Contact lens information, as requested by members

TSjialat
post Mar 25 2009, 01:23 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Mar 25 2009, 12:33 PM)
I'd really rather have you guys inquiring about Jialat's contacts lenses via PM. This is actually touching the borders of breaking the rules in H&F. We're very anti-sales.

Thank you.
yes, i agree. for those who would like to order lens, pls contact me thru pm or email as shown on my signature.

mod, pls feel free to remove those post that ask about sales of lens. thanks
zariqcools
post Mar 25 2009, 02:17 PM

Kerr
711 posts

well does the contact lenses have specific power just like glasses?
TSjialat
post Mar 25 2009, 02:40 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(zariqcools @ Mar 25 2009, 02:17 PM)
well does the contact lenses have specific power just like glasses?
yes, power range from plus to minus, suitable for short-sightedness, long-sightedness and astigmatism.

there are contact lens for old ppl with presbyopia too, ie. bifocal & mulitfocal contact lens which have a combination of power. thanks
zariqcools
post Mar 25 2009, 03:27 PM

Kerr
711 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Mar 25 2009, 02:40 PM)
yes, power range from plus to minus, suitable for short-sightedness, long-sightedness and astigmatism.

there are contact lens for old ppl with presbyopia too, ie. bifocal & mulitfocal contact lens which have a combination of power. thanks
do i have to check our eyes first before purchasing contact lenses?ouh btw the contact lenses prices vary from power?

This post has been edited by zariqcools: Mar 25 2009, 03:28 PM
TSjialat
post Mar 25 2009, 03:50 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(zariqcools @ Mar 25 2009, 03:27 PM)
do i have to check our eyes first before purchasing contact lenses?ouh btw the contact lenses prices vary from power?
yes, u must at least have ur spectacle power so that i can convert it to ur contact lens power.

price is the same not matter what power, but those contact lens that correct short or long sightedness with astigmatism (toric lens) cost more for sure.

thanks biggrin.gif
Gamatatsu0207
post Mar 30 2009, 04:42 PM

373 posts

Hi TS,

I'm using contact lenses for quite some times already (6-7yrs already), recently I got problem with the bright light (on day light) or high beam of light esp during driving at night. Not tht really serious (I think), but from time to time if the light so bright....I will definitely get a headache....izzit means tht I got a astigm? Wht brand of contact lense shall I use next time?
TSjialat
post Mar 30 2009, 09:57 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(Gamatatsu0207 @ Mar 30 2009, 04:42 PM)
Hi TS,

I'm using contact lenses for quite some times already (6-7yrs already), recently I got problem with the bright light (on day light) or high beam of light esp during driving at night. Not tht really serious (I think), but from time to time if the light so bright....I will definitely get a headache....izzit means tht I got a astigm? Wht brand of contact lense shall I use next time?
hi, yes its likely that u have developed astigmatism which ur normal contact lens can no longer cover. its best to get ur eyes check by optometrist to make sure the 'light' problem is due to astigmatism.

if u have -0.75 astigmatism or above, then u will need toric lens, most commonly used will be softlens toric by Bausch & Lomb. if u have dry eye problem, then purevision toric would be ur best choice. thanks
Thalmes
post Mar 30 2009, 10:07 PM

Genie Pig!
1,799 posts

It's all about hygiene if you wear contact lens ? Like if you wanna take it off , You gotta wash your hand with soaps and stuff. I wanted to try one but it is quite a hassle to me . How do you think of it ? TS
TSjialat
post Mar 30 2009, 10:52 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Mar 30 2009, 10:07 PM)
It's all about hygiene if you wear contact lens ? Like if you wanna take it off , You gotta wash your hand with soaps and stuff. I wanted to try one but it is quite a hassle to me . How do you think of it ? TS
no doubt, hygiene is the most important requirement before start using lens. if u r those ppl who always out n ard, then u can try daily lens which can be replaced everyday without much hygiene hassle. thanks
Thalmes
post Mar 31 2009, 11:22 AM

Genie Pig!
1,799 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Mar 30 2009, 10:52 PM)
no doubt, hygiene is the most important requirement before start using lens. if u r those ppl who always out n ard, then u can try daily lens which can be replaced everyday without much hygiene hassle. thanks
What is the difference for the price then ? For monthly and daily ... But maximum hour of usage is still 8 hours right ?
TSjialat
post Mar 31 2009, 12:03 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Mar 31 2009, 11:22 AM)
What is the difference for the price then ? For monthly and daily ... But maximum hour of usage is still 8 hours right ?
daily lens is definitely more expensive than monthly lens on long term, but it offers great hygiene as u only used it once and throw it at end of the day. daily lens price is ard rm 80 to 90 a box which has 30 pieces, while monthly lens range from 50 to 60 a box, which has 3 or 6 pieces depending on brand & type.

