Travel MAS (Malaysia Airline System), Discussion, Q&A, and others

TSOM
post Dec 18 2012, 09:38 AM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Dec 5 2012, 11:44 AM)
When I write feedbacks about something to MAS, they always compensate something in term Enrich Points as their service recovery. My last feedback is about flight from KUL-Male, they give me 15k Enrich.
Wow!! So generous. Was it a complaint or compliment??

I complained once on a long haul flight, only given 5k points. That was years ago.
TSOM
post Dec 18 2012, 11:01 AM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(annielee @ Dec 5 2012, 09:36 AM)
Were both the penalty and fare difference waived?
TSOM
post Dec 25 2012, 12:29 PM

2,145 posts

how strict is MAS when it comes to domestic flight with 23kg check-in luggage???
TSOM
post Dec 25 2012, 03:56 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(Listiani @ Dec 25 2012, 03:49 PM)
Not strict if flight not full. I commute every 3 mths KL to BKI. Sometimes my luggage comes up to 25kg & they just close their eyes. Unless if the fight is full, then they will charge but u can always ask for discount. So instead of charging you 5kg, (mine usually exceed to 25kg), they will charge 2kg or 3kg only.
How much is it for 1 way KL-KK for 1kg excess baggage??

TSOM
post Jan 8 2013, 03:23 PM

2,145 posts

How to change seat selection after booking is made??
TSOM
post Jan 8 2013, 05:57 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(idunnolol @ Jan 8 2013, 05:53 PM)
Give them a call or retrieve booking online
I went to the website and click "manage" and it keeps showing:

"Facility under development

Our Manage My Booking facility is currently under development. Following this, all bookings created before 25 Oct 2012 will be inaccessible via our website.

If you wish to make changes on those bookings, kindly contact our 1 300 88 3000 (within Malaysia) or +603 7843 3000 (outside Malaysia). Alternatively, you may visit our nearest ticket office.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused during this period."
TSOM
post Feb 10 2013, 01:27 AM

2,145 posts

Malaysia Airlines Offers Higher Checked Baggage Allowances - Reduced Excess Baggage Charges Also for Travel From 14 February 2013

9 February 2013 : Malaysia Airlines is pleased to announce that effective 14 February 2013, its passengers will enjoy an additional 10 kilograms free checked baggage allowance and reduced excess baggage charges for travel in all classes. These apply to all travel from this date irrespective of tickets issued earlier reflecting the original lower free allowance.

The national carrier of Malaysia is introducing these benefits on all its flights involving the weight system concept for checked baggage, except for travel to and from Los Angeles where the charges are based on the piece system.

Malaysia Airlines’ Group Chief Executive Officer Encik Ahmad Jauhari Yahya said, “The revised checked baggage policy improves our product proposition in the ever-changing competitive landscape of the commercial aviation industry. This is also in line with our Business Plan strategy of ‘Winning Back Customers’.”

“As travellers are becoming more discerning in selecting their air travel options, we have simplified the excess baggage rates to introduce a consistent policy for our passengers that delivers significant savings while they enjoy our premium service hospitality,” he added.

Under the new baggage guidelines all adult and child passengers will enjoy 30, 40, and 50 kilograms free baggage allowance respectively for travel on economy, business and first class.

Charges for checked baggage weights in excess of the new free allowance will be calculated depending on zone of travel with a fixed rate applied for every 5 kilograms of excess baggage weight.

The excess baggage rate for each block of 5 kilograms excess weight will be RM30, RM60 and RM90 respectively depending on zone of travel.

In Malaysia, the rate of RM30 applies for each sector in the zone within Malaysia and the ASEAN countries of Singapore, Brunei, Indonesia, Philippines, Myanmar, Thailand, Vietnam and Cambodia.

RM60 applies for sectors in the zone beyond Malaysia and ASEAN, covering destinations in India, China, Sri Lanka, Maldives, Hong Kong, China, Taiwan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Japan, Korea, New Zealand and Australia.

The intercontinental rate of RM90 will be charged on all travel between Malaysia and the cities of Jeddah, London, Amsterdam, Paris, Frankfurt and Istanbul.

For return travel from the international cities, the RM value of the applicable zone charge will be converted into the local currency of payment during check-in.

The above guidelines apply only for travel on Malaysia Airlines and does not cover code-share flights as well as travel involving other airlines.

Earlier, effective May last year, the national carrier also streamlined cabin baggage rules for all its domestic and international flights. Guests travelling economy class were allowed one piece cabin baggage up to a maximum of 7kilograms instead of 5kilograms. First and Business Class travellers were allowed two pieces of cabin baggage with a maximum weight of 7kilograms each.

