Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

soonwai
post Aug 12 2011, 01:23 AM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(xbbshampoo @ Aug 11 2011, 02:10 PM)
they help u assemble the ram in to your mac or not?
I think they will if you ask but personally I wouldn't let them touch my Mac. Quite easy to install yourself, just be careful not to lose the screws and remember to screw in the ones at the sides and bottom at a slight angle.
soonwai
post Aug 12 2011, 08:45 AM

11,456 posts

You'll see when you remove the screws, the screws are not perpendicular to the case (not like this |) but comes out at a slight angle like this /). No big deal, just be gentle and don't force it if it doesn't seem smooth going in. You don't want to screw up the screws or the threads at the back.

Go to ifixit.com and search for your MacBook, they'll have pictures and stuff for a ram upgrade.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 12 2011, 08:46 AM
soonwai
post Aug 12 2011, 11:52 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(xbbshampoo @ Aug 12 2011, 09:06 AM)
thanks for the tips yo  flex.gif

did u pry out the battery socket connector when u are upgrading the ram?
The ram is spring loaded, just push the tabs holding the ram and it'll pop up and you just pull it out. Actually the little booklet that came with your MacBook has instructions for this.
soonwai
post Aug 13 2011, 12:12 AM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(Mr.PostMan @ Aug 12 2011, 11:09 PM)
HI since i'm a mac noob, i'm planning to upgrade my MBP 2011 13" HDD from 320GB to 1TB.

My question is how do i install the OS X into the new HDD?
1. You can do a clean install from the DVDs that comes with your Mac. Just put in the new HD and boot from the OS X Install DVD. Very easy one. If you have data on the old HD, put it into a external USB case and use Migration Asst to transfer everything back in.

2. Other way is as the previous post, clone your old HD to the new one. This will be the more appropriate method if you already have data on it.

ps: If you have Lion, you can burn Lion to a DVD and use that instead of the Snow Leopard DVDs that came with your MacBook.
soonwai
post Aug 13 2011, 01:15 AM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(xbbshampoo @ Aug 13 2011, 12:54 AM)
no need to remove the battery connector right?

now i am kinda stuck. can't find a mini philip screwdriver cry.gif

just bought the ram  laugh.gif
Oh sorry, I skimmed through and didn't read the battery connector part. No need to remove the battery connector. Yeah, I know, the ifixit guide ask you to do that. but no need.

LOL, wait till tomorrow lah.

Added on August 13, 2011, 1:21 am
QUOTE(JohnnyBeGud @ Aug 13 2011, 01:09 AM)
What do you mean by the bolded part?
Is it "if you have Lion installed" or "if you have the Lion installer"? If its the former, how to make a Lion DVD? I've already installed Lion and I would like to make a Lion DVD for emergency purposes. But, the only way I know of burning Lion to a DVD is from the installer which was gone after i've installed. sad.gif
You're right, no way to make a Lion DVD if you've already installed Lion as the Lion installer from MAS, which contains the Lion disk image, gets deleted after installation. I guess have to redownload the 3.7gb installer. :-( Or copy from a friend the Lion disk image, installesd.dmg.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 13 2011, 01:22 AM
soonwai
post Aug 13 2011, 01:56 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(xbbshampoo @ Aug 13 2011, 01:48 PM)
managed to add the 2 X 4 gb ram into my mbp with some scars on it cry.gif
Scarred the alu shell is it? Screwdriver slipped? NVM lah.

Suggest you download memtest and do a check just to be sure.

http://osxdaily.com/2011/05/03/memtest-mac-ram-test/
soonwai
post Aug 13 2011, 03:58 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(xbbshampoo @ Aug 13 2011, 02:07 PM)
ya cry.gif

the 2 long screw damn hard to unscrew. makes my hand's skin skim out already  vmad.gif

i just now do the the memtest thingy already. all smooth like peanut butter and jam  laugh.gif
Don't worry lah, the bottom aluminum shell will get all scratch up in time anyway.

