4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

University Monash University Thread V2, Malaysia & Aus Campus

nokia2003
post Jan 28 2010, 04:20 PM

5,786 posts

i kinda know the rough story (through an old time lecturer) but don't think it is wise and ethical to comment/speculate.

so let's stick the usual happy-go-lucky one alright?

for some obsecure and yet crazy reason, i have extended my internship programme for another month! there goes my summer vacation (for real this time)!

*boo hoo hoo*

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jan 28 2010, 04:22 PM
nokia2003
post Jan 28 2010, 05:57 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(ostangel @ Jan 28 2010, 05:54 PM)
weell, that because BCompSc is only offered in the 2 campuses mentioned above! heheh, luckily for me tongue.gif
lolol

A month? Doesn't the sem start on the 1st of March?
it was initially pending for approval.

now it has been confirmed. i'm getting about 4 days of break before flying off to melbourne.

aiseh tak jadi la aku kali ni, nak pergi keluar melancong
nokia2003
post Jan 29 2010, 09:06 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Grimm @ Jan 29 2010, 04:32 PM)
Huh? Malaysia campus gonna adopt the BCom ah? LOL wei. Entry requirement is gonna be crazy, and Clayton ppl gonna compare results with Sunway and all hell would break loose. Lol.

nokia2003, where are you interning? Wow, 4 days of hols... thats awesome shitz. I'm going melancong to enjoy the final week of hols and OZ SUMMER! lol. Go burn under the sun naked. w00t.
i thought, i told you that day during the sunway predeparture talk?

but just don't broadcast/type it here (don't want people to ask me this and that)

however, if your memory still fails, please do not hesitate to PM me =]

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jan 29 2010, 09:06 PM
nokia2003
post Feb 1 2010, 01:50 PM

5,786 posts

not that i'm offering any sort of financial advices, but if anyone here (especially prospective/future students) who has any banking related questions in oz, you can actually ask me here or via PM.

i actually did some relatively detailed researches with regard to the banking facilities here; just a personal interest nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif
nokia2003
post Feb 2 2010, 12:22 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(tango-2 @ Feb 1 2010, 06:34 PM)
Cn malaysians apply credit cards in oz? which is the most convenient bank in clayton? any ATM machines available on campus?
banks in general, do not like to allocate students with credit cards (to promote a more prudent spending i suppose?). for example westpac has a relatively strong stance with regard to this.

however, out of so many banks, CBA (commonwealth) is the most lenient with students, where they supply students with a master card with an automatic limit of AUD3000. however if i'm not wrong, it doesn't come with any perks like discounts, frequent flyer mile accrual, points et cetera.

FYI, you can pay your monash fees using your credit card with no surcharge fees.

okay that is for the first part.

for second part, i will recommend that you to open an CBA account instead. reason? banks typically charge an AUD2 per transaction, for the usage of interbank related ATM withdrawals (mimicking what you see here; when you try to use a MEPS associated bank for interbank related withdrawals - MYR1 instead)

CBA has the largest and most well connected ATMs (at least in melbourne).

HSBC will allow its customers to withdraw their cash free of charge, using westpac and st george ATMs. however branches of HSBC are very minimal though. they only have one in glen (zone 2), CBD, and one more in zone 1, out of CBD.

erm, there is also no limits to your withdrawals per month (unlike the maneuver demonstrated by maybank (MBB) which will charge a flat fee of MYR0.50 per transaction after your 4th attempt, per month of course)

for the final bit, i cannot be sure about the rest, but clayton boasts these ATMs on campus; CBA, ANZ and westpac (and hence HSBC and st george customers will be enjoy its facilities). as of an actual physical branch, the clayton campus only houses CBA and westpac.

in my humble opinion, westpac treats their customers better than CBA by far yard. westpac staffs will actually sit you in a room and allocate a personnel to handle your reservations and matters (and hence opening a bank account with westpac, will no doubt take a much longer duration)

i'd hope that my explanation above is articulate and answers your questions. however if you have more doubts, please do not hesitate to ask! nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif

nokia2003
post Feb 2 2010, 01:12 PM

5,786 posts

oh by the way, RBA has decided to hold the rate constant at 3.75% for the month of february, earlier today at 2.30pm AEST

hence the AUD has plunged a little.

it is currently hovering around 3.00
nokia2003
post Feb 4 2010, 10:29 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Feb 4 2010, 10:18 PM)
Looks like nokia2003 is doing a good job of explaining to students going over to Melb soon  smile.gif
i only pretending (or at least trying) to be helpful & knowledgable, so that gals will approach me for advice & assistance though...

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Feb 4 2010, 10:31 PM
nokia2003
post Feb 22 2010, 09:09 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(fyire @ Feb 22 2010, 08:46 PM)
either way its the same isn't it? You'll still need to do well enough.
can i also add something to the asker's reservation?

if you are transferring from another university, there is a high possibility that some of your completed unit may not be recognised.

to add even more magnitude to my statement, even transferring/exchanging between monash campuses can be a major headache (in terms of unit compatibility)

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Feb 22 2010, 09:09 PM
nokia2003
post Feb 23 2010, 03:05 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(ostangel @ Feb 23 2010, 02:33 PM)
YAYYYY! so far, clayton has been awesome!
LOL, give that feeling two months or so.

because my brother and i share the same sentiment nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif

nokia2003
post Mar 1 2010, 02:33 PM

5,786 posts

first class of the term at 12pm, but i woke up at 11.45am.

nice (sarcastically) but good thing that i was still early nevertheless.

on the other hand, if any gals peeps from monash, should require help, please do not hesitate to contact me! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
nokia2003
post Mar 1 2010, 02:44 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Grimm @ Mar 1 2010, 02:39 PM)
^
lolololol. tongue.gif

