Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

soonwai
post Feb 16 2011, 03:39 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(zemmien @ Feb 15 2011, 03:23 PM)
so should i look for a 1066mhz or 1333mhz instead? because if im not wrong a 1333 unit will automatically underclock to 1066, is it true?
now system info show im running with 1067mhz.

and which shop can provide at shop installation for the rams hehehe ..bit afraid do it by myself  blush.gif

might needed 8gb asap ..during heavy tasking page outs around "180,000" ..hehe 6 digits  sweat.gif
I installed 2 x 4GB 1333Mhz into my MacBook Pro 15". Brand is Corsair, price RM125 each from LYP. So far working OK. My previous MBP was using Kingston Valueram 1066Mhz, also no probs.

We all know that 1066 ram has a cache latency of 7 and 1333 ram is usually 9. So what happens to 1333 ram running at 1066?

Installation quite easy. Just remove all the screws at the back. Pop out the old ram and in with the new.
soonwai
post Feb 16 2011, 04:15 PM

11,456 posts

For those not sure about 1333Mhz, 1066Mhz still plentiful at LYP when I was there 2 days ago. I think the price is the same as the 1333 I purchased, maybe slight, RM5, cheaper.
soonwai
post Feb 17 2011, 12:37 AM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Feb 16 2011, 08:30 PM)
which shop have corsair 4gb 1066mhz? wanna get one next week. max out 6gb ;p
Viewnet has them. Same place I bought my 1333.

Added on February 17, 2011, 12:48 am
QUOTE(kosy90 @ Feb 16 2011, 09:31 PM)
I just bought two 4gb DDR3 1333 ram to upgrade my Macbook Pro 2010.
Unfortunately it hang while it's booting the com when I put 2 4gb DDR3 1333 ram. However it work find when I put 1 4gb DDR3 1333 ram + 2gb orginal ram.
May i know can the macbook pro 2011 support two 4gb DDR3 1333 ram ?
or is it better for me to put one 4gb DDR3 1333 ram and one 4gb DDR3 1066 ram ?
Go to the shop and try another pair. Maybe a bad stick or a marginal one. What brand of DDR3 are u using? MBP 15 or 13"?

I've used 2 x Kingston Valueram 4GB 1066 in a 2010 MBP 15" i7 2.66, no probs for about 7 mths.

Now using 2 x Corsair 4GB 1333 in a 2010 MBP 15" i7 2.8, only 1 week but so far no probs.

MBP 2011, if using Sandy Bridge, will require 1333 Ram but as always, when using 3rd party RAM, YMMV.

You can try running Apple Hardware Test on bootup to test the ram. It's not as thorough as memtest but should be good enough to detect bad ram.

You can also use Rember, basically a GUI for memtest. http://www.kelleycomputing.net/rember/

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 17 2011, 12:56 AM
soonwai
post Feb 17 2011, 04:10 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(kosy90 @ Feb 17 2011, 01:07 PM)
Yup I did it. It work when it's compatible with any of my 4gb . But when I put in 2 x 4gb it hang it when I see the 'apple' logo.
How about 1 stick of 4GB all by itself, does that work?

Added on February 17, 2011, 4:13 pm
QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Feb 17 2011, 02:35 PM)
any significant battery life issues after using momentus XT? i think its time to upgrade my MBP (mid 2010) as well
I used the XT for about 2 months before upgrading to SSD. I didn't noticed any significant change in battery life. In theory the XT should use more power, right? Since it's 7200rpm compared to the stock Apple HD which is 5400RPM. Only thing I noticed is that it runs hotter.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 17 2011, 04:13 PM
soonwai
post Feb 18 2011, 10:55 AM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Feb 18 2011, 09:07 AM)
Sounds good. Will grab one soon.

Guys, restoring a new he'd is as easy as;

1) install OS with disc

2) run time machine to restore

Correct?
Easier way is:

1. Hook up your new HD to your MBP using USB/Firewire.
2. Clone your HD to it using Carbon Copy Cloner which is DonationWare. http://www.bombich.com/
3. Install new HD into MBP.

Done.

That's what I usually do if it's the same or same type of Mac.

Added on February 18, 2011, 11:31 am
QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Feb 17 2011, 02:35 PM)
any significant battery life issues after using momentus XT? i think its time to upgrade my MBP (mid 2010) as well
Further to this, why not save more and get an SSD. I used the XT for 2 months and wasn't that impressed with the speed. Initially you'd find that it's fantastic because of the fast boot times but after a while, it's just a 7200rpm HD. I think you might be disappointed.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Feb 18 2011, 11:31 AM
soonwai
post Feb 18 2011, 11:45 AM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(ben16 @ Feb 18 2011, 11:40 AM)
Does this mean using an external HDD casing?

I read that Hitachi 500 GB is a good choice for my MB but I don't see it being sold here.
Is WD Black the only one with 7200 rpm for 2.5".

Yes, sorry I assumed you have one. A cheap one is only about RM20-30.

