24 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Travel Club LYN Japan V2, 日本へようこそ!, Here we are! Nihon Yokoso!

TStanoshi
post Sep 3 2009, 03:21 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(matt85 @ Sep 3 2009, 03:43 PM)
Based on my personal experience,

You can plan to the very minute detail, but things don't always work out as planned (most of the time they don't !!)

So, give some allowance to yourself and minimize the number of places you plan to visit in a day. You will never never know what could happen (train delay, getting lost, bad weather, lost your belongings, waiting for meals etc.)
Agreed with Matt, this is wat we called ITINERARY..what ever you plan you must have this kind of itinerary...of coz..theres only plan...the matters time and situation can change all!
So best of luck to ya!

Added on September 3, 2009, 3:24 pm
QUOTE(tatsuyachiba @ Sep 3 2009, 12:49 PM)
Kimono for men or women? I'll assume women but men wear kimono's too. For an example, look at any sumo basho (tournament; there's a BIG one coming up mid-Sept called Aki basho-it's in Tokyo) and you'll see several men sitting by the dohyo (ring) on the floor. They are judges and are usually past champions. They will be wearing male kimonos.

But before you buy a kimono, make sure that's really what you want. Are you sure you want a kimono? It is very difficult/impossible to put on a kimono without any training. There are kimono schools you go to to learn this or you pay $$ for someone to help you put on a kimono. A kimono, as tanoshi, points out, is mucho $$. If you really intend to buy a kimono, buy a 2nd-hand one. Here's a good place: http://www.ichiroya.com/

Also if you want something like a "touristy" kimono, go to Omotesando. There's a famous shop there called Oriental Bazaar. They say the typical Japanese woman wears kimonos only a few times in her lifetime: shichi-go-san (literally 7-5-3: the important years as a child) when they are little kids, when they turn 20 (that's when they reach adulthood), wedding and funerals.

I think perhaps you mean a Yukata. Many non-Japanese are confused between the two. Yukata is worn in summer, especially during Obon (Like the chinese qing ming). It is made from cotton instead of silk. Much cheaper.
Like tanoshi (he's an obvious expert in women so he knows hahaha) says, you can buy Yukata (perhaps best during summer) at Uniqlo or any department store (like Keiyo at Shinjuku Sta.). Together with this, you should buy some underwear (called hadajuban) and then a belt (obi - get the ones that are half as wide - forgot what they are called). You can also get cute coin pouches that tie to your obi. Then, to complete it, you need the wooden clogs called geta and the split-toe socks that go with it. All those accessories can be found at the same stores.

HTH.
yeah bro! yah yah...me definitely expert with woman drool.gif ! I think wats he meant is kimono...may be for his girlfriend then..
I got Yukata...past few weeks mainichi wear it even not for the hanabi festival..its cool dude! icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by tanoshi: Sep 3 2009, 03:24 PM
TStanoshi
post Sep 3 2009, 10:43 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(spidergirl @ Sep 4 2009, 12:36 AM)
Dude,

How are you gonna buy the ticket for Ghibli Museum? I thought you have to buy the ticket somewhere in the convenience store ie. Lawson? I'm planning to go there too. Perhaps we can tag along? hmm.gif
Lor...he's coming after raya then...'we' already in Tokyo you didnt ask meh? Musha is here, Phyczz also here, Fire? may be balik kampung...I'm also here maaa...hehehe rclxms.gif
TStanoshi
post Sep 4 2009, 05:40 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(PsyCHZZZ @ Sep 4 2009, 07:36 PM)
Hi alankw88,

First of all, Japan is now reporting the infection again (they stopped for a few months a while back). You can get the latest info from their official site - http://idsc.nih.go.jp/disease/swine_influenza/index.html but it's in Japanese so you can use Google to translate.

I believe the latest updates this week was 1,330 Influenza A group infection reported in the last 1 week (http://www.japantoday.com/category/national/view/1330-influenza-a-group-infections-reported-in-1-week-in-japan). The number of confirmed death stands at 10 people (if I'm not mistaken).

