Home Theatre Panasonic 42PV80H Thread, Owners & Wanna Buyer's Discussion

phat_newbie
post Apr 22 2009, 06:58 PM

265 posts

Guys, I've just noticed that there's IR on my PV80. The AXN logo on the top right is permanently there oredi. Quite obvious when a light background is displayed. Damn. Anyone else experienced this?? Wonder if Panasonic will entertain this complaint or not.
phat_newbie
post Apr 22 2009, 07:08 PM

265 posts

My brightness is set to 50 and contrast is set to 95. Color and Sharpness is set to 60 and it's always in Standard Mode. This setting is for all my input sources e.g. Astro, Wii, WDTV, DVD, PS2 etc... Now watching Madagascar2 using WDTV and will check the IR again after the movie. I watch a lot of AXN. Hence the IR of the AXN logo. Man, this worries me.
phat_newbie
post Apr 22 2009, 09:29 PM

265 posts

My PV80 more than 5 months old oredi and exceeded the 100hrs long ago I think. I just finished watching Madagascar 1, Madagascar 2, and now displaying the calibration jpegs i got off the net last time for almost half an hour oredi and the AXN logo is still there. Damn, starting to doubt panny's technology. I have another 50" LG plasma PC1R that my grandmother watches her WLT 24/7, no IR at all after nearly a year of usage.

Added on April 22, 2009, 11:08 pmBeen watching different sources other than astro for like 6 hours straight now, and the AXN logo IR is still obvious. This sucks. I would've thought IR is a thing of the past as claimed by Panny and the worse thing is, I have a PV80 and my brother has 1 too. Just went to check the LG again. the WLT logo IR is not as obvious as mine.

Added on April 23, 2009, 12:27 amuser posted image

The circled region shows the AXN logo IR. Try looking at the circled region at a certain angle and you can see it. It's not very clear on the photo. But on the screen it's very obvious.

This post has been edited by phat_newbie: Apr 23 2009, 12:29 AM
phat_newbie
post Apr 23 2009, 10:34 AM

265 posts

It has reduced slightly only, very subtle changes. I am now watching AXN in Zoom1 mode whereby the AXN logo is not visible on the screen. It's quite obvious when there's a background of light colors e.g. blue sky or explosions. Normal viewing if you dont pay attention to that particular region, then you won't notice it. I think the pixel shifter is turned on by default in this model. Damn, I seriously thought that image burn-in was a thing of the past when the launched the pv80. Kinda regret getting a plasma now. Should I call panny and bring up this issue?? But it is stated in the user manual that the warranty does not cover IR issues. False marketing gimmick I guess.

Added on April 23, 2009, 10:35 amAnd to those who watch channels with logos that have sharp white wordings, beware!! IR is still a big issue even for new model plasmas.

This post has been edited by phat_newbie: Apr 23 2009, 10:35 AM
phat_newbie
post Apr 23 2009, 10:58 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Apr 23 2009, 10:52 AM)
If it is reducing then it might wear off. I do not use the Panny plasmas but another brand, my kids watch the cartoon channels all the time but there is no image retention or burn in that I can see. Panny will not cover it, watch other channels and see if it wears off. The other thing is to use a screen washer, some plasmas have it in built, else google it. It is basically a sweeping high contrast white image that "washes" the screen and reduces and removes image retention. I think it was jfix or something. Check there are some around that you can burn into a dvd and play it continuously to remove unwanted effects.

LG screens are actually more prone to IR, you might just be unlucky with the Panny.
Thanks for the advice. Cartoon channels logos generally don't have the bright white contract wordings like the AXN channel but are kinda like watermarks I guess. I'll look up the screen washer and probably view nothing but mkvs these few days to see whether will it be removed or not. Guess this will be my last purchase of a plasma tv.
phat_newbie
post Apr 24 2009, 09:02 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(ic-klass @ Apr 24 2009, 02:07 AM)
I think ur contrast is set to high. maybe that's the reason for the IR. I read that most setting need to be lowered during the break in period.

Btw, This are the setting that i used from day 1-> Break-in ->now..

[attachmentid=924313]
I showed the Panasonic Service guy my settings too, and he said it does not affect anything to contribute to the IR. And my plasma is more than 4 months old oredi. Broke the 100 hours long time ago. I also used the images downloaded from the net to run the break-in process.
phat_newbie
post Apr 24 2009, 10:54 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(YiQi @ Apr 24 2009, 10:02 AM)
Well, why not to be relax to enjoy your show instead of 'pay attention to the particular region' then you won't notice it.  tongue.gif

Sounds like you are a bit regret of getting Plasma due to the current issue. But I think you will definitely regret if you get LCD because of the ghosting issue almost all the fast scenes, and colour wash out when watching low bitrate SD source (eg. Astro).  laugh.gif

IR issue happen very rare now and you are one of the unlucky guy. I've PV80 for 8+ months, my wife see lots of HK drama, sometimes with letterbox. I was so worry too everytime she switch off TV after watching for hours, I saw black bar on Top & Bottom. But everytime switch to FullScreen show for few minutes, the IR always gone.
My sister got PV60 for 2+ years and they watch Astro a lot, but still no IR issue. So what can I say.

