123 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Bottom

Travel Club LYN Japan V2, 日本へようこそ!, Here we are! Nihon Yokoso!

matt85
post Dec 3 2009, 11:54 PM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(PsyCHZZZ @ Dec 4 2009, 12:26 AM)
@Aileron : Actually, I think Japanese culture for New Year is more towards spending time with family etc so don't expect like fireworks everywhere and huge celebrations... but I think if you go and visit places like Roppongi; then you might be able to join the countdown celebrations that's held by all the clubs/pubs there.

If you want to experience something a bit more different and cultural, then I'll advice you to go to Zojoji Temple (Tokyo Tower) for their annual countdown event. I was there last year for their countdown and it was really quite an experience. smile.gif
Link - http://www.zojoji.or.jp/event/ev_countdown.html

16 days in Hokkaido... jealous.  laugh.gif
Aileron, what are you gonna do for 16 days in Hokkaido ? Daily dip in beer baths in Sapporo ? laugh.gif
RegentCid
post Dec 4 2009, 12:51 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

16 day in Hokkaido...unless go Ski since now is winter...if not going for ski....at there 16days.... then will bored to death!!!! I personal Dun like Hokkaido...emm this place is too kampung...too farmer.
tatsuyachiba
post Dec 4 2009, 02:50 AM

QUOTE(PsyCHZZZ @ Dec 3 2009, 11:26 PM)
If you want to experience something a bit more different and cultural, then I'll advice you to go to Zojoji Temple (Tokyo Tower) for their annual countdown event. I was there last year for their countdown and it was really quite an experience. smile.gif
+1.

I've been to Zojoji a couple of times and it's a pretty awesome sight. The sight of thousands of balloons flying away at the stroke of midnight was breathtaking. Especially with the Tokyo Tower at the backdrop - it changes color during the countdown. You'll also get to see (and taste) the New Year's practice of making of omochi (rice cakes) the old-school way. It will be crowded, you can smell sake in the air and I usually hang back near the gates during the countdown and I beat a quick retreat to the metro station the moment it finishes to avoid the crowds.

On the 2nd day of New Year, the imperial palace will be open and the royal family will greet (behind the glass walls at least) crowds at pre-determined times during the day. It's only open like 2 days a year and it's great fun because almost certainly, you'll spot and hear from the die-hard right-wingers shouting "tenno heika banzai" when the Emperor speaks.

As PsyCHZZZ says, New Year's is a mostly family affair. Most places close for a couple of days. My family usually spends New Year's eve watching Kouhaku (Red & White) on NHK, then watch on TV the ringing of the bells to usher in the New Year. On New Year's day, they eat osechi ryori (New Year's food - bleech for me) and then visit the local shrine to burn arrows, get new darumas (the dolls with one eye painted black), tie wishes written on paper on a tree etc. There will be street stalls set up by the local ah bengs (chimpira haha) at every shrine (fyi: shrines are shinto, are called x-jingu; don't confuse them with Buddhist temples which are x-san) which is a really fun look at local culture. Then the kids come home and get otoshidama which is like ang-pow.

You will also see fukubukuro sales on the 2nd day of the New Year. Stores wrap up these "mystery packages" and put them on sale - you won't know what's inside before you buy. But you often get great deals.

I am usually there every New Year, albeit only for a day or two. The rest of my family's there for a whole 3 weeks-4 weeks. New Year's a special time - my kids' favorite time the whole year.

PsyCHZZZ
post Dec 4 2009, 08:29 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Dec 4 2009, 12:51 AM)
16 day in  Hokkaido...unless go Ski since now is winter...if not going for ski....at there 16days.... then will bored to death!!!!  I personal Dun like Hokkaido...emm this place is too kampung...too farmer.
I guess you're the buzzing city life kinda guy. laugh.gif
Besides skiing (which is great fun!), there's still plenty to do in Hokkaido but it'll be on the nature and cultural side. matt85 got a good suggestion too! haha tongue.gif

QUOTE(tatsuyachiba @ Dec 4 2009, 02:50 AM)
+1.

I've been to Zojoji a couple of times and it's a pretty awesome sight. The sight of thousands of balloons flying away at the stroke of midnight was breathtaking. Especially with the Tokyo Tower at the backdrop - it changes color during the countdown. You'll also get to see (and taste) the New Year's practice of making of omochi (rice cakes) the old-school way. It will be crowded, you can smell sake in the air and I usually hang back near the gates during the countdown and I beat a quick retreat to the metro station the moment it finishes to avoid the crowds.

On the 2nd day of New Year, the imperial palace will be open and the royal family will greet (behind the glass walls at least) crowds at pre-determined times during the day. It's only open like 2 days a year and it's great fun because almost certainly, you'll spot and hear from the die-hard right-wingers shouting "tenno heika banzai" when the Emperor speaks.

