Home Theatre Panasonic 42PV80H Thread, Owners & Wanna Buyer's Discussion

mannesmann
post May 5 2009, 06:01 PM

13 posts

hi guys,

i'm newbie in lowyat.net.

i just want to share some interesting issue for PV80 owner. for those who just purchase or purchase last year.

i don't know whether your unit can observe scretches all around inside the display panel at pixel panel surface. but mine can see very clear.

under power off condition and your room condition must be bright enough then you will see scratches or use flash light (must observe at angle about 45 degree and scratch size is about 10mm to 20mm long and width is about our hair size).

fyi. panasonic already replace 1st unit for me but still can observe scretches all around inside the display panel at pixel panel surface. now waiting for 2nd unit for replacement.

have fun guys. icon_idea.gif
mannesmann
post May 6 2009, 11:04 AM

13 posts

Added on May 6, 2009, 11:05 am
QUOTE(sotong168 @ May 5 2009, 06:07 PM)
scratch is covered with warranty too?  what is the price now?  my place got shops purging this model, nice set i must say
yes. that's why they give us 5 years warranty. the warranty cover for inside panel acc. and all printed circuit board. if is outside sorry for you they will not give any warranty for this and you need to pay $$$$$. nod.gif

i think price now is about RM2500 to RM2800.

QUOTE(ic-klass @ May 6 2009, 01:31 AM)
bro, maybe can post a pic for clearer understanding  ehh...
sorry bro, can't snap picture for your reference, due to reflection on the screen. sad.gif mayb the attachment file will help u.

the outside panel is green colour that one is protection layer screen and inside protection layer screen u be able to see small square all around the screen that one is pixel panel screen surface. scratch is at the pixel panel screen surface. your room is bright u be able to see the scratch in black colour like our hair size (10mm to 20mm long an width is about hair size) and if use flash light to observe the colour is white or light grey. mayb u also can use magnifying glass to see the scratches. need to be observe at about 30 to 45 degree.

This post has been edited by mannesmann: May 6 2009, 11:36 AM
mannesmann
post May 13 2009, 10:55 AM

13 posts

hi guys,

fyi. my pv80 scratches issue has been solve.

panasonic has replace another new unit for me again and this time is different then previous one. this unit come with new serial no and new warranty card and they also replace everything for me including remote control, pedestal stand and etc. new unit warranty starting from the date of panasonic service guy come and install the pv80 at my house. i very untung lohhhhh already use my pv80 for more than 4 months liao. rclxm9.gif

i very appreciate with panasonic service support and they provide very good support to customer. biggrin.gif

now i'm very happy. icon_rolleyes.gif

so guys. if your pv80 have problem need to act fast otherwise ......... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by mannesmann: May 13 2009, 10:57 AM
mannesmann
post May 13 2009, 12:01 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(phat_newbie @ May 13 2009, 11:19 AM)
Wow, I envy you bro. Coz i want my pv80 to be replaced with another pv80. Too bad panasonic said they only have the new x10 and no more pv80 in stock. Enjoy your new PV80.
thx bro. biggrin.gif

bcos they want to push their x10 rather then pv80. actually panansonic service center still have some stock for pv80 model. smile.gif

mayb u can try again. if u r from penang. i think u b able to get one to one replacement for pv80. biggrin.gif

according to ur previous post on warranty for 5 years on x10 model.

actually the 5 years warranty is applicable for pv80 only and it stated very clear on the warranty card but not for x10 model. x10 model is only given 1 year warranty by panasonic manufacture.

like what we can c at jusco or other electrical shop give 2 + 1 year warranty package for x10 model. actually u need pay more $$$ for the 2 years warranty. if u want to replace ur pv80 to x10 model. i think u better ask more detail from panasonic service center or panasonic dealer on the warranty. smile.gif
mannesmann
post May 14 2009, 11:35 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(phat_newbie @ May 13 2009, 02:31 PM)
I asked many times for them to find me a PV80 for replacement and even offered to pay extra if they have PY800 or PY850 in stock. But according to the customer service rep, they don't have anymore previous generation plasmas in stock. This is from Panasonic Malaysia in Penang. They said that retailers might still have them, but not Panasonic Malaysia. Hence, no choice for them but to give me the X10 as replacement. The 2 year warranty is applied to the X10. But in my case, they will transfer my warranty from my PV80 over to the X10 for me to honor what I was offered before when I purchased my PV80.
fyi. panasonic already replace 3 units of pv80 for me. smile.gif

recently i had ask panasonic service engineer is the pv80 spare parts still avaliable and answer is yes. if u still love ur pv80 maybe u can ask panasonic to replace the pixel screen panel for u.

i think they still have some ex-stock in their warehouse. if don't have ex-stock they won't replace another unit for me. give it a try again. smile.gif
mannesmann
post May 14 2009, 04:02 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 14 2009, 01:34 PM)
Just check that the panel given to you is a new panel with zero hours. The supply of PV80 is quite thin now. I am sure Panny will stock parts for all their plasmas for a long time.
yes. otherwise they need to jaga their backside again....... hehehe brows.gif

i don't think new unit will comes with zero hours. bcoz at production side they need to test run, picture calibration, qc inspection and etc. maybe the test run will be takes a few days or hours.