TSOM
post Jun 28 2013, 07:47 AM

2,145 posts

how many meals do you get from KL to London?
TSOM
post Jun 29 2013, 07:30 AM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jun 28 2013, 10:23 AM)
2 meals.
so is it better to take Emirates? Because KL-Dubai got 2 meals, Dubai-London another 2 meals. hmm.gif hmm.gif
TSOM
post Jun 29 2013, 09:21 AM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jun 29 2013, 09:14 AM)
You need to have 4 meals ? People consider the airlines due to timing and cost but never meals.
A lot of airlines fly direct for long haul like MAS with just 2 meals and thousands of people are OK and happy with just 2 meals.
Last time I took a business class for London-KL trip. Was offered 2 meals..

then I saw youtube clip where half the distance, they were served 2 meals. So I thought to myself, if I took Emirates, I could get 4 meals, and relax in the business lounge in Dubai airport. Isn't that better? icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif

I'm not in a rush so I don't mind stopover to stretch my legs, especially when you can access the business lounge.

Now I understand why they don't serve more in this long distance direct flight, to reduce the number of times ppl go to toilet!! tongue.gif
TSOM
post Sep 17 2013, 05:37 AM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(BlackPen @ Sep 16 2013, 10:25 PM)
the enrich quite gooding  brows.gif sign up free 1000 miles...

I purchase to go Osaka next years 1 way 3075miles x 2 = 6150 miles  icon_idea.gif
like that also good???? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
TSOM
post Nov 15 2013, 05:38 AM

2,145 posts

where is the latest edition of the World of Riches for Enrich?? sad.gif
TSOM
post Nov 20 2013, 10:32 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(Argiope @ Nov 19 2013, 02:11 PM)

Have you guys faced any problem in having your Enrich points credited to your account when you travel with partner airlines?
Other than the redeem missing miles option and useless calls/emails made to the lousy MAS customer service, did you have to travel to their office? And did that help?

Their service is seriously much worse than SQ's KrisFlyer.
I have lots of problems with that!! I called them 5 times liao ... only got 1 section credited, still got 4 sections missing!!

They keep saying you cannot call directly to Enrich; must go through someone else on the phone, and then they forward our queries to Enrich!! So damn annoying!! They promised to call me 2 times liao.. still no news!! vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif
TSOM
post Nov 21 2013, 03:37 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(Argiope @ Nov 21 2013, 02:40 AM)
Lol, i feel you. They ddly until 6 months later then say your travel date more than 6 months become invalid, cannot credit the points.
you didn't argue with them?? sad.gif

Now all my segments are more than 6 months liao ... I told them, I sent my application before 6 months after my flights.

In fact, I sent 2 times (before 6 months) and called 2 times for another 4 segments!! Until now still missing 4 segments. sad.gif
All my segments are One-World partner.

I wish my credit card points could be transferred to Qatar Privilege Club, then I wouldn't stick with MAS liao.

This post has been edited by TSOM: Nov 21 2013, 03:37 PM
TSOM
post Nov 21 2013, 03:40 PM

2,145 posts

The Enrich World of Riches for Nov-Jan still not out... sad.gif

how to redeem?? vmad.gif
TSOM
post Nov 21 2013, 04:03 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(kons @ Nov 21 2013, 03:45 PM)
but transfer to qatar also, it will be qmiles I guess, but not qpoints.
qmiles is quite useless in qatar apart from redeeming free flights.
Yes indeed. I don't benefit that much from silver status anyway, and can't access Premium Terminal even with gold status. Also, I don't fly that much in a year to be in Gold status.

Might as well redeem a business class ticket ... at least can enter the Premium Terminal. rclxm9.gif
TSOM
post Nov 21 2013, 04:33 PM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(kons @ Nov 21 2013, 04:26 PM)
Gold can access the Oryx lounge in Doha, which is not bad with some finger food.
Business class tickets usually can only be redeemed from 30,000 miles onwards.

Going back to MAS, I like the Golden Lounge because it is not that packed all the time.
Is the Oryx lounge as good as the MAS Golden Lounge??
TSOM
post Nov 24 2013, 04:25 PM

2,145 posts

kons

are you Star Alliance Gold member?
actually what is the biggest perk for being gold member?? Is it the lounge access? hmm.gif
TSOM
post Nov 25 2013, 03:14 AM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(kons @ Nov 24 2013, 08:57 PM)
more or less like oneworld sapphire.

now there is a star alliance gold game in the website, who gets the fastest time will be upgraded to gold through their respective airlines.
the questions is quite easy if you are star alliance big fan.
I played twice already ... maybe I should play more by signing up for more Star Alliance program? tongue.gif

I think after you get the fastest, still have to do lucky draw. Not easy. sad.gif
TSOM
post Nov 25 2013, 03:15 AM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(kons @ Nov 24 2013, 08:57 PM)
more or less like oneworld sapphire.

now there is a star alliance gold game in the website, who gets the fastest time will be upgraded to gold through their respective airlines.
the questions is quite easy if you are star alliance big fan.
what are the benefits of OneWorld Sapphire???
- extra baggage: which I don't need;
- lounge access: which I need, although I prefer premium lounge like those for first class (usually only for those travelling in 1st class only). sad.gif

0.0399sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:31 PM