Hardware Mac servicing, emergency tips, General knowledge on Mac issues

thepan
post Nov 21 2009, 01:17 AM

14 posts

hey,
I'm kinda new here. thx for the support wink.gif

Anyway,
my friend told me that we can actually replace our macbook/ macbook pro's superdrive with internal 2.5 SATA HDD Docking.
Based on research,
The Most Talkabout hardware for that is MCE OptiBay.

But the thing is I dont think there are one in Malaysia, especially lowyat.

But if u think I'm wrong,
Is there any of that in lowyat, or similar hardware? where and which can I get it and how much is it?
I'll be very happy to know it from u guys.

thx wink.gif
thepan
post Nov 21 2009, 04:56 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Nov 21 2009, 02:17 AM)
Take a look at this, it's a cheaper alternative to the Optibay
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=680228&page=19

You do realise you will void your machine's warranty if you replace the optical drive. Something you might want to consider...
I knew that man.
Oh anyway,
I just heard about the Thinkpad HDD bay from Lenovo,
do u think it'll fit inside my mbpro since it has the same size as my internal DVDRW?
thepan
post Nov 24 2009, 06:56 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Nov 22 2009, 12:14 PM)
Thanks for the feedback!
I've done that on iBook G4, PowerBook G4, MacBook Pro 15", MacBook White. You doesn't need to spend on the overpriced Optibay, just get those on eBay. I can't be sure will the IBM type fit. Pay attention to the height of newer unibody models as they might not fit.
there are a LOT blink.gif

what's your recommendation for a non-unibody 15 Macbook pro?
Thx for the help wink.gif
thepan
post Nov 24 2009, 02:19 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Nov 24 2009, 10:33 AM)
Non-unibody is still using IDE/PATA connection. If you keen I have one unit. PM me.
I thought it's SATA?
I'm using the latest non-unibody MBPro with Geforce 8600m GT, not the one with ATI which still with IDE/PATA.
thepan
post Nov 24 2009, 07:29 PM

14 posts

really?
so it means that I have to use IDE HDD instead of SATA one then?
I'll let u know if I'm interested. Not this year maybe tongue.gif. I have to go back to my country for 2.5 months tongue.gif

0.0348sec    1.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:21 AM