LYN Kancil's Owner Club a.k.a SLK V2~, come come join small lil devil in here~

etigge
post May 18 2011, 04:10 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ May 18 2011, 02:50 PM)
Yeah, the whole entire meter. The connection is probably loose so I want to get it out to check the wiring. As for the wires from the car to the meter, do they use removable plugs?
I just took out mine, fuel meter works intermittently. Under the shade, two short screws, then pull out the shade. Don't force as there are two clips at the bottom. Then you can see 3 screws, take it out also. There will be two sets of wiring sockets and the meter cable. The meter cable is a bit tricky. Press the plastic holding clamp and pull out.

The lights for the meter is like those fairy lights type. laugh.gif Really chokia meter, if you ask me.
etigge
post May 18 2011, 04:41 PM

295 posts

Chokia means laoyah larr. laugh.gif The bulbs are attached to a socket which is inserted into the meter rear panel. Dunno can change colour or not. laugh.gif

Added on May 18, 2011, 4:45 pm
QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ May 11 2011, 09:11 AM)
pro.. my kancil auto 850 yr 99.. each times i filled up my fuel with ron 97 shell full tank, the smell of the petrol was strong even wind down the window & on the air-cond & drive around still have the same problem.. last9 it happened to be 3rd times.. 1st i thought nothing.. 2nd i feel weird.. now so uneasy.. just this times i worried! last9 garage nearby my place only this garage got open so i asked the guy.. he look everywhere & smell it can't locate the problem.. then he said maybe the fuel tank there got leaking.. i said my petrol also no leaked how come need change whole set? he will provide me the price for the tank.. he said not so expensive + dangerous if got ppl smoke & the car will boom! i curious bout his statement. my colleague said this is normal! but the smell was damn pretty strong.. while drive will get high!

other problem is i changed toyota coolant last 3 mths ago.. but now i noticed the coolant is gone.. is it due to the corrosion that the whole coolant "ate" by it??

thanks!
Usually I see guys pumping their petrol full tank they really fill it up. Some even shake the car to fill more. laugh.gif When the pump auto stops, just stop or go to the nearest ringgit should be enough. If you look into the hole, there is a small outlet pipe which I think is a release if vapours gets too compressed inside the tank. Kancil's is 32 litre tank only. If you pump too full, when cornering the fuel might flow up to the opening and flow out. That is where the smell comes from. I smelled it twice too. So now I don't pump too full. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by etigge: May 18 2011, 04:45 PM
etigge
post May 29 2011, 06:05 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(Aquariusdenz @ May 26 2011, 03:49 PM)
Just went to the mechanic which i often visit, he test it by using 1st gear and reverse gear by sudden pressing the trottle and i can see the engine seems like want to twist out of the car. The guy said 3 mounting are broken, as what i expected from a 16 years old car which never change mounting. This is the price he quoted.
3 original mounting=RM260
labour fee=RM180
So total is RM440

He say need whole day to do the change since need to drop engine. So is this price reasonable?
Orignal parts is OK but labour, isn't it a bit steep? They don't pluck the engine out actually, they just use crocodile jacks to push it from below so it is just enough to change the particular mounting they are working on and then the next one and so on. hmm.gif

Added on May 29, 2011, 6:12 pmMy driver side power window was jammed and refused to shut. There was a whirring sound meaning the motor is OK so I took out the whole assembly. The edges are sharp and I bruised myself on the edges just to unscrew a nut inside. I found out that the motor is jammed shut, meaning it is not repairable. I was not satisfied because it is still a working motor. I pry it carefully and found out that there was a C-clip holding the whole rotating assembly which turns the cog for the assembly. The C-clip came out and I installed it back and close back the cover and used plier to jam back the cover.

It's working now but not so smoothly but I want to shut off the auto close or open function. This function is only on the driver side but I want it to work like the passenger side. I off means it stop and press only it move. Anybody here knows where the relay or circuit is to disable this auto function. I don't like it anyway. Anyone? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by etigge: May 29 2011, 06:12 PM
etigge
post Jun 7 2011, 12:12 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(big2me @ Jun 6 2011, 06:26 PM)
Hi, kancil use 10W30 lubricant ?

ref: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ubricant+kancil

I too had almost the same case as you, just got a Kancil for daughter and went around checking prices.