While I would say that it's safe to travel to Japan (and they have a very good system in place where they'll treat all Influenza A as the new flu hence not taking any risk) but since your wife is pregnant and is more susceptible - this is a risk you'll have to decide.

Also, Sept in Hokkaido means that the temp will be going down as autumn approaches... so, it's easier for the virus to survive longer in the wild and hence might increase the rate of infections (as we have seen in Australia during the winter period).
Agreed with Physczz...sure you can travel to Japan, no worries. Just a precaution always wash your hand with hygienic soap/foam practise it. And wear mask..I think it should be ok. But we cant do anything if kena to us...we do our best, we called that 'takdir' right? hmm.gif
TStanoshi
post Sep 5 2009, 12:56 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(spidergirl @ Sep 4 2009, 01:08 AM)
Oh yeaah, you guys are around eh? I won't balik kampung this year since I'll be in Japan 13-28 Sept. I heard that there's a mosque in Asakusa. Maybe there's a jamuan raya there I can join. I'll be wearing my baju raya, so yeah...nak lepas gian.

Is there a Lawson convenience store at around Higashiueno/Ueno area?
You should try to Tokyo Camii (Yoyogi Uehara) may be I'll be goin there for solat raya...and after that also got jamuan at Islamic centre..

Just an ifo during Ramadhan in Tokyo:

Subject: Islamic Center Announcement-Invitation to Iftar on Sunday, September 6th
Date: Tue, 1 Sep 2009 11:41:22 +0900

Invitation to Iftar on Sunday, September 6th

Dear Brothers and Sisters,

Assalam Alaikum.

It is our great pleasure to invite you to join us for Iftar on Sunday, September 6th along with your family and friends.

6:02 pm - Iftar followed by Salat ul Maghrib. Dinner will be served after Maghrib Prayers.
8:30 pm - Salat ul Isha followed by Taraweeh prayers.

We look forward to meeting you at ICJ.

Sincerely,

Islamic Center-Japan
1-16-11 Ohara, Setagaya- Ku,
Tokyo
Tel. 03-3460-6169
Fax. 03- 3460-6105
E-mail. Info@islamcenter.or.jp
Web. http://islamcenter.or.jp

Insyallah, next week I'll be in Tokyo Camii if ya wanna meet then.. icon_rolleyes.gif
TStanoshi
post Sep 5 2009, 01:34 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(spidergirl @ Sep 5 2009, 03:11 AM)
I found this solat schedule online. Can you guys clarify this?
September
        Fajr    ShurwwQ  Zohor  Asar    Maghrib  Ishak
Date  Dawn  Sunrise  Noon    Afternoon Sunset  Evening 
13    3:55    5:22    11:37    3:09    5:52    7:13

14    3:56    5:22    11:37    3:09    5:50    7:11
15    3:57    5:23    11:36    3:08    5:49    7:10
16    3:58    5:24    11:36    3:07    5:48    7:08
17    3:59    5:25    11:36    3:06    5:46    7:07
I think that not Tokyo time kot?
try to refer this:
http://www.tokyocamii.org/PrayerSchedules/...icview/lang:en/
I ikut this schedule easy, because I'm in Tokyo.. thumbup.gif
Wanna meet wit ya parther during iftar or terawih then PM me lah..nanti boleh jumpa.. thumbup.gif
TStanoshi
post Sep 5 2009, 02:02 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(matt85 @ Sep 5 2009, 03:39 AM)
Dah, nampak langkah buaya tuh !  laugh.gif
Woiii Matt, apa lah you ni... mad.gif orang mau pigi buat benda baik laaaaaaaaaaaa!! shakehead.gif
Belom tido shocking.gif aik..bangun sahur ka bro? tongue.gif bagus! belajar mau puasa hehehe ganbatte! notworthy.gif
TStanoshi
post Sep 5 2009, 03:21 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(musha @ Sep 5 2009, 04:30 PM)
aiya, i oledi blur with this thread...

for those who coming to japan...
me, tanoshi, psychzzz, clemong, asuk, fire.. and
are now in Japan...

and those in Japan..
who is coming and who oledi at japan...