hopefully the parts will be avaliable after 5 years or more. nod.gif
mannesmann
post May 15 2009, 10:21 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(ic-klass @ May 14 2009, 06:28 PM)
Wahh... 3x already??!!!
What happended?
very very long story bro....... biggrin.gif

internal screen surface got scratches. cry.gif
mannesmann
post May 21 2009, 05:57 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(phat_newbie @ May 21 2009, 04:06 PM)
Panasonic service personnel delivered the X10 to me just now and took away my PV80. Damn sad. I loved the PV80 so much. Sob sob.... sad.gif
bro, finally ur problem had slove... thumbup.gif

panasonic provide how many year warranty on ur x10?
mannesmann
post Jun 24 2009, 06:32 PM

13 posts

hi guys,

for panny plasma owner.

i just 1 2 share some information wit u all guys...

recently, i saw a few scratches inside the protection screen surface. rclxub.gif
i did make complain to panny service center last week.

today panny technical support supervisor came to my house n c the scratch mark on protection screen surface. he said the scratches is inside protection screen layer n not at panel screen surface. he will make a warranty claim for my plasma.

if panny replace 1 to 1 again for me. this will b my 4 units..... cool2.gif

i had attach few pic 4 reference.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
mannesmann
post Jun 26 2009, 10:50 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(ic-klass @ Jun 25 2009, 07:49 PM)
i think i heard this before. dun worry the other fella got 1 to 1 replacement.
Btw, how did u came across to noticed it..Any trick to see it clearly?
it was me bro.... i'm the 1 who get 1 to 1 replacement previously for 3 units. tongue.gif

after i had clean the outside panel. i saw few white line at protection screen n use finger to feel the scratches at outside layer can't feel anything. n my fire oledi up liao vmad.gif

i can tell u ahh bro... after few days later, i had decided to call panny service center n inform them abt my plasma problem. they already blur liao.... rclxub.gif so they ask me to take a pic n email to them.

the trick is...1st ur plasma need to b power off n 2nd ur room need to b very bright enough n observed distance is abt 100mm between ur eye n screen n need to b observed at certain angle mayb 35 to 45 degree either left or right side doesn't matter. after that u will c a lots of funny funny things all round the screen. (remark: need to observed all round the screen)

actually, on this plasma have 2 scratches problem that i had experince b4.

1st scratch mark is... if u can observed black colour scratch mark n the lenght is abt 10 to 20mm long. this scratch mark is at panel surface layer (outside layer). (remark: can't take pic on this scratch mark. bcos it is inside layer.)

2nd scratch mark is... if u can observed white colour scratch mark n the lenght is abt 3 to 4 inch long. this scratch mark is at protection screen surface layer (outside layer). (remarks: can take pic on this scratch mark. bcos it is outside layer. as per my attachment pic.)

i think most of panny plasma owner did not notice, there is some scratches on the panel n protection screen surface.

mayb i'm the 1st 1 to notice it n just 1 2 share wit u all guys.... rolleyes.gif

Added on June 26, 2009, 11:01 am
QUOTE(ssyam @ Jun 26 2009, 10:12 AM)
if u want to see this problem... put ur plasma under brightness light..
u r right ssyam.. biggrin.gif

Added on June 26, 2009, 11:48 am
QUOTE(arremie @ Jun 24 2009, 06:36 PM)
4th units? Something really not right with Panny QC. Lucky my Panny LCD no prob so far.
yaloh bor... 4 units.. give me kepala pening only..... rclxub.gif

nvm. panny give 5 years warranty maa. anything goes wrong still can claim or mayb can still get 1 to 1 replacement. tongue.gif

i think their qc is not so tight n some of the plasma is assemble at singapore.

good to hear that ur lcd no problem.

This post has been edited by mannesmann: Jun 26 2009, 11:48 AM
mannesmann
post Jul 30 2009, 03:17 PM

13 posts

hi guys.....

fyi.

for the past few weeks i have been waiting from panasonic reply whether i can up grade my pv80 2 s10k model due 2 pv80 has been discontinue n they could not find another pv80 model 4 me. cry.gif

finally panasonic had call me yesterday n i'm very happy that panasonic willing to replace my pv80 2 s10k model as per my request. rclxm9.gif

i hope that s10k dont give me a lot of quality issue like pv80 perviously. next week panasonic will deliver s10k 4 me n will pack the pv80 back.... i miss my pv80..... cry.gif

next week i have a new toy to play..... tongue.gif

i can said that panasonic did a very good service support 4 customer........ icon_rolleyes.gif

thumbs up 4 panasonic...... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

mannesmann
post Jul 30 2009, 03:58 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Copland @ Jul 30 2009, 03:38 PM)
welcome to s10 club
thx.... bro biggrin.gif

0.0409sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:10 AM