134 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Small Form Factor (SFF) Rev.3

qwerty79
post Apr 8 2009, 09:21 PM

1,907 posts

After reading this thread since V2, I think I want to build a SFF rig but with <RM1k budget, will only convert my current rig.

My planning:

Processor : E8400 (current)
HSF : Arctic Cooler Alpine 7 (current, probably change)
Mobo : ? (no idea) RM500
RAM : 2 X 2Gb DDR800 (current)
Harddsik : 500Gb (current)
GC : HD2600XT (Plan to change)
PSU : CM Extreme Power 500W (current)
Casing : XqBox (or any sff casing below RM300)

So only need to buy casing and mobo and probably change GC.

This rig most probably for
-24/7 use (bittorrent)
-some video encoding (mp4, divx etc)
-desktop publishing (photoshop and illustrator) and
-some 3d rendering, some games but no OC.

My main concern is power consumption and also the heat. My HD2600XT with its stock fan generate too much heat. For idle, the temp already 60 and can reach 8+ when fully loaded. Last time I try to play DMC but my pc restart because of over heating. But after I changed to 3rd party cooler, the temp become normal with 50 idle and 6+ when loaded. So, which current GC will most suitable for sff? Is there any gc that don't need any fan so the rig will quieter?

E8400+GA EP45-DS3 for me is the best combo. With its Energy Saver technology, Gigabyte really reduce my bill if compare with my previous mobo. So, any gigabyte mobo recommended for me?

luriahk
post Apr 9 2009, 03:37 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(rsangel @ Apr 7 2009, 09:22 PM)
yo bro, more more.... i wanna see ur case with cover smile.gif

btw...bro, did u oc ur proc? or the idle and load for 3ghz quadies?
i dont overclock my proc..

here some picture of my rig covered. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Apr 7 2009, 09:41 PM)
cool rig there bro..  thumbup.gif
rig of gamers.. btw, u also active in here already arr? tongue.gif
thanks old mate~
actived here long time ago but not much replying in threads......... just reading, buying and selling items brows.gif

QUOTE(jvjh666 @ Apr 8 2009, 03:03 AM)
WC + SFF = ART
total kick @$$!!!
rclxms.gif

but hor....better not use AC Xtreme....guarantee u cant close ur case 4 its a 3-slot cooler doh.gif  doh.gif

sorry but no de angel......unless ur card install in da 2nd slot or above...
all AC xtreem 3 slot 1(thickness of cooler+card around 2 1/2 slot 2 be exact)....
i myself own a AC xtreem 9800 also. those coolers are huge!!!

@luriahk
maybe if u re-route ur hoses to the rad via other place and move ur 4870x2 to the 1st PCI-E then its possible
thanks for the information..
i think i'll need to make a custom hole at backside of my casing for the tube of the WC. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by luriahk: May 2 2009, 11:06 AM
kiLLua the babap
post Apr 9 2009, 09:11 PM

111 posts

wahh..wc dlm sff
perlukan skill tggi utk maintenance, nice bro

but u letak atas stool mcm nak jatuh je tgok...huhu

Added on April 9, 2009, 9:15 pm
QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Apr 8 2009, 09:21 PM)
After reading this thread since V2, I think I want to build a SFF rig but with <RM1k budget, will only convert my current rig.

My planning:

]
dun u need microATX for sff??

look for dfi lanparty, sure fix ur bajet

This post has been edited by kiLLua the babap: Apr 9 2009, 09:15 PM
mADmAN
post Apr 9 2009, 09:27 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Apr 8 2009, 09:21 PM)

My planning:

This rig most probably for
-24/7 use (bittorrent)
-some video encoding (mp4, divx etc)
-desktop publishing (photoshop and illustrator) and
-some 3d rendering, some games but no OC.

My main concern is power consumption and also the heat. My HD2600XT with its stock fan generate too much heat. For idle, the temp already 60 and can reach 8+ when fully loaded. Last time I try to play DMC but my pc restart because of over heating. But after I changed to 3rd party cooler, the temp become normal with 50 idle and 6+ when loaded.  So, which current GC will most suitable for sff? Is there any gc that don't need any fan so the rig will quieter?

E8400+GA EP45-DS3 for me is the best combo. With its Energy Saver technology, Gigabyte really reduce my bill if compare with my previous mobo. So, any gigabyte mobo recommended for me?
since ur a gigabyte fan....Gigabyte GA-G31M-S2L

more than enough for ur usage and only costs RM180.

for the GC....just make sure u have enough airflow for it....

casing....up to u....the SG03 and the V350 would be a good place to start....

n i can confirm that the alpine will NOT fit into an unmodded microfly/xqbox

QUOTE(kiLLua the babap @ Apr 9 2009, 09:11 PM)

usually....SFF = m-ATX

and for his usage...the DFI is overkill....just coz he has that much money doesnt mean he should spend all of it.