Mine the first day, I got it, a 50sen coin fell just next to the keyboard and nicked the alu edge. :-(

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 13 2011, 03:59 PM
soonwai
post Aug 17 2011, 09:13 AM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(freezadwar @ Aug 16 2011, 08:39 PM)
true that. but to me 120gb not gonna be enough. am partitioning for boot camp too tongue.gif
Agreed, everybody's need different but for me 240GB is minimum. 120GB is just not enough.

Added on August 17, 2011, 9:25 am
QUOTE(RaplaJingga @ Aug 17 2011, 01:46 AM)
anyone success upgrading to Seagate Momentus XT 500GB 7200RPM on Macbook Pro 2011 i5? im planning to upgrade mine. SSD too pricey now.
Used that for 2-3 months then sold off and got SSD instead. Regret buying the XT. First time install, damn fast for booting up. That's about it.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 17 2011, 09:25 AM
soonwai
post Aug 18 2011, 02:22 AM

11,456 posts

Since we talk a lot about RAM upgrades here. I was just wondering who actually does the certification for so-called "Apple Certified Ram". Certainly it's not Apple, since they don't have a ram certification program.

Just a marketing ploy?

When I sell the ram from my MBP, can I sell it off as Apple-Certified since I've been running it constantly on my MBP with no probs for x no of months. I also have 4 sticks of 1GB DIMMs which are "Hackintosh certified". I'll even print a Certificate for you.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 18 2011, 02:22 AM
soonwai
post Aug 18 2011, 06:30 PM

11,456 posts

That means 1070 MHz DDR3 also can. :-)
soonwai
post Aug 19 2011, 08:28 AM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(uniquexme @ Aug 19 2011, 07:48 AM)
do u think 1333 is suitable?
I was using 1333 ram in my MBP Mid-2010 which came with 1066 ram. So far no probs.
soonwai
post Aug 23 2011, 09:38 AM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Aug 23 2011, 09:25 AM)
u cant use that bro. your imac is using DDR2, that ram is for DDR3

u need to look for DDR2 800Mhz. im sure the 1st bolded part isn't a typo cuz there's no DDR3 800mhz, lowest is 1066mhz

there's also no (to my knowledge) 4gb RAM modules for DDR2. highest u can go is 2x2gb since u only have 2 slots
And the prices for DDR2 is almost exactly double that of DDR3.

Actually there is DDR2 4GB but it's impossible to find in LYP. I saw a few [WTS] here but I think all have been sold.
soonwai
post Aug 24 2011, 08:40 AM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(realpesky @ Aug 24 2011, 01:30 AM)
I'm really curious, I see a lot of people upgrading to 8gb ram. Is it actually necessary? For what kinda usage do you need 8gb?
It won't be necessary all the time. Because if it is, it's time to upgrade to 16GB already.

Here's a MyVi analogy. Most of the time, it's just you and your SO and perhaps a bag or two on the back seat. Comfy. When the need arises, you might have your parents or bros/sis as well, that's when the extra 2 seats at the back will be needed. Again if you're doing that all the time, it's probably time to upgrade to an Exora.
soonwai
post Aug 24 2011, 03:42 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Aug 24 2011, 08:48 AM)
does ram with bigger capacity requires more battery power? :s
Well, 2 sticks of RAM will use double the power of 1 stick of RAM. 1 stick 4GB vs 2GB, that I don't know, maybe just a little more.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 24 2011, 03:45 PM
soonwai
post Aug 25 2011, 02:46 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(newbie1818 @ Aug 25 2011, 02:41 PM)
4GB DDR2 OR DDR3?
Must be 4GB DDR3. 4GB DDR2 SODIMM can't be found anywhere in LYP.
soonwai
post Aug 26 2011, 06:11 PM

11,456 posts

True, but the the HDD as an example, got custom Apple firmware and Apple logo on its label. Where can get something like this outside? :-)
soonwai
post Sep 6 2011, 12:59 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Sep 6 2011, 09:05 AM)
Anyone tried with 8GB RAM on Macbook White 2009 model? How the performance? smile.gif
Performance is definitely improved.

0.0450sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:30 PM