@ ostangel - I have a few friends in Howitt. Lets meet up and then I can show u ur friendly seniors. smile.gif
QUOTE(playoff90 @ Mar 1 2010, 02:42 PM)
only gals? =P
obviously...

i'm actually a pretty fair person as i don't discriminate between the hot and not; just as long they are gals! shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif
nokia2003
post Mar 6 2010, 09:53 PM

5,786 posts

i'm so glad that i have decided to go out today!

link 1

link 2

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Mar 7 2010, 12:33 AM
nokia2003
post Mar 11 2010, 07:49 AM

5,786 posts

Near Pass (NP) Grade -- policy update

A message from Vern Garth - Examinations Manager
Dear student

The Near Pass (NP) Grade is no longer available as from 2010.

nokia2003
post Apr 1 2010, 09:09 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(LalaBubbles @ Apr 1 2010, 08:56 PM)
do specify whether is sunway or ozz?
and which campus
nokia2003
post May 6 2010, 02:59 PM

5,786 posts

i can definitely give the typical and minimum amount required by myself (on a monthly basis) and i'm staying off-campus.

1. AUD110 for my mobile phone tariff and iPhone 3GS repayments (AUD50 and AUD60 respectively)
2. AUD27.50 for my broadband and phone rental.
3. AUD120 for my dinner (we cater from a malaysian couple and it is delivered to our place on a daily basis)
4. AUD50 for my electricity (on average) and water is inclusive
5. AUD20 for transportation via metlink (on average)
nokia2003
post May 6 2010, 07:07 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(happy_pink @ May 6 2010, 06:28 PM)
well
very good advice
thanks grimm and nokia

Added on May 6, 2010, 6:32 pm
1 k is alot

u spend a lot on entertainment?

haha
not that i'm proclaiming that i'm spend-thrift, but Grimm's a grand of expenditure per month isn't astronomically at all.

look at mine; even at bare minimum and necessity (not including leisure, groceries, eating and the out of the ordinary), i have accumulated a total of AUD327.50 (approximately MYR982.50)
nokia2003
post May 7 2010, 03:36 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Grimm @ May 6 2010, 10:20 PM)
oi nokia, she's talking about sunway campus punya laaa! biggrin.gif

1k isn't really a lot. I mean, thats what my parents give me. Really depends how much you spend on what.

Some people shop every week. Some people treat themselves to delicacies and fine dining frequently. Some people read a lot, and spend a lot on books. Some people go to the movies like 3-4 times a week. Some people spend a lot on pool and foosball. Some people club a lot. Some people drink a lot. And then there are some like me, who game a lot (Asia Cafe robbed me off I think 4 figures already =X

Sooo... it really depends on your lifestyle.

Basic expenditure in Sunway area

RM450-800 for accomodation depending on type and location
RM200-300 for good food (please don't starve yourselves, go get some good food... KL air is already a killer, don't kill your body anymore by eating sucky and unhealthily cheap food all the time.
RM100 for entertainment? drinking, movies, whatever...
RM50 for misc spending, books, clubs and societies, parties, birthday presents, etc.

I don't think RM800-1k is a lot... this is Sunway/Subang area we're talking about, not like other colleges punya area where you can get like RM150 for a single room =.= no such rates here, unfortunately =/
yikes! my most sincere apologies!

i blame that partially on my lack of sleep back then. i genuinely only sleep for 2 hours the night before (thanks to 2 assignments due on the same day).

anyway back in sunway, i was under really strict budget.

i got MYR500 which includes tolls, parking fees, meals (i rarely eat at home) and leisure.

i also have a cap of MYR50 on my monthly mobile bills (which means, anything more has to be footed by myself) and 25 litres of fuel (sufficient to get me, to and from sunway and home. hence if i needed to loiter around, most likely it will have to be out of my wallet)

rent and utilities are free of course (since i'm still living with my parents) laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(Grimm @ May 6 2010, 10:24 PM)
I drool at the AUD120 for daily meals for an entire month. WTF?

AUD120 for 30 meals ah? Summore CATERED? I think thats a damn good deal. I mean, even though we cook, after dividing, its about RM80 per person per month. I wouldn't mind paying 40 more, and no need to waste time cooking =D

But then, my cooking skills improved tremendously during my time here ;D
ohya, I have 2 papers only because

1) its my last sem, i only have 3 subs (thanks to me having taken a summer in sunway in my 1st year)
2) out of the 3 subjects, one of my electives (Money Market Operations AFF3301) is a 100% internal assessment - without any final paper
3) so i'm left with 2 ;D but unfortunately, they HAD to be back to back  mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif
sorry for not being more articulate. the food catered is for both my brother and i, as the portion is sufficient for us.

they don't cater during weekends and hence it is AUD12 per day multiplied by 5 days and 4 weeks.

for the weekend, my brother and i will cook instead! whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif

This post has been edited by nokia2003: May 7 2010, 03:38 PM
nokia2003
post May 13 2010, 10:31 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(tingtongten @ May 13 2010, 10:29 AM)
hi everyone !
im coming over to monash university (caulfield campus) this july !
but i havent found a place to stay yet..
i need some help with finding accommodation..
anyone pls ?
your best bet is marketplace.

there are a lot of ads for you to look from
nokia2003
post Jun 29 2010, 08:37 PM

5,786 posts

if anyone needs any guidance/help/tips/whatsoever, with regard to the clayton campus (maybe the caulfield one as well), do not hesitate to PM me.

have a great winter break everyone! smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif
nokia2003
post Jul 6 2010, 02:31 PM

5,786 posts

I'm surprised that you can actually
bring in copyright infringed materials i.e. photocopied books into the examination hall.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0449sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:25 PM