Not sure what's a good 7200rpm HD.
soonwai
post Mar 2 2011, 11:18 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Mar 2 2011, 05:20 PM)
Mind to teach what's apple hardware test? Coz i plan to check mine also.
Press D when you turn on your Mac. You'll also need to have either the 1st OS X DVD or 2nd DVD (the ones that came with your Mac) in your Superdrive as it loads AHT from there. For my MBP 2010, it's the 2nd DVD.
soonwai
post Mar 4 2011, 12:57 AM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Mar 3 2011, 11:20 AM)
I was thinking 1x 2gb + 1x 4gb = 6GB...

if cannot find in m'sia then 2x2GB lo...
I assume you asked the local shops already? They said dun have isit? Can you get them to order it?
soonwai
post Mar 4 2011, 01:58 AM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Mar 3 2011, 11:20 AM)
I was thinking 1x 2gb + 1x 4gb = 6GB...

if cannot find in m'sia then 2x2GB lo...
6GB is the max your iMac supports right? You can get 4GB DDR2 from OWC.

http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other%20Wor...g/6400DDR2S4GB/

I dunno if Kingston or Corsair has them locally. I spose you already asked.
soonwai
post Mar 5 2011, 04:19 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(zXJaMeSXz @ Mar 5 2011, 01:57 PM)
Guys... How to you update the Momentus XT firmware from SD23 to 24 using Mac?
I used a PC to boot from the ISO and did the update there.
soonwai
post Mar 6 2011, 01:14 AM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(feins @ Mar 6 2011, 01:01 AM)
There r Mac version of update. Just download the Mac version of update will do.
There is? Thanks for the info. Didn't realise that. Do you have a link?

@ zXJaMeSXz: Here's an article re updating using the ISO image. Hope it's of use.

http://blog.io101.org/howto/update-seagate...on-macbook-pro/
soonwai
post Mar 6 2011, 03:52 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(feins @ Mar 6 2011, 01:21 AM)
Sry my mistake u need to dl the non windows version iOS n burn it into a cd. Then boot from the cd n update the firmware by following the screen.

Here u can dl the iOS.

http://seagate.custkb.com/seagate/crm/self...sp?DocId=215451
No probs, I search and search and couldn't find a Mac version.
soonwai
post Mar 8 2011, 07:18 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(kuekwee @ Mar 8 2011, 03:36 PM)
can you give me the model number? How much does it cost? I plan to upgrade mine.
I also have 2010 MBP 15", I have used both Corsair 1066Mhz and 1333Mhz, 2 x 4GB with no probs. Dunno the model no but it's the cheap one. About RM125 each in LYP now.
soonwai
post Mar 10 2011, 02:14 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(mfitri77 @ Mar 10 2011, 12:43 AM)
Hardware : MacBook Pro 13" Early 2011 2.3Ghz Core i5

One thing is certain, the Sandy Bridge processors are very powerful. Imagine, before this, even with my Core i3 Desktop, still takes about and hour and half to just encode a long DVD (In this case, Avatar). The stock Pro did it in less than one.

Then again, what's the fun in stock  tongue.gif

Upgrade 1 : 8GB DDR3 Ram (2 x 4GB DDR3 - Mushkin Enhanced Essential 10666)

Upgrade 2 : OCZ Vertex 2 240GB SSD

----------

If you are shopping at Lowyat Plaza, down here applies to you.

Thanks for a very informative post. I totally agree with you. I have both Corsair 1333 4GB x 2 DDR3 and a Corsair F240 SSD in my MBP and they are working great. Makes the machine absolutely screams.

One thing I would add is that the new MBPs are SATA 6GB/s so one might consider going or waiting for a SATA3 SSD. Currently the only one available is the Crucial C300 but I think more will come very soon as Sandforce has released the new SF2000 chipset. Look out for the Vertex 3 soon.
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/vertex...e-ssd,2869.html

soonwai
post Mar 10 2011, 02:46 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Mar 10 2011, 02:44 PM)
guys, where to get OWC from?
and i heard there is a 16GB module from OWC, any of you know about it?
Locally, dunno, but you can get OWC stuff from macsales.com.

I don't think there's a 16GB DDR3 module at all.

soonwai
post Mar 10 2011, 03:07 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Mar 10 2011, 02:53 PM)
there is just found the link: http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other%20Wor...g/1333DDR3S16P/
have anyone got from them yet?
i need reviews..
I see what you mean. That's actually 2 x 8GB modules. Nice, I didn't know the MBP supports up to 16GB. very good to know. A bit overpriced though.
soonwai
post Aug 8 2011, 04:32 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(setoyo @ Aug 8 2011, 03:26 PM)
My 8gb ram from OWC just arrived!
After 10 days on the road. Hehe...

The best to test ram, using REMBER right?
Or are they any tools to test the ram?

Thanks in advance...
Rember is just a GUI for memtest. You can get an Mac installer for memtest here http://www.command-tab.com/2008/01/11/how-...under-mac-os-x/

or the memtest source from http://www.memtest.org.

Best way is to boot into single user mode and run from the command line. That way it can test all the ram.

soonwai
post Aug 10 2011, 11:50 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(diners @ Aug 10 2011, 09:50 PM)
am in lion =D and i update every single update apple gave. so i guess i'm good to go for 8gb right?  rclxms.gif
If you were too quick in updating the EFI firmware, you might have a problem. More info here:

http://blog.macsales.com/9102-secret-firmw...acbooks-use-8gb
soonwai
post Aug 11 2011, 11:54 AM

11,456 posts

Bought Kingston KVR 2 x 4GB for RM132 on Sunday. Anyone else got cheaper? Also from Viewnet, LYP.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 11 2011, 12:02 PM
soonwai
post Aug 11 2011, 12:34 PM

11,456 posts

Are you in KL? CZone in LYP got sell Crucial.

0.0415sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:19 PM