7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Windows 7 Diary, News

TSdeepcool0922
post Apr 10 2009, 12:15 PM

705 posts

Is the the real RC or RC 1 or should we wait till 7078 7079 0r 7100?

Source: http://news.softpedia.com/news/Windo...9-109019.shtml

With Windows 7 evolving toward the Release Candidate milestone, Microsoft remains mute on the platform's post-Beta development process, making no attempt to clarify the chatter around the progress done with the pre-RC builds of the operating system. Information leaked in the wild now indicates that Windows 7 is up to Build 7079. At the same time, there is also talk of Windows 7 Build 7105 having already been compiled over in Redmond. The software giant offered absolutely no confirmation related to Windows 7 releases from the RC branch following the availability of Beta Build 7000 on January 10, 2009.

Windows 7 Build 7079 has 6.1.7079.0.090407-1902 as the complete build string according to Wzor. The version number reveals that the code for the milestone was wrapped up on April 7, 2009, just a couple of day ago, and only a few days after Windows 7 Build 7077, which has already been leaked in the wild and made available for download via torrent trackers. At the same time, Microsoft is reportedly past Build 7078.0.090406-1758 with Windows 7, compiled on April 6, 2009.

While offering information on how to bypass the upgrade block of Beta and pre-RC builds of Windows 7 from being transitioned to full-Release Candidate, Microsoft mentioned Build 7100 of the next iteration of the Windows client. It is uncertain at this point in time, whether Windows 7 RC will in fact be Build 7100, but reports indicate that Build 7077 is the official RC-Escrow. Escrow is a label used in the development process to signal the fact that any code changes have been frozen, and that the focus has moved on confirming that fixes for reported bugs are in place, and that no regression issues have been created with the latest changes. Microsoft was expected to offer the RC-Escrow of Windows 7 in April, with the full-RC planned for May 2009.

But at the same time, the software giant apparently also compiled Windows 7 Build 6.1.7105.0.winmain.090404-1235 on April 4, 2009. Although the Build number is reported as real, I can confirm that the alleged Builds labeled 7105 leaked in the wild are fake at this point in time. The latest development milestone of Windows 7 that has indeed made it to BitTorrent websites is Build 7077.

Even if Build 7100 ends up being the fully fledged RC of Windows 7, fact is that there is nothing stopping Microsoft from compiling builds from the RTM branch, even ahead of delivering the release Candidate to the public. The same was the case with Windows 7 Beta. The Redmond company had started on the RC-branch in December 2008, approximately a month before Windows 7 Beta Build 7000 was in fact available for download as a public release.
mervinr
post Apr 10 2009, 03:41 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(deepcool0922 @ Apr 9 2009, 10:05 PM)
You don't know i having fun here? Only Windows 7 Build 7000 from Microsoft. Others build is leaked from some one from Windows 7 Teaam.

April Fool Microsoft Announces Single-Version Windows 7 and extension version April fool lol
No, I didn't know. Your posts have no hint that it is a joke. Even if it is, you should realise that many people depend on forums (especially forums like these) as reliable sources of information. As Farcryer pointed out, people might misunderstand and think that not all TechNet subscribers are treated equally or fairly and that levels of access depend on how much you pay which is totally untrue.

I'm not upset, I just wanted to get to the correct facts. smile.gif

Due to strict security restrictions, I can't reveal a lot of information regarding Win 7 builds or the release dates. But I would like to point out one important fact. Builds are a normal process of software development. A build might be created due to the inclusion of a new feature or to fix a bug in an existing feature. In adding features and fixing bugs, those same features and bug fixes might conflict with another feature or fix. So a following build might be just to fix that issue.

For a product like Windows 7, there are several teams working on different areas & features. Whatever they create has to be consolidated and cross-checked to ensure compatibility and progress towards the overall product design goals. So, numerous builds can be created and as the article pointed out (please take note that this does not mean I'm verifying or confirming that what the article says is true) this does not mean builds are not created anymore even after a version is ready for release. Read the early posts in the Win 7 Engineering blog for a view of how the teams are organized.