As PsyCHZZZ says, New Year's is a mostly family affair. Most places close for a couple of days. My family usually spends New Year's eve watching Kouhaku (Red & White) on NHK, then watch on TV the ringing of the bells to usher in the New Year. On New Year's day, they eat osechi ryori (New Year's food - bleech for me) and then visit the local shrine to burn arrows, get new darumas (the dolls with one eye painted black), tie wishes written on paper on a tree etc. There will be street stalls set up by the local ah bengs (chimpira haha) at every shrine (fyi: shrines are shinto, are called x-jingu; don't confuse them with Buddhist temples which are x-san) which is a really fun look at local culture. Then the kids come home and get otoshidama which is like ang-pow.

You will also see fukubukuro sales on the 2nd day of the New Year. Stores wrap up these "mystery packages" and put them on sale - you won't know what's inside before you buy. But you often get great deals.

I am usually there every New Year, albeit only for a day or two. The rest of my family's there for a whole 3 weeks-4 weeks. New Year's a special time - my kids' favorite time the whole year.
I'm not a big fan of osechi ryori as well. To me, it's just like cold leftover food (which it is). sweat.gif

I'm going to pass on visiting any packed places this year and perhaps just sit back, watch TV (they have those Japanese tv marathons that runs all the way till morning) and lots of beers. hahaha...
tatsuyachiba
post Dec 4 2009, 12:53 PM

QUOTE(PsyCHZZZ @ Dec 4 2009, 08:29 AM)
...perhaps just sit back, watch TV (they have those Japanese tv marathons that runs all the way till morning) and lots of beers. hahaha...
Oh, just because you mentioned "marathons", another New Year tradition is the Hakone Ekiden on the 2nd day of the New Year. It's a relay road race between universities where the "baton" is a sash they they pass between the runners (sash - such girlie men) and it's like on the TV the whole day. You can only enjoy it with beer (otherwise you'll die of boredom) and edamame. Note: never go to Hakone on the 2nd and 3rd day of the New Year.

Beer and osake is very much a New Year tradition. Drinking the whole day, watching TV and passing out on the tatami with your feet under a worm kotatsu is very Japanese.

We're planning to go skiing in Kobuchizawa in Yamanashi-ken. Hopefully the weather will turn colder - the warmish weather so far has meant that a lot of ski slopes in/or near the Kanto area aren't open yet and may not even open mid-Dec.

Aileron
post Dec 4 2009, 06:01 PM

244 posts

Thank you so much for the reply guys biggrin.gif especially the zozoji and the emperor open house visit!

Yeah..16 days in hokkaido..I'll be there Wwoofing smile.gif
have you guys heard of it?
Wwoof Japan
It's an organization of organic farming, basically we work for them for free, and in turn they provide us with
accommodation and food!

So it's a good chance to experience their culture! Those interested can try to find suitable host which are all over Japan!

So I managed to find a host in Niseko, which is near the ski resort! Our aim is to ski while work to support our stay there for free!

But now at the last minute, 3 days before my flight, I sent a reminder email to them telling them about my date of arrival.
Then their reply was, "we are full, there are many more applicants! Could you find other hosts?"

I was like OMG!! and now I've just sent them a email asking them to reconsider. It's a bit hard communicating because the host
are not really fluent in English.

Worse come to worst..we have no place to stay at all while we fly JAL Airlines from Osaka to Sapporo for a period of 16 days..
and then we're gonna backpack by ourselves all around Hokkaido! Just the two of us..but we haven't plan any yet..this last 2 days will be crucual to us..the flight is on Monday!

So now this is the major concern..I can't really think of other parts in Japan at the moment..have to settle this one first.
Any tips of travelling in Hokkaido? We plan to stay a few days in Niseko to ski..(Niseko backpackers hostel, haven't booked yet) travel some places in Hokkaido..ultimately staying in cybercafes in Sapporo.

Sapporo Cybercafes

Damn..expenses will increase...but the challenge seemed really interesting now..thanks to my supposed host huh.gif
PsyCHZZZ
post Dec 5 2009, 12:19 PM

115 posts

Yup... heard of WWoof before but never really tried it.

Hope everything work out for you... btw, booking hotels/ryokans online and early will usually get you better rates so try and confirm your accommodation plans asap.

This post has been edited by PsyCHZZZ: Dec 5 2009, 12:21 PM
RegentCid
post Dec 5 2009, 10:46 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Now already DEC...so late book sure very hard...even 5 star hotel one night 31,800Yen per night room also almost ''pecah'' in tokyo city. X'mas + new year alot tourist ....

Happy Birthday to Tanoshi......Celebrate with Alot Nihon Chick?

