MacOS X Parallels Desktop, VMware Fusion & Bootcamp, Discussion MultiOS digest guide MAC Only

izact
post Jun 1 2010, 11:11 AM

95 posts

straight to the Q :
Im currently using bootcamp on my mbp..and am about to install PD5. Would it be a problem if install it w/o removing the bootcamp partition at the first place?
next, if im using PD to virtually operates win7, what about the internet connection? can it connect thru mac internet connection?

p.s. : Sorry for the stupid question..haha
izact
post Jun 3 2010, 09:48 AM

95 posts

hi guys, i've successfully installed PD5 and win 7 pro. I also removed my boot camp via boot camp assistant with no problem. glad it works. but somehow i noticed some diff when i played DMC4 the game seems to be lagging like matrix slomo..what seems to be the prob? last time played on bootcamp the game went smooth and fast..
izact
post Jun 3 2010, 12:22 PM

95 posts

haiyaaa..need to reinstall again..hahaha..i guess i just go install fresh copy of XP la kot..use to play games only..can or not? which one better: win7 or XP?

mmm..if to compare betw OSX w/o bootcamp and OSX with bootcamp, does it has any issue in terms of performance?

Where can i adjust the scroll gesture on my virtual win7? The scroll is too fast hahhaha..

btw..i use PD5 with win7 just to integrate with ms outlook only..hhehehe
izact
post Jun 3 2010, 02:12 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Jun 3 2010, 01:52 PM)
Same like me la ... use PD5 to install Windows just to use Outlook and MS Office suite.
yeah..it's kinda hard to use exchange mail on Mail though. Entourage sucks with all the security features and what not.
But if office 2011 enhances the problems i had..then i would not need PD anymore...hahhaha but still need to use bootcamp for gaming.hhehehe

Added on June 3, 2010, 2:35 pm
QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Jun 3 2010, 01:52 PM)
Same like me la ... use PD5 to install Windows just to use Outlook and MS Office suite.
btw bro..how did u manage the delete function on outlook thru PD5? the delete func tend to act like Backspace function rite..and it wont remove the item we wanted. Instead of using the fn+delete to remove it..are u using that too or u hv a better way?

Added on June 3, 2010, 11:02 pmsomething went wrong..i installed xp sp3 on bootcamp. when the system restarts it wont go to OSX instead of to XP straight ahead. i had to hold option until the MACINTOSH HD and WINDOWS appeared to choose OSX. i had no prob b4 this using win7 on bootcamp. why is that happening? what did i do wrong? can someone help me on this..i already restore the partition into single partition but the problem wasnt solved. An error came out something like "No bootdisk..bblabalbal..cant remeber" how can i fix this?

This post has been edited by izact: Jun 3 2010, 11:02 PM
izact
post Jun 4 2010, 09:34 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(izact @ Jun 3 2010, 02:12 PM)

Added on June 3, 2010, 11:02 pmsomething went wrong..i installed xp sp3 on bootcamp. when the system restarts it wont go to OSX instead of to XP straight ahead. i had to hold option until the MACINTOSH HD and WINDOWS appeared to choose OSX. i had no prob b4 this using win7 on bootcamp. why is that happening? what did i do wrong? can someone help me on this..i already restore the partition into single partition but the problem wasnt solved.  An error came out something like "No bootdisk..bblabalbal..cant remeber" how can i fix this?
solved..kindly ignore this guys..hehehe..
izact
post Nov 4 2011, 10:04 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(raaisma @ Sep 24 2011, 05:34 PM)
PD7 runs great in Lion. The full screen mode is awesome too. To make windows guest runs fast, get at least 8GB of RAM for your laptop and assign 4GB the machine. I run it on my OCZ SSD and it boots really fast. Can play heavy games too in it like Hot Pursuit and Assassin Creed because you can assign up to 1GB of video RAM for the machine.
i just installed FIFA 12 onto my mbp13 (2010 spec) thru PD7. Running on 4GB of RAM and OCZ Vertex 2 120GB SSD. My question is :
1) why the game cannot appear in full screen? even though i switched to full screen it still won't enlarge to full screen..
2) last time played on bootcamp, running on HDD..everything went smooth. but on pd7 got some lagging. I thought PD7 can run heavy games. do i need to configure the allocated memory usage for PD7. currently running 1GB and cpu 1. last time using pd5 the memory can up to 2GB..but why on pd7 it only recommended up till 1.5GB?

Hope u guys could give an advice...thanks

izact
post Nov 10 2011, 04:14 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(Amirish @ Nov 9 2011, 09:03 AM)
There's actually a Fifa 12 for mac. It's a ported version and it even runs smoothly on a macbook air. Try it.
Hv tried it also...it crashes all the time..it will quit unexpectedly..still waiting for EA to fix it...but it almost a month no patch or update about it..
izact
post Dec 9 2011, 04:28 PM

95 posts

Hi guys
why my win7pro.pvm file size keep expanding (33GB) while the win7pro actual size in PD7 only 16GB? every time the file exceeded 40GB i had to compressed it. how can i minimize the size of the win7pro in PD7 so i can free some space of the storage size as I'm using 120GB SSD..? tq
izact
post Feb 17 2012, 04:31 PM

95 posts

Has anyone ever run games on PD7? Some said that PD7 can run games smooth and faster than previous version. for me..it never prove the fact yet. i hv a mbp13 2010 running on 4GB RAM and 120G ssd. since i used ssd, i removed bootcamp and PD5 and switched to PD7. games are running sluggishly when i run it on PD7. Is it bcoz the allocated RAM for PD7 only recommended for 1G? Or do i need to upgrade the RAM so that the game can run smooth? Hope u guys can advice..i've finished my studies..now i need to fill up something b4 i get to sleep..hehe

0.0189sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:07 PM