I dunno lar.....

Added on September 5, 2009, 2:38 pmtonight i free anyway, siapa nak buka puasa together?
those who permanent in japan or just visit japan.. like spidergal ke.. hahah
I think Spidergal and her partner is around Tokyo...you should PM her lor... icon_rolleyes.gif
TStanoshi
post Sep 5 2009, 07:35 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(chizzu @ Sep 5 2009, 08:55 PM)
i is coming to japan again in  a few weeks time tongue.gif

now hope my visa approved (gimme a year visa at least tongue.gif )
nihon yokoso rclxms.gif
TStanoshi
post Sep 5 2009, 09:54 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(PsyCHZZZ @ Sep 5 2009, 11:29 PM)
Seems like quite a number of ppl are coming end of Sept around the time of Tokyo Game Show (Sept 24-27). Perhaps we can have a little gathering around that time? smile.gif
Yeah, Once again 2nd gathering...kumpul org ramai2 ok what?
So Phyczz, as usual...I will help ya from tha back hehehee ok tak? tongue.gif
TStanoshi
post Sep 5 2009, 10:20 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(musha @ Sep 6 2009, 12:14 AM)
i see.. all the best then..
Bro..tomorrow I'll be there bout 8am, so if you rajin bangun awal then you can have a breakfast with Endo san then..
matta ashta ne! thumbup.gif
TStanoshi
post Sep 5 2009, 10:58 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(musha @ Sep 6 2009, 12:23 AM)
8am! hayai jan... maybe 10 or 11 kot.. hhaha.
anything wan to bring beside ur thing? rolly still nak bawa ke? tongue.gif
hehehe..eh I mail you at 'lis' you ble buka mail tak?
fogot your Gmail add?
Rolly ar...envy duh!..I wanna selling it to Msia for 40,000yen!! (kalau menang auction lol!)
mmm..beside my thing ar? please bring 1 nihon chick, not sexy one should be ok...no need to bring more gals ok?! flex.gif
TStanoshi
post Sep 6 2009, 12:58 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(spidergirl @ Sep 6 2009, 02:22 AM)
I'll only be flying off next Sat. Still in Malaysia, clearing off work pile for 2 weeks worth of holiday, yawn.gif ...not sure its gonna be much of a holiday since might bring work to Japan.

Thanks a lot for the solat time. I wonder how odd it would be to have a wrong schedule. hmm.gif
sis, cant get wat da ya mean..watever is..in case emergencies you can contact Musha or Physczz or Fire or Clemoong or sapa lagi yek? IF kat Tokyo lah...but then they all bz, except what I know Musha can have a excuse lah..he is in Shibuya..my self the last man standing huahaha...kidding duh! icon_idea.gif

Added on September 6, 2009, 1:06 am
QUOTE(asuk @ Sep 6 2009, 02:40 AM)
just got back from sapporo, hokkaido. nice city, nice food. it was already a bit chilly there even though its only sept. if given the chance, i would surely visit hokkaido again

Wahhh..on summer holiday bro!
Thanks for sharing! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by tanoshi: Sep 6 2009, 01:39 AM
TStanoshi
post Sep 6 2009, 01:52 AM

347 posts

Musha, dont be surprised if this girl with me tomorrow ya! icon_rolleyes.gif
TStanoshi
post Sep 6 2009, 02:04 AM

347 posts

Musha, dont be surprised if this girl with me tomorrow ya! icon_rolleyes.gif

TStanoshi
post Sep 7 2009, 09:10 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(yoko @ Sep 7 2009, 12:09 AM)
Hi, everyone ^^, I would like to get some advice from your guys.
I am going to japan during october for 1 month, backpacking, total 3 persons.

Planning to visit major cities in Japan, from Osaka all the way to Sapporo if possible.

I wanted to know how much should i bring?
Should i get Jr pass?
How do i find value for money hotel or maybe a small room for my visit on each location for 3 ppls
Is it easy for me to find washing facilities around japan since I dont think I have 1 month of cloth supply?
What type of cloth should i wear during my visit?