So for us end users, what does this all mean. It means that having the latest build (whether its even true is also debatable) does not mean you have access to all the features or that all the features work properly or that the build itself is stable. Which is why Microsoft does not release interim builds but Beta -> RC -> RTM -> GA. With RTM already being a stable, full-featured release. We also have to bear in mind that Beta & RC builds are 'works in progress', so they should never be used on production machines or machines where loss of data can have negative consequences.

So we can be content with Beta (build 7000) and then RC (which will require a clean install anyways). Be patient guys...RC is coming soon.... icon_idea.gif
TSdeepcool0922
post Apr 10 2009, 03:57 PM

705 posts

yup RC coming soon. Wish tonight... icon_idea.gif
mervinr
post Apr 13 2009, 07:48 PM

73 posts

A word of advise directly from the Windows 7 Engineering Team (extracted from their latest blog posting):

One other related caution is INSTALL ONLY OFFICIALLY RELEASED BUILDS FROM MICROSOFT. It will always be tempting to get the build with the “mod” already done but you really never know what else has been done to the build. There’s a thrill in getting the latest, we know, but that also comes with risks that can’t even be quantified. For the RC we will work to release a hash or some other way to validate the build, but the best way is to always download directly from Microsoft.
eclectice
post Apr 29 2009, 10:37 AM

2,734 posts

More news (maybe it has been posted here so a reprise):
Review: Windows 7 RC1 adds speed, UI improvements -- and promises more to come...

Microsoft has made an impressive OS even more so with a number of useful tweaks. But Windows XP Mode is still in the wings.

http://www.computerworld.com/action/articl...ticleId=9132211
[+]
post May 5 2009, 07:22 AM

1,939 posts

Hey I see the MSW7 site the touch quite awesome leh,
need special touch screen monitor?
SpIcYjOe
post May 5 2009, 01:15 PM

Lookie at my many staries...
1,953 posts

Exclusive: Windows 7 RC download goes live

The wait is over folks, Microsoft has published the download page for the Windows 7 RC. As we noted earlier, the download was scheduled to launch tomorrow and was to be available worldwide. Coming straight from the download page, here are Microsoft's notes for the release candidate:

* You don't need to rush to get the RC. The RC will be available at least through July 2009 and we're not limiting the number of product keys, so you have plenty of time.
* Watch the calendar. The RC will expire on June 1, 2010. Starting on March 1, 2010, your PC will begin shutting down every two hours. Windows will notify you two weeks before the bi-hourly shutdowns start. To avoid interruption, you'll need to install a non-expired version of Windows before March 1, 2010. You'll also need to install the programs and data that you want to use. (Learn more about installing Windows.)
* Protect your PC and data. Be sure to back up your data and please don't test the RC on your primary home or business PC.
* Tech details/updates: Before installing the RC, please read the Release Notes and Things to Know for important information about the release.
* Keep up with the news. You can keep up with general technical information and news by following the team blog. And, you can get non-technical news, tips, and offers by subscribing to the monthly Exploring Windows newsletter.
* Keep your PC updated: Be sure to turn on automatic updates in Windows Update in case we publish updates for the RC.
* Installation: You can install the Windows 7 RC on a PC running Windows Vista without backing up the PC—but we encourage you to make a backup for safe keeping. If you're running Windows XP or the Windows 7 Beta, you'll need to backup your data, then do a clean installation of the RC, then reinstall your applications and restore your data. If you need to do a backup, please see How to back up your PC for more details and a suggestion for how to backup a PC running Windows 7 Beta or Windows Vista.

So without further a-do folks, click here to go to Microsoft's download center and download the Windows 7 RC. Microsoft has also launched the Technet download which you can find here. On a side note, it appears as if you will be issued a new product key for the RC. It is most likely going to give you the extended time for using the RC if you have downloaded from another source. Installation instructions can be found here.

