Panasonic TH-P42X10K & TH-P50X10K Thread, New 2009 X-Series Plasma from Panasonic

kianwee
post Apr 15 2009, 09:40 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

- edited -

This post has been edited by kianwee: Apr 15 2009, 09:46 PM
kianwee
post Apr 16 2009, 12:26 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

Am I the only one that doesn't have Astro at home? hmm.gif
kianwee
post Apr 17 2009, 06:03 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(ogre @ Apr 16 2009, 11:48 PM)
Hi folks, just wanna share my experience of the 42X10 unit which i got from htkaki last Saturday..would like to express my appreciation here to htkaki for his prompt reply even though the delivery timing got a lil hiccup..

Having tested most of the setting on Astro, DVD video, DVI to HDMI and Wii connections, unfortunately i dont own any blueray player and PS3 game console, here is my comments:

Generally, I like the natural color and contrast of the set considering being in filming industry myself, i can differentiate LCD compare to Plasma tv side by side, hence my eventual pick still go for Plasma even tho it's not a full HD set.

1. On Astro, The quality is acceptable with S-video connection, my own preference is to best view it in 4:3 mode bcoz i dont like the stretch mode in 16:9 for Astro SD broadcast signal. Noice reduction best set to <mid> for my own preference due to astro noise-full transmission.

2. On DVD video, the quality is very good compare to my previous CRT set. View best in 16:9 mode thru a component (RGB) connection. I dont have a HTMI dvd player to compare, so pls dont ask me the difference in quality compare to component. It detects the DVD as 480 or 576 depends on the source (PAL or NTSC). My choice is set it to i (interlaced) instead of p (progressive) bcoz the p tends to soften too much of the videos.

3. On DVI to HTMI, bought a converter during PC fair, tried it from my macbook pro to the tv set. It detects as 720p source, but it's switchable to 1080p. The sharpness not to say is superb due to it's a native 1024x768 resolution set but i m satisfied with the 1080p playback of some of my ahem* downloaded 480p movies. It looks much better on tv than my 17 inch macbook pro LCD screen. I can even perform my video editing on it as the bigger screen alternative in clam shell mode.

4. On Wii, it looks great even tho i m only using composite (RCA) yellow cable.

5. On SD card reader, very good picture quality for my 3 megapixels to 5 megapixels photos from my lumix FX33. Though the color saturation need to be set to much lesser than the present. 30 to 35 against 50 to get the natural colors.

For different output, the tv can perform different setting, i.e: my astro contrast setting which i set is higher (70) than in dvd (60) and all the brightness i set to between -5 to -10 (present is 0) for better black. Color for most of my setting is set to 35 to 45 (present is 50) as i dont like colors being too saturated. My preference for the best setting is found in Normal setting. Dynamic being too vivid and fake, Cinema being too dull, Game mode being slightly dimmer than Normal.

That's all for now, hope this will help in your buying decision

Added on April 17, 2009, 12:13 amAnd abt the reflection issue, yup it's pretty annoying tho during the daytime viewing but i can bear with it like someone suggesting the curtain shield or something..

Basically a glossy screen can give u better color and contrast compare to matte screen..just think of the matte photo prints in those days compare to the glossy ones..

I personally own a matte screen laptop, and as before i purchase it, i have the option to get a glossy one but i was against the idea bcoz for me laptop is a portable item especially if i wanna do a long period editing job or presentation, the reflection will strain my eyes a lot but tv set is station at one position, so the problem is not that severe compare to laptop.

According to some experts, glossy screens are
1) cheaper to make compare to matte screen,
2) Take much less effort to give u the desire contrast and color compare to matte screens

so do expect more tv sets in future in glossy screen be it LCD or plasma, just like apple computer is opting for glossy screens now.

Just my 2 cents
I think all plasma are glossy because the surface is actually a glass. There are no matte plasma, are there?

kianwee
post Apr 17 2009, 10:07 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(brabusm @ Apr 17 2009, 08:31 PM)
I still can't find the fabled RM2880 price for the X10.  Best i got was 3339 from the PJ Pana shop.  Where is this super cheapr shop in PJ?  Even highway laser can't match.