daily lens i would recommend acuvue moist, it allows u to wear them for long hours, up to 12 max but i dont recommend that long hour wear for the sake of ur ocular health. thanks
ariel83
post Mar 31 2009, 12:08 PM

75 posts

Halo..i used to wear monthly disposable CL, and currently m using the daily disposable lense (Ie.focus dailies toric daily lens) as i hav astigmatism problem)...but the thing is...i do not know y it's really difficult for me to take out the lenses at night...too dry?but then i use eye drops wor.....i have been experiencing this problem ever time i put on this lense...

I feel like throwing away them but they are a bit costly lur...aiks..

This post has been edited by ariel83: Mar 31 2009, 12:12 PM
Thalmes
post Mar 31 2009, 12:08 PM

Genie Pig!
1,799 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Mar 31 2009, 12:03 PM)
daily lens is definitely more expensive than monthly lens on long term, but it offers great hygiene as u only used it once and throw it at end of the day. daily lens price is ard rm 80 to 90 a box which has 30 pieces, while monthly lens range from 50 to 60 a box, which has 3 or 6 pieces depending on brand & type.

daily lens i would recommend acuvue moist, it allows u to wear them for long hours, up to 12 max but i dont recommend that long hour wear for the sake of ur ocular health. thanks
Hmm...I think I will look around and ask the optometrist first because I'm gonna get my eyes recheck anyway. Thank you for your explanation as it helps me a lot .
TSjialat
post Mar 31 2009, 12:27 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(ariel83 @ Mar 31 2009, 12:08 PM)
Halo..i used to wear monthly disposable CL, and currently m using the daily disposable lense (Ie.focus dailies toric daily lens) as i hav astigmatism problem)...but the thing is...i do not know y it's really difficult for me to take out the lenses at night...too dry?but thenĀ  i use eye drops wor.....i have been experiencing this problem ever time i put on this lense...

I feel like throwing away them but they are a bit costly lur...aiks..
focus lens is well known for its slippery characteristic due to its material & coating, but its good for ur eyes as it smoothens the blinking process to encourage better tears coverage on lens surface, thus clearer vision. some monthly toric lens has the same problem too, but practice makes perfect.

when eyes too wet, lens sticks better on cornea. lens drop off when eyes too dry. thanks

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Mar 31 2009, 12:08 PM)
Hmm...I think I will look around and ask the optometrist first because I'm gonna get my eyes recheck anyway. Thank you for your explanation as it helps me a lot .
yes, u should ask ur optometrist for advice 1st before decide to get lens. i'm glad i could help. u r welcome. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by jialat: Mar 31 2009, 12:37 PM
ariel83
post Mar 31 2009, 12:31 PM

75 posts

hmm.gif sweat.gif

Just wanna ask 1 more Q: Is there any toric lense (daily disposable) currently sell in the market?

I feel like changing coz everytime my eyes would suffer when trying to take out the lenses cry.gif

TQVM.. smile.gif
TSjialat
post Mar 31 2009, 12:39 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(ariel83 @ Mar 31 2009, 12:31 PM)
hmm.gif  sweat.gif

Just wanna ask 1 more Q: Is there any toric lense (daily disposable) currently sell in the market?

I feel like changing coz everytime my eyes would suffer when trying to take out the lenses cry.gif

TQVM.. smile.gif
so far only focus toric daily lens available. other brands havent bring in from europe market.

u r welcome. nod.gif
ariel83
post Mar 31 2009, 12:44 PM

75 posts

cry.gif

Hmm...thanks a lot... notworthy.gif
Bugsy
post Apr 4 2009, 12:25 PM

13 posts

Ok guys, and girls. I have a question... and this is probably the most asked question about contact lenses.

I bought contact lenses 2 months ago, and I can't seem to wear them. Well, the cause is... I am afraid of putting something on top of my eye. How do I overcome this fear?
vivi79
post Apr 4 2009, 12:34 PM

262 posts

Same here but my problem is the opposite.
I have no problem putting the contact lens on but it is rather difficult to remove them at the end of the day
Can anyone help?
thanks smile.gif
blynn123
post Apr 4 2009, 12:40 PM

221 posts

hey there , i've been a contact lens wearer . i wore semi hard lens . thou all my friends are wearing soft lens . and it seems so much easier .

should i change to soft lens ? though my optometrist told me , hard lens are way better than soft . is this true ?

141 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:13 PM