri Damansara
GPS coordinate : N03 11.247' E101 36.937'
Time : around 3 PM,

If you have time come laa smile.gif