Btw, the 50" is launching next week
PM commontan.
kianwee
post Apr 17 2009, 11:28 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(dashisiong @ Apr 17 2009, 10:55 PM)
I just go n ask one of the shop in JB for 42x10. Best they can give me without free gift is RM3k.
If you can find buyer to buy your camcorder it would be best. I got my unit for 3.6k, sold the cam for 1k, HDMI cable sold to my colleague for RM50, the unit only cost me RM2.55k rclxms.gif
kianwee
post Apr 19 2009, 02:53 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(mys_terious @ Apr 19 2009, 11:19 AM)
normal price for the camcorder alone is how muchy
RM1299
kianwee
post Apr 20 2009, 09:08 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Apr 19 2009, 05:28 PM)
If can sell the camcorder, the plasma would be deal of the century lah at RM2600. Even US and UK price also lose. What a great idea. So bro, where did you get it?
Legend Sri Petaling.
kianwee
post Apr 22 2009, 08:19 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(simon9968 @ Apr 21 2009, 11:54 PM)
it shud be RM3,699.00, but probably with vouchers or something. i wonder how much can the camera be resold in lowyat?
I sold both my units, one at RM1k and another one at RM900. But not here, try selling at lelong. More elites there. biggrin.gif
kianwee
post Apr 27 2009, 10:59 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

Awesome
kianwee
post Apr 27 2009, 11:34 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(lanzanie @ Apr 27 2009, 11:26 AM)
Just bought the plasma 42X10K last saturday from HTkaki.
Really impress with ASTRO quality and the best thing best price from Htkaki.

But i noticed, this plasma tv quite hot. Or should i used ECO mode?.
Plasma generated more heat, that's normal. No AC at your hall? sweat.gif
kianwee
post Apr 27 2009, 02:40 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(ape @ Apr 27 2009, 02:24 PM)
I just bought my 42x10k at lxxxxx shop at RM3450 includes free gift. can check the setting to access the service menu still the same as PV80? Just to make sure this is not the display set.
Yup same. Mine's from lxxxxx too, brand new set with 0 counter thumbup.gif
kianwee
post Apr 27 2009, 03:03 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Apr 27 2009, 02:52 PM)
you guys got any dead pixel on the plasma panel?

is this how you access the serviceman menu: hold down "volume -" on the plasma, then press "info" button 3 times on the remote?
I think dead/stuck pixels is pretty rare on a plasma, even though there's possibility.

Mine's ok.
kianwee
post Apr 27 2009, 03:38 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Apr 27 2009, 03:22 PM)
What is "lxxxxx"? Is it Legend in SS2?
Legend. There are 4 branches IIRC.
kianwee
post Apr 28 2009, 12:25 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Apr 28 2009, 12:16 AM)
Just curious can this 2 model beat Kuro HD ready or not ? biggrin.gif
No, I don't think so.
kianwee
post Apr 29 2009, 10:38 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(dashisiong @ Apr 29 2009, 03:55 AM)
I got one yesterday...how to check the counter...coz i feel that my unit is display set.
The packing look like been opened before when delivered to me.
When i call to the shop, it say they open up to ramdom check it. See got cracks or any thing wrong with the unit.
They say it is 100% not display set... but i dun quite believe.

The counter means numbers of times "on" the plasma set or how many hours?

Please help.

Let us know the results and the shop name, so we can blacklist it.
kianwee
post Apr 29 2009, 03:46 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

I don't think so, X10 doesn't even have PIP mode.
kianwee
post May 2 2009, 02:39 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ May 2 2009, 02:22 PM)
@termite9, it is advise not to chg any setting under service menu unless u r clear what u r trying to do.

btw, why your brightness only 10? i saw ppl setting is at 70, contrast at about 80 depends on one preference
The brightness setting only can go up to +50 bro. doh.gif
kianwee
post May 3 2009, 01:39 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ May 2 2009, 09:14 PM)
ordered one 42", arrive next tuesday tentatively, plan to break-in & calibrate b4 hand-over to my mom, need sifu to share your calibration setting, thks~
Brightness and contrast ratio I set to max. Run everyday before I sleep for 8 hours. Completed break-in in 10 days.
kianwee
post May 3 2009, 10:49 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(polarmint @ May 3 2009, 02:36 AM)
Hi Guys and Sifus,

I'm a newbie in lowyat.net and have been following this forum with keen interest. I'm considering to get this latest Panasonic plasma but not sure what size will be suitable for my living room. Viewing distance approximately 8 to 9 ft. Hoping that sifus here can help me out.

Also, where can I get the best deals for both the 42" and the 50"? Went to Legend yesterday and their best price is RM3500 cash for the 42" and RM5500 cash for the 50". Tried to bargain but they wouldn't budge. I guess they have limited units left in stock.
I would recommend 50", because that is my viewing distance as well. I tried 42" in my hall but my wifey says it is a bit small. 50" is just nice.
kianwee
post May 4 2009, 10:24 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(Par@dox @ May 3 2009, 11:34 PM)
I would advise against Legend despite their low pricing.. their customer service really sucks and if you are not lucky, you might get a display / returned set..
QFT. Legend is very cunning in their way of doing business. They try to sell me a few appliances which are display unit, and they dare to insist it is brand new somemore. Their SS2 branch is the worst. Do not deal with the tall chinese guy call LIANG, most of the time he jack up the price above RSP then give you a discount from there. doh.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0196sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:36 AM