If you're wondering what has changed from the beta release to the RC, click here to read our guide. Is your system up-to-par for Windows 7? Microsoft has confirmed new system requirements for Windows 7, click here for more information.

For info here: http://www.neowin.net/news/main/09/05/05/e...nload-goes-live
athlonia
post May 13 2009, 01:38 PM

22 posts

thanks for the info guys... i have seen the OS live and the performance is quite promising. however, i am not quite confident to say that Windows 7 RC will not have the usual windows-related issues like poor memory management, hangs and more. yet i am looking forward to see the various connectivity options available and better functionalities of its windows media center module (is it a module?). I would love easier setups of video (including supports for VIDEO_TS folder videos) and better browsing experience of other media content.
FarCry3r
post May 14 2009, 02:01 AM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(athlonia @ May 13 2009, 01:38 PM)
thanks for the info guys... i have seen the OS live and the performance is quite promising. however, i am not quite confident to say that Windows 7 RC will not have the usual windows-related issues like poor memory management, hangs and more. yet i am looking forward to see the various connectivity options available and better functionalities of its windows media center module (is it a module?). I would love easier setups of video (including supports for VIDEO_TS folder videos) and better browsing experience of other media content.
Poor memory management? Windows 7 (and Windows Vista, respectively) have good memory management, if your memory leaked, it's not Windows 7 (or Windows Vista) fault, it's the poorly coded applications.
cybpsych
post Jun 3 2009, 07:47 AM

---------------------
65,329 posts

just an update:

Microsoft said Tuesday that Windows 7 code will be finalized and sent out to manufacturing (RTM) in the second half of July.

The OS will then be made generally available October 22.
samurai1337
post Jun 3 2009, 11:21 AM

@_@
11,594 posts

More details here:
http://www.neowin.net/news/main/09/06/02/m...be-october-22nd
MYN92
post Jun 24 2009, 10:24 PM

178 posts

want ask...W7 is really good than vista?
SpIcYjOe
post Jun 25 2009, 10:53 PM

Lookie at my many staries...
1,953 posts

Hey guys, i got news about windows 7 upgrade option, home premium pre order upgrade only cost USD 49.90... u think as me a vista home premium user should upgrade?
tech3910
post Jun 26 2009, 02:02 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

windows 7 final prising

http://www.pcgameshardware.com/aid,688325/...-revealed/News/
leosia
post Jun 26 2009, 01:01 PM

259 posts

how come there is a popup that says my win7 rc will expire on 30 june i.e. only a few days to go???
FarCry3r
post Jun 26 2009, 02:25 PM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(leosia @ Jun 26 2009, 01:01 PM)
how come there is a popup that says my win7 rc will expire on 30 june i.e. only a few days to go???
Are you SURE you have installed RC and not Beta or pre-RC?
SurFerZ
post Jun 27 2009, 02:47 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Jun 26 2009, 02:25 PM)
Are you SURE you have installed RC and not Beta or pre-RC?
Actually i wanna know how do can i know that my version of windows is RC or not?the only thing i know is that at the bottom right hand corner of my screen it stated "Evaluation version,Build 7201"..maybe u could relieve me on this? icon_question.gif
afifdaud
post Jun 28 2009, 05:49 PM

so whats new about windows 7?i've already have vista..should i change my os to w7?i need your help guys.. blush.gif
FarCry3r
post Jun 29 2009, 07:30 AM

Where did my ♥ go?
6,543 posts

QUOTE(SurFerZ @ Jun 27 2009, 02:47 AM)
Actually i wanna know how do can i know that my version of windows is RC or not?the only thing i know is that at the bottom right hand corner of my screen it stated "Evaluation version,Build 7201"..maybe u could relieve me on this? icon_question.gif
7201 should be post-RC, but using unofficial builds will get you different kind of probblems. Just stick to official RC build 7100.
xemse89
post Jun 29 2009, 06:34 PM

LIFE IS Go0oD
1,357 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Jun 26 2009, 02:02 AM)
omg...so expensive.....

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0242sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:34 PM