Travel MAS (Malaysia Airline System), Discussion, Q&A, and others

Seng007
post Aug 9 2009, 11:51 PM

621 posts

Hi, does anyone know roughly how minutes walk/run from doemestic arrival hall -> luggage hall -> international departure hall would be? I am quite worried on my "own transit" just to save $$$.
Seng007
post Aug 10 2009, 12:11 AM

621 posts

Ya, I was told by my brother that the luggage hall takes about 15-20 minutes walk from domestic arrival hall. International and domestic departure hall is on the same area?
Seng007
post Aug 15 2009, 03:01 PM

621 posts

Okay, here's the case. I am taking both flights on Malaysia Airlines.
I have a flight at Penang Airport ETA KLIA at 9.50 pm.
I have another flight to Korea departing at 11.30 pm.
It's not a connecting flight as I got the air ticket during the MAS promotion.
That's why I have to pick up the luggage at KLIA before checking in. If my domestic flight got delayed, I think most probably I will GG. :S
Seng007
post Aug 15 2009, 03:34 PM

621 posts

QUOTE(Ami Tsun @ Aug 15 2009, 03:16 PM)
Still can ask/try to check in for both leg at the Penang Airport.

If not, to save time:-
1) PEN-KUL, try hand carry, don't check in baggage.  (haha, bring less thing, then shop at Korea??)
2) Web check in at home.  Print both boarding passes.

Go to MAS web and do a "dummy" booking for PEN to Korea, the system shows a selection of flights combo, if there's something same as what you bought, then you should be ok lah...
The official connecting flight from Penang -> KLIA is 1 session earlier than my flight, which has a 15 minuntes earlier ETA than my current domestic flight. Cannot lah, I am bringing winter clothes there. If only hand carry then I wouldn't be that worried liao lorr... I don't know I can check in the luggage for both legs. I will try call MAS and see how. At most buy another flight which gives me 3 hours buffer time and then I can slowly walk.

Edited: I just checked the "dummy" booking for PEN to Korea. It's the same flight with what I am taking. The only thing with my flight is I bought 2 separate tickets rather than let MAS doing the connecting for me just to save RM 400.. Haha, at least not that worried because if the domestic flight is delayed, the other passengers who took the connecting flight will be delayed too. biggrin.gif Thanks!

This post has been edited by Seng007: Aug 15 2009, 03:39 PM
Seng007
post Aug 29 2009, 12:24 AM

621 posts

Hi, I am going to South Korea the day after tomorrow. I would like to know if I am going over to study there, can I request for an additional of 10kg baggage allowance from MAS? I am flying on Economy.
Also, I have searched CIMB, OCBC, Standard Chartered, Public Bank, RHB Bank, but all of them don't sell Bank Drafts in Korean Won. Anyone knows which bank sells Bank Draft in Korean Won? Also, I would like to know if Ringgit is tradable at South Korea or not? Any advice and info is very much appreciated! Thanks!
Seng007
post Aug 29 2009, 12:40 AM

621 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Aug 29 2009, 12:30 AM)
1. 10kg extra just because you are going there to study, no they would not give you.
2. You can change to Korean Won at the money changer @ the Incheon airport / major money changers @ the banks. However our money is pretty much useless in town. If you carry USD, GBP or even JPY, it is still tradable in town.
2. How about SGD? Is it tradable in town?
Seng007
post Aug 29 2009, 11:35 AM

621 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Aug 29 2009, 09:18 AM)
Nothing except Euro/USD or Japanese YEN.

Better get the change locally first.
Ya, I've changed some KRW locally already. However, I am going there for 4 months and it's gonna be hard for me to bring a whole load of KRW in cash form there... Worried if I get robbed or something. Hahha.. Any idea how to bring my money over there? Bank drafts not available, Travellers' Cheque I would lose twice of the conversion rate (MYR -> USD -> KRW).

0.0161sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:18 AM