Anyway, I think your issue might cause by the 1st 100 hours that you watch AXN a lot and without swtich to other channels, even though you watched 3-4 hours only but switch off immediately and on the same channel again the next day (and everyday).
(Although some people said we don't need 100 hours break-in time for new model already)

Well, just relax, maybe your IR will be slowly gone.
Yeah, practicing that now. Trying to ignore that region. My uncle has a 52" Samsung A650 and I go over there to play PS3 a lot with my cousin and it's gorgeous when displaying PS3 games. But HD movies without tweaking and Astro on it is super disappointing. Plasma to me is always superb for movies, hence 3 units of plasma purchased for my household (LG 50PC1R and 2 units 42pv80). FYI, my first 100+ hours were more towards Super Mario Galaxy on the Wii. And I did the break-in procedure for more than 100hours too everynight when I go to sleep that I'll leave the tv on with the break-in images running. Therefore, I don't think my watching style has anything to do with it. Yes, I do watch AXN a lot. But in my daily usage, AXN is maybe like 4-5 hours max with channel switching in between then it will be followed by either mkvs or gaming on Wii or PS2. So, I don't really regret my purchase but just disappointed with Panny's tech when they claim that the risk of IR for their newer models are very low but I still got it anyway.

Also, black bars and grey bars will not introduce higher risk of getting IR as compared to bright white sharp static images. My wife watches heaps of HK drama jack sparrow DVDs on it during the weekend in 4:3 aspect ratio and the grey pillar boxes do not create any IR at all. AXN logo is bright white, hence the permanent IR.

This post has been edited by phat_newbie: Apr 24 2009, 10:59 AM
phat_newbie
post Apr 28 2009, 08:45 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(ic-klass @ Apr 28 2009, 08:25 AM)
any news from panny japan/msia??
Nope. I'll wait til thursday and if they never call me, then I'll call them to follow up.
phat_newbie
post May 5 2009, 12:46 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(ic-klass @ May 4 2009, 11:44 PM)
so what did they say??
Called them up last week, and they told me that they've yet to get a feedback from Japan. Therefore, I'll have to wait til they get a response from Japan and they'll contact me to deliver the verdict.
phat_newbie
post May 12 2009, 02:34 PM

265 posts

Hi guys, update on my PV80 IR issue.

Panasonic called me up and told me that they will exchange my PV80 with the latest X10 one-to-one and retain my 5 year warranty. This is better than superb service from them. I'm extremely happy with Panasonic.

However, I still love the pv80. Dunno whether should I just keep the pv80. Any users have compared the x10 and pv80 side by side and saw any significant improvement over the older model?? Opinions are most appreciated.
phat_newbie
post May 12 2009, 08:10 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(ic-klass @ May 12 2009, 06:52 PM)
all in all i think x10 is much better than pv80. x10 colour is more vibrant (wet looking), higher contrast, higher subfield drive, x.v colour, can play av thru sd slot, and bla..bla..
The only setback/s - because they use new filter (to enhance the colour reproduction) the GLARE is significant to some.

p/s (again): can show us how the scratch look like - may be i can claimed one also  thumbup.gif
I went to check out the x10 in Queensbay Mall just now. They were playing some XBOX trailers on it. I dunno whether is it just me, but the screen seems to flicker. The unit was placed next to a PY800 and the PY800 looked very smooth. And the x10 only has 1 component in while I need 2. This is making me skeptical whether to trade my pv80 for the x10. Sigh. Dilemma pula now.
phat_newbie
post May 12 2009, 09:48 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 12 2009, 09:43 PM)
The X10 and PV80 will both have some problems with 24p content. There is no known problems with flicker on both. Could be a cable thing....The issue of not enuf inputs for your needs is the main concern.
Is it?? Ok ok. Coz i'm watching some animation on my pv80 now. The flicker is not obvious. Maybe I should try and bring my WDTV to Queensbay to test it with the x10. As for my lack of component input problem, worst case scenario have to get a component splitter box. Gotta start looking around for 1 soon. Anybody got any place to recommend to get in Penang??
phat_newbie
post May 13 2009, 11:19 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(mannesmann @ May 13 2009, 10:55 AM)
hi guys,

fyi. my pv80 scratches issue has been solve.

