Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

cRazYee
post Nov 9 2009, 07:57 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Nov 8 2009, 09:04 PM)
How many of you Bootcampers have installed Windows 7 and running it on BootCamp ? Any Comments ? Can run games without any problem ? Do you guys experience from any trouble / problem while installing Windows 7 ?
using win 7 pro (32 and 64)
it does give problem, as the driver is not design for win 7, it may crash
i had experiences on both 32 and 64 bit
cRazYee
post Nov 10 2009, 11:36 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Nov 9 2009, 08:54 PM)
The Snow Leopard Upgrade CD/DVD actually helps you to install the drivers needed by Windows 7  automatically after you booted into Windows 7 right ? Difference between 32 and 64 = ?  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
ram utilize and backward compatibility
if you run win 7 pro, you can use virtual xp mode
yet to try out cuz me running in 32 bit win 7 pro currently, my softwares works fine.
cRazYee
post Nov 10 2009, 06:54 PM

2,642 posts

it wont void the warranty
you can change yourself, WD scorpio blue is quite famous here
cRazYee
post Nov 11 2009, 08:23 AM

2,642 posts

yes, just the first time.
driver is important when your os wanna drive the hardware.
cRazYee
post Nov 29 2009, 08:23 PM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(xaw5126 @ Nov 29 2009, 10:45 AM)
cos HDMI is a TV standard, and Apple is looking at the future... HDMI can't power up the 30" Cinema display, and AFAIK, you can't take a HDMI cable and attach to most projectors...
HDMI 1.4 can
but still not mainstream for computer

Added on November 29, 2009, 8:27 pm
QUOTE(syyang85 @ Nov 29 2009, 09:04 AM)
dayum. why dont that just put the freakin hdmi into it instead of using their own standard
this is mainly because, if you put hDMI, you probably have to put a VGA port at the same time, which is not the case for apple, cuz with VGA, impossible to have all the way thin (as in an inch) laptop

what they did is better option from me, mini display port, capable to converter to whatever port with adapter
HDMI 1.3 (which is common now) cannot output 30" LCD monitor.

This post has been edited by cRazYee: Nov 29 2009, 08:27 PM
cRazYee
post Nov 30 2009, 02:39 AM

2,642 posts

everyone knows it's about resolution, ver 1.4 can output 4k max
cRazYee
post Jan 13 2010, 12:18 PM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(b48753 @ Dec 23 2009, 12:37 PM)
Thanks for the info..
but need 4pin FW400 for transferring my video capture in future Mac Mini..

Added on December 23, 2009, 12:38 pm
looks like ur's is more practical..
Nway is there any FW400 or FW800 hubs sells on open market?
FW400 is not 4pin, it's 6 pin
4 pin is know as iLink (refer by SONY) or 1394

if your videocam use iLink, look for iLink to FW400, then use the sonnet adapter
cRazYee
post Jan 30 2010, 03:04 AM

2,642 posts

i got one
but firewire400 only
cost rm110 couple year back
but forget the brand now
cRazYee
post Feb 8 2010, 07:49 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jan 13 2010, 12:24 PM)
4-pin version is still firewire, dats y it's still called 1394a. juz not 'apple's version', as u said it's sony's
still 4 pin firewire cant power up device (ideally)

Added on February 8, 2010, 7:51 am
QUOTE(Sevenfold @ Feb 7 2010, 08:36 PM)
Im Done Upgrade to 500gb, now wanna upgrade the ram..  rclxm9.gif
You must format it to FAT32 and then ON the macbook PRESS ALT, make sure u already insert the installer..
press c to boot from disc drive

This post has been edited by cRazYee: Feb 8 2010, 07:51 AM
cRazYee
post Feb 25 2010, 05:37 AM

2,642 posts

not saying 3rd party as Knigston, hynix are companies supply OEM Ram to Apple

a lot ppl here using Kingston KVR
cRazYee
post Feb 28 2010, 02:41 PM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(sonnettech-asia @ Feb 27 2010, 11:53 AM)
for those who are keen, I can get 2X4GB apple certified RAM at RM2800.00, if there is taker, I will ship it in.
wah
RM2800 just for RAM

MacPro ECC RAM is still cheaper
cRazYee
post Jun 14 2010, 11:15 AM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 13 2010, 11:39 PM)
I'm already on the lookout for this for my MacBook Pro... in fact I've got a thread below on this:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1454485&hl=
what's the selling price for this hdd?
uk is selling for £67 @ amazon for 500GB
cRazYee
post Jun 14 2010, 08:44 PM

2,642 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jun 14 2010, 11:31 AM)
Is it that cheap...?  hmm.gif I don't think so...

Not on sale yet in Malaysia, but I expect no lesser than RM 500... US retailers selling then for as low as $130...
dude, you should do a lot more reading on this...
izzit this one
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B002H9X...&pf_rd_i=468294
cRazYee
post Jul 9 2010, 12:53 PM

2,642 posts

the problem is
which autocad you're running at?
64bits system (assume you run it via bootcamo windows)
if not, expend it wont help

go for Momemtum XT first
cRazYee
post Jul 23 2010, 02:33 AM

2,642 posts

just got my part in for upgrade, oh yeah!
cRazYee
post Jul 26 2010, 04:54 PM

2,642 posts

ah ah new upgrade

Added on July 26, 2010, 4:55 pmit's really good buy
things speed up alot (not sure weather is new OS loaded in new HDD)

This post has been edited by cRazYee: Jul 26 2010, 04:55 PM
cRazYee
post Jul 26 2010, 05:17 PM

2,642 posts

result: 1st test

link to xBench
http://db.xbench.com/merge.xhtml?doc1=458937&doc2=458930

not sure it's better or not, forget my last stock setup

Added on July 26, 2010, 5:20 pmand that's with 9400m

now switch to 9600m and test again

Added on July 26, 2010, 5:38 pmAfter 8 test, in 9600m with fan fully runs
what i got is utterly disappointing result

compare to the based machine i had
http://db.xbench.com/merge.xhtml?doc1=458942&doc2=458825
found that his gpu works better, looks like something wrong with me

Added on July 26, 2010, 7:59 pmFIrst thing first, mac is already affordable, if u can afford it, means you're never ready for any laptop within these price, still look for a laptop cost rm1/2k. You rather throw it away.

Secondly, there is someyhjgn called installment, no need you to take 7 years to save money

Added on July 26, 2010, 8:02 pmIf u need 7 year saving to get a laptop/ computer, then a suggest for u, change your financial management. By this rate, it's quite hard to buy anything, like cars or houses

Unless u're saying getting a mac pro. But if u use for work, ask your boss

This post has been edited by cRazYee: Jul 26 2010, 08:02 PM
cRazYee
post Jul 28 2010, 07:11 PM

2,642 posts

Video editing, depends how extensive you gonna be

At least take the hdd like mine, the best if you can use RAID system.

Added on July 28, 2010, 7:12 pmWhich mac are u using? Does it have express card slot?

This post has been edited by cRazYee: Jul 28 2010, 07:12 PM
cRazYee
post Jul 30 2010, 07:35 PM

2,642 posts

For tools, go kampung bangkali
You can get any pros tools that u need
Be it a trox or Philip head

cRazYee
post Sep 18 2010, 07:57 PM

2,642 posts