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Apr 9 2009, 09:28 PM
jvjh666
post Apr 9 2009, 11:23 PM

84 posts

get xfx 4830 ler....rm 400 i last bought 4 my fren inside xqbox....powerful and energy efficient(compare 2 mid lv card),heat up less yet act as exhaust as well...

+1 for eg31m-s2l

This post has been edited by jvjh666: Apr 9 2009, 11:25 PM
rsangel
post Apr 10 2009, 08:22 AM

No Smoking pls @_@
1,487 posts

Get the red hot LL V351 - Red, sexy red case smile.gif
Edifier
post Apr 10 2009, 08:42 AM

Store Representative
9,134 posts

For those who looking for the SFF case, u can pay a visit to SilverStone booth @ hall 4, KLCC to touch and feel the SST SG01, SG02, SG03, SG4 and SG5 case smile.gif
rsangel
post Apr 10 2009, 09:07 AM

No Smoking pls @_@
1,487 posts

Must support, SSF Fans can take a look at the real thing in the booth tongue.gif

qwerty79
post Apr 10 2009, 09:23 AM

1,907 posts

QUOTE(kiLLua the babap @ Apr 9 2009, 09:11 PM)
wahh..wc dlm sff
perlukan skill tggi utk maintenance, nice bro

but u letak atas stool mcm nak jatuh je tgok...huhu

Added on April 9, 2009, 9:15 pm

I stated RM500 bcoz G45 also in my planning. At first I want to throw away the GC and use the built in HD4600. But, after some thought, better get discreet GC or reuse my old HD2600XT. But problem with HD2600XT, it produce so much heat with it original fan.

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Apr 9 2009, 09:27 PM)
since ur a gigabyte fan....Gigabyte GA-G31M-S2L

more than enough for ur usage and only costs RM180.

for the GC....just make sure u have enough airflow for it....

casing....up to u....the SG03 and the V350 would be a good place to start....

n i can confirm that the alpine will NOT fit into an unmodded microfly/xqbox
usually....SFF = m-ATX

and for his usage...the DFI is overkill....just coz he has that much money doesnt mean he should spend all of it.
Yup..aiming for G31M-S2L. Downgrade from P45 to G31 sad.gif. DFI is out off the scene, to expensive for me.

Planning to change current GC due to the heat. Planning to get ATI 4670 DDR4. This GC ok or not?

My Alpine is not the pro series, it look like the normal HSF but the heat sink is higher than normal 8400 hsf. This one also not fit? Need to confirm to calculate my budget if need to buy other HSF.

QUOTE(Edifier @ Apr 10 2009, 08:42 AM)
For those who looking for the SFF case, u can pay a visit to SilverStone booth @ hall 4, KLCC to touch and feel the SST SG01, SG02, SG03, SG4 and SG5 case smile.gif
Can you qoute the price here? Thank you.

rsangel
post Apr 10 2009, 10:10 AM

No Smoking pls @_@
1,487 posts

if just for htpc usage, maybe try ATI4350 smile.gif cheap
qwerty79
post Apr 10 2009, 10:57 AM

1,907 posts

QUOTE(rsangel @ Apr 10 2009, 10:10 AM)
if just for htpc usage, maybe try ATI4350 smile.gif cheap
Dunno, if I went to ATI4350 from 2600XT, I feel like I'm going down instead of going up. Although I'm not a gamer, but once for a while, I will play some latest game. So, I don't want to fork up money again after a few months to test some lastest games.

from http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=3420 , they said that 4350 is great for HTPC but not design for game.

Anyway, thank you for suggesting. It also come in my mind before but I fell like anything below 4650 is more to downgrade than an upgrade. May be I just stick to 2600xt and buy a better casing.
mADmAN
post Apr 10 2009, 12:21 PM

10,530 posts

i used to have the Alpine64 for my previous SFF s754 rig...and no it didnt fit...the support beam of the my microfly (aka xqbox) wouldnt allow it.

the only HSF with good clearance so far with the microfly is the thermaltake orb series (some only i think). and some of the zalman flower hsf. even with those hsf its a tight fit. but still able to slide the mobo tray in and out without removing the hsf...

right now i have my stock Q6600 hsf cooling my E5200...since u dont OC... why not just use the stock hsf? artic cooling themselves admit that the alpine series isnt as good as stock hsf...its main purpose was for silence. id recommend using the stock hsf first...and if gets too loud...then think about other coolers

as for GC... ur budget for mobo is 500...now u aiming for RM180 mobo..so u save RM320. sell ur 2600XT and add the 320 into the GC budget. perhaps aim for HD4850?
jvjh666
post Apr 10 2009, 12:28 PM

