Hardware Mac servicing, emergency tips, General knowledge on Mac issues

Itori
post Oct 17 2009, 08:49 PM

181 posts

Hi Wei, my friend got problem with his newly purchased Macbook Pro 15 inch with SL installed with the new current update. He's been experiencing some lagging when shutting down the MBP. He just bought it and completely untouched, nothing is done to it. Not even a single file is downloaded into it. But he kept bugging me on why his super powerful MBP can show serious lags when shutting down.

It's like when he presses the shutdown button, the dock hides out lagging.. and sometimes, half of the screen got flashed black like some defected LCD unit. We went to Machines KLCC to service, the magsafe port was broken. Then went for repair. When it was back, the issue of lagging is not solved. Then my friend called Apple to force a 1 to 1 exchange. And they did! After the exchange, the currently NEW MBP still experience this shutdown problem!!!

I just want to ask. Is this normal? Is it a bug in SL or is it the Video Driver issue?

He's planning to make another 2nd 1 to 1 exchange...

His MBP specs...

mid 2009
2.8Ghz
4gb RAM
500gb 5400rpm
Mac OSX 10.6.1

Please help me with your Sage advice!!!

0.0452sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:33 AM