1) Touring (Mineral) SM/CF 10W30 (3Liter) - RM45 <Engine below 1000cc, Kancil,Viva,Myvi, etc>
Mineral Eneos good ?
want do service already.

Any mineral lubricant also can lah, afterall got to change in another 5000 kms. I don't really belief in semi synthetic or full synthetic for a Kancil or any normal car. It is not like we are revving the engine till redline all the time. We hardly even rev up to 5000 rpm most of the time. Normal mineral lubricant suffice.

4 pcs tyre old, alignment run.
timing belt also buruk i think want change already.

I changed 4 pcs. Falken 155/70/12 for RM460 plus balancing and also alignment. Kancil needs to align both front and rear. For timing belt I asked a shop in D'sara Utama and they wanted RM250 plus labour. THey said Gate timing belt is  thumbup.gif . I went back to Sg.Long, a few shops here can give me the same for RM180  laugh.gif  and if want Daihatsu original can do it for RM220.  The belt is only RM100 to RM120 maxs.

should be how much 1 by1 ?

Now I want to change to a 2 layer radiator. Another RM260 plus RM50 labour charges.Plz give direction where got nice service centre, my experience some of the service centre look not so welcome, may be kancil service so cheap.  biggrin.gif

Added on June 7, 2011, 12:16 pm
QUOTE(Aquariusdenz @ Jun 7 2011, 12:06 PM)
How do you guys check the condition of timing belt?
Actually it is safer to change the timing belt if you just took over the car or the previous owner can tell you when they changed. A normal timing belt needs to changed after every 80,000 kms. although some belts states 100,000 kms.
The other day, I asked the foreman to check if it still can last, he opened up the cover and test if there are any slack in the belt. Loose or slacking means used quite some time and mine was still tight. Although not a really sure way but it is the only way until I change it in a few months.

This post has been edited by etigge: Jun 7 2011, 12:16 PM
etigge
post Jun 8 2011, 06:36 AM

295 posts

I tell you what happens when a timing belt snaps. I was driving to Muar in my former 320. Those days all BMWs are 6 cylinders. After exiting Muar, suddenly the engine just shuts down and everything just went quiet like an alien has sucked the power out. I cranked the engine but nothing happened.

My mistake was trying to push start the car. rclxub.gif When you push start it, you turn the crank which pushes the conrod and pistons up and down. But because the timing belt has snapped the cam shaft is not turning and the valves are stuck. When the pistons comes up, they start banging on the valves and breaks some and bent some and it also punch holes into the head unit.

I slept in my car that night with my wife and the freind whom I was driving to Benut to see a bomoh because his wife left him rclxub.gif Anyway next morning discovered a nice coffeeshop with nice teh panas and toast just where our car broke down. Towed the car all the way to KL and found out that I have to change the cylinder head, 9 valvves and 2 pistons. At that time there were no potong kereta spare parts. Needless to say, you can guess the damage. rclxub.gif
etigge
post Jun 9 2011, 08:18 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(big2me @ Jun 9 2011, 06:06 PM)
Falken 155/70/12 ?  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif
Ini tebal type kan ?
If original what size ya ?
I am looking for original only.

RM460 - RM20 (balancing) = RM440 / 4 = 1 pc RM110

better than i change continential  beside my home here, normal 1 also want RM110.

....  notworthy.gif
Actually the tyre cost RM108 each plus balancing. The balance is for alignment services. Both front and back. Yes, the original size for 12 inch rim is 155/70/12. I see alot using 14 inch rims with 165/55/14 and I wanted to change too but seeing the potholes and uneven road condition in KL, I think I change later when I move back to small town. laugh.gif
etigge
post Jun 10 2011, 10:57 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(big2me @ Jun 10 2011, 07:09 AM)
if original =  155/70/12

so my rims can use loh

like that i also want to use falken lah, izzit better than contiential ?

tayar shop around my home also want RM110/pc havent included balancing or alignment etc.

can give some details of your tayar & the shop name ?  rclxm9.gif
The new shop behind JayaJusco Cheras Selatan (balakong). If you go TekMing in Subang, it is only RM103 for Silverstone Powerblitz PLUS balancing. I think Continental tyres are better in terms of noise, they are more quiet. The Falken is not bad actually, quiet and it is a soft compound so won't last that long but better grip.
etigge
post Jun 10 2011, 08:40 PM

