Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V23!, The Orange Legion

chiggy
post Mar 31 2009, 02:41 PM

Sleepy
2,745 posts

hahaha... oops, see wrong biggrin.gif

anyway

siggy and tammy on your a900, which focus faster and the noise that people complain on tammy got ar?

chiggy
post Mar 31 2009, 03:57 PM

Sleepy
2,745 posts

so, who is going to get a tammy 70-200?

oh, did sham comment anything compared to his siggy?
chiggy
post Mar 31 2009, 05:14 PM

Sleepy
2,745 posts

Renee

Funny

Last week, Saturday 28 March 2009 at around 6.00pm after heavy rain biggrin.gif

Sony Alpha 350 + Sigma 70-200 f/2.8 II EX DG APO Macro HSM + HVL-F42AM

This post has been edited by chiggy: Mar 31 2009, 05:38 PM
chiggy
post Mar 31 2009, 05:30 PM

Sleepy
2,745 posts

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Mar 31 2009, 05:24 PM)
Chiggy,
Just curious, what is the maximum distance that F42 can reach? (i tot it is 105mm and you are using 70~200).

what settings do you use for ur flash?and how did u use it?

that day, if I remember correctly, I was on Aperture Priority (mostly F3.5, unless for almost full body shot at F2.8) therefore, power is at Auto (power can only be at manual when you use manual mode) and the range I put 105mm. At the same time, I was also using a stofen. All the photos are shot having the flash pointed upwards, including in portrait mode.

sorry, exif was somewhat removed using portrait professional because the original photos has too harsh light on their face

updated with EXIF

This post has been edited by chiggy: Mar 31 2009, 05:38 PM
chiggy
post Mar 31 2009, 05:54 PM

Sleepy
2,745 posts

QUOTE(MechaHerc @ Mar 31 2009, 05:21 PM)
guys, the girl at the last scene new kfc tv-ad is model wit big smile at the convention izzit?
got you tube?
or screen capture? biggrin.gif

I rarely watch TV nowadays tongue.gif
chiggy
post Apr 1 2009, 02:38 PM

Sleepy
2,745 posts

after you got the hdd (preferably 2.5"), get a photo bank as well so that when you go out, you can just transfer your photos from your memory card to the hdd without the need of a pc or notebook

chiggy
post Apr 1 2009, 02:54 PM

Sleepy
2,745 posts

QUOTE(Zeegon @ Apr 1 2009, 02:39 PM)
Photo bank cost quite alot right?
lelong got people selling RM120

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Apr 1 2009, 02:47 PM)
The cheapest enclosure i can find is Rm50. And 500GB is RM220.
just top up RM70 and get a photobank biggrin.gif

For me, I bring notebook ... 2.4kg ... if including cables... well... can reach 3kg biggrin.gif

I also have a OTG HDD media player... yeah, those thing you can plug to TV and watch movie. OTG means that you can connect USB card reader to it and transfer files to the HDD without a pc/notebook
chiggy
post Apr 1 2009, 03:11 PM

Sleepy
2,745 posts

QUOTE(Zeegon @ Apr 1 2009, 03:05 PM)
OTG is on the go ka?  tongue.gif
Your photo bank where you bought and how much?
ya, on the go biggrin.gif

mine is not photobank, mine is OTG 2.5" hdd media player... last 3 years bought for RM250.... now i think cheaper
bought at LPS - http://lowerpricestore.com/
they got shop in SS2 and Subang Jaya
SS2 easy for me

chiggy
post Apr 1 2009, 03:28 PM

Sleepy
2,745 posts

QUOTE(signither @ Apr 1 2009, 03:18 PM)
yeah, you can get that photobank
but i've not used before.... well, I had one 5 year ago during my panasonic fz3 time, but that I given to my friend
its good to use if you shoot in RAW or have small CF card (like me biggrin.gif 4 GB only)

But there is one thing you must always do before deciding to buy... always research
what to research?
The READ & WRITING speed for the photobank. That you do the research.
Of course do expect pricey photobank that read/write at blazing speed biggrin.gif

Or just get a normal one
Buy 2 CF cards
Shoot 1 card till full
Then transfer card to photobank
while transfering, you can continue shoot with the other CF card
repeat as needed
chiggy
post Apr 1 2009, 04:00 PM

Sleepy
2,745 posts

QUOTE(Zeegon @ Apr 1 2009, 03:49 PM)
Why?
You have hundreds ka?  biggrin.gif

Chiggy, http://www.lps2u.com/shop/index.php?main_p...roducts_id=1257 good onot?
rm130 only...
but max support 250gb leh
and it doesnt say read/write speed
aiya... google research la

ok ok, i help you... luckily i got nothing to do in office tongue.gif

uncle google say... that digimate III is hi speed with write speed 5.5mb/s.... so average my 1 file is 5mb (14 megapixel camera), so 1 photo = 1 second. 4GB card can store 800 photos. So 800 seconds is equals to 13 minutes

so, can you wait for 13 minutes ? biggrin.gif

chiggy
post Apr 1 2009, 04:14 PM

Sleepy
2,745 posts

QUOTE(Zeegon @ Apr 1 2009, 04:11 PM)
Wow....
Maximum supports up to 250gb only.
most photobank supports up to 250gb only
that is sata

most IDE supports up to 160gb only

but do bear in mind, those digimate IDE is 2007... digimate sata maybe 2008....
2008.... 500gb 2.5" is still new, maybe technology not up there yet biggrin.gif

chiggy
post Apr 1 2009, 04:51 PM

Sleepy
2,745 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Apr 1 2009, 04:45 PM)
FYI,