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Dec 5 2009, 11:52 PM
TStanoshi
post Dec 6 2009, 09:33 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Dec 6 2009, 12:46 AM)
Now already DEC...so late book sure very hard...even 5 star hotel one night 31,800Yen per night room also almost ''pecah'' in tokyo city. X'mas + new year alot tourist ....
Happy Birthday to Tanoshi......Celebrate with Alot Nihon Chick?
Arigatou bro!
The only members noticed my buffday huhuhuhu cry.gif

No lah bro...already been booked wit my family...postponed with the chicks hahhahaha! rclxm9.gif
matt85
post Dec 6 2009, 02:44 PM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(tanoshi @ Dec 6 2009, 10:33 AM)
Arigatou bro!
The only members noticed my buffday huhuhuhu cry.gif

No lah bro...already been booked wit my family...postponed with the chicks hahhahaha! rclxm9.gif
Tanjobi omedeto, tanoshi !! rclxms.gif
TStanoshi
post Dec 6 2009, 07:36 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(matt85 @ Dec 6 2009, 04:44 PM)
Tanjobi omedeto, tanoshi !!  rclxms.gif
hait haii domo! thumbup.gif
RegentCid
post Dec 6 2009, 11:24 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

I sent a brithday present to you already...check your e-mail...GG....give you some nihon chick picture
TStanoshi
post Dec 8 2009, 06:53 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Dec 7 2009, 01:24 AM)
I sent a brithday present to you already...check your e-mail...GG....give you some nihon chick picture
Arigatou bro...but I still need your contact number to re-send the chicks lah! icon_idea.gif
siberfriend
post Dec 8 2009, 03:21 PM

190 posts

my 8D7N trip at Tokyo, Japan...
Attached the breakdown of my tokyo 8D7N expenses. In fact, I spent less than that, around SGD 1500 ~ 1650. hahaha…

for more info, please check my blog: http://www.kilikulu.com/?p=7647
moody5
post Dec 8 2009, 04:16 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(siberfriend @ Dec 8 2009, 03:21 PM)
my 8D7N trip at Tokyo, Japan...
Attached the breakdown of my tokyo 8D7N expenses. In fact, I spent less than that, around SGD 1500 ~ 1650. hahaha…

for more info, please check my blog: http://www.kilikulu.com/?p=7647
omg.. you spend only around Rm4000 for 8 days trip!!
siberfriend
post Dec 8 2009, 04:38 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(moody5 @ Dec 8 2009, 04:16 PM)
omg.. you spend only around Rm4000 for 8 days trip!!
yes.... and planning for another 8D7N trip to HK~Macau during end March and another 8D7N trip to TW during end Oct... both trips should capped at SGD 900 ~ 1000.. hehe..

RegentCid
post Dec 8 2009, 09:56 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

But no shopping..Go Japan no shopping? Adui la.......Is like Going Genting but no going Theme park and Casino.

Emm at Ikebukuro what hotel you staying? 7 Day only 28,000 Yen...That is Cheap!!! hehe I go Japan i stay at Ikebukuro Also ....Crowne Plaza metropolitan Hotel...1 night already 30,300Yen...hahaha 1 night = yours 7 night

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Dec 8 2009, 09:59 PM
TStanoshi
post Dec 8 2009, 10:09 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Dec 8 2009, 11:56 PM)
But no shopping..Go Japan no shopping? Adui la.......Is like Going Genting but no going Theme park and Casino.

Emm at Ikebukuro what hotel you staying? 7 Day only 28,000 Yen...That is Cheap!!!  hehe I go Japan i stay at Ikebukuro Also ....Crowne Plaza metropolitan Hotel...1 night already 30,300Yen...hahaha 1 night = yours 7 night
elo bro...dont say like that la...your cost with the chicks maaa! of coz expensive! do you think we dont know ka?
hahaha!
(3man ohmy.gif ???!!! pergh better I spend 1 day with the chicks at room lah!) drool.gif
siberfriend
post Dec 9 2009, 10:24 AM

190 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Dec 8 2009, 09:56 PM)

Emm at Ikebukuro what hotel you staying? 7 Day only 28,000 Yen...That is Cheap!!!  hehe I go Japan i stay at Ikebukuro Also ....Crowne Plaza metropolitan Hotel...1 night already 30,300Yen...hahaha 1 night = yours 7 night
I was staying at sakura hotel (url: www.sakura-hotel-ikebukuro.com)
For shopping, the clothes price is around 5000 Yen ~ 50,000 Yen. I changed around SGD 2000 for shopping only...
ilikehandphones
post Dec 9 2009, 11:03 AM

378 posts

i stayed in sakura hotel too...very cheap...can choose ur room style. dorm,tatami and etc

123 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Top

0.0227sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:04 PM