Help AutoCAD, 3D Max, Sketchup, Architecture, Macbook

dvlzplayground
post Apr 12 2009, 12:43 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

I run autoCAD on winxp in parallels on my macbook pro 2.4 Ghz (using the 9400M, so in a way its the same as a macbook 2.4 Ghz) and everything looks good to me smile.gif only 2GB RAM
dvlzplayground
post May 23 2009, 02:24 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ May 23 2009, 02:15 PM)
reckon mac pro not notebook  smile.gif

get a lappie with more of gpu n porecessor n ram utilization smile.gif
for everything, everyone ofcoz recommend mac pro lo...

but $$$
dvlzplayground
post Mar 2 2010, 07:01 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Cpz @ Mar 2 2010, 06:35 PM)
Macbook Alu 2.4ghz with 2GB ram

if i wanna bootcamp Window Vista or Window XP Pro into my mac osx will it be a problem? they say better boot XP coz more stable izzit thruth? or Vista also can?
what should i do in order me to do my Interior Design work.
I will be using Autocad and 3D max in future time.
yes, XP is generally more stable, windows 7 seems to get mixed results. not sure for the new drivers

vista can, it's just a matter of whether u can stand it or not..haha. dun worry ur mac can support
dvlzplayground
post Mar 2 2010, 09:42 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(Cpz @ Mar 2 2010, 09:05 PM)
Bro, which one is better ?
coz VWfusion ?? what that ?? all program show also need to install Window only can use??
actually how to boot i also donno...coz i new..=.=
sumore as forummer said : after booting the WinXp he say after reboot the laptop he open up the WinXp that install it say need to key in the serial again...
How come?
mm cant really understand ur english there bro. are u asking XP or vista is better? i'll vote for XP. windows7 is also a good choice, i didnt install windows7 cuz my printer doesnt work in windows7. probably got new driver already but i dont bother anymore hehe

about VMware fusion, bootcamp i suggest u go read up this thread 1st: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/979861
dvlzplayground
post Mar 13 2010, 12:34 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

^ can u use the same .exe to install on another PC? maybe the installer isnt a good copy
dvlzplayground
post Mar 16 2010, 12:35 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(MazeLoL @ Mar 15 2010, 11:08 PM)
hi guys..
recently i just bootcamp vista ultimate 32bit on my mb and Vwfusion
but when i started to run the Vwfusion.
the graphic driver change to Standard VGA graphic accelerator? how can it become like that? rather than Nvidia Geforce 9400 from my mb alu 2.4ghz with 3gb ram.
Sumore when running autocad 2010 on my mb via vwfusion. those lines is started to blinking when i try to pull to an angle?
it's because ur windows dont know got 9400M. remember, virtual machine works by tricking the guest OS is installed on an actual computer. so VMfusion just told vista that the graphics is "standard VGA" instead of "9400M". it also tells vista that only the RAM u set is the RAM available, not ur full RAM. ur vista has absolutely no idea it's being installed on a mac.

so yeah this leads to pretty bad graphics performance. autocad 2008 also ran like crap. 2002 works fine though tongue.gif if 2002 is enough for u, u shud give it a try. less clutter anyway
dvlzplayground
post Mar 24 2010, 11:33 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

guys... anyone know good software for CNC coding? like i write the G/M code, then the software will show me what i'm doing...

something like reverse alphaCAM. in alphacam is i draw n tell what the machine is going to do..then it'll give me the codes.

need it to verify my codes...i wont know if i made any mistakes or not tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post May 25 2010, 08:26 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(leeseng1990 @ May 25 2010, 11:48 AM)
btw i need go for 32 or 64 bit? which 1 is better.. if i go for bootcamp then my mac will a bit more laggy? coz my imac spec is the 3.06Ghz with 4GB ram le.. and the graphic card is not too good also? thanks
3.06 Ghz with 4gb ram is very good dy. i assume u're born in 1990 so u're using autocad for uni work? if yes then the GPU wont be a limitation. im doing engineering n i just run autocad in vmware tongue.gif

