MacOS X Parallels Desktop, VMware Fusion & Bootcamp, Discussion MultiOS digest guide MAC Only

Miyabi
post May 11 2011, 02:25 AM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

Asus: whats purpose? If for gaming give it at 50 gb at least. Have to check the size on my win7.. iinm, around 6-7gb with sp and update.

This post has been edited by Miyabi: May 11 2011, 02:26 AM
Miyabi
post May 17 2011, 12:28 PM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(DjKenji @ May 17 2011, 05:15 AM)
iMac 10.5.8 > application > Utility > NO bootcamp

Question is : How could I install bootcamp on my iMac?
try read this: http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1889?viewlocale=en_US
basically you need to have the leopard install disc. navigate via Finder -> Go to Folder...

current mac lineup have bootcamp assistant installed by default.

Added on May 17, 2011, 12:30 pm
QUOTE(mkaz @ May 13 2011, 04:16 PM)
can we re'change' the partition of osx and windows w/out reinstall them ?? how ??
this might help: http://guides.macrumors.com/Extend/Resize_..._Camp_Partition

kinda hassle to me tho. if i were you, i would backup the user files to ext hdd, then remake the partition (deleting the old one then create new one again)

This post has been edited by Miyabi: May 17 2011, 12:30 PM
Miyabi
post May 20 2011, 10:34 PM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(DjKenji @ May 18 2011, 05:59 AM)
Currently spec

10.6 OS
2.66 GHz
2GB DDR2 RAM

Parallels Desktop 6 - WindowXP PRO 32BIT SP3

My question is I couldn't run 3D game, and after start-up the game can't see the graphics setep in the moment.

Added on May 18, 2011, 2:14 pmMy graphics diver should be ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro,

but it show on Parallels desktop VGA driver, no chipset set-up.

How to run back my main graphics card to play 3G game?
Maybe try install compatible DirectX driver update?
On parallels, the graphic driver will be as "Parallels Display Adapter (WDDM)" as report by Device Manager and DirectX Diagnostic Tool.
I can run Farcry 2 without hiccups.

The vram is allocated via the config setting (at lower right of running os in Windows mode)

*im using Windows 7 64 bit file created from VM Fusion*

Miyabi
post Jun 1 2011, 01:01 AM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(mkaz @ May 31 2011, 10:34 PM)
how to reduce screen brightness in bootcamp ??
my win7 is at full brightness ..
just use the same function key you use to low the brightness lvl in mac osx. (if you did use the mbp/mb keyboard layout)
or maybe try the power management in windows 7.

image steal from microsoft:
Miyabi
post Jul 31 2011, 01:16 AM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(macfreak87 @ Jul 30 2011, 12:50 PM)

Im a designer student n need to use AutoCAD n 3D max for my study in future so basically need PC to run 3Dmax.

But i dun want to purchase PC. I feel like get a MBP to run Bootcamp or others SW so that i still can use 3Dmax in MBP.

So my question: is it stable for me to use MBP to run those SW?

Thanks,
Dan
yes, you can in bootcamp.
read this: http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl...&linkID=9241177

edit: sorry that i cant confirm on stability of the sw running tho since im not using one.

This post has been edited by Miyabi: Jul 31 2011, 01:17 AM
Miyabi
post Aug 26 2011, 09:04 PM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

QUOTE(mamet @ Aug 26 2011, 10:10 AM)
if i want to remove the windows partition on bootcamp, do i need to backup files from my mac ??
Nope. But yes for files in bootcamp ( windows partition)

QUOTE(mkaz @ Aug 26 2011, 07:48 PM)
i have bootcamp now, can i install window+pd6 and delete the partition in bootcamp later ??
Yes you can. I assume the pd6 pointing to other windows not the bootcamp.
Miyabi
post Sep 7 2011, 02:30 AM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

Just to share,
For remote desktop application to Windows machine based on RDP protocol, CoRD so far the best.
More info: http://cord.sourceforge.net/

the M$ one is total rubbish lol.

0.0330sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:34 PM