295 posts

http://www.mudah.my/Gear+box+850+tangki+ai...il-10083920.htm
http://www.mudah.my/Gearbox+manual+kancil+850-10035962.htm

I see alot in Mudah.com. Off and on they will appear but some of them outstation. icon_rolleyes.gif
etigge
post Jun 11 2011, 08:49 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(Crazydude93 @ Jun 11 2011, 12:19 AM)
Well, better you than me, go uphill so kesian..  But i think you can change the timing on the gear change right?
Not timing but the ratio. More teeth or less teeth. For 850 the standard gear ratio is 1st gear 3.500, 2nd gear 2.111, 3rd gear 1.392, 4th gear 0.971 and 5th gear 0.794 and for 660s the ratio respectively , Hey! they are the same laugh.gif Only the reverse and final ratio lari a bit.

That means the gear box is usable on both models. To change the gear ratios you have to dismantle the whole gear box and the labour charges very expensive. I repaired a Rusa gearbox once(no potong kereta) and change the syncromesh and 1 gear and it cost me over 2K rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by etigge: Jun 11 2011, 08:49 AM
etigge
post Jun 11 2011, 11:29 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(Crazydude93 @ Jun 11 2011, 10:43 AM)
blink.gif so i can just put in the 850cc gearbox to my kancil!! good= =" getting very angry with that auto tranny.. the loooonger i drive a auto car, surely later i forgot how to drive a manual car- -"

over 2k, just like buying a new gearbox better tongue.gif
New gear box for Rusa, almost 4K plus labour rclxub.gif Not mistaken same gearbox as Avanza.
etigge
post Jun 11 2011, 01:01 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(Aquariusdenz @ Jun 11 2011, 11:42 AM)
so if i use the final gear of 850, i can drive at the top speed like 850? but i wonder my 660 engine can power the 850 final gear or not.. haha laugh.gif
You probably can but takes more effort and longer time to reach the speed and also burn more fuel. Maximum output of a 660 is 22.8KW at 6400 RPM as opposed to 850 which is 27.5 but at lesser 5500 RPM. icon_rolleyes.gif Anyway I don't think you will drive at 6400 RPM, will you?

The L turbocharged series all max. at 8200 RPM, the engine is made to withstand to that RPM and that's where the extra power comes from.
etigge
post Jun 11 2011, 10:59 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(Crazydude93 @ Jun 11 2011, 06:14 PM)
Looks like we drive the same batch of cars tongue.gif. Yaya, who know how much rpm does a 95 kancil 660cc pls do tell here biggrin.gif
Both 850 and 660 will reach 110kmh at 4200RPM but will take 660 to attain it in longer time. The same block only different bore and stroke. Difference is 850 has a higher torque. I used to lower the front springs by 2inch in my former 660 and I though of doing it on my 850 now. It turns corner better.
etigge
post Jun 12 2011, 12:04 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jun 11 2011, 10:59 PM)
Both 850 and 660 will reach 110kmh at 4200RPM but will take 660 to attain it in longer time. The same block only different bore and stroke. Difference is 850 has a higher torque. I used to lower the front springs by 2inch in my former 660 and I though of doing it on my 850 now. It turns corner  better.
Yalorr! because if you look from the side Kancil front is like higher than the back, like 'conggang' lidat! laugh.gif So, to level the car back, I lowered the front only. laugh.gif
etigge
post Jun 12 2011, 03:09 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(Aquariusdenz @ Jun 12 2011, 12:27 AM)
Can go beyond 120km/h but need long time with our 16 years old kancil.. But im still so proud with the daihatsu engine.. Haha..
Mine also look quite high at the front.. Thinking of lower the front only since always travel at night at high speed.. My gf live ten miles away.. Will it look weird if lower front only? It might look like a drag car i guess.. Haha
laugh.gif Just level down the front only larr. If you look carefully the front is higher, maybe to compensate two passengers when the weight is there. Just look at the distance between the tyres and the fender, can see the difference. I just level the car only. Drag car looks like that because the front tyres are smaller laugh.gif
etigge
post Jun 12 2011, 09:28 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(Aquariusdenz @ Jun 12 2011, 08:59 AM)
how much if lower the front only? is it change a new lower spring set or what? because i know my friend is change new sets but feel uncomfortable..
how you level it lower but not changing the spring?
Not really recommended but I did it anyway, cut of one and half coil of the original spring. Those lowered readily available springs are harder and they are better for cornering but hard on ride. smile.gif
etigge
post Jun 16 2011, 05:45 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(nkkhong84 @ Jun 16 2011, 12:46 AM)
hi, can i ask, any1 know where to find body part for kancil?
i jus got a kancil 2003 but only found out that behind there got a big hole underneath the spare tyre.