panasonic has replace another new unit for me again and this time is different then previous one. this unit come with new serial no and new warranty card and they also replace everything for me including remote control, pedestal stand and etc. new unit warranty starting from the date of panasonic service guy come and install the pv80 at my house. i very untung lohhhhh already use my pv80 for more than 4 months liao.  rclxm9.gif

i very appreciate with panasonic service support and they provide very good support to customer. biggrin.gif

now i'm very happy.  icon_rolleyes.gif

so guys. if your pv80 have problem need to act fast otherwise ......... rclxub.gif
Wow, I envy you bro. Coz i want my pv80 to be replaced with another pv80. Too bad panasonic said they only have the new x10 and no more pv80 in stock. Enjoy your new PV80.
phat_newbie
post May 13 2009, 02:31 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(mannesmann @ May 13 2009, 12:01 PM)
thx bro.  biggrin.gif 

bcos they want to push their x10 rather then pv80. actually panansonic service center still have some stock for pv80 model.  smile.gif

mayb u can try again. if u r from penang. i think u b able to get one to one replacement for pv80. biggrin.gif
according to ur previous post on warranty for 5 years on x10 model.

actually the 5 years warranty is applicable for pv80 only and it stated very clear on the warranty card but not for x10 model. x10 model is only given 1 year warranty by panasonic manufacture.

like what we can c at jusco or other electrical shop give 2 + 1 year warranty package for x10 model. actually u need pay more $$$ for the 2 years warranty. if u want to replace ur pv80 to x10 model. i think u better ask more detail from panasonic service center or panasonic dealer on the warranty. smile.gif
I asked many times for them to find me a PV80 for replacement and even offered to pay extra if they have PY800 or PY850 in stock. But according to the customer service rep, they don't have anymore previous generation plasmas in stock. This is from Panasonic Malaysia in Penang. They said that retailers might still have them, but not Panasonic Malaysia. Hence, no choice for them but to give me the X10 as replacement. The 2 year warranty is applied to the X10. But in my case, they will transfer my warranty from my PV80 over to the X10 for me to honor what I was offered before when I purchased my PV80.
phat_newbie
post May 21 2009, 04:06 PM

265 posts

Panasonic service personnel delivered the X10 to me just now and took away my PV80. Damn sad. I loved the PV80 so much. Sob sob.... sad.gif
phat_newbie
post May 21 2009, 08:44 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(mannesmann @ May 21 2009, 05:57 PM)
bro, finally ur problem had slove... thumbup.gif

panasonic provide how many year warranty on ur x10?
I still get 5 years warranty as of May 1st.They gave me a warranty card with an extended warranty chop that says warranty extended until May 1st 2014.Tried a few animation mkv files on it just now.At first,the picture looks smudged and colors were very off.Then i mucked around with the settings and turned the Picture Overscan off and everything looked good again.But the reflection on the screen is really bad compared to the PV80.Oh how I am gonna miss my old PV80.

Guess now I'm officially an ex pv80 user and a new X10 member huh. Oh wait, there's still another pv80 in my household. Haha. That means I can still remain in this club.

This post has been edited by phat_newbie: May 21 2009, 09:15 PM
phat_newbie
post May 22 2009, 11:38 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(Darren Chuah @ May 22 2009, 08:08 AM)
One thing is good, contrast is increase from 15,000:1 to 30,000:1, and dynamic contrast from 1,000,000:1 to 2,000,000:1. BTW, can you feel the different of the increased contrast? our eyes can notice that or impressionally only?
I personally tested the X10 side by side with a PV80 and also the PY800 before. I can easily see the contrast difference immediately with the X10 looking much brighter compared to the PV80 and PY800 but the screen of the X10 is super reflective. Details wise, the PY800 wins hands down but only at close range. Now that I am just watching the X10 alone in my room, I do notice the more vibrant colors (maybe it's just my mind playing tricks.. biggrin.gif ).

Also, I really do notice some motion jerking on slow moving scenes on Speed Racer 720p mkv files that does not happen on the PV80. Fast motion scenes are not affected. If you have the X10 and Speed Racer 720p mkv, try watching the front part where Speed is racing during night time with them showing commentators slowing gliding over the scenes. Watch the commentators as they glide through and you will notice the motion jerkiness. I have watched this movie many times on the PV80 just to admire the pic quality because it is a super colorful movie with very nice graphical presentation. Hence I know all the details from the movie. I guess it's the 600Hz sub field drive thingy (I do not know what this is.. blink.gif ) effect compared to the 400Hz you get on the PV80.
phat_newbie
post May 22 2009, 03:41 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 22 2009, 02:53 PM)
mkv files might not have the correct flags. Test with a proper source and see if u see the same thing. 1080p/24 source is a better check
But the mkv file works superbly with the PV80. Tested on 2 units of PV80 and also the LG. So, I guess the flag settings or whatever that means should be correct and its the X10's incapability to decode the source properly. I could be wrong though. Just pointing out what I observed from both models. Anyway, the X10 is sitting in my room now. Just have to make the best of what I have.

0.0249sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:54 PM