Hardware Mac servicing, emergency tips, General knowledge on Mac issues
rx330
Apr 13 2009, 03:47 PM
Dear Dr Wei, I Have a few external HDD, but there are certain 2 HDD that whenever i plug into my late 08 mbp, within minutes of trasnferring data, the mbp will prompt me to shut down, any idea? but this never happens to the imac though
thanks rx330
rx330
Apr 14 2009, 09:22 AM
QUOTE(wei @ Apr 13 2009, 03:56 PM) I'm no Dr. Can you tell us what type of HDD are they? Brand? Connection you using? Is your MBP powered by adapter or battery when that happened? Prompt you to shutdown meaning the gray color screen and everything freeze? connected thru USB, my mbp is on battery IINM, shud be hitachi. yes, the grey screen with multiple language asking me to shut down btw, my files transfer on the imac to external used to be fast, now a 4gb file would take abt 15 minutes, is there any ways to improve the speed of this? transferred using USB This post has been edited by rx330: Apr 14 2009, 09:25 AM
rx330
Apr 21 2009, 12:00 PM
need help again, my late 08 mbp, suddenly the f10, f11, f12 button to control sounds, not working
rx330
Apr 21 2009, 02:03 PM
nope, cant either wanna open other apps or shutdown also impossible have to hold power button to shut it
seems like it have to do with the pendrive it hang before that, and i had to removed it even though it cant be ejected
back to normal now
rx330
Apr 24 2009, 10:41 AM
wei, it just happen again, my mbp promp the grey screen with the force shut down notice  i was transferring files to a new maxtor HDD, sigh.... and i found out a few ext HDD tat can be read n formatted by my imac, actually cant be recognise by my mbp any idea?
rx330
Apr 24 2009, 12:10 PM
this is the maxtor 2.5 hdd, not the 3.5
rx330
Apr 25 2009, 12:11 PM
it the NTFS
rx330
Jun 12 2009, 09:17 AM
dunno should i ask this here, but i give it a shot
recently i just added hotmail to my mail app, hence it begins to start downloading my previous emails, abt 2+k of them, took a few days, which havent even completed
till yesterday, while retreiving the previous email, the mail app crash, and no matter how many times i relaunch, or reset relaunch it still crash instantly just tested it today, the same thing as well
any advice for me? thanks
rx330
Jun 15 2009, 09:58 AM
Dear Wei, Thanks, u solve my issue, at least i still have my remaining hotmail email, cos the rest has been deleted off the server i called applecare, they asked me to remove the com.mail.plist thingy but this way, i cant retrieve my hotmail as well lucky got u....
rx330
Jun 26 2009, 10:07 AM
wei, need help again currently im syncing with mobile me on both my macs, and as u know, i had just add in hotmail account to my mail app (mbp), and wen i access my imac at home, it will also add in the hotmail acc in it as well, is there anyway to prevent this?
as i only want my hotmail at my mbp mail app only
rx330
Jul 1 2009, 09:15 AM
wei, thanks i got the 1st one working, by disabling but how do i do the 2nd one?
rx330
Jul 2 2009, 10:39 AM
aishey... only available on those days mac account?
sigh...
rx330
Aug 3 2009, 10:43 AM
QUOTE(patmos @ Aug 2 2009, 02:15 AM) Hi Guys, My late 08 Alu MacBook Pro display screen is blinking or flickering every few minutes. Usually it is only the top half or so of the display that blinks or flickers for a split second. Anyone else having the same problem? Look exactly like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xJMuYneBLLE&feature=relatedCurrently running on OSX version 10.5.7 Please Advice, Thanks yes, i have the same problem too late 08 mbp and another thing is, the videocam green light doesnt go on wen im doing webcalls from skype
rx330
Aug 12 2009, 09:13 PM
Dear Grandmaster Wei,
Im in need of ur advice once more
i just bought an icydock 2 bays with firewire 800 connection im transferring a file of 37gbs(internal hdd) into my external hdd (icy dock) time taken is about 2 hours, is this normal? seems a tad slow don you think?
rx330
Aug 13 2009, 02:10 PM
sigh... mins is so slow...
im sorry, but how do i check if my spotlight is doing indexing? now apps i was running was firefox(lots of tabs), skype and a download manager
im using a sata drive, 5400 rpm, 1.5tb, samsung
rx330
Aug 22 2009, 12:08 PM
i think wei shud be able to repair for you at a price
rx330
Sep 12 2009, 07:14 PM
@wei, my transfer speed through firewire is still slow even without any apps running, i just upgraded to snow leopard, the speed now is ok  187gbs in 2 hours, those days in 2 hours for 30+gb only
rx330
Oct 20 2009, 04:19 PM
clicking sound? my soon to die hdd had tat sound as well
rx330
Nov 6 2009, 09:40 AM
u can set dun sleep ma, just sleep on the display
rx330
Nov 24 2009, 10:04 AM
Dear wei, the new imac comes with 2+2 gb ram in it, lets say i upgrade to 8gb, shud i get all 4 identical rams, or i can mixed 2 from the imac itself and another 2 from other brand?