Maxtor Basic External HDD< 1TB, only RM355 at LowYat Plaza.

it's never worth it to buy enclosure + hdd, coz it cost a lot for a good enclosure.
yeah
but of course it need power socket la
unlike the otg or photobank, can use batteries
connect to notebook thru usb only, no power needed

that maxtor need power

of course depends on how you need it

I've both... 500gb external HDD and 40gb OTG tongue.gif
but I don't use that OTG to save photo tough, I shoot jpeg... 816 photos in 4 GB CF... enuff for a day
if not, then bring 2.4kg notebook along biggrin.gif

Added on April 1, 2009, 5:47 pmoh, don't buy now... pc fair is around the corner biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by chiggy: Apr 1 2009, 05:47 PM
chiggy
post Apr 2 2009, 09:35 AM

Sleepy
2,745 posts

shootkk: Did you notice any posting of schedule regarding a fashion show at KLCC? This month is Malaysia Fashion Week 2009, most major store will have fashion shows
chiggy
post Apr 2 2009, 11:25 AM

Sleepy
2,745 posts

QUOTE(Hanzo @ Apr 2 2009, 11:17 AM)
hi guys, i'm selling off my camera, cobra and lens. please refer here:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/984690

thx
Item 2:
Sony DT 55-100mm F4-5.6 Lens
- condition is like new
- comes with hoya filter
- box & manual included
- bought on 18/09/08
- price: RM400
this item doesn't exist biggrin.gif

chiggy
post Apr 2 2009, 11:50 AM

Sleepy
2,745 posts

no la, indirectly we are asking him to change to the correct information
chiggy
post Apr 2 2009, 02:39 PM

Sleepy
2,745 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Apr 2 2009, 02:25 PM)
i took roughly 2k...firstly bcos i went wth gf..lol..so nv really shoot lots of girls...2ndly its bloody cold there...-8 to 4degree + raining/snowing..nt gd for my camera..my poor hands cant tahan also...lol

firstly bcos i went wth gf..lol..so nv really shoot lots of girls

you can always shoot lots of girls and just tell your gf, "these lots of girls photos are not for me, it is for the guys at lowyat.net photography forum" biggrin.gif
tongue.gif
chiggy
post Apr 2 2009, 03:26 PM

Sleepy
2,745 posts

QUOTE(millenia3000 @ Apr 2 2009, 02:49 PM)
now i know why got lotta gals in ur flickr... lol!
actually got more than that than only gals, but since I just use normal flickr, only can see the latest 200 photos tongue.gif

QUOTE(Zeegon @ Apr 2 2009, 02:49 PM)
Chiggy got experienced this before eh?  laugh.gif

Added on April 2, 2009, 2:55 pm

So he teach us excuses  biggrin.gif
how to have experience when I've no gf tongue.gif

chiggy
post Apr 3 2009, 09:35 AM

Sleepy
2,745 posts

QUOTE(dingenius3 @ Apr 3 2009, 09:28 AM)
certainly creativity comes in place here.... shoot portrait doesnt mean need to shoot whole body or wat..
sumtimes must tight crop oso... chop their head/legs/arms/etc... depends on ur liking la.. full body/half body shot?
for me.. i like to chop their head a bit... until half forehead... lolz...

no eye contact = not portrait tongue.gif

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Portrait
A portrait often shows a person looking directly at the painter or photographer, in order to most successfully engage the subject with the viewer.

chiggy
post Apr 3 2009, 09:56 AM

Sleepy
2,745 posts

Here is one of my favourite read on portraits
http://lumitouch.com/benstudiotutorial/index.html

posing guides
http://www.digital-savant.com/PosingGuide.pdf
http://www.vci.net/~mmorgan/pg2.pdf

Added on April 3, 2009, 10:02 am
QUOTE(millenia3000 @ Apr 3 2009, 09:55 AM)
thanks chiggy, that's certainly a very good point actually.

din, of course creativity comes into play, what i'm talkin about is what drives you to that creativity. One has to know his limitations before he can think up something... like what can you do with just 1 tripod? how to estimate variables such as shutter spd and aperture in any given condition...
that one must trial and error
get a model to try with

no model?
then another photographer
find a photographer that wants to learn togethere and you shoot each other biggrin.gif

or buy a mannequin

if you want a better mannequin, buy this - but prepare to burn your pocket as it is not cheap... around RM25k one biggrin.gif

(please do not open the spoiler as it may offend you due to explicit term)

This post has been edited by chiggy: Apr 3 2009, 10:03 AM
chiggy
post Apr 3 2009, 12:18 PM

Sleepy
2,745 posts

QUOTE(suchap69 @ Apr 3 2009, 12:10 PM)
regarding tammy and siggy,

is it really good for macro? can get 1:1? or better aim for sp90? if the  performance is on par i think better get this 70200 f2.8 than sp90. any comments?
you won't really get macro cuz it is at 1:3
to me it is just kinda closeup
but if you crop 30%, then become 1:1
10mp 30% crop, around 3mp, ok la... biggrin.gif

Added on April 3, 2009, 12:19 pm
QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Apr 3 2009, 12:17 PM)
I like this one bro .. smile.gif .. good color .. btw, what lens were u using?
exif shows 11mm.... you say leh? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by chiggy: Apr 3 2009, 12:19 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0458sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:30 AM