QUOTE(leeseng1990 @ May 25 2010, 06:36 PM)
oww oww..then about the AutoCAD again, which 1 should i  prefer to install, i mean which year is better.. my uni is using 2007, so should i stick for it or going for better 1?i mean more latest vers.
best way is to ask ur lecturer. for me i just follow what my uni uses (2002 sad.gif ), but i find it easier to use due to the more clean interface smile.gif i tried autocad 2008 but it just feels like too much clutter
dvlzplayground
post May 25 2010, 09:20 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(leeseng1990 @ May 25 2010, 08:59 PM)
yup i'm born in 1990.. my nick name has show up my age lol.. i heard there is a mac vers. autoCAD right..
got....18 years ago tongue.gif autodesk is currently working on a new autocad for mac (codename sledgehammer) so lets cross our fingers!

there are alternatives like archiCAD and vectorworks.. but then industry-standard is industry-standard lah. same reason why we have powerpoint tongue.gif
dvlzplayground
post May 25 2010, 09:30 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(leeseng1990 @ May 25 2010, 09:27 PM)
but just release 1 wor.. i mean few days ago? 2010 or 2011 mac vers.. they said auto Cad come back to mac this year.. since last year i heard about it..lol
it was just announced, not release yet. autodesk.com dun have it tongue.gif

http://usa.autodesk.com/products/mac-compatible-products
dvlzplayground
post May 26 2010, 09:43 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

question... for apps like autocad, 3ds max, sketchup... is it more CPU intensive than GPU intensive? lets say an i7+intelHD system vs coreduo+9600mGT... which one will run better? :S
dvlzplayground
post May 28 2010, 02:24 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

mmm... autocad also got 3d eh.. hehe
dvlzplayground
post May 28 2010, 09:15 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

so which is more important?

high end CPU + integrated GPU

or

average CPU + average dedicated GPU
dvlzplayground
post May 30 2010, 10:15 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

oic. so real-time previewing: GPU. rendering: CPU. am i right?

thx for the excellent explanation smile.gif
dvlzplayground
post Jun 15 2010, 03:22 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

^ why do you need to buy? what are u trying to do?

or if u meant to ask if its free or not, no it's not free

This post has been edited by dvlzplayground: Jun 15 2010, 03:23 PM
dvlzplayground
post Jun 19 2010, 07:54 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

QUOTE(naughtyz @ Jun 19 2010, 03:39 PM)
that's what i want to know..is it expensive like autocad for windows? cost thousands of ringgit..
i dunno how much it cost, but this is the malaysian purchase page from their website. you can try contact the number listed if you're interested

http://www.graphisoft.com/purchase/asia_pa...c/malaysia.html
dvlzplayground
post Jun 30 2010, 12:01 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

i agree with Ojimaru. the high-res screen is a good upgrade. or, if u really want to avoid repairs etc, buy ACPP.

about desktops being more powerful than laptops, dun forget that imac is using laptop components. u didnt mention which imac are u referring to, but i have a feeling the i7 MBP would be faster smile.gif

dvlzplayground
post Jul 5 2010, 10:22 PM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

the Sledgehammer isnt officially out yet. that's why still lots of bugs to get fixed

eeoyr if you're planning to get parallels or vmware anyway (for other purposes besides autocad etc), maybe u shud try using those software on VM first and see if the performance is okay for you. if it is, great biggrin.gif if no, then bootcamp lah
dvlzplayground
post Jul 23 2010, 12:07 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

i envy u guys know how to do this stuff sad.gif
dvlzplayground
post Jul 29 2010, 08:01 AM

Web developer Nadzim.com
7,916 posts

i've gone through foundation engineering to 3rd yr degree with two MBPs no prob tongue.gif but then we dont use solidworks lah, more to autocad

so yes, bootcamp is a viable option. most of the time i just run autocad in a virtual machine

oh i'll also recommend u to use office 2007/2010 instead of 2008 mac version bcuz apart from formatting, sometimes it manages to ruin equations too.

0.0241sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:21 PM