84 posts

agree....since not overclocking no need spend too much on mobo. get a stable and trusted 1 is enough.
if GC budget got around rm400 any 9800gt or hd4830 will do...or 4670 if u wan more power saving...good GC.
qwerty79
post Apr 10 2009, 01:03 PM

1,907 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Apr 10 2009, 12:21 PM)
i used to have the Alpine64 for my previous SFF s754 rig...and no it didnt fit...the support beam of the my microfly (aka xqbox) wouldnt allow it.

the only HSF with good clearance so far with the microfly is the thermaltake orb series (some only i think). and some of the zalman flower hsf. even with those hsf its a tight fit. but still able to slide the mobo tray in and out without removing the hsf...

right now i have my stock Q6600 hsf cooling my E5200...since u dont OC... why not just use the stock hsf? artic cooling themselves admit that the alpine series isnt as good as stock hsf...its main purpose was for silence. id recommend using the stock hsf first...and if gets too loud...then think about other coolers

as for GC... ur budget for mobo is 500...now u aiming for RM180 mobo..so u save RM320. sell ur 2600XT and add the 320 into the GC budget. perhaps aim for HD4850?
The bad news is, my stock HSF pin is broken. sad.gif I like the Alpine bcoz it silent feature.

So now need to find stock HSF or replace the pin. Anyone sell the pin only?

Or is there any SFF casing that can fit Alpine?

I don't think 4850 is good suitable for me. Not a gamer, so it will be a useless. The most may be 4670. The extra money may be for 1TG hard disk drool.gif .

Thank you mADmAN for pointing out that Alpine+xqbox=not good.

QUOTE(jvjh666 @ Apr 10 2009, 12:28 PM)
agree....since not overclocking no need spend too much on mobo. get a stable and trusted 1 is enough.
if GC budget got around rm400 any 9800gt or hd4830 will do...or 4670 if u wan more power saving...good GC.
Now aiming for G35M-S2L only. Here it cost RM200.

If possible, I don't want GC which need additional power. That's why I opt to 4670 instead of 4830. But if you guy think 4830 better, may be I will get that. But need to check my psu first.

So now,

Mobo G35M-S2L - RM200
Casing xqbox - RM250
GC 4670 - RM310 or 4830 RM430

Total RM760 or RM880. (Price base on Kuantan Price, may be will turun kl for pc fair)

Selling my gc- RM1++, mobo RM2++, casing RM1++. Cover half the price. smile.gif

Added on April 10, 2009, 1:22 pmEG31M-S2 and G31M-S2L is same?

This post has been edited by qwerty79: Apr 10 2009, 01:22 PM
mADmAN
post Apr 10 2009, 01:40 PM

10,530 posts

if u come to KL for PC Fair... id strongly recommend going over to LYP and stop by sri computers...they sell some cheapo 775 HSFs... looks exactly like stock ones... cant remember the price.. but then u can take the pins from there.

but honestly...i say might as well get the orb cooler straight or the zalman flower cooler....more worth it...

zalman i think sri comp might still have...

the orb....can buy the ruby orb from ngbh HERE

and check out this post i found regarding the ruby orb+xqbox on an AMD setup. he says the cooler is really quiet too...

SOURCE
QUOTE(pcphobic @ May 26 2008, 04:18 PM)
for an intel setup... try and PM this forumer: Mayor

hes using one of the orbs in the xqbox on an intel setup...but i cant remember where he bought the cooler and which version...

SOURCE
QUOTE(Mayor @ Aug 6 2008, 01:38 PM)
A nice SFF Casing. Even 9800GT can fit lah... Bes wooo..

qwerty79
post Apr 10 2009, 02:30 PM

1,907 posts

Thank you mADmAN. You are the man thumbup.gif

The gap is so close sweat.gif . May be will only use stock hsf.

Anyone want my alpine? biggrin.gif
rsangel
post Apr 10 2009, 04:22 PM

No Smoking pls @_@
1,487 posts

u should try AXP-140 hahaha tongue.gif
jvjh666
post Apr 10 2009, 05:09 PM

84 posts

EG31-S2L is the newer version integrated with more energy effecient technology model...
i thought gigabyte doesnt hav any mobo(m-atx) with g35 chipset?
correct me if im wrong fellow SFF-ians. tongue.gif

rs angel poison lagi tongue.gif

This post has been edited by jvjh666: Apr 10 2009, 05:10 PM
qwerty79
post Apr 10 2009, 05:41 PM

1,907 posts

QUOTE(rsangel @ Apr 10 2009, 04:22 PM)
u should try AXP-140 hahaha tongue.gif
Bro can show me some picture?
jvjh666
post Apr 10 2009, 07:21 PM

84 posts

pics can b seen on post #28 of this thread bro....fitted with slim 120mm scythe fan

rsangel punya kickass SFF....but AXP-140 price also sweat.gif sweat.gif la

This post has been edited by jvjh666: Apr 10 2009, 07:21 PM

134 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:17 PM