Hmm.. thats all for now, thanks alot^^
Hi bro..mind to look at on the 1st page or try also to go through the thread, I think you will find some infos also!
Nihon yokoso!
TStanoshi
post Sep 7 2009, 03:25 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(Kiraneko @ Sep 7 2009, 02:30 PM)
Hey all, I'm going to Tokyo on the 17th - 22nd for my honeymoon, plane tix, hotel booking, visas all taken care of, I'd like to ask the people here on and recommendations for food in Tokyo area, good restaurants that are not too costly for the authentic Japanese food that you cannot find in Malaysia like ramen, oden, yakiniku and definitely kobe beef. The best restaurant I found by research online charges 20k-30k yen for kobe beef steak, I'm sure there are better options? Especially the small stores that don't have websites/didn't get blogged about.

Also since hubby and I are pretty much into the otaku scene, we'll definitely visit Akiba. So if there's any good food outlets in Akiba, do let me know. =D Thanks in advance. Also any particular otaku shop that's a "must visit"?

Oh one more thing, anyone know the best courier/mail service to mail stuff back to Malaysia? I don't want to lug too much luggage back (expect to buy a lot of stuff)
Omedeto...and nihon yokoso!
TStanoshi
post Sep 7 2009, 10:21 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Sep 7 2009, 11:29 PM)
So everyone is in the travelling mood again.. wub.gif

If murah rezeki, Tokyo here i come again.
unfortunately i'll be solo travelling again ;__;
from u gais experience, is end-autumn/winter good for travelling in japan (ie walking and sceneries, festivals etc)?

see asuk's pics hokkaido macam best >_<
hey ya bro!
meh raya kat sini sama2 lol!
I dah give u a tips right, renshu ne...tak jumpa lg ke partner from Japan...supposed to exchange language thru internet then so on...so you will have a travel partner duh! compliments tip for ya brother! hehehe! rclxms.gif
TStanoshi
post Sep 8 2009, 01:17 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Sep 8 2009, 12:42 AM)
bahaya nih abg tanoshi racun.. laugh.gif

unfortunately my work load has been eating my free time since end of april, which is why it look like i just vanished from this forum ;__;
I dont think i can make it to JP by end of the yr soonest..
I do look forward for hanabi party to the least  wink.gif
Yeah always racun you to make your wish come true hahaha! at least you made it last time! rclxms.gif
TStanoshi
post Sep 9 2009, 03:33 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(zoakies @ Sep 9 2009, 02:27 PM)
Wow...the girl and the photoshoot was awesome!

Lovely dovely...

Can intro ke? tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
ble ble...u know me bro! huahahhaa

Added on September 9, 2009, 3:34 pm
QUOTE(jayhan @ Sep 9 2009, 01:22 PM)
Chamaro! Tanoshi-san, you know her? Kawaii ne! Taipu!

Omedetou! And have fun ne in Japan! biggrin.gif

Watashi will take JLPT level 2 test. Taihen ne. Ganbarimasu!
Ehem ehem..you guess?? hmm.gif errrr... rclxm9.gif
Hey Jayhan...ganbatte ne! rclxms.gif flex.gif

Added on September 9, 2009, 9:32 pmMusha...esok I got date...wanna join? Takadanobaba after 7pm...check ya mail! drool.gif

This post has been edited by tanoshi: Sep 9 2009, 09:32 PM
TStanoshi
post Sep 10 2009, 02:09 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(spidergirl @ Sep 10 2009, 03:26 AM)
Guys, I wanna bring rendang toks and some Malaysian basics (maggie) and perhaps brahims, serunding...

Can I go through custom with these stuff ar? Need to declare? http://japan.visahq.com/customs/ (sez here can't bring beef ar?). Last time I remember one of my friends bawak rendang...
oh sis...Its should be ok to bring serunding in secured pack put inside luggage lol...if custom ask said that you helping Tanoshi to bring it (huwaaaa bawa sikit for me. cry.gif I rindu lor sweat.gif )

24 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0539sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:22 AM