quite sad about this.coz previously was not spotted the thing sad.gif
please help
The car is a closed deal so nothing much can be done. Take it as a mistake. That part can't be replace and they can cut out the rusted part and weld another part from the potong kereta or weld a steel plate over it, grind and repaint. This is the 'ketuk mudguard' fella's job. It' quite a big hole shocking.gif

Just drive the car to a mudguard fella and see what he says.
etigge
post Jul 1 2011, 02:03 PM

295 posts

Wanna ask you Kancil owners. icon_rolleyes.gif

My car overheats when I drive hard over 4000 rpm and I usually switch off air cond when the meter reads almost on the 'H' line. The temperature will lower after a while driving with no air-cond. I took the car to a machanic and wanted them to flush (costing RM65) but when they took out the radiator they found out that the water inlet part (plastic or fibre part of the radiator) was chipped and they say they need to change the fibre part. That cost another RM85. Plus the RM65 it will come to RM150.

I went for the new double layer radiator for RM230 plus labour and now the temperature hardly pass the 'C' line. I thought the meter was faulty but I don't think so. Is this normal? I find the car a bit sluggish at this cold temperature. Anyone with standard engine changed to double layered radiator? What's your normal driving temperature?

PS/ Mine is the year 99, 850 standard.

This post has been edited by etigge: Jul 1 2011, 02:04 PM
etigge
post Jul 4 2011, 05:15 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(zx7177 @ Jul 4 2011, 12:22 PM)
is your thermostat working?
Yes, it is working. icon_rolleyes.gif
etigge
post Jul 7 2011, 04:31 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(Aquariusdenz @ Jul 7 2011, 02:34 AM)
Changing my Kancil tyre soon.. stock rim size.. currently using Good Year, its quite good but quite noisy.. i want some recommend of "not bad" tyres with cheap price.. at least a better grip during rainy days.. i got into accident last year due to lousy cheap thailand tyre.. luckily not so serious.. cost me RM280 to pay that car owner just a week before CNY.. tongue.gif
I just had mine changed to Falken Sincera 155/70/12, all four of them. Although made in Indonesia, I find them grippy and quiet. They won't last long though as they are of soft compound. Of course during rain it is grippy since tyre contact is small with 155mm width laugh.gif I got them for RM107 per tyre with balancing behind JayaJusco Cheras Selatan. Seems they have shifted their operations to Tmn. Tun Perak near the 2020 Foodcourt.

Added on July 7, 2011, 4:37 am
QUOTE(makky @ Jul 6 2011, 11:03 PM)
i have a kancil year 2003, currently i having a lot of problem due to weird sound coming from the engine compartment. It was like kuk kuk kuk sound when steering turn to the left and straight but  right ok.

1. Firstly go to workshop and suspect the drive shaft, after change rm 2++ still got sound.
2. Then change it again, still got sound.
3. Workshop mechanic suspect the valve shaft got problem, which produce the sound. ( if need to be overhaul and cost  me a booom )
4. Go to other workshop , foremen tell me that steering rack loose. need to be change. ( turn left got sound but turn right ok o )
5. Brake ok. (check already with other people.)
6. Tyre? bearing? gearbox? maybe.

can u guys help me up. currently i am using it since i not confidence to let my wife to drive it around at let my wife drive my other car. hmm.gif
Mine has the sound too and when I had the radiator changed I told the mechanic about it. We took a drive and the sound seems subtle when driven slow. The mechanic then jack up the car and check the wheel assembly and did not find problems with the drive shaft, the lower arm or the steering tie rod. He deduced that it has to be the steering rack and advised me to go back to him when it gets louder. The drive shaft bellows were torn though and the mechanic said if you change it now and clean up the assembly and regrease it, the drive shaft will definately give way in a short time, so let it be.

At least he didn't charge me for this inspection and don't simply recommend me to change this or that. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by etigge: Jul 7 2011, 04:37 